BMW Z3 (1996 - 2002) Convertibles

BMW Z3 (1996 - 2002) Convertibles 

DESCRIPTION

The Z3 is powered by a 2.8-liter DOHC 24-valve 6-in-line with 193 hp and comes with a 5-speed manual or 4-speed automatic.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 60  
[Dec 06, 2021]
rosendamanns2808


Strength:

Power. Reliability. Comfort. Understated good looks. PRICE! augustatreepros.com

Weakness:

Previous intake manifold (since fixed and now long forgotten - unless it happens to you!). Corporate policy.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 07, 2021]
ernserhjhte21


Strength:

This is a sweet ride! Love it. The controls are exactly where they need to be, the interior of the car wraps around you like a sports car should. --- Bathroom Remodel Contractor

Weakness:

Can't find any as of now.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 31, 2009]
rogersclarke
Model Reviewed: Z3 2.5

Strength:

Power, Speed, Acceleration, great handling and looks like and feels like a true European sports car. Pretty good on gas too.

Weakness:

Not sure about some of the interior features (little too much Plastic) but that was my choice.

Very happy with performance of this car. Has the handling characteristics of much more expensive car. I drove the 1.9L with automatics and that was very good and the 1.9L with stick even better but the 2.5L was prefered. I did not try the 3.0L but have to believe that would be even better. I have been driving Audi's and still prefer an Audi but this one little beauty stole my heart.

I actually bought this car for my wife but this really can be a male car too.

Similar Products Used:

Porsche Boxter. S2000

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 23, 2009]
Cam
Model Reviewed: Z 3 2.5

Strength:

Looks awesome timeless roadster appeal
Handles great - accleration and braking
Great value for money
High retained value or resale potential

Weakness:

In car wash roof leaks a few drops, however not when it is railing outside - weird.
With top up it has a bit of a blind spot over the shoulders.
Review mirror looks like it is out of your dad's oldsmobile.

What a great ride. Ton's of fun in the twists and turns. Even with the 2.5 if you turn off the traction control you can easily spin the tires. In the second year of ownership I plan on babying it more so then in the first year. However needed to test the limits. This car does not disappoint.

Similar Products Used:

Subura WRX, lots and lots of motorcycles

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 30, 2007]
kleiner1951
Model Reviewed: Z3 Coupe 2.8

Strength:

Style, reliability, performance, running costs, insurance, handling and FUN!!

Weakness:

Space for the driver's legs

This car is the most fun car I have ever driven, including the M3. The Coupe looks aggressive, accelerates like the wind and is a dream to drive. The muscles bulging with 18" wheels. I have owned BMW's from the 3 series, to the 5 series and the M3. However, even though this is not the fastest car out there it is bold enough to be completely different, and drives like a maniac. The 50:50 weight distribution is dream when conering at high speed.
I use the car in Milan, Italy only when the sun shines. It is black inside and out, carrying a unique bold, even aggressive design. I would say:
Handling 9/10
Speed 9/10
Style 10/10
Value 10/10 (used)
Fun factor 12/10!
Insurance/running costs 10/10

Even though this car is already 7 years old, it drives like new, has done 40,000 miles from new (one doctor owner only) and attracts attention everywhere I go.

Similar Products Used:

BMW 320, BMW 328, BMW 540, BMW M3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 28, 2006]
CrashDummy
Model Reviewed: BMW Z3 2.5i

Strength:

Looks, acceleration, handling, instrumentation, seats, braking.

Weakness:

Creature comforts are a bit lacking.

Thoroughly enjoyable drive! The car has power to spare and handles like a scared rabbit.

A quick trip through some back-country roads made me actually laugh while driving a car for the first time since I owned a 1985 Nissan 300ZX Turbo. The Z3 holds the corners with confidence and just begs you to push a little harder. You know you're having fun when you're wife says, "did you have to come so close to the guardrail?"

The 2.5l engine claims 184hp and feels like it. I'm mildly jealous of the 3.0l's extra 36hp, but it's still a fun ride.

I got one with the automatic transmission with the sport shifting. It's a compromise, but not much of one. The automatic is a 5 speed for one thing, and the gearing favors acceleration over top speed.

The Z3 also draws stares. Whens it's parked it draws gawkers. If you bought the car, I trust you don't mind the attention.

The interior of the car has a few flaws. The center console does not come with an armrest (quickly solved with an after-market one). The door armrests are not padded and irritate your elbow if you are in the habit of resting your elbow on the door armrest while driving.

The seats are comfortable and grab you hard while cornering.

I love the instrumentation! Rather than a high-tech digital dash, the Z3's instruments are analog and simple. And you know what? The needles rise and fall very quickly!

Lastly, the brakes take you from fast to stopped in record time.

Two thumbs up on this one for sure!




Similar Products Used:

85 Nissan 300ZX Turbo, 02 Mitsubishi Eclipse Spyder

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 21, 2006]
larry redden
Model Reviewed: z3 3.0

Strength:

great acceleration great handling seems to be almost as fast as 5.0 mustang

Weakness:

rear plastic window

1st bmw so far not disappointed

Similar Products Used:

5.0 mustang

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 06, 2006]
BMW Z3 for life
Model Reviewed: BMW Z3

Strength:

The looks of the car, the sound of the car, and its a James Bond car.

Weakness:

The rear plastic window.

This car has some of the best looks from a sports car I have ever seen and it looks even nicer with the top down. I have driven a lot of cars in my day and this was the most fun one to drive. The one thing i really like is that girls love this car and can't wait to take a ride in it. For me i like the sound system and the speed of the car.

The Z3 has looks greater then all of the BMW Z4s and a lot of other sports cars the are of equal or higher value (TT, 350Z, S2000, Sky). I would recommend the BMW Z3 to every one.

Similar Products Used:

BMW Z4, 350Z, SKY, S2000, RX-8, Boxter, SLK, TT,.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 06, 2006]
ChitownZ3
Model Reviewed: BMW Z3

Strength:

handling, torque, speed, raw design

This is a sweet ride! Love it. The controls are exactly where they need to be, the interior of the car wraps around you like a sports car should. Forget about the Lexus's with navigation / stearing wheel radio controls ...etc... this is a sport car - you want to hear the engine roar!

Similar Products Used:

Mercury Cougar Subaru WRX Golf GTI

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 08, 2005]
Rasmus28
Model Reviewed: Z3 3.0I Roadster

Strength:

power, handling, styling, and the soul of a sportscar!

Weakness:

have had a little trouble with the passenger side window - but the warranty covered that.

I absolutely love this car! It is a REAL sportscar! I wanted to get a license plate saying "REAL Z" .... this car has more class, style and soul than any Nissan 350Z will ever have! Driving with the top down, listening to the engine when you have it in 3rd and gently tap the accelerator - awesome feeling! The car has great pick and handles extremely well. I am a car fanatic, and must say that I have finally found a true sportscar in every way! I test drove the Boxster, TT, 350Z (huge dissapointment) and definetely prefer my Z3!

Similar Products Used:

1998 Honda Prelude 2000 Audi A4 1.8T

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 60  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com