Audi A8 Luxury

A8

The A8 is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, available in two trims, the 4.2 Sedan quattro and the 4.2 Sedan L quattro.

Both trims are equipped with a standard 4.2-liter, V8, 350-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (33)

Showing 1-10 of 33  
CarReview enthusiast   [Feb 03, 2011]
Model Reviewed: A8 L
Strength:

Gas Milage which is higher than the EPA rating. This is a 4 wheel drive vehicle that I get 27 MPG on the highway, 21 -22 combined, and 19-20 in the city (Chicago). For a top line vehicle with all the comforts of any vehicle I believe that this is exceptional.

Weakness:

This is my 6th Audi. I had the largest model Qattro, V8, and A8 models from 1986 to today's 2009 A8. This the first one that I can remember that maintenance for the first 3 years or 50,000 miles was not included. I am not sure about the early Audi's. The reliability has been great as I usually had at least 100,000 or more miles on them before replaceemnt with little trouble. One complaint is that the MMI controls are easily damaged by liquids being spilled fron a cup in the holder next to the controls. The controls should be made more robust and the cup holder moved from next to them as any liquid can easily result in a $1,000 plus need for repair.

This is a wonderful vehicle with reliability, performance, and style. I would like the maintenance restored and the resale value to be a little better. Overall it is an excellent vehicle with a slightly higher than I would like price.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Tim Ford   [Feb 15, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Audi A8
Strength:

The 4.2 V8 is bulletproof. The interior is beautful and user-friendly. It is an incredible value when purchased pre-owned, especially under the Audi CPO program.

Weakness:

The armrest will break if you or your passengers lean on it too hard when exiting the vehicle. The transmission has been an issue for some 97-99 owners.
(not me)
This is not a Camry or an Accord. Parts are expensive and the car is far more complicated. It is a high performance luxury German sedan.

A timing belt at 90,000 miles will cost you $1,500.00.

I have owned my 1999 Audi A8 for 3 years.

I have put 40,000 miles on it and the car has been flawless. It is, hands down, the most incredible car on the planet. It swiftly carries me and my passengers anywhere we want to go, under any road conditions, in comfort and style. It is supurbly sporty, yet elegant and understated.

My 99, despite being nearly 8 years old and with 80,000 miles on her, still looks like a brand new car. People are shocked when I tell them it's a 99.

There are no rattles or squeaks and the fit and finish are still better than a new BMW I drove last week. It is a very well engineered car.

Similar Products Used: BMW 745i
Lexus LS40
Infiniti Q45
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
david kasman   [Jan 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Audi a8
Strength:

The A8 feels great. It stayed level in turns and while braking (it reminded me of the Porsche 968 I used to own), it feels extraordinarily rigid and planted to the pavement. It is quiet and so comfortable. Long drives seem shorter. The V8 has plenty of pull and it sounds great. I love this car and to date it has needed only minor repairs which have been covered on Audi's pre-owned two year or 100,000 total mile warranty. This is a car that is fun to drive and extremely comforable and luxurious. I also like the A8L understated aesthetics also. I wouldn't mind driving this car for the rest of my life!

I drove many vehicles before deciding tto purchase a 2001 Audi A8L. The cars included slightly used Mercedes E and S class examples, new VW Tauregs, Lexus LS, VW Passatt, Audi A6, Audi A4 and many others. All left me cold except the A8.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gapgtp   [Jun 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: A8 Quattro 4.2
Strength:

Amazing build quality, Quattro is best handling AWD out there. Performance is amazing. Great gas mileage for big car. Refined luxury at a bargain price.

Weakness:

Audi parts and service is VERY EXPENSIVE! Transmission is clunky and suspect on many older A8s. Resale value is poor.

As other readers have noted, the A8 is probably one of the best sleeper cars out there. What do I mean by that? Well, it has build quality that rivals Rolls Royce, features in a 98' that New cars are just starting to include, performance and handling to rival the best sports sedans out there and hardly anyone knows anything about it! Until the new A8 came out, noone I talked to even new Audi made an A8. Most of these were corporate executive fleet cars and the mileage and extremely nice condition of these used cars reflects that. The only downside that I will agree with others about is the goofy Audi Electronics that seem to have a mind of their own. The climate control does whatever the hell it wants, the sunroof will open occasionally for no reason (but easily closes) and more disturbingly, the transmission will just electronically lock up and prevent the car from moving on occasion with hard driving. Other than that, the car is an AMAZING deal at $10-$20k for a higher mileage vehicle. As long as you make sure the key service points had been done, you should have a great car for years to come!

Similar Products Used: Chrysler Crossfire SRT-6 Roadster
Pontiac Vibe GT
Nissan Maxima SE
Pontiac Grand Prix GTP
Chevy Prism LSi
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
petrosaudi   [Apr 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: audi a8 quattro
Strength:

HANDLING, design, body, suspension, interior leather, driving at more than 120 mph.

Weakness:

left arm rest, gas mileage.

I would agree with everyone that this a8 is amazing car to drive. It has so many accesories that I have never seen in other cars. The handling is super the fastest the I was doing on the turns is 50 miles in 90 degree turn with fully pressed gas pedal and it is amazing, never experienced anything like that. In here CA I have visit 4 audi dealers all of them are friendly but I was just buying the parts nothing else. I'm fixing or trying to fix it myself and so far I had to rebuld the left front drive axle and it cost me $75 at NAPA just to rebuild it which is excellent, also planning to change oil in trany and rear deff. will see how is that going to be. Other than that it's a real luxury car, you won't be disapointed I have 110000 miles on it and no complaints for now except the gas mileage but we all know that alway you gotta pay for comfort because it's never free.

Similar Products Used: avalon, mercedes e320, maxima.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
esf51   [Nov 23, 2004]
Model Reviewed: A8
Strength:

Smooth as silk ride. The seats with the back support are the greatest.

Weakness:

The rear gear clutch module in the transmission failed at 56,000 miles while all other gears work properly. Car has a good service record but is out of warranty. Transmission cannot be repaired but replaced at a cost of $6,000.00. Audi parts are the only option. Audi won't participate financially in the repair unless another Audi is purchased. They don't stand behind the product.

This is by far a unique auto, and an engineering marvel. Smooth, quiet and full of power. I agree with others in this forum that there is a serious visibility issues and blind spot in the rear. Average is 24.5 MPG which is great for the large V8. The solar panel in the sun roof is very creative. It came with Goodyear tires which were trashed at 28k miles and were replaced with Continental tires. I was very pleased with tge results in tire change. Not very pleased with Audi corporate customer support as they are nothing more than clerks screening calls and protecting the inside management from dealing with customer issues.

Similar Products Used: Meercedes
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Mordaulf   [Nov 10, 2004]
Model Reviewed: A8 Quattro
Strength:

Everything about this cars is excelent.

Weakness:

finding parts is a nightmare, the maintenence is expensive however you can get an extended warranty for about 1800 bucks that will cover you until 110,000 miles.

This seems to be a great car, however beware that the armrest on 1999 and older models tend to be the weakest point in the car. You will probably have to replace it if you have not already. the 2000+ models have a re-designed one that is much better.

Similar Products Used: A4 quattro, a few benz's and a lexus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ricl   [Oct 14, 2004]
Model Reviewed: a8 4.2 quattro
Strength:

Flawless fit and finish both inside and out. Understated luxury. Power and 4WD handling. 115000 miles and still tight as a drum.

Weakness:

The unknown future. The shifting of the transmission is not acceptable at low speeds, and using the tiptronic play heck with the gas mileage. The headrests and the slope of the rear window, makes window cleaning VERY difficult. The concealed interior storage is non existant (since the glove box is so difficult to open). The lack of available aftermarket parts. The "baby" passenger side mirror. The Audi dealerships lack of interest in customer satisfaction. And did I mention the unknown future of a high mileage 98 A8 ???????

This is my first experience with an Audi. Fortunatly (or unfortunatly) I read the 1998 A8 Quattro reviews after I bought the car (I might have been scared off by some of the reviews). My A8 had 85000 miles on it, and looked showroom new. I was drawn to the car because it was the only car on the lot that would carry a $28000 finance that would allow me to get out from under a Hyundai Sonata. I have put 30000 miles on this car in just over a year, and I have been very satisfied with it so far. I too have had bad service from the only 2 Audi dealers in St. Louis, but after finding a local foreign car service shop, life is better. I have replaced the timing belt ($800.00) the left front axle ($300.00) the right cv boot and rear drive shaft seal ($500.00) battery ($120.00) ceramic brake pads (to TRY and reduce the brake dust) ($500.00) and several ($120.00) oil changes. A previous comment on this forum compared this car to a high maintenance women (expensive but worth it) and I have to agree... This is the most beautiful understated piece of machinery that I have ever owned. This is only the second foreign car I have ever owned, and I will never buy American again...(at least at the time of this writing, and also at the time of this writing, I will buy another A8). I would however appreciate comments from long term owners of this car, so I might cut my losses if I need to....

Similar Products Used: Lincoln Mark VIII, Cadillac Sedan DeVille
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sbanovic   [Sep 21, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Audi
Strength:

Performance, quiet ride, handling, comfort, great sound system and unique creature features

Weakness:

Audi service, costly parts, not for your typical mechanic to work on

I purchased my A8 from a locacl BMW dealership who didn't hesitate to give the car away. One of the headlights wasn't functioning so I promptly took the vehicle in for repairs at the Houston Advantage Audi dealership. The auto was looked over and they stated the headlight ignitor was out and it would cost 450.00 to replace plus 200.00 for the bulb as well. The inept boobs failed to test either and after sending to a European auto repair shop, they quickly determined the bulb was out and provided the same bulb Audi was offering for 142.00. These autos are great to drive but as previous owners stated, Audi service SUCKS.

Similar Products Used: BMW 745i Mercedes S500 VW Phaeton
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
jdunbar   [May 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Audi A8 Quattro
Strength:

Powerful, smooth, quiet, well built, every luxury appointment, understated styling, excellent handling, triptonic shift, bose stereo, excellent fit and finish.

Weakness:

Electric mirrors not working, front passegner window not working. Fortunately the window is closed while I continue into my 6th week wait for the parts. Had to pay to have the glove compartment lock fixed. The steering wheel does not heat up. I am anxiety about the reliability and repair costs after after reading the other reviews. I should have bought a Lexus but the car is the best car I have even driven. It's the service, repairs, and reliability that are inexcusable. though the A8 is a superior car.

Bought my A8 used with 40K miles. I had the car for 5 days when it was hit by a Jeep Cherokee. The damage was minor but it took 5 months for the repair shop to complete the repairs. Only certified shops cana repair the aluminum body. The car sat for 10 weeks before repairs were begun. Finally, the car was towed to the local Audi dealership to have the transmission oil changed. It sat for 3 weeks before they changed the oil. I had asked that the electrical and power switches be checked while the car was at Audi. They did not check the systems, so when the car was returned to me, the power mirrors and the passenger power window were not working. It has been 5 weeks since they ordered the part. I have call the dealership 3 times and no one has returned by call. Do not buy this car if you don't have patience dealing with dealers who don't care about your time or if you don't have a second car. I will not buy another Audi because it's the worse experience I have had with a dealer.

Similar Products Used: Lexus GS 300
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 33  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com