;          
Home Consumer Product Reviews Forums Photos Videos Expert Reviews News Register Login Search

Mazda MAZDASPEED6 (2005 - 2007)

More products from Mazda >>
MAZDASPEED6 (2005 - 2007) MSRP: $ 18990.00 - $ 27750.00
Loading Please Wait...


Description:
High performance at the highest level. Feel the speed and muscle of a 270 horsepower engine, and 15.6 lbs. of boost - and prepare for the driving rush that could only come from the MAZDASPEED6. With clean, pumped-up performance, superior handling, and brilliant design inside and out, the MAZDASPEED6 is a sport sedan that combines the out-and-out fun of a sports car with the indulgent feel of a luxury car -- in one dynamic package. Slip into something more comfortable. And more powerful.

 
Sorted by Model Year |  Sort by Latest Review >> |  Sort by Best Rating >> |  Sort by Worst Rating >> | 
Filter Reviews by Year:   
++ Rating
Reviewed by:
Wayne


Review Date
June 14, 2010

Overall Rating
 4 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Used product for
Less than 1 month

Visitors rate this review
3.67 of 5, 3.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 1 of 5

Price Paid:  $18700.00 from Virginia

Year / Model Reviewed:
2007 Mazdaspeed6

Strengths:
1. Acceleration
2. Handling
3. Braking (Could be a little shorter)
4. Ride Quality
5. Features
6. Price
7. Engine

Weaknesses:
1. Harsh Clutch engagement
2. Shift mechanism could be smoother
3. Placement of inter-cooler
4. Known transmission seal leak.

Summary:
I have driven 2006 350Z, Infinity G35 coupes, Ram SRT-10 Truck and Corvette's.
And I have been the most impressed with my 2007 Mazdaspeed6. It flat out FLYIES down the road and has a level of refinement that is can not be matched at its price point. I got the car for $18,700 and only 15000 miles on it.

I have only had the car for a week so I can not speak on the reliability yet. But so far I had my mechanic go over it and have found no transmission leaks or problems with the rear suspension mounts. However I also I have another car so my mileage on my car should be minimal.

So far I would recommended this car to real car guys love fast cars but want refinement and class. However we will see how the reliability goes

Similar Products Used:
Ford Contour SVT, Modified Honda Accord, Modified Ford Probe GT.



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
Mike13086



Review Date
August 16, 2008

Overall Rating
 4 of 5

Value Rating
 4 of 5

Used product for
More than 1 year

Visitors rate this review
4.75 of 5, 4.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 2 of 5

Price Paid:  $30995.00 from Metro Mazda

Year / Model Reviewed:
2006 Mazdaspeed6

Strengths:
Strong engine and drivetrain
Great sound system
Sleek, clean looks bumper to bumper
Amazing brakes (high speed braking is incredible)
Decent size rear seat and trunk

Weaknesses:
HID headlight's (projectors are of a low quality)
Odd rattles from door panels when radio is cranked up

Summary:
Traded in a grand prix GTP for this car over a year ago, and I am very satisfied so far with my decision for the mazdaspeed6. I am a car nut, and can be very critical at times. All in all though, on a scale of 1-10 i would give this car a 9. Powertrain is great, I have not had the rear diff bolt probelems that I read about often, Premature tire wear was my only issue. No snow traction what so ever, and at 15,000 miles the factory tires were junk and needed to be replaced. I replaced them with pirelli p zero nero all season performance tires, and while my high speed cornering grip has gone down significantly, road noise and ride comfort greatly improved. For a $30,000 car i think it's a lot for the money and I am very pleased overall. A lot of sad Mustang GT owners out there who had to take a second and third glance at my badging on the trunklid.



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
aaron7471



Review Date
March 7, 2008

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Used product for
1 to 3 months

Visitors rate this review
5.00 of 5, 4.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 3 of 5

Price Paid:  $0.00

Year / Model Reviewed:
2006 Mazdaspeed 6

Strengths:
-Great handling, and AWD peace of mind
-Turbo engine, and just as smooth gearbox
-Good looking
-Did I mention boost!
-Road noise
-Bose speaker system
-Limited production
-Competing with cars twice and three times more expensive
-Stability control option

Weaknesses:
-Maybe too much performance for normal families
-Gas mileage is ok (19-26est) at 93 octane (minimum)
-Price may be too high for a Mazda title
-Only certified Mazda speed dealerships will touch it
-Engine cool down, and warm up recommended
-Stiff clutch, not much playing with it, either engaged or not
-I would like a manual road conditions switch (tarmac, normal, snow)
-Heavy car
-Halogen housing for the HIDs is not very good.

Summary:
This car is by far, is one of the best automobile I have ever driven. With Mazda's superb 2.3 liter DISI engine, its turbo pushes around 15.6psi of boost and it delivers. About 275hp and 280lb ft to be exact. The numbers seem faint compared to its acceleration capabilities with owners reporting middle to upper 13s in the ¼ mile (stock). The car really pushes you up against your seat under acceleration, and the car feels so stable at 100mph it feels like your doing 60mph. I have accelerated to 140mph with plenty of RPMs/power left to go. I know Mazda was supposed to govern speeds at 150mph, but I have had friends go beyond that (I was in the car when it happened). Must use 93 octane premium fuel. 91 octane can be used as a last resort but not recommended. If the ECU detects lower than 89 octane, the engine will automatically cut boost into half. No good, keep 93 in the tank.
The look is much easier on the eyes than the regular 6 with the hood raised 1.8 inches, attractive front lip, extended side skirts, and the coolest integrated exhaust/bumper outlet ever. The suspension is lowered a bit, compared to regular Mazda 6. Nice HIDs in ok halogen head unit, and fog lights. Even though the HID bulbs are the same as most BMW (4300k) Phillips bulbs, the Mazda has a horrible halogen housing unit, so not as good projection.
The interior is very nice for a Mazda, including optional 2-tone leather, navi, and moon-roof (GT package only). Bose speaker system sounds great! With Mazda’s ALC (automatic audio leveling control) or something like that, is very handy. When the car is going at highway speeds, the volume automatically lowers when you slow down. 6-speed manual gearbox (only) shifts very smoothly paired with a very stiff clutch. Gauges are extremely easy to read and steering wheel feels very nice.
The car is big, and an extremely good handling car. AWD is standard on the speed6 and let me tell you, the DSC (dynamic-stability control) is amazing. It is comparable to Audi’s innovative stability system in many ways. I turned it off one time just messing around, and I accelerated in boost and put the car sideways and not on purpose. It was extremely scary and proved to me DSC works VERY WELL and leave it on. The ECU is automatic in determining the right setting for the elements.

Over all I am so please with the car and I driven many models including Ford, Chevy, BMW, Mercedes, Honda, Audi, VW, Ferrari, Porsche 911 and a Dodge Viper. I am kind of a car fanatic. Sorry this report is so thorough.

I can’t begin to tell you how many shocked drivers were brutally defeated by me, and then seeing them starring with a curious look at my Mazda speed 6 emblem, as I drive off with my 3 comfortably seated passengers.

---Bottom line, this is an awesome family/sports car, that may be a little overkill for the intended age group. It is great to go get some groceries, and then take it out to some twisty roads or demolish some “sport cars”. ---

Similar Products Used:
^^see above



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
maxpain



Review Date
November 22, 2007

Overall Rating
 2 of 5

Value Rating
 2 of 5

Used product for
More than 1 year

Visitors rate this review
3.80 of 5, 5.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 4 of 5

Price Paid:  $27000.00 from sansone

Year / Model Reviewed:
2006 mazdaspeed6

Strengths:
good looking car, strong engine, nice interior

Weaknesses:
week drive train,no camber alignment,boss stero is isent loud at all, thin paint

Summary:
Hi all. I took delivery of my Speed6 GT 3/14/06, build date on car is 9/05. OK, here are the things Mazda replaced.

Dealer replaced 2 front tires due to cupping/ bald on one side. Only 4000 miles on tires.

Dealer aligned wheels.

Dealer replaced front rotors and pads. The pads were cutting into the rotors bad, and making a bad noise. The dealer called the Mazda rep and was told to change the rotors.

Went for an oil change; a kid was under car and told me the gear box was leaking. The car had about 7000 miles at this point. Took the car to the dealer; I was told it was a loose bolt. OK, great. Next oil change same thing; gear box leaking. Back to dealer; Mazda rep told the dealer to replace the gearbox.

Next issue was rear diff bolts; bolt shear. Great noise that made, dealer replaced bolts. I was told they put in new upgraded bolts. Well they didn't put in the upgraded bolts cause I snapped them again.

Today is 11/20/07 and rear diff is making a loud humming noise; well back to the dealer again.

And this isn't my first new car either. Like others here I had a few new and a few old. The other cars I owned I leased and I abused the hell out of them for three years each lease, and never had a problems like I am now.

Oh yeah, I own this Mazdaspeed6 and I don't beat it half as bad as my other cars, and it still breaks.

Sorry this is so long; kinda venting / and getting the word out.

If it smells like crap it is crap. Good luck Speed6 owners.



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
Grant Suhm


Review Date
August 2, 2007

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Used product for
3 Months to 1 year

Visitors rate this review
5.00 of 5, 4.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 5 of 5

Price Paid:  $21500.00 from Munday Mazda, Housto

Year / Model Reviewed:
2006 Sport

Strengths:
Performance and comfort. Dependability. Looks.

Weaknesses:
Only comes with 6 speed manual transmission. Clutch takes a little while to get used to. Avoid paying $29,000 by buying lasts years model at discounted prices.

Summary:
The best car I've ever driven. 274 HP, AWD, Traction Control, ABS, Racing Suspension. Now Imagine yourself doing 130 MPH on a back road. Relaxing to drive at 100 MPH. Stops on a dime. Nearly impossible to make skid. Comfortable. Much more solid feeling than a Mazda 6i

Similar Products Used:
Traded in a 2005 Mazda6 for the Speed6. Carvan, Ram 1500.




latest reviews

latest news

twitter-facebook-carreview twitter_follow_@carreview CarReview_facebook_fan_page


Copyright ©1996-2014 All Rights Reserved.ConsumerREVIEW.com, a business unit of Invenda