;          
Home Consumer Product Reviews Forums Photos Videos Expert Reviews News Register Login Search

Alpine SWR-1241D

More products from Alpine >>
SWR-1241D MSRP: $ 110.00
Loading Please Wait...


Description:
Hook up Alpine's top-of-the-line 12" subwoofer, and you'll thrill to bass you can hear and feel. The SWR-1241D 12" dual 4-ohm voice coil Type-R sub handles ground-pounding power levels and stills delivers lifelike accuracy and crystal-clear sound. The motor structure and double-stacked magnets focus magnetic energy within the vented pole piece for up to 1,000 watts of peak output.The pulp cone has been reinforced with Kevlar® (the material used in bulletproof vests) for extra rigidity, so it won't buckle under hard play. A 1" Santoprene rubber surround helps to maximize cone travel for deep bass, while withstanding decay that can mar speaker output. An extended spider landing area provides extra excursion for fuller sound.The dual 4-ohm, 2" voice coils are big enough to handle lots of power while offering system wiring flexibility. The tinsel leads are virtually unbreakable — they're woven into the dual progressive Nomex spiders. The tinsel lead design also helps you get nearly 3" of cone excursion for maximum output. An aluminum diecast frame provides a secure, non-resonant housing.The SWR-1241D is designed for use in sealed or ported enclosures.

  • Kevlar®-infused pulp cone
  • 1" Santoprene rubber surround
  • dual 4-ohm, 2" voice coils
  • frequency response 24-1,000 Hz
  • power range 100-300 watts RMS (150 watts RMS per coil)
  • peak power handling 1,000 watts
  • sensitivity 87 dB
  • top-mount depth 6-15/16"
  • sealed box volume: 0.7-1.0 cubic feet
  • ported box volume: 0.75-1.75 cubic feet


 
 |  Sorted by Latest Review |  Sort by Best Rating >> |  Sort by Worst Rating >> |  View All >>
++ Rating
Reviewed by:
apline1873



Review Date
July 27, 2004

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Used product for
Less than 1 month

Visitors rate this review
4.82 of 5, 34.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 1 of 6

Price Paid:  $108.00 from hookedontronics.com

Year / Model Reviewed:
2004 swr-1241d

Strengths:
Sounds great - bumps hard - very pleased with it

Weaknesses:
Programming amp is time comsuming but worth the trouble.

Summary:
I just bought and installed an alpine type r subwoofer swr-1241d (108.00 at Hookedontronics.com)along with an alpine head unit cda-9827 (265.00 plus 70 install at Circuit City)and amp mrd-m301(208.00 at Hookedontronics.com). Let me tell you combined it sounds amazing. They really bump. I bought on-line at Hookedontronics.com - very quick delivery (purchased on Wed got on Monday). The head unit made even the factory speakers in the car bump. The amp is clean looking and easy to install howvever programming the amp with its proper settings is time comsuming. Install for all three was easy - i had the head unit installed at Circuit City but installed the sub and amp at home - took only a few hours. The sub is straight crazy with the bass - low and hard. Its a great buy - definity go with the alpine products



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
NYC32798


Review Date
January 21, 2004

Overall Rating
 2 of 5

Value Rating
 2 of 5

Used product for
3 Months to 1 year

Visitors rate this review
3.46 of 5, 52.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 2 of 6

Price Paid:  $260.00

Year / Model Reviewed:
2003 1241D

Strengths:
Good sound quality at 300 watts. Good in hatchbacks.

Weaknesses:
After 300 watts, start to sound like crap. I find they also can't handle certain frequencies too well. More in the low end.

Summary:
I went looking for subs about a year ago and finally decided to go with the type r's. I put two in a custom sealed box. I am using a 500 watt rms memphis mono block amp to power the two of them. All I can say is i'm not too impressed. If you have a small hatchback then i would go with them. Alpine claims the subs can handle 1000 watts. Maybe they can handle it but at 1000 watts, they sound like garbage. I find that if you put around 300 watts to them you get the best sound quality. if you turn the gain past 300, you will start to lose sq. If you aren't looking for ground pounding bass then i think they would be fine. But if you are, then i wouldn't recommend them unless you plan to put about 4 or 5 in your trunk. So i'm selling my type r's and going to JL.



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
Matt Diggety


Review Date
December 16, 2003

Overall Rating
 4 of 5

Value Rating
 4 of 5

Used product for
1 to 3 months

Visitors rate this review
5.00 of 5, 31.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 3 of 6

Price Paid:  $225.00 from ebay

Year / Model Reviewed:
 2003

Strengths:
-Built well -Looks good when subs are inverted -Loves alot of power

Weaknesses:
-Needs power tho

Summary:
I got these of of ebay because i found a good dealon them, i herd them in my friends car, so that made me want to buy them, they came with cheapy wal-mart boxes, iam gettin a custom made ported box for them, should be done soon, but in the boxes they are in now they sound pretty good, the boxes have air leaks in them but they were still beatin,i just fixed the leaks with chaulking, but over all i would say they sound good, i have 2 of these and 2 w6's in the trunk and i would say the type r are equal to the w6's, the jl's are lil louder but they are in a custom built box, so once i get the ported box for the type r's i would say the trype r's will be lil better.

Similar Products Used:
jl audio w6



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
jer


Review Date
August 25, 2003

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Used product for
Less than 1 month

Visitors rate this review
5.00 of 5, 27.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 4 of 6

Price Paid:  $330.00 from magnolia

Year / Model Reviewed:
2003 Alpine Type R (SBR-122CR)

Strengths:
The ported box really helps the sub pound even harder.

Weaknesses:
$200 sub, but well worth it.

Summary:
I love this premanufactored sub and box. It hits incredibly hard, with the Xtant 6.1 amp i have it hooked up to. The thousand spent on my entire system was well worth it.

Similar Products Used:
12W6v2



++ Rating
Reviewed by:
JASellers86


Review Date
July 22, 2003

Overall Rating
 5 of 5

Value Rating
 5 of 5

Used product for
Less than 1 month

Visitors rate this review
4.68 of 5, 37.00 votes

Rate this review?

Review 5 of 6

Price Paid:  $115.00 from IkeSound.com

Year / Model Reviewed:
 SWR-1241D

Strengths:
- Built tough - Can take more than rated power - Sound quality - They pound like crazy!

Weaknesses:
- None

Summary:
I just hooked up 2 of these subs to a Lanzar Vibe1200D. The amp is giving each sub about 600 watts. These things are amazing for the price. I'm giving them about double their power rating and they are taking it just fine so far. These subs pound really hard too. I couldnt' be more pleased with them. The sound quality is also very good. What more could you ask for for a $100 sub? :) Overall this is a great sub!



Last Review >>

latest reviews

latest news

twitter-facebook-carreview twitter_follow_@carreview CarReview_facebook_fan_page


Copyright ©1996-2014 All Rights Reserved.ConsumerREVIEW.com, a business unit of Invenda