BMW Z8 Convertibles

BMW Z8 Convertibles 

DESCRIPTION

(2000 - 2003) The Z8 comes equipped with a 4.9 liter V8 with a monster 394 hp. Standard features include leather, ABS, 18 inch alloys, 6 speed manual transmission and vehicle navigation system.

BMW offers a special Alpina edition of the Z8 for 2003.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 28  
[Aug 01, 2022]
ColeShrug


Strength:

After 6,000 miles the Z8 still amazes me. While its more GT than racer, its cornering and acceleration are fantastic. While it feels big to drive, it autocrossed wonderfully. The big stress is always where to park it so it won't get dinged by some Bozo. My 20 something childrens' friends, (and almost everyone else), begs for rides. Anonymous, its not. mole removal kansas city

Weakness:

Great great great that's all I can say! Cable tray manufacturer

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 27, 2022]
disposableserva


Strength:

The styling is very unique and the car is truly a work of art. I've driven this car only 200 miles so far and I've had numerous comments from complete strangers, including one woman who stopped me in traffic and flirted gratuitously, check our site.

Weakness:

None . .

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 30, 2022]
ampva302


Strength:

This car is so amazing. My friend's neighbor near in Dover owned this kind of car, and we're even had a picture of this. We're being amazed back then.

Weakness:

Classic design but still expensive

OVERALL
RATING
4
[Apr 08, 2022]
Filipe


Strength:

The upside is, it's literally like buying a brand new car that hasn't been made for years. The downside is that I feel like I'm destroying an artifact every time I drive it. Because it was planned at the beginning that this be a collectable car, and everyone pretty much reacted to it that way, there are many Z8s that have been preserved like this one.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Feb 23, 2022]
JackieH


Strength:

This car is the standard for excellence. The classic style mixed with the exceptional power, handling, performance, and prestige of the most expensive cars and future greats. This is the 507 of it's time. Better than a Ferrari, Bently, or Aston Martin. The confort of the Z8 is extrodinary heated seats, steering wheel, and much more perks. Overall the Z8 is a very great car at a exceptionaly great price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 07, 2021]
ernserhjhte21


Strength:

Got this in affordable price. Great attention to detail. Wide torque range and very drivable. Great braked and predictable handling. -- https://www.anchoragekitchenremodeling.com/

Weakness:

Nothing to complain about.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 13, 2020]
brenbobb01


Strength:

This car is one of the best-looking cars in recent history. driveway pavers bradenton

Weakness:

I thought, it has no weakness.

Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Aug 04, 2020]
AndreMartin


Strength:

Acceleration, Beauty, Handling,

Weakness:

A little thing, but I don''t think it would have been beyond the wit of the designers to install 2 coffee cup holders rather than just one! A ''fully'' automatic top would have bI am now certain I made the correct decision and now look forward to the journey. The car has power in spades as you would expect in a car like this - but it is also very well mannered in traffic. I bought the car from the owner of https://electrosherbrooke.com/. Don't expect the car to come with the miriad of features that cars of this price often come with as this car is a "true" sports car in the traditional ethos. ..and those lines, oh, those lines! The other day a complete stranger in the parking lot thanked me for making his day a little bit better!

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Sep 01, 2010]
GeorgianCarNut
Model Reviewed: BMW Z8

Strength:

Beautiful, retro-modern style, with superb detailing. Terrific powertrain, excellent handling. Fantastic craftsmanship, both perceived and real.

Weakness:

As most folks seem to agree, the soft-top plastic window, the disappointing sound- and nav systems.

A true "gentleman's sports car". I never get tired of looking at that Henrik Fisker-designed, hand-crafted aluminum body. Or the interior, that is an ultra-clean, minimalist delight. It's elegant and understated, rather than brash and loud. The top-quality materials give it a coach-built character that feels wonderful (several reviewers have said that just sitting in the car with it not running makes you feel good, and it really does).

One can tell this car is going to age like an old Rolex watch...sure, there are better performers as technology marches relentlessly on, but this one is still just a joy to be around and to touch and to drive. Today, you can buy over 400 HP in a Mustang, but in 2000, that was a mighty big number. It's still plenty big for anything you're going to do with this car.

The car's performance is excellent in all respects...some reviewers seem to expect this thing to have handling limits like a Ferrari, but that isn't what it was about (realistically, the handling envelope on this car is wider than almost any owner is qualified for). This car is about a carefully crafted experience. Now that it's 10 years old, and rare (only about 2300 of them were brought to the US, of a total run of 5703), most people don't remember the car, or realize that this was BMW's flagship for 4 years. In a way, that's nice, because people see the car and react to it at a gut level, admiring its beauty, but not getting caught up in the fact that it cost 6 figures.

I just bought this car about 3 months ago. This particular Z8 spent most of it's life in a plastic bubble; it only has 3,300 miles on it from new, and all of the accessories are unopened and untouched (like a time machine). The upside is, it's literally like buying a brand new car that hasn't been made for years. The downside is that I feel like I'm destroying an artifact every time I drive it. Because it was planned at the beginning that this be a collectable car, and everyone pretty much reacted to it that way, there are many Z8s that have been preserved like this one. In fact, there are about 50 cars unaccounted for, which suggests that dealers bought them as investments and never registered them.

In any case, if you want one of these, you can find one in any condition you want, up to virtually new. Expect to pay from around $80K for a driver to about $140K for a super-low mileage mint vehicle (or one built with a funky custom paint job from the factory through the BMW Individual program). $100K-$110K will buy you an almost-new one like mine, and you have the choice of preserving it or enjoying it on the road or track.

Virtually all of the cars have been carefully maintained. Change out the run-flats if you want to (keep the originals, though, for future authenticity). Beyond that, there are some special lube requirements that you can learn about from the Drivers' Club, which is really excellent and supportive. Seriously, if you wish to buy one of these, study up on the web, then try to get somebody to let you drive one. You're going to have to pay for the car if you want one, but the good news is, it will hold its value well and the ownership experience is worth it.

Similar Products Used:

Corvette, 911, Jag XKE.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 19, 2004]
hapc
Model Reviewed: Z8 BMW

Strength:

Overall quality of build fit and finish. Great attention to detail. Wide torque range and very drivable. Great braked and predictable handling. Toss it around like a toy.

Weakness:

Very poor sound system – way too much bass. Probably much better with the top off. I don’t tolerate sun so I have never had the hardtop off of the car.

I live in the LA area and bought the car over the phone. Had it delivered at my front door with 11 miles on the odometer? I have driven it approx 6K miles and still love the car. I owned a 2002 996 TT and this is, in every way, a nicer car. Don’t get me started on the TT. By the way before the 996 I owned a 91 and then a 95 NSX. Both NSXs were great cars, though underpowered. The Z8 is fun to drive, hard to drive slowly, and very comfortable. I took advantage of the BMW offered driving experience, spending 2 days at their facility, beating one of their Z8s. The instruction was great and I was able to see what the car could really do when pushed. This is a great program that will make any driver a better and safer driver. Even in the posh LA area where TT Porsches and Ferraris are seen everywhere, the Z8 is rarely seen and always appreciated. If you get the chance to own one, even a used one, do so, you won’t be sorry.

Similar Products Used:

Factory L88 Corvette, 79 930 Porsche, 91 & 95 NSX, 2002 996 TT Porsche

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com