Audi A4 (2010 and older) Luxury

A4 (2010 and older)

The Audi A4 has a planted, sportier stance and holds the road with a new sense of confidence and enthusiasm. Its new underpinnings are shared with the S5 and A5 coupes. Thanks to the liberal use of ultra-high-strength steel, the body weighs 10 percent less than last year's, yet is more rigid.

The 2.0 T is equipped with a new 2.0-liter, I4, 211-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 27-mpg on the highway for a combined fuel economy of 23-mpg. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard. The 3.2 quattro with Tiptronic is equipped with a new 3.2-liter, V6, 265-horsepower engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway for a combined fuel economy of 20-mpg. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (238)

Showing 1-10 of 238  
zmonster   [May 23, 2011]
Model Reviewed: A4 1.8T Quattro with sports package
Strength:

Great Car to Drive & handels real well on the corners when the car did not have any problem.

Weakness:

Coils were replaced by Audi 5 times. Too many sensors, going off.

Bought the car in 2002, and junked the car with less than 100,000 miles. Oil leaks in the hydrolics, engine, brakes, power sterring in other words was leaking everywhere. air condition went out, all the sensors acting up. all windows, doors, alarm, & sun roof do not work right, the open and close by themselves. it would cost over $10000 to fix, so my advice lease or buy and get rid of it after three years or when the warranty expires. It's a money pit and will never by an audi ever again

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Drew   [Mar 16, 2009]
Model Reviewed: A4 Quattro 1.8
Strength:

Good handling, quiet ride (when wheel bearings are new), fuel mileage decent, decent power.

Weakness:

Ok, here we go... new clutch at 50,000 miles( a friend borrowed my car and was starting in 3rd gear instead of 1st, ouch! I'd say this was his fault more than the car's) $1800, 3 new wheel bearings $600, 2 new front axles because the boots cracked open $400, a new ignition module when 2 cylinders cut out $600, both front door speakers are blown, both side mirrors have that orange/brown stain from who knows what???, 2 new front lower control arms from excessive wear $900, now one of the strut mounts is worn and I hear that rattling sound all the time (who knows how much that will cost??) I will never buy German cars again. For what I paid and expected from this car, I never got. I shoulda gone with the Subaru at the time.

I like to call this car, my money pit. I bought it new in 1999 and it worked well until 50,000 miles. It's been all downhill since. Im now at 136,000 miles. The most disappointing car i've owned in 22 years.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
ryanstheman8907   [Nov 15, 2008]
Model Reviewed: A4 1.8T Quattro
Strength:

EVERYTHING.... handling, drive feel, Quattro, interior, etc.

Weakness:

Little things. I've heard people say that German hard are "over" engineered and I truely believe it. The japanese place their efforts on relibaility and the Germans place their efforts on handling.

Ok so I almost thought about waiting to write a review on this car but I decided to go ahead. My family has been all about American cars since the creation of time and now I can understand a little why. I being only 19 decided to buy a higher end car then my mustang, and started to keep my eyes open. I was obviously a lover of the BMW 3 series, but a few things turned me off. First off, everyone has one and I mean everyone. I test drove a 2006 and was completely unimpressed. I had NO get up and go at all. I then came across this beautiful silver A4. I was looking for something bigger then a four banger but the turbo makes this thing truely fun to drive. The interior is unsurpassed (MUCH better then BMW could even dream of). About a month after buying a began to realize that some of the "feature" didn't work, such as: headlight washers, window lock was broken in the locked position, the sunroof is demonic. And then shortly after my security system would beep three times after startup. of Course the dealership didn't know and then I went away for a week. I got back and the car was as dead as a rock. I then left for college and a week after getting to school my tiptronic would randomly quite working and PRNDS would all light up at the same time. Audi thought it might be serious so I took it in. I also had them look for the reason my car battery was dead, etc. The channel that allows the gearshift to move over into tiptronic was bad. They replaced for a lovely 350 dollars. The sec. and battery issue was another 350-400 and no Audi's you can't change the batteries yourself. I will say that the customer serivce was INCREDIBLE and they even washed my car (man an 800 dollar car wash). Recently I noticed that my steering fluid was disappearing. I found a leak in my rack and pinion. I'm waiting to have this fixed as a remanufactered costs about 350. And then this AWFUL vibration comes out of left field. Its everywhere and driving me crazy. As of yesterday i had it narrowed down to (two) bad CV joints. I'm not taking it to AUDI becaus the joints there cost 300 a piece. And then the other morning it wouldn't idle because it was very cold out. So lovely I have to take it in again. I really want to love this car because its SO incredible. Its truely a head turner. I'll be driving behind a BMW 325 or 330 and people won't look at it, but as soon as I drive by i see heads turn. The quattro is incredible and MUCh better then BMW's. W/ more going to the rear and a 40/60 split. I LOVE IT.

Similar Products Used: BMW 3 sereies, Volvo S40, Mazda 3, Mazda 6, Lexus IS200
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
nimequcaj   [Apr 20, 2008]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

please don't get me started

BE AWARE THAT AUDI WILL CHARGE YOU MORE THAN YOU CAN IMAGINE FOR EVERY CAR THAT IS BEING TURNED IN AT THE END OF THE LEASE. This is our story about how Audi tried to extort money out of us and they will do it to you to. If this has happened to you SHARE YOUR STORY AND STOP BUYING AUDI VEHICLES.

They claim that normal wear and tear items are forgiven, but God forbid you have a single scratch – EVEN UNDER THE VEHICLE – you will be charged. We are being charged $1291.00 for our crappy Audi A4 2.0. By the way, this car has had so many problems that NOBODY SHOULD EVER BUY THE AUDI WAGONS.

Here’s what is so incredulous about this situation – we had a big problem with Audi shortly after we bought the car because Roadside Service refused to help rescue my pregnant wife when she had locked her keys out of the car. They told her to “just have someone break the window”. Once we complained to everyone up in the food chain, we finally were able to force Audi to make a settlement and pay us two car payments to “forgive” the incident. Here’s where we find this lease inspection report to be outrageous – IT IS TO THE EXACT PENNY THE AMOUNT WE WERE GIVEN IN OUR ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE SETTLEMENT!!!! They are extorting money from us.

Just be aware that Audi will try to take you to the cleaners when you turn in your car. You better get a lawyer – that is actually what the Keyes Audi dealer in Van Nuys, CA told me to do. Seriously – they are criminals for being this way. When the lease inspection was being done, the guy who came out said not to worry that we won’t actually have to pay for all of this. Audi Financial said they have no idea what he was talking about but they are forcing us to make the payment. Apparently, the inspectors are paid a commission off the lease inspection reports. Plus, they don’t tell you that the prices they charge are 3-4 times what a repair shop will bill you for. This is CRAZY.

So, apparently, these are the Audi lease rules as far as “excessive” damage is concerned:

1. Dents (they describe this as anything larger than a quarter)
2. More than two dings per panel, even without paint damage (they describe this as anything smaller than a quarter)
3. Sever paint chips and scratches (*they use the word “severe” but that is of course a relative term and they won’t make any attempt to explain what constitutes “severe”)
4. Storm damage (Seriously? What does that even mean? Rain spots? Come on already.)
5. Dented or damaged bumpers (OK well that is unbelievably vague and worse yet, even if this is just a dent that is smaller than a quarter you are apparently screwed because the bumper must be in mint condition upon turn in – break out the foam bumper guards people because that is just impossible. God forbid you live in a metropolitan

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
kai   [Feb 14, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Audi/A4 3.2
Strength:

Looks nice

Weakness:

Total lack of reliability.

In past 6 weeks have had the following replaced: ignition coil after internal short in coils 2 and 3 cylinders low fuel pressure sender; exhaust valves; fuel injectors. Car has died and Roadside Assistance took hours. Customer Service totally unresponsive and Audi will not stand behind its product.

Similar Products Used: BMW 3 series (drove them for years, over 100,000 miles)
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Ortiz   [Aug 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: A4 1.8 ltr. quattro
Strength:

looks good

Weakness:

they should let consumers know that these cars only last 50,000 miles

The car was great until the warrenty ran out, it has been a nightmare since, we have had constant contact with Audi for the past 2 years and have not had great satisfaction, would not recommend or purchase another audi based on this experience.
The car isn't even 4 years old and we have had to replace the engine, ac compressor, winshield washer motor, winsheild wiper motor, as well as many hoses that should have been replaced with the engine, audi did investigate this and we were credited with some of the expence.
White Allen Audi, Dayton OH did the engine replacement, would not recommend them at all, they made many mistakes and have caused a lot of grief.

Similar Products Used: buick, vw, chevy, chrysler, ford, pontiac, another Audi for a short time (having the Audi in Europe convinced us to purchase this one)
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Spoiled   [May 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: A4 3.0 Quattro 6 speed
Strength:

Beautiful design, looks like its worth its price inside out, but not too flashy, Quattro in Canadian weather/road conditions, air suspension with lot of clearance for deep snow, germain over engineering hand assembled on many areas, solid, stable, quiet inside, fiber optics lighting through-out, 6 speed & clutch, cruise control calibration, 10 speaker stereo with sub 6 cd and tape player, seating comfort on long trips. Go figure, a security system included, 10 year rust proof warranty to protect your investment.

Weakness:

speed limited to 210 kph, minor electronic glitches that self correct. ie sensitive windows and AC fan with mind of there own on couple occasions. Seats took a long time to breakin. Basic floor mats, show wear after a year. Coffee Cup holder above stereo/electronic console are they on drugs? Never use it for chance of costly repair bill! Only front cigarette socket for cooler broke in first year. From what used car sales people say about A4's is the air suspension is trouble in the future but I had no problems.

From what I read posted, I got better luck then some with a trouble free car for 3 yrs, going for many more. Most people I have spoken too have good luck also. Price posted in US dollars with options.
It simply spoils me every time I get in. A+ for Fun to drive. A+ Steering accuracy. A- perfect weight 55/45 and balance. It is very stable where you point the car it goes no weaving, twisting on loose ground. When you slam the gas the backend seems to push a bit more than the front end pulling. Perhaps a 45/55 calibration on power but just amazing due to quattro and EBS. A+ Handling on rough road and loose or slippery roads. A- Engine is very linear power just a bit less smooth at hig revs but lots of 220hp and torque. A+ throttle response. My 6 speed is very nimble and sporty feels, somewhat short shifting, not quiet as nimble shifting as bmw but very close. A+ fuel mileage I get 7.9L/100km at 100km/60mph but prefer to drive quicker. Quattro system is the perfect efficient all-wheel drive, especially in Canadian weather. A+ Electronic Stability Computer is so hands off until you push near limits then you notice it hitting the brakes to stop the swinging. This car handles the twisty corners faster and better than any other including BMW. A+ cruise control best calibrated I have every seen. Never abrupt excelleration. A-Brakes a little more effort required to stop slowly but quick stops sucked my eyes out. A+ Absolute perfect fit and finish inside out. No plasticy, thin, cheap, cheesy materials. A. Leather seats are very good, a little hot in the summer. I have black on black. A+ perfect wood trim. C- cup holder over stereo. What is that? A+ Ergonomics and no wasted cabint space. A+ Front seat 12 way ajustable power & room. A- back seat leg room if fronts seats pushed too far back. A+ Back seat comfort with big solid arm rest with first aid kit. 5'2" Wife says the back seats may be even more comfortable than the front. B+ trunk space but bigger than many in class and more space if locking fold-down rear seats opened. A+ Too many standard features and reasonably priced packages. A+ 4 driver memory settings includes seat, mirror and even dual-zone climate control. A+ programming 3 button HomeLink. B+ Steering wheel audio controls only avail on 4 spoke wheel. A+ Built in child LATCH system for quick car seat installation for our 3 year old. A+ safety features through out. Sales people were helpful, willing to drop price 5.6% off in-stock msrp and great fun. Trained and willing to show me what this car could do partly off-road, I would not try with mine.:-)
I don't know if I like the new big grills on the 2006's and up but the car is a work of art.

Similar Products Used: Tested and drove the Acura 3.5 TL 2004 plasticy & front wheel drive only not flexible in price? Infiniti G35 2004 plasticy and cheap looking inside try it in deep snow-no go, BMW 330 2004 nice but sales staff full of themslves, not flexible in price & 16k more to match options and only 5 yr rust proof warranty when audi was 10 yrs in 2004, BMW 320 in-laws nice but not enough power and BMW symbol corroded after a couple of years?, BMW 323 touchy brakes and cold apearance inside not warm like the A4, Mazda 6 cheap and fun not the same class, buy the extended warranty.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
eddavis   [Jan 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Audi A6 Quattro
Strength:

Good traction on curvy wet roads. Good acceleration and great feeling of stability.

Weakness:

Numerous electrical problems. Power windows work intermittently; radio repaired multiple times. Dealer appears clueless on dealing with electrical glitches. Audi of America is totally non-responsive. The problems would not be large issues if dealers were adequately trained in repair. Audi would like to be regarded as a premium auto company but there is a large gap between BMW/Mercedes service departments and those of Audi.

The car is an excellent performer when it is not in the shop. Excellent handling at high speeds. Very solid feel on the road.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
allan   [Sep 05, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Audi A4 Quatro 2.8
Strength:

Handling in foul weather or any weather. High speed stability, Heated seat were great in the dead of winter. The paint was very durable, solid body, the solid German feel of driving it.

Weakness:

Resale value, electrical, engine is an oil burner. Get ready to spend a lot of time in the shop, and make sure you'll have access to rentals.. Good luck!!

I've owned the car for over 3 yrs and it was great while it was under warranty. Audi has a great warranty 50 bumper to bumper, I got the 100k cause I had a gut feeling that I would need it. I was great for the first few years but problems started to come out way earlier than I expected. Rear brakes started wearing out prematurely 3 times, burned oil, uncomfortable leather seats, radio blinked like it was possesed, cruise control sometimes will not work especially when you needed it, wierd leak in front. O2 sensor issues, Check engine lights,(very annoying). I guess it is a trade off if you want the solid German feel or the solid Japanese reliability. You really have to choose. Good luck!

Similar Products Used: Honda, Toyota, Subaru, Mecedes.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
dizondr   [Aug 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: A4 1.8t Fronttrak
Strength:

Good looks inside and out. Interior is typical Audi - well laid out, topnotch materials, handsom design. Solid German car feel. Roomy (for front passengers at least). Relatively good gas mileage but my new car with a V6 gets just as good mileage.

Weakness:

170hp and 166 lb ft of torque in a 3500lb car??? I found this car quite SLUGgish. Terribly underpowered even as a base engine in this day and age. A TL has 270hp STOCK, a G35 has 280hp STOCK which are more than the top of the line V6 at 220hp(excluding the S4) C'mon Audi, what are you thinking? That's the biggest weakness. Others are: unsupportive and uncomfortable bucket seats, xenons aren't up-to-par, maintenance/repair costs out of warranty, anticipated reliability, price adds very fast as options get added - not much value.

Overall, this car car has many good things going for it. It has that solid German feel. It's one of the best looking sedans on the market in my opinion and in typical Audi fashion, the interior is topnotch - well designed with very rich feeling materials. It has a very taut suspension. It feels very planted to the road compared to the Japanese or American cars I've owned. You feel connected and controlled.

The 1.8t feels rather sluggish at 170hp. And this car is quite heavy. With other cars in its class easily outpowering it in base form, I find it odd that any luxury car company can offer a 170hp engine for a 3500lb + car. The engine is very tunable and that's easily fixed, but very underpowered out of the factory. The seats on this car were also not very supportive and not very comfortable for long road trips. I found myself squirming and repositioning myself many times after a couple hours of driving. The xenon lights, although much better than the halogens, are still a few notches below others in this class - ie Acura TSX/TL, BMW 3-series. They just didnt light up the road as well.

The anticipated reliability of this car remained one of the leading reasons I got rid of it early. Although I had very little problems with mine (one busted coilpack at less than 30k miles), the overly poor reviews Audi has received for their reliability issues once the miles started racking up, the rising gas prices ($3.30 for 91+ octane for 170hp?? when I can pay $2.99 for cheap generic gas for a 240hp car stock), the high maintenance/repair costs led me to purchase another car.

Perhaps when I have the extra cash to throw around to repair this car if/when it breaks then I may purchase another Audi. I do like their cars. They tend to be more of a dime a dozen compared to their arch nemesis, BMW which everyone and their mothers own.

Similar Products Used: 1996 Ford Explorer, 1998 Honda Prelude SH, 2004 Honda Accord Cpe V6 6MT, 1996 Volvo 850 Turbo, 2004 Subaru Impreza Sti, 2001 Nissan Maxima SE, 2002 Volkswagen Passat V6.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 238  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com