GM EV1 Hybrid | EV

EV1

(1996 - 1999) The EV1 is offered as an electric powered 2 passenger, 2 door coupe. It's powered by a single speed electric 3-phase AC induction engine. ABS is standard.

User Reviews (5)

Showing 1-5 of 5  
Andrew   [Nov 18, 2003]
Model Reviewed: GM EV1
Strength:

dont have to keep getting gas

Weakness:

slow, boring, breaks down a lot.

This car is terrible

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
bob   [May 01, 2003]
Strength:

no gasoline

Weakness:

slow

This car is the worstest car I have own.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
FastV6SUVDriver   [Apr 14, 2002]
Model Reviewed: EV1 Gen II
Strength:

Instant Acceleration, No waiting for downshifts, Quiet, Smooth, Fast, Reliable, self sealing tires, futuristic fit and finish

Weakness:

Can be limited, and can be quite pricey when leasing a new one.

GREAT CAR!! If it seated four, it would be my primary car, but since it doesn''''t, i need to have my 99'''' Passport as a back up. The EV1 accelerates from 0-60 in only 7.4 seconds, and from 0-30 in 1.6 seconds. Its enough to throw your head back and in most situations, smoke the two front wheels. Its very smooth, for it doesnt have to switch gears. There is absoltely no maintaince needed, except for tire rotation.

Similar Products Used: 1999 Honda Passport, Porsche
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
susan keene   [Mar 19, 2002]
Model Reviewed: chevrolet lumina
Strength:

roomy...trunk room...when it runs it is pretty good on the gas and mileage

Weakness:

ENGINE...BRAKES....interior-sun visors don''t stay on.

I needed a family vehicle that would be reliable and affordable. I had several minor problems over a three year period. Then without warning...no lights...no sounds or anything to tell me the car was in trouble. It stopped working. I have my oil changed every 5,000 miles on my vehicles. I need to keep my vehicles as dependable and reliable as I can. I have three young children. Well, not only do i feel i was treated unfailrly...but the problem on my 1995 chevrolet lumina was the header cracked causing the antifreeze to leak into the engine only three years into my financing. I had gone over my 60,000 mile warrant and was looking at quite a bit of an expense that i didn''t have to fix the car. I used the car for commuting to my job all highway thats why it had high mileage. I had to get another car. I traded in the 1995 and hoped it was a fluke incident..but my 1997 chevrolet lumina did the same exact thing...only this time i was covered because i bought a 5 year 75,000 mile warranty. Both these cars had this big engine problem only three years into its age. coincidental??? I think general motors should take a long hard look at the lumina. This is not a dependable or reliable car that i can see. After three years you may as well hand over your wallet. Now my alternator went. Not a big job but still costly to a family. I always intended on buying american to help our economy...but i will never again buy another general motors product. They do not stand behind there product. The product is more of a headache than it is worth owning. There warranties are shady too. When i bought the 1997 lumina i bought a 5 year 75,000 mile warranty so the same problem that happened to me in 1995 wouldn''t repeat itself...little did i know that although my contract states my vehicle in service date is 12-15-98...the vehicle in service date to the manufacturer''s gmpp and National Mechanical service Center who put out the warranties say that the vehicle in service date was the date the dealership had it on the road. So i paid for 5 years and only got three...i guess i paid for two years of a warranty that i never had. So beware of general motors and their warranties too. I paid 1300 dollars for a 5 year warranty my in service date on my contract states 12-15-98 this is only march of 2002....but my warranty expired on 1-2-02 according to GMPP and NMSC...If you want the headaches

Similar Products Used: 1995 lumina and 1997 lumina/ previously owned vehicles were a chevy cavalier and a chevy baja
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Jerry Del Rio   [Oct 02, 2000]
Model Reviewed: , GM EV1
Strength:

Lots of torque, Great handeling, cheaper than gas, around $1.50 per 70 miles. Console, AC, and Stereo/speakers.

Weakness:

Large blind spot. Only 150 mile range per charge.

Overall a great commute car.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-5 of 5  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com