Acura RL Luxury

RL

The RL is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, available in 3 trims, ranging from the Sedan to the CMBS/PAX package.

All trims are equipped with a standard 3.7-liter, V6, 300-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (64)

Showing 1-10 of 64  
rlerman   [Jun 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: rl
Strength:

Amount of features, particularly compared to similarly priced vehicles. Outstanding gas mileage, great handling, good acceleration, quiet and very comfortable ride.

Weakness:

More XM presets than just 12 needed...how about another 6-12. Car can be a little slow off the gun, but gets going quickly.

I bought a used 05 RL about a month ago. 43000 miles on it, paid 26,995 and bought the bumper to bumper 7yr/100000k warranty for an extra $900.

Can't say enough good things about this car. Handles great, very good acceleration, quiet, but still leaves you in touch with the road. Electronics are a bit overwhelming, but they all work well and over time suspect I will learn them better. Wish it had more than 12 xm presets. Gas mileage is phenominal, got 30 mpg on a 400 mile highway trip on 89 octane gas. have been averaging 25 city/suburban. I don't drive it hard, but the trick is to quickly get the car into 5th gear and ride it down to about 37-40, which keeps rpms around 1500 or slightly lower. Styling on outside is a little bland, but not bad, interior is superb!

Most people that have sat in this car have commented that it's as nice as mercedes/BMw's they've sat it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jcshma   [May 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: RL - tech package
Strength:

the look is nice

Weakness:

MPG is about 13 in the city. Car is full of defect.

RL tech is full of defects. Stay away from it...
I bought the car on 4/3/2008, and as of today 5/17/2008, I found myself bringing the car for repair more than 1/2 the time I own it. There are several defects that the dealership fixed such as part failure underneath the seat, noise coming from the column on the right etc. yet, there is at least one "major" manufacturing defect. The windshield
"moves" making the car unsafe. The rattling noise of the windshield banging against the car structure is loud and noticeable even when the car is stationary. As for my car, dealer has to remove the windshield, the headligner etc and still trying to figure out problem and fixing it. honda don't care about customers, they really did not take any action after weeks of contacting.

Similar Products Used: Drove over 100 types of cars and never found one worse than Acura RL.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
WGFerrel   [Apr 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Acura 3.5 RL
Strength:

reliability,quality of fit and finish, engine and transmission, ride and comfort.

Weakness:

gas mileage could be better but I've used midgrade to offset cost with no problems

Best vehicle I've owned. Baught it used with 102,000 miles. I took a leap of faith with the high mileage due to good reviews,and glad I did. This vehicle has been maintenance free outside of oil changes and 1 set of brake pads. Good power and still accelerates silky smooth at 156,000 miles,Amazing! If you want to experience honda engineering at it's best this is it.

Similar Products Used: 97 accord exl, 02 TL S
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
gene z   [Oct 25, 2007]
Model Reviewed: rl
Strength:

interior comfort..stereo..easy to drive for 8 hours at a time...really flies under the radar

Weakness:

navi system takes some learning...need to to make sure ignition switch is off..battery goes dead if left in acc position..its a keyless entry system...key fob ..transmitter.. costs $500.00

well built..excellent fit and finish..front seats really deluxe..superior handling for a sedan

Similar Products Used: honda accord...corvette..
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
mahon10   [Aug 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: RL3.5
Strength:

Style, ride, performance

Weakness:

Brakes need replacing every 20,000 or less miles.

Best car I ever owned. You canot go wrong with this car.

Similar Products Used: done
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Kimstarr   [Jul 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Acura RL
Strength:

Power adequate. Smart appearance. Comfortable seating. Handles well. Voice activation impressive. Navigation powerful once you learn it.

Weakness:

Noisy with lots of squeaks and rattles and wind noise that nobody can fix. Reminds one more of a New York City taxi cab than a 50K luxury car.....poorly designed: for example keyless entry. Sounds good, but if you lock something in you still need the key WITH YOU to get in... zero trunk space. Zero customer care. Dealers could care less. Heqdquarters couldn't give a rats behind whether you are happy either.

Overall a big waste of money. If you like overpaying for cars with obvious faults and like to have no customer care from either the dealer or the company, then the Acura RL is the car for you.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
ChellsRL   [Mar 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Acura 3.5 RL
Strength:

Luxury, style, design, smooth ride, great handling

Weakness:

Fuel usage sucks

I have nothing but praises for this vehicle. I have had it for less than a month. I purchased it used at Cloninger Ford Toyota in NC. So far we have taken it on a mini roadtrip(5 hrs) and it did quite well. It could be a lot better as far as fuel is concerned. Other than that it is a great car.

Similar Products Used: honda accord ex
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mytmack   [Aug 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Acura /3.5 RL
Strength:

Nice styling, handles well in the rain.

Weakness:

Drivers side rear window regulator broke and I barely use this window!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Car runs very well. Never had any major engine or transmission problems. Great car to own overall. I brought it in March of 2002 pre-certified with 41,200 miles on it and I still own it. The car has 85,500 miles on it now.

Similar Products Used: Lexus GS300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
attomica   [Aug 10, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Acura 3.5 RL
Strength:

Road manners, fit & finish, sound system, reliability

Weakness:

Lack of dash-mounted CD player; less-than-great fuel economy; may not have been designed with tall drivers in mind

Wow! What a fantastic car! We bought ours on a Friday and took it on a long road trip only a week later. The RL's highway manners are beyond reproach and acceleration at those speeds is impressive. It quickly became clear that design, engineering, fit, and finish were of very high priority for the creators of this car. The Bose sound system and the quality of its sound is wonderful. Controls are intuitive and easily manipulated with nice-feeling buttons. See below for our "negatives" on it, though. The Pearl White exterior color of our car is stunning and, with the beige leather interior, makes for a really beautiful combination. Our RL doesn't have the navigation, which is fine. We get around just fine without it. We bought our RL after completing exhaustive research and, so far, couldn't be more pleased. According to our research, it's reasonable to expect a trouble-free experince with this car and we believe that will be the case with our car. Also, according to our research, this car has some very innovative safety features, which made the RL even more attractive, since we'll be having children in the near future. We do have complaints, however. They may be trivial, but could have been easily addressed at the design stage: 1. The absence of a dash-mounted CD player, coupled with the location of the changer in the trunk is a total hassle. Being able to play a single CD is important and we missed being able to on our trip. 2. Fuel economy is not great. We're lucky if we get 300 miles to the tank and that's all highway traveling. 3. At 6'4", I feel a bit cramped in the driver's seat. I couldn't adjust it any lower and my head is almost touching the edge of the sunroof opening. Overall, this is a nearly perfect car for our needs.

Similar Products Used: Saab 9-5, Lexus ES300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rjohns63   [Jun 04, 2004]
Model Reviewed: ACURA RL
Strength:

Strong V-6. Had on I-5 going over 160 MPH for over 5 minutes running smooth.

Weakness:

Had to replace 1 window reg (LH). CD Changer in the truck. Gas milage could be better.

Bought this car back in 2000. It is a good car. Black on Black with 18" crome rims and crome exhaust pipes with 117K and still looks new. Had no problems except the rear window regulator. Bought it from a web site for $65 and replace it myself.

Similar Products Used: BMW 740
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com