Mazda MX-5 Miata Convertibles

MX-5 Miata

The 2011 Mazda MX-5 Miata is a 2-door, 2-passenger convertible sports car, available in 6 trims, ranging from the Sport to the Special Edition Power Retractable HT.

The Sport is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 167-horsepower engine that achieves 22-mpg in the city and 28-mpg on the highway.

The Special Edition Power Retractable HT is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 167-horsepower engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 28-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (131)

Showing 1-10 of 131  
Allen F   [Dec 26, 2010]
Model Reviewed: PRHT - Garnd Touring - 6 Sd. Man.
Strength:

One with the car, responsive engine, smooth transmission, decent ride, great handling, good exhaust note.

Weakness:

Bose sound system, center console cup holders.

So I've read most of the reviews, and found respondents comments interesting, especially from owners of previous high end cars (BMW, Porsche) saying they were happier with the Miata. Well, now that I purchased one and have had the driving experience, and also an owner of a 1999 Mustang Cobra, I can appreciate their comments. The Cobra was powerful and a fun car to drive, however the Miata delivers the true total driving experience. Our first drive was through the switchback roads of South Mountain (twisty & curvy); I can't even describe the ultimate thrill of driving fairly aggressively on this type of road. The car seemed to ask for more as it was soaking up the curves with no problem. We bought the PRHT more for security reasons and are extremely happy. The engine is very responsive, especially at the higher RPM range, the 6 speed manual is like silk, and it seems intuitive as though it wants to drive itself, upshifting and downshifting require no thought, and the throws are short and crisp. The exhaust has a very nice rumble, but is not obnoxious. The ride for such a small car (short wheel base) is actually incredible, and it has the suspension package (Bilstien shocks). The comments about wearing the car are true; again with this car I would expect that to be the case, I find it exciting. However when driving 70 mph on the highway, I do not feel intimidated by trucks or larger vehicles. The quality of the build exceeds expectations; however I would expect nothing less from a car built in Hiroshima. The interior is satisfying as far as creature comforts and materials used. Bose system is nothing special, but again with this car, especially with the top down, the exhaust note is all of the stereo sound I need to hear. Tunk space is modest a couple of overnight bags would fit, the nice thing about the PRHT is that is does not infringe on the trunk space. By the way the biggest complaint of past owners (cup holders in the door) has been addressed, and is not a problem as least as far as we have noticed. The cup holders are still in the door panel but have been relocated higher in the door, away from the area of where the driver’s leg may be. Two cup holders still reside in the center console, but are almost useless, especially with the manual transmission. There is not a lot of storage space within the cabin, I’m not sure how big of a deal that is, and it doesn't bother us. I did pay close attention to the behavior of the car with the top down, and did not notice much cowl shake, especially when driving aggressively on the mountain switchback roads. Mazda has a substantial brace at the front shock towers to help the condition. Bottom line, anyone looking for a spirited, performance, handling, good sounding, reasonable ride vehicle at a great price, look no further, this car delivers in all aspects. I am now a Miata convert. If you read this review and are looking at the Miata I hope this info was of interest and good luck on your decision.

Similar Products Used: 1999 Mustang Cobra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Allen   [Dec 26, 2010]
Model Reviewed: PRHT - Grand Touring - 6 SP MAN.
Strength:

One with the car, handling, responsive engine, smooth transmission, excellent ride for small car.

Weakness:

Bose stereo is marginal, but in this car who cares.

So I've read most of the reviews, and found respondents comments interesting, especially from owners of previous high end cars (BMW, Porsche) saying they were happier with the Miata. Well, now that I purchased one and have had the driving experience, and also an owner of a 1999 Mustang Cobra, I can appreciate their comments. The Cobra was powerfull and a fun car to drive, however the Miata delivers the true total driving experience. Our first drive was through the switchback roads of South Mountain (twisty & curvy), I can't even describe the ultimate thrill of driving fairly aggressively on this type of road. The car seemed to ask for more as it was soaking up the curves with no problem. We bought the PRHT more foe security reasons and are exteremely happy. The engine is very responsive, especially at the higher RPM range, the 6 speed manual is like silk, it seems intuative as though it wants to drive itself, upshifting and downshifting require no thought, tne throws are short and crisp. The exhaust has a very nice rumble, but is not abnoxious. The ride for such a small car (short wheel base) is actually incredible, and it has the suspension package (Bilstien shocks). The comments about wearing the car are true, again with this car I would expect that to be the case, I find it exciting. However when driving 70 mph on the highway, I do not feel intimidated by trucks or larger vehicles. The quality of the build exceeds expectations, however I would expect nothing less from a car built in Hiroshima. The interior is satisfying as far as creature comforts and materials used. Bose system is nothing special, but again with this car, especially with the top down, the exhaust note is all of the stereo sound I need to hear. Tunk space is modest a couple of overnight bags would fit, the nice thing about the PRHT is that is does not infringe on the trunk space. By the way the biggest complaint of past owners (cup holders in the door) has been addressed, and is not a problem as least as far as we have noticed. The cup holders are still in the door panel but have been relocated higher in the door, away from the area of where the drivers leg may be. Two cup holders still reside in the center console, but are almost useless, especially with the manual tranmission. There is not a lot of storage space within the cabin, Im not sure how big of a deal that is, it doesn't bother us. I did pay close attention to the behavior of the car with the top down, and did not notice much cowl shake, especially when driving aggressively on the mountain switchback roads. Mazda has a substantial brace at the front shock towers to help the condition. Bottom line, anyone looking for a spirited, performance, handling, good sounding, reasonable ride vehicle at a great price, look no further, this car delivers in all aspects. I am now a Miata convert. If you read this review and are looking at the Miata I hope this info was of interest and good luck on your decision.

Similar Products Used: 1999 Mustang Cobra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ihatemiatas   [May 01, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 2002 LS
Strength:

FUN

Weakness:

EVERYTHING ELSE

Man, Miata's are so lame, you should sell your "toy" and buy a REAL machine. I'd rather drive a HARDTOP Mustang GT, and I HATE MUSTANGS. I HATE MIATA'S 1,000,000x more!

Similar Products Used: WHY WOULD I DRIVE ANOTHER?!?!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Godless Commie   [Feb 29, 2008]
Strength:

It does fit you like a glove..
A word for tall drivers: I had aches and cramps, especially in my right leg during extended trips the first couple months in my first Miata. That was untill I discovered the "seat modification" trick at miata.net. It take no time, no special tools, and you almost get into a whole different car when you are done with the modification. Highly reccommended.

Beautiful performance. (I said beautiful.. not aggreesive, not brutal, not powermonsterously fast.. just beautiful.)

Sure footed, confidence inspiring, go cart like handling.

Fuel economy.

Reliability! No trips to the dealer for anything other than scheduled maintenance.

And, yes, I may be very partial to Miatas, but they do look great. They have a rather timeless look to them. Even the 18 year old miatas do not look outdated.

Weakness:

Any car could use more power..

The stereo leaves a lot to be desired.. Had to do intensive modifications to both cars to install extra speakers. Repced the CD player, as well while I was at it.. Great with six drivers, I can truly enjoy the music with top down at 80 Mph

This is my second '99 Miata. The first one was a metallic silver, a base model with 14" wheels and almost no options other than a/c and (possibly retrofitted) leather seats. (I purchased and installed a Torsen LSD in the silver one. What a difference!)
My current Miata is red (classic red) with ABS, 15" wheels, LSD and even though it does not have the sport version, noticeably stiffer suspension, and no a/c. ( I quickly learned that a/c in a convertible is not a joke, you really need it on truly hot days when the sun just bakes you no matter what speed you're cruising at.
One of the best modifications I have done to the car was to replace the standard 55/65W H4 bulbs with motorcycle version 80/100W H4s. Adjusted down just a little bit to prevent bothering oncoming traffic, they are great for night driving.
I personally believe the '99 is the best among the year models. If I were to shop around for another car someday, it certainly would be for my third Miata..

Similar Products Used: Triumph TR6. I no longer have to rebuild the front end with it brass trunnions every spring. And the Miata does not "feature" Lucas electrical components!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rensho   [Jun 06, 2007]
Model Reviewed: PRHT
Strength:

Handles fairly well. Light and tossable. Good stock power, but of course, it can use more. Great build quality. NVH is much better than my NB.

Weakness:

Pricey for the HP you get. Way too much RPM on fwy cruizing. Needs an overdrive, badly.

My 2nd miata. First was a 1999 miata with a BRP 45 supercharger.
The NC is a major step up, and the folding hardtop is perfect. I could have bought a 2006 for $7000 less than this, but the folding top is a must have for me. The suspension package is a disappointment. It is soft, and leans more than it should. The car really needs larger swaybars and lower springs. I haven't found any major issues that I don't like. If I crashed it today, I'd buy another one exactly like it.

Similar Products Used: Boxster, Boxster S, S2000, Lotus Elise/Exige.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Steve K.   [Feb 01, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mazda MX-5 Miata
Strength:

Reliability, Fuel Economy, Performance.

Weakness:

Well... I really can't think of any...I don't think Miatas need more power, or adding more options, like ABS, TC,...Miata is a raw driving machine..if you want a 200 HP car, pay more and get a RX7, or something else...if you want more space..and a sedan....

The best Miata between 1990 - 1993, the 1.6 liter engine produces 116 horsepower, but it's more than enough, with a K&N air intake upgrade, you can easiler make it to 125 HP. For a car weight only 2222 pounds, performance is absolutely amazing, but we all know that Miatas are not for "speed", but all about balance, handling, and the thrill of being in a raw, simple driving machine. I used to own a 92 Miata, but the reliability of the engine was not very impress me at all. Then I got myself a 93, they are pretty much the same underneath, but the 1993 version is much better, Mazda really put in a lot of effort to make the engine more reliable, and efficient. I own the car for more than a year, no mechanial problems, no electrical failure. Really was just gas up and go, and do oil change, nothing more, but impresses me the most is the reliability, my 93 miata has 184,000 miles, runs tight and sharp, I recommemded it to a friend, and he got one with 130,000, same as mine, no problem. The last thing, fuel economy, I got the 93 Miata go 36 MPG on highway, and more than 28 in city. I installed a K&N filter with a turboator in the tube, I also took the spare wheel out of the trunk.

Similar Products Used: Mazda RX-7, Toyota MR2.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Flohn63   [Apr 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mazda miata
Strength:

Handing, cost to feul, reliability, entertaining. This car turns on hot young chicks. Mood enhencement in nice weather when top is down. Good response to aftermarket modifications. Two seater and small. Car isn't the fastest but it keeps up.

Weakness:

tight shifting, can't go up to 35mph on first gear and 50 on second. ride confort is rough.

January, 2005 I bought a miata off of ebay after I attempted to buy a Mazda 3s before the deal fell through. I didn't know much about miatas at the time, but I saw it on ebay and I always wanted to drive a convertable. Being inside of a convertable would be a summer fun driving experience. I decided to take it. From the start, the engine ran good. I couldn't drive stick at the time but I made it home from the shipping truck. The miata was a little beat up, plain looking sports car. I later learned that the car comes stock with 135hp with 130lbs of torque in a 1.8Liter engine. The miata had crabby 14" wheels in which I replaced with 17" alloy rims. After some improvements, the miata looked as a different car with more class. I can find just about every part for this baby. I soon grew to love my ride, especially in the summer when the temp. hung around the 90 degree mark. The car sucks in snow as it is a rear wheeler, ironically I was able to drive the miata 20miles from school to my house eventhough there was 10" of snow on the ground. The fuel economy is fair but it doesn't cost me much to fill up my tank. After Katrina, when gas peaked at $3.15 a gollen, I still spent less than $25 to fill up my 12 gallon tank while the average dude was paying over $65. The handing is awesome, I could make u-turns on two lane highways without converting to k-turns. The only thing wrong with the miata is that the rpm gets too high too quick. I can't go over 20mph on first gear. The engine is loud for a 1.8liter, almost like the subaru impreza wrx. Miata is a car that people will either love or hate with no in between. Yes, I pissed a hell lot of people off while driving but I don't care as I love this car. I would like to have a newer model.

Similar Products Used: 2004 masza3 s
2005 mazda3 i
1997 honda civic LX
2006 cevrolet cobalt LS
1999 Mercury mystique Ls
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
MidLife   [Jun 30, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mazda Miata (MSM)
Strength:

For the money, it's an awesome value with the factory turbo (and the warranty!), factory beefed up suspension, the 17" alloys, and black leather seats with red stitching trim.

Weakness:

I think that the Mazda could have a added a cruise control for the MSM. Hmm...that's about it.

I've wanted a Miata ever since their introduction back in the early 80s. Funny how you live your life and you always say, "Man, I wish I would've..." about quite a few things but never got around to them. Well, though I've been wanting a convertible sports car for a LONG time, I'm glad it took me this long to get one. The MSM is just an absolute joy to drive. It's quick, nimble, stable and with the turbo, a kick in the seat at 3200 rpm. LOTS of mods available from appearance to performance. Very affordable to purchase, to maintain, and to personalize it. I've driven the LS and Base Miatas before buying my MSM and though nice in their own rights, it just can't compare with the MSM. I drove and considered the Honda S2K. Sweet car, great handling, but the rpms need to be almost screaming to take dip into the power band. For a new one, an S2K is north $30,000. Sorry, but the MSM was just a better value - for me.

Similar Products Used: - Considered a Honda S2k
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike V.   [Jan 10, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mazdaspeed Miata
Strength:

acceleration,price,amount of comfort combined with performance,reliability, resale value, size

Weakness:

size(I am 6` tall, weigh 220lbs. legroom is at a premium), small trunk

I bought my first Miata 2 years ago: it was a 2002 LS. I paid about $21000 and thought it was a bargain. It was enjoyable to drive, comfortable for its' size. However, it was relatively slow and the suspension rather soft with only average grip. It seemed like the perfect "girls car" to me, but not exactly what I wanted. Then I saw my dealer had a Mazdaspeed for $19900! The test drive was great: suspension slightly firmer, grippier tires, seemingly much greater acceleration, and all the advantages of my old LS except no cruise control! That's ok with me, because the rest of the car more resembles the old British roadsters I drove and loved when younger without the pain, suffering, and mechanical disasters. That the Mazdaspeed has at least 90 percent of the performance of a Honda S2000 at a cost of less the 66 percent makes it an absolute bargain in my mind. I admire the Honda but have never seen one new for less than $30000 in my area, and that was 2 years ago. The Mazdaspeed, after 2 months, is much more like the type of car I like: a roadster first, easy to stow top, firm but not jolting ride, 0-60 less than 8 seconds, acceptable fuel economy, low polar moment of inertia, small size, capable of being daily driver (because I feel like these characteristics best represent well designed automobiles).

Similar Products Used: various old British roadsters, Toyota MR2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mslrep   [Aug 19, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Miata MX5
Strength:

Appearence, value, want to drive it appeal, aftermarket support, handles like on rails.

Weakness:

Not the most ponnies out there but still plenty for weekend cruising.

The best roadster out there. The TT tries to be squeeky & rattle free and look half as good as it, the Z3 wants to shift and handle like it, the Boxter aspires to be as reliable, the M3 wishes to be a compliant as it and the MR2 would settle for half the cargo space and finally the S2000, a close second, would like to pull a few more lateral "Gs" like the MX5. The car handles like a street legal go cart; the top goes up in seconds and owner satisfaction is top drawer according owner feedback and the rating mags. Best part is value and will most likely never see the repair shop.

Similar Products Used: 325i, 68 Lemans, 74 911
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 131  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com