Honda Insight (1st gen) Hybrid | EV

Honda Insight (1st gen) Hybrid | EV 

DESCRIPTION

The 1st generation Honda Insight was a two-seater hybrid automobile manufactured by Honda. It was the first mass-produced hybrid automobile sold in the United States, introduced in 1999 and at its height achieved nearly 70 miles per gallon. According to the EPA, the 5-speed manual transmission variant of the Insight was the most fuel-efficient mass-produced automobile sold in the United States. Production ended in 2007 where only 3 were sold during that year.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 27  
[Sep 05, 2018]
Aquanaut


Strength:

I have found the strengths are the economy which I can pushed up to 107mpg on the M3 to Torquay in June this year. Very nippy with good handling. Surprisingly you can actually get quite a lot in the luggage space and storage compartment. I had a Smart 2 seater in 2003 and this is far better and much more stable on the road. Great climate control although you do have to work the engine a lot harder when its on. No road tax and as the ULEZ is coming to most of London next year I'm relieved my car is exempt! All aluminium so no rust and recycled plastics gives the interior that retro 60's sci fi car look.

Weakness:

Weaknesses I only have found 2-the first is quite a major one, the gearboxes are weak on the manual versions of which I have one. The bearings perished and needed to be replaced in the gearbox after 63000 miles which I was not impressed as it gave me a bill of £1400 through no fault of mine but Honda using poor quality bearings. The second is that the on board computer management system for the batteries discharges the batteries when they become fully charged to prolong the life of the batteries. The computer likes to keep the battery pack at around 50% charged. The computer will discharge the batteries even when you require the electric motor assist on steep hills or overtaking on the motorway. Trying to go up a steep hill when you are relying on a 900cc engine with no electric assist carrying 2 people is no fun.

Price Paid:
£3000
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2003
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Nov 01, 2013]
Barbara

Strength:

Great gas mileage, major Geek factor, Sporty,one of a kind car.NEVER rusts. Very dependable.

Weakness:

Stock tires are crap, size is impossible to find!

Great car if you can find one!

Similar Products Used:

'68 MGB,'97 toyota MR2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 04, 2004]
trinkar
Model Reviewed: Honda/Insight

Strength:

Great reliable, fuel efficient car. I don't think the radio sounds bad! People are so retarded.

Weakness:

It takes you ten minutes longer to get anywhere because people are always asking me about my car, including asking me to roll down my window while in motion! Cops spot the lime green color way too easily! My next car will be grey. :-( If it was 4 cylinder rather than 3, you could probably do 65 up I-80 to Vail...yeah, i wasn't doing that. lol. Some dealers know absolutely NOTHING about this car. I've gotten so much BS from the Honda service depts. They need to train their staff. Motorcars Honda in Mayfield Hts.,OH rocks tho.

I have owned my 2000 honda insight nearly four years. i currently have nearly 80,000 miles on it. i have driven it from east to west coast (USA) several times, including up thru Vail and we lived briefly in the mountains of Colorado. Its a great, reliable, fuel efficient car. I've also learned to pack a lot of stuff in it with relocating for college. There was a bit of a learning curve for the high altitudes. Must have snow tires for Ohio snow belt winters (I use bridgestone blizzaks). This decreases the gas mileage to the 50s, but otherwise you would go nowhere because the car is too light to have any traction on ice and snow.

Similar Products Used:

Honda civic, toyota corolla

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 29, 2003]
larry ames
Model Reviewed: Insight

Strength:

Low emmissions,Quility car,gas mileage

Weakness:

Two seater

Fantastic car,powerful,great gas milage,relieable,futuristic

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 19, 2003]
Paul H

Strength:

This is a historical car, which returns motoring to the root of the automobile. Underrated, reliable, unique, and up to date.

Weakness:

Slightly fragile, the wheel skirt connectors really bite. Stock tires are junk, but so were the tires on my brother's Prius! NVH good but annoying resonance at 53 mph in 5th.

I bought this car purely because of its struggling resale - 50 % after only two years?! I figured because it's a Honda, it will be amazingly like, well, a Honda. So far I'm twice as thrilled as I expected to be. Much more fun than my bro's Prius, just like the 'ol CRX! Honda has shown the world the depth of their interest in high quality production with this car. This is truly the rarest Honda on the road! That can be a good thing too. I was initially afraid of the "unique" tracking of this car, but after spending time in it - I truly feel guilty to drive my bigger cars. I am a car nut with up to 11 cars just recently, including a couple of REAL gas hogs - a Mercedes V12 and an old Lincoln convertible. This little puddle jumper has made driving interesting even without curves in the road. It's sobering to realize how much a lead foot impacts driving, and although temperature really affects efficiency here in Winterpeg, I feel absolutely enlightened regarding how much vehicle I personally "need" to go about my day. Sure, the handling seems jumpy at first, but it's like a high performance roller skate! My car zooms around corners, hates ruts and the factory Bridgestones are garbage. I intend to find replacement tires, as even Honda doesn't support the factory sized tires. I'm just hesitant to try monkeying with the tires though. I really should become more of an Insight Activist! I have a commute with a good 45 mph leg on it. I have seen 80 mpg above freezing, but for the most part here in the winter, have been struggling to achieve 45, mostly due to the cold (and occasional indulgent car preheating warm-ups) It's not hard to get 50 mpg while zipping around though! Now, if Honda could make a diesel hybrid...

Similar Products Used:

Toyota Prius, electric toothbrush, Hondas of all shapes and sizes.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 17, 2003]
Don
Model Reviewed: Insight CVT

Strength:

Gas mileage,parking ease,no problem on the interstate...will cruise at 70mph all day. automatic climate control.

Weakness:

not many...needto buy dedicated snow tires for winter driving.

Great little car which does exactly what it is intended to do while exceeding most expectations. Fantastic gas mileage without sacrificing comfort or handling.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 13, 2003]
john petell
Model Reviewed: insight manual

likes of the car: great fuel economy, i am getting 55 to 64 in the winter right now. love the styling of the car. like the littleness of the car and the ease to manuver it in traffic and parking is just great. fun to drive. love the fact that i am helping the environment. like the fact that i am not utilizing lots of fossal fuel. things i need to get use to is utilizing the car to its potential with gas milage. it is a game everytime i get in the car to drive. it makes me a none aggressive driver and more alert driver. since i work night work and driving home in the moring can just be gruling the car keeps me awake and active. dislikes: it gets getting use to the lightness of it. you feel every bump. the whole concept is different and i love getting to get use to it. we all need to be proactive in our country to help the environment and use new concepts. wonderful car overall.

Similar Products Used:

i have owned a vw rabbit diesel 1980, honda civic hatchback 1988 and a 1993 mazda mx6.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 29, 2003]
Joy
Model Reviewed: Honda Insight

Weakness:

Weak frame - easily damaged. Hard to see out of rear window, hard to check blind spot. Not much power.

I'm pretty disappointed in the Insight. I'm a careful driver, but I damaged the frame within a month of owning the car. Driving over anything bigger than a Dixie cup will damage the body. There are several small but annoying things wrong with the car, such as the fact that the cargo door doesn't stay open by itself. You have to hold the cargo door open while the cargo inside, which is difficult if you're holding something heavy. Lots of reviewers have written that the Insight has plenty of power, but I disagree. You really have to step on the gas hard to get it going. People considering buying an Insight should also realize that they will have to take it to the dealer for service - noone else knows how to work on the Insight.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Sep 11, 2002]
frank

Strength:

fun to work the vehicle to get top mileage. Makes you more aware of good driving habits

Weakness:

2 seater but not really a weakness

amazing technology, great value, as others have stated not the best if you do any hauling. Vehicle shares alot with S2000 componet wise. Honda spent alot more than sticker price on these cars to produce

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 31, 2002]
Andrew Glidewell

Strength:

This car is agile, sporty, and sleek. The CVT combines with the gas and electric motors to provide effortless acceleration.

Weakness:

Despite driving like a 100 year-old and keeping a constant eye on the trip MPG gauge, I can't get over 52 mpg.

Astonished by the performance and comfort, slightly disappointed by the fuel economy thus far. Unstable on rutted roads and when passing semis. The CVT is indispensable, this car puts a smile on my face constantly.

Similar Products Used:

none

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com