BMW 5-Series (2010 and older) Luxury

BMW 5-Series (2010 and older) Luxury 

DESCRIPTION

The BMW 5 Series is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, luxury sports sedan, or luxury wagon, available in 6 trims, ranging from the 528i Sedan to the 550i Sedan.

The 528i Sedan is equipped with a standard 3.0-liter, I6, 230-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 28-mpg on the highway. The 550i Sedan is equipped with a standard 4.8-liter, V8, 360-horsepower engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 134  
[Jul 20, 2010]
Kevin Dougherty
Model Reviewed: 535i

Strength:

The seats are the most comfortable I have ever had and are great for long drives. The trunk is large.

Weakness:

A design flaw that makes the engine lose compression even when using top quality high test gasoline. The problem appears to be unrepairable. Also, the car is counter intuitive in the way features are laid out. Since my salesmen did such a poor job of explaining the car, there are features on it I still can't figure out. The electornic transmission is less than ideal and has a very difficult time going from park to drive. I often have to attempt this numerous times before it occurs.

The biggest weakness with the car is a fundamental flaw in the car's engine. For some reason, gas purchased in the US fowls the fuel injectors resulting in a loss of compression in the engine. I have had this problem for 30 months and BMW's repeated attempts to address the issue have failed. The problem is intermittent and when the "engine" light is on, the car has extremely poor exceleration. It also seems to consume more gas. A service tech at Global Imports told me that this is a problem they are having specifically with this model and for some reason it is not happening in the European version. I have made 4 failed attempts to repair the car and have complained endlessly to Global and BMW. On three occasions I left messages with Global and once with BMW North America with no responce. The service rep who told me about the origin of the problem gave me a number to call and I actually got a person on the line. He was of no help what so ever and just said, when it happens again, bring it in. Another thing that is unbelievable, given the price of the car, is that the majority of dealers do not give you a loaner if you did not buy the car at their dealership. In other words, you can have a repeating problem like this and have to rent a car for several days while the car is being "repaired".I rarely get back to Atlanta these days and I have yet to find a local dealer willing to give me a loaner. When I asked the BMW rep if he could make sure that I get a loaner if I am out of town when this happens, his responce was that this is up to the individual dealers. BMW Corporate could (or would) do nothing about this. As a result, the car spends vertually all its time at Global on those occasions when I do get back to Atlanta. Is this any way to run a car company? I left the same BMW rep a message last week asking for an address so I could send a written detailed complaint to their corporate offices. Needless to say he never called me back. I guess if you ignore something long enough it will go away. In fact, in my case, they are correct. I had a 3 year lease on the car and it is up in 3 months. As a result, I guess I am going away, permenantly. I will never purchase anything from BMW again. It sounds as if they need to do a recall on the 535i. Given the economy, I am sure they will not be doing so. Buyer be ware, you have been warned.

Similar Products Used:

Audi A6. Great car, should have bought another one.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 22, 2010]
Matej
Model Reviewed: 530 d Touring

Strength:

Engine response, handling, driving comfort, interior space, exterior design, general build quality, good (but not phenomenal) original stereo with sub-woofers

Weakness:

Interior design, interior materials, navigation system, fuel economy (especially in winter time), RWD in extreme winter conditions

This is a very nice car. It is fast and powerful, quiet and comfortable even at high speed with very smooth automatic gearbox. It is fitted with good stereo and good front seats. The fuel economy suffers in city and in cold conditions but the car will do just fine on long journeys and cruising on highways and motorways. The two only real drawbacks for me are cars interior design with shabby materials used for console, switches and rear wheels drive which takes some time to get used to in poor driving conditions and doesn't handle snow and ice very well (despite all the electronic aids). On the other hand the real wheels drive and handling can be also the cars strongest point against main rivals when used in normal conditions. It is simple as that: "If you want comfortable car for winter conditions with great interior design and feel go for Audi Q for everything else BMW is a king".

Similar Products Used:

2001 MB C200 Kompressor
2003 AUDI A4 Avant 2.0d
2005 AUDI A6 Avant 3.0d Quattro
2006 BMW 330d X-drive

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 20, 2008]
wesvirginia
Model Reviewed: 528 xi

Strength:

Engine (BMW makes the best), style, power, handling.

Weakness:

I didn't get the sport package. Wish that I had. It handles and rides great but the sport package is more me. That is a personal decision.

This is a great car. Fast, smooth, powerful, good stereo. I love the I Control system. I get better mileage than advertised and I am a somewhat agressive driver. I average 23-24 mpg, more when highway driving.

Similar Products Used:

Mercedes 420 E.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 21, 2008]
LOUIS POPE, JR
Model Reviewed: 535XI

Strength:

ENGINE, TRANS, TURBOS, POWER AND HANDLING

Weakness:

NAVIGATION SYSTEM, CUP HOLDERS, FUEL ECONOMY

EXCELLENT WELL BALANCED VEHICLE. BEING AN AUTO ENTHUSIAST I TRADED A 2007 530XI FOR THE NEWER ENGINE. THE CAR IS PHENOMENAL. IT IS FAST BEYOND BELIEF. 6 CYL. @300HP IS ALMOST UNHEARD OF. THERE IS VIRTUALLY NO TURBO LAG AT ALL. THE ONLY DOWN SIDE IS I GAVE UP SOME ECONOMY BY GOING FOR THE 535. OTHER THAN THAT. THE CAR IS GREAT.

Similar Products Used:

530XI, MERCEDES BENZ CLK550, MERCEDES BENZ CL550.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 27, 2005]
Craig's Lament
Model Reviewed: 528i

Strength:

Solid body and engine. Good seats. Full-size spare tire. Nice looking in a conservative sort of way.

Weakness:

Brakes, front end, poorly designed front air dam, weak air conditioner, electrical system, extremely high maintenance costs

As I need the end of five years as the owner of this car and having spent more than $13,000 in repair and maintenance, all I can say to any prospective buyer is run away from the BMW and don't look back. This is Germany's revenge for us having beaten them in World War II. The car is well built, sort of. The engine is strong running and sound; it's just everything else that seems to be falling apart. It's had 3 separate brake jobs (at about $1,000 each), the catalytic converter went at 82,000 miles, the front air dam cracked and had to be replaced, it needed a tune-up (another $1,000), it's gone through 2 batteries, the weatherstripping around the door rotted out, the water pump conked out, the heating coil had to be replaced, the front end had to be replaced, and now I have to replace the master cylinder. Also the air conditioner is rattling, probably on its death throes. This is on top of regular scheduled maintenance at about $240 on the average. And did I mention that I had to replace all four tires? A minor oversight on my part ... The electrical system in the car is interesting too. Once when it was hot outside, the car just stopped. I found out that this is not too unusual on these cars, just as extremely high maintenance and repair costs are normal too. I have no idea how many rear tail light bulbs I have replaced, but lucky for me this is one thing in a BMW that is user friendly. Although the car generally seems high quality, with a great ride and handling, I am amazed by the little cheap touches inside. The plastic control buttons on the climate control have cracked in two. The center arm rest is this weird thing that slides forward and back and is only marginally useful. The cup holders appear to have been copied from something available in a 1972 AMC Hornet. The "wood" that wraps around cabin seems to have more than a fleeting resemblance to being simulated, rather than real. I now understand why BMW offers these cars with a 4-year total maintenance package. This seems to me to be an admission of the low quality of their cars and a new adherence to the notion of "planned obsolescence" that was the hallmark of American cars from the 1950s through 1970s. American cars have learned a lesson that has apparently escaped the Germans -- Survey after survey shows Japanese and American cars surpassing the Germans in quality of build and reliability. Anyone who buys a 5-year or older BMW has only himself to blame for the misery that will follow. I bought a 2004 Cadillac CTS that is truly a great car -- solid, great handling, quality fit and finish, and a blast to drive. I will never own another BMW again.

Similar Products Used:

2004 Cadillac CTS

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 25, 2005]
steveKC
Model Reviewed: 530i

Strength:

It has quite a bit of zip if you put it in "S" instead of "D". Absolutely awesome on the highway, quiet and fast. Very nice leather seats.

Weakness:

The stupid alarm goes off for no reason. The AC is fully charged but doesnt blow cold. Not as much interior room or trunk room as my Grand Prix GTP had.

My first BMW and also my first import. At the time I needed some wheels but I wanted something really nice. I didnt find out that all those 540s on the road have a V8 engine until after I bought the 530i. I have no complaints with the 3.0 straight six but I will get the 545i next time. People either admire it or hate it. Most of the haters are just too cheap to go and buy one.

Similar Products Used:

1998 Pontiac Grand Prix GTP

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 12, 2005]
Eightcut
Model Reviewed: 530i Sport

Strength:

Incredible road feel and handling. Great brakes with strong grip Sharp looking. Sport steering wheel feels great. Has a lot more zip than you'd expect with 225 HP. Perfect for city driving. Really fun to drive at night

Weakness:

Sports seat is very firm and may take some getting used to. Factory radio is subpar Not much interior storage space.

A wonderful car that makes you feel like a player in traffic. Mine had 25K when I bought it. The handling and road feel are as good as its reputation. It lacks in some features you get in a Lexus, but a car is ultimately measured by performance and the performance is off the charts. It's like owning a luxury Porsche. I used to own a Lexus GS 400 and their is no comparison in your confidence in the handling.

Similar Products Used:

Lexus GS 400 Lexus LS 430 Cadillac STS

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 19, 2005]
bmwowner
Model Reviewed: 530iA

Strength:

The whole car is strenght. The grip, the quietness, the acceleration, the stopping, the 50/50 weight distribution, the classy appearance inside the cabin and muscular elegant lines on the body. The extra wide 17 inch wheels, the angel lights

Weakness:

I find it a little difficult to get out of the driver seat since it is the M/Sport model and it is indeed a bucket. A compass would be nice.

Exhilirating driving experience that never fails to put a smile on my face. If you know cars or if you have owned different car makes in the past such as, Honda, Toyota, GM, Nissan, etc, you would immediately recognize high quality the instant you shut the door of your BMW. As you sit in the "Cockpit", you feel so isolated from the outside world. You look around and there is everything you need to DRIVE, NOT Feast with your friends along with your 230 personal belongings, that's why the car has minimal storage space and practically no cup holders. Yes the engineers who designed that machine knew how to design a $20 dollar cup holder, but I can sincerely say that I dispise the fact that a drink should interrupt my driving experience, let alone the coffee and soda spills that it may leave behind. On to the meat and potatoes, the engine of this vehicle growls when pushed, even at hight speeds, the steptronic M/S will suit your driving style even if Michael Schumacher himself drove it. The bumps on the road suddenly dissipate. This car does indeed have a soul, yes, you do actually feel that it understands you, not in a creepy way but in a precise adaptive way, it starts to adjust to your style, from seats to steering wheel, to mirrors to heat control to transmission agression to rear view mirror adjustment, etc...Now who wouldn't like to be understood?? The highway ride is sliky smooth, the night visibility is awsome, headlights are bright, and the car is so stable you actually feel like you're on a disney monorail. On city streets, it cries for attention, and it is true that some drivers do get agitated or even maybe intimidated by it. The braking is very responsive, the stereo (on mine anyways M sport) is crisp and clear with a lot of bass. The seat are extremely comfortable but not the cadillac feather type, I love em. The butt warmers are a bliss especially up north. The steering is firm, and some may consider it stiff, but you can adjust. Acceleration is phenomenal, It sure feels like a lot more than 225 horses, maybe it is, who knows, wink wink. As far as quality goes, I am not expecting much to break on the car but i've been told that repairs are somewhat costly, not something I'm not prepared for. It always goes back to the saying "Pay me now, or pay me later" A BMW was not even a consideration when I was looking, but man o man, as soon as I drove it, I transformed into a hyper active Juan Pablo Montoya, honestly. This car begs you to push it and exhibit your driving skills. It does correct your little driving imperfections and turns you into a young wild person again. If you perfer to coast it and glide through the city street, it also lets you. Yes I do take the long way home now, I do take advantage of every opportunity to drive anywhere, and I stare at the car several times a day. I have had nice cars before and they were not much cheaper than a BMW but as for driving experience, they don't come close. If you're sitting on the edge, wondering whether to buy a BMW or another brand, I can tell you this, GO DRIVE A BMW and the decision will be made for you.

Similar Products Used:

Nissan, Honda, Chev, Lexus, Acura

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 11, 2005]
34dude
Model Reviewed: 540i

Strength:

Acceleration, handling, road feel, engineering. It's like a quiet, comfortable sports car. The best car I have had in 45 years of driving.

Weakness:

There are no weaknesses I have found in the design or assembly of the car. Problems I have had include failures of a seat switch, fuel gage transmitter, engine idler pulley, camshaft sensor, LED display in the instrument panel, A/C temperature controller. Most are electrical, a known problem area for BMW's. Almost all of the failures have been covered by warranty.

145,000 mile report. I bought the car used with 36,000 miles on it. It has truly been a great car and wonder if I'll find a replacement that I really like. Engineering is the best ever and the car does everything right. I test drove a new 745i and didn't like it as well as my old 540. The car hasn't been trouble free but none are. Repairs and maintenance are a bit pricey and some are even ridiculous - like $42 for the two rubber strips in the windshield wiper refill! The car performs and drives as well as it did with 36,000 miles on it and looks like it will still be a good car at 200,000 miles.

Similar Products Used:

Infiniti Q45

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 24, 2004]
treetops
Model Reviewed: BMW 525i

Strength:

Comfortable driving position, good ergonomics, great handling. Gas mileage is amazing, I'm getting 20 MPG as an average! On the highway I can get almost 30 MPG.

Weakness:

Cup holders, could use more back seat legroom.

This car is a great value for the money. Smooth engine, tight suspension and great gas mileage. I drove a '99 528 for 4 year and really liked it. I've had this car since June '03 and I've put 16K miles on it and haven't had any problems.

Similar Products Used:

1999 BMW 528i, Lexus E300, Acura Legend

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 134  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com