Toyota Prius (2005 - 2009) Hybrid | EV

Prius (2005 - 2009)

The Prius is Toyota’s gasoline-electric hybrid vehicle and the third-generation Prius debuts for 2010 with a more powerful engine and improved fuel economy. The 2010 Prius is available in 5 trims, ranging from the I to the V.

All trims are equipped with a standard 1.8-liter, I4, 98-horsepower, hybrid engine that achieves 51-mpg in the city and 48-mpg on the highway. A variable speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (36)

Showing 1-10 of 36  
onepicknick   [May 09, 2010]
Model Reviewed: prius with number 3 option
Strength:

good gas mileage most of the time

Weakness:

price warranty

Ok I've done the math on this car in 100,000 miles at 46 mpgs it cost 6522.00 to drive it cost 27000.00. Now if you buy a Hyundai accent which I traded in on this it got 32 MPG and cost 10800.00 and would burn 9375.00 in the 100,000 miles.
So the accent would cost 2853.00 more to drive. My Prius will never pay for itself.

Here's another kicker I was just checking on what they would give me trade in on a new prius mine has 10800 miles on it excellent condition they said 17000.00. So in one year it depreciated 10,000.00 in one year so add that in it cost 833.00 a month.

Now for accent I traded in they gave me 10,000.00 for it. It too had 10,000 mile so I lost 800.00 and it cost me 66 dollars a month to drive.

I guess what I am saying is save your money the car is not worth the price if you have a car that is getting 28 mpgs your way better off keeping it or buying one that gets it.

The puris gets 32 in windy conditions on the hi-way so your not gaining much.

Here is something else to consider the warranty is only 36 36000 and most cars are 10yr 100,000 they say the batteries are good for 80,000 and watch out pocket book.

There is no way this car can pay for itself

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
wp   [Mar 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Prius II
Strength:

MPG; averaged 47.5 over 2yrs/37k miles - mostly highway speeds. reliability, cargo capacity much more than you would think, FOB Key

Weakness:

No lumbar support. Toyota won't install trailer hitch for bicycles (not towing). Must get from after market vendor. Bikes do fit inside however.

Best car I've ever owned.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
2009PriusOwner   [Sep 22, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Prius
Strength:

Great mileage. Very quiet motor. Spacious interior. Camera guided reverse.

Weakness:

Computer technology shuts car down if you run out of gas. Poor acceleration, especially from a standstill.

Nice car but it has a major flaw. If you ever run out of gas, the car's computer completely shuts everything off! It becomes impossible to even push the car off the highway. All systems lock down.

It is then necessary to tow the car to the dealer and pay an exhorbitant amount just to reset the car's computer!

This is a ridiculous solution to a previously simple problem such as running out of gas. It makes the Toyota Prius counterproductive. The Prius saves gas and money by using electric technology, but then penalizes you heavily if you ever make the human error of running out of gas.

Toyota should have installed a sensor and alarm to remind users that their tank is almost empty, just like the beeping alarm to remind users to click the seat belt.

My opinion is that this car is not user friendly. Especially if run out of gas.

Similar Products Used: n/a
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Mike hood   [Aug 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Prius
Strength:

Decent fuel economy 37 city 39 highway my exp.

Weakness:

Handling,rough ride,company backing maybe sales have been good to long.Repairs eat up all the fuel savings!

Runs great but have really been disapointed with Toyoa I have always owned Toyotas and have always been happy with no problem which is good because this car has had problem with a headlight intermitedly going out this is no ordinary bulb it's a high intensity discharge bulb that cost $189.00 and cost almost $400 for labor,I have called Toyota care and they offered to pay for it under my platinum extended warr. But called me later and told me they would pay for the reimburse me for the bulb but I would have to pay for labor,looking on the Internet I see many people have had this same problem maybe American car makers still have a chance!

Similar Products Used: Honda civic,volkswagon rabbit and jetta
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
seagent   [Mar 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: toyota/prius
Strength:

Gas
All the extra elec bene's that come with it.

Weakness:

Sorry, but I can't really think of any that really bothers me. Oh, I will never be an owner of a BMW again in MY LIFE!

Bouth Feb 2007. I LOVE MY PRIUS and I would buy another one in a heartbeat!

First, It's a Hybrid with a lot of built in extras. Elec. everything, camera (but don't count on it for backing up, it's just to check for kids). I avg about 53 to 55 mpg and sometimes I can get 57 mpg. BUT you have to learn to drive it as a Hybrid not like a reg car. Your goal is to get the best mpg. So when you are in the neighborhood, milk it to where you are driving on batt. The engine will always need to have an operating temp, so eng will run. Use A/C, of course eng will run some also. Heat, A/C, eng temp, and gettin and goin will cause gas mpg to go down. MILK IT, MILK IT! So, mpg will vary. If you go on long trips, you will save gas but not as good as in town. If you take long trips, I have to suggest the Honda Civc Hybrid. Prius is built for in town driving. Honda Hybrid is built for hwy driving.

I sometimes drive round trip from Jacksonville, Fl to Fernadina Beach, Fl (100 Miles), I lose about 3 or 4 mpg compared to driving in city.

Without question, I would buy this car again. I absolutely love it. Can I nick and pick this car to death like any other car in the world, yea, but I LOVE IT ALL IN ALL so why niky and piky. This is a great care if you love saving gas and all the other benefits to go along with it. I have to say thank you to Toyota for at least trying and sticking to a principle and not make it a passing fad like Detroit does for things like this.

If you don't have the feelings about saving gas and so forth then you won't like this care, plain and simple.

Every morning when I wake up, I can't wait to get in my Prius and make my way to work.

This is over two (2) years of ownership of the car.

I hope this was helpful to anyone that is thinking about purchasing this car.

Mike

Similar Products Used: 2000 BMW 323I - Pull out your wallet. Ohh the wasteful money spent on this car.

2006 Nissan Frontier 4 cyc truck. Good truck, gas mpg sucked - 15 to 17 max in city.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dirk Ten Brinke   [Dec 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Prius
Strength:


My Prius has a peculiar fault: if the car has been operated for some time, and if the car is stopped for a long time (20-40 minutes), (as for road repair, or delay in emptying a parking structure after a concert), the Prius's wheels lock up; the shift lever will not operate to shift the car from the parked position; even turning the power off, removing the key, and trying to start the car again does not work. In 3 years of ownership, such 'gear locking' has occurred 8 times. The dealer from which the car was purchased cannot solve the problem. Phone calls to Toyota company have produced no help. I suspect some computer glitch, but so far, no Toyota repairman has suggested a solution.
After a time delay of something like 20-40 minutes, the shift lever us able to shift the car into Drive, and the car operates normally again.
But after 8 repetitions of the same kind of performance, I want to know what to do, at the time of the 'wheel/gears locking', what can I do to get the car moving again -- without some indeterminate period of waiting.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
lauranovak   [Dec 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Prius
Strength:

Driving experience, hybrid technology, turning ratios, backup camera

Weakness:

Two things I really dislike about this car:

- You can't drive and use the nav system at the same time: the car has to be in park. I don't need to be babysat by Toyota (feels a little 'big brother' to me), and when someone is in the passenger seat trying to use navigation it's really frustrating.

- when the package says "Satellite ready" it actually means that you have to spend another $600 to get the Satellite antenna installed. They don't tell you this until you call six months later trying to figure out why your XM isn't working when you try to activate it.

I have enjoyed driving this car immensely, I love it more than I thought I would and it's a great city car. I'm a photographer and my photo gear fits perfectly in the hatch trunk. It drives beautifully and I'm glad I bought it even with the gas prices going down.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tony   [May 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Prius
Strength:

1. Overall reliability and quality. I actually love this car and it was my first Japanese car.
2. Great mileage. 39MPG winter and 48 to 52 in summer.
3. Turn key and go!
4. Nice climate control.
5. No starter and conventional transmission, less moving parts.
6. If check engine light comes on it is so easy to reset. (Oh my computer was recalled for free). Software upgrade needed.

Weakness:

1. Tires wear out at 23K miles. Note here that the treadwear is 220. That is "normal" for this treadwear.

2. Paint is too thin and easily scratches. I'm always touching up!
3. My hood is pitted like a moon rock from highway driving. I may get it repainted ($500??). I'm keeping her around.
4. Don't drive over 75 MPH, it sways like a sail boat. Beware of high winds.
5. Avoid driving behind big rigs, the car shakes like a 7.9 earth quake. I'm not kidding here. Must have two hands on the wheel at all times.
6. Interior is OK, could be nicer.
7. I purchased a 7 inch arm rest for right arm and elbow, $75 well spent.
8. Radio is cold sensitive at 20F and below. It will not come on right away.
9. I usually do the preventive maintenence on it. So it may cost you more at the dealer to keep it up to date.
10. Beware of people walking in front of your Prius. They may not hear you. Put the AC On and MAX ON while city driving.
11. In winter the gas tank "bladder" shrinks and can only refill 85% volume (about 8.5 gallons out of 10 gallons).

I bought this Prius hybrid new and have 98,500 miles on it. The only thing that has failed was the O2 sensor in front of the converter at 48K miles. Everything else is original. Even the 12VDC battery in the trunk is still starting the engine. I may replace this before the next winter. Cost is $130 to $160.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tyler   [Mar 12, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Standard pkg 6, fully loaded
Strength:

MPG, audio system, handling, storage capacity, quiet ride, comfortable seating in all 5 places, key less entry system.

Weakness:

Sometimes people can't me coming in my neighborhood when running on battery as the car is VERY quiet.

The horn is wimpy.

I'm a college student and this is my first car. I absolutely love it! The car's MPG does suffer in the winter and it's even worse with the short trips I make to and from campus. The ride is very comfortable. I have plenty of lumbar support from my chair and the chair is soft enough to not hurt after long trips.

My car is very stable, I had to have one part replaced for some warping, but nothing else has gone wrong. The touch screen is s step forward, you can do a lot with the screen and get a lot of information very quickly. The steering wheel has nearly all of the same controls on it, so you don't have to use the screen.

Some complain about a noisy ride, whatever. If you have the stock tires, that may be the case as the Goodyear tires Toyota puts on are terrible. Go with Michelin HydroEdge tires and you'll never go wrong. Those tires were engineered for the Prius. Handling is exceptional with them and noise is virtually non-existent.

MPG depends on your style of driving, the terrain where you live, the speeds you drive at (interstate vs highway vs city), and how long your trip is. My car gets high 40s on interstate alone, 40 climbing mountains, and 55 with a combination of rolling hills on a highway, city driving, and relatively flat interstate travel. That was a normal trip to work before I came to school, and the car was in the mid 50s all the time.

The key less entry system is the best thing invented for cars in recent years. I don't have to up a key in the ignition, I don't have to pull it out to unlock the door, and I don't have to hit a button on the fob to unlock/lock doors. The RFID readers in the car work flawlessly to detect the fob.

I've read some complaints about braking as well. Nonsense. My car stops very nicely. I almost got into an accident because someone wasn't watching and turned in front of me, cutting me off. I stomped on the brake and I stopped very quickly from 25mph and still had about 2 feet before hitting the car. I think I was only about 2 car lengths away when he turned.

I don't plan on purchasing any other car but a Prius for a long time. It's is very economical, safe, quiet, and comfortable.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ed Towns   [Feb 25, 2008]
Model Reviewed: prius
Strength:

Gas mpg very good

Weakness:

Noisy, lack of lumbar seat, still using old battery technology which reduces mpg by 100%.. Very expensive

First thing is , its very noisy when engine turns on and road noise in terrible. Second thing is there is no lumbar seat for the driver! With the new Li-Ion bateries , this car should be geting 100mpg not 48 mpg. Toyota still using old batery technology.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com