Infiniti M Luxury

M

(M35 and M45) The M is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sports sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the 35 Sedan to the 45 AWD.

The 35 Sedan is equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 275-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. The 45 AWD is equipped with a standard 4.5-liter, V8, 325-horsepower engine that achieves 14-mpg in the city and 20-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard on both trims.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
mltsurger   [Dec 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: M45x
Strength:

Incredible interior ,great sound and nav.,many safety features.

Weakness:

Gas mileage ,road noise.

The exterior does not draw attention to the luxury inside.The handling, acceleration and stopping power are awesome.I now find excuses to drive somewhere and look forward to my 35 mile drive to work.I would like to drag race with someone, but I am no longer in high school.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom Keller   [Feb 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Infiniti M45
Strength:

Power, performance reliability, great stereo

Weakness:

Shifts feel gummy, no steering feedback, turning radius is terrible, dangerous wet/snow traction, wind noise on highway

Great used car value! Loaded with options, navigation, smart cruise, heated and cooled seats. Powerful V8, great paint, interior, and style. Car drives well. Great 2 plus 2, would work well in the Canon Ball Run

Similar Products Used: BMW, Lexus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
multisync1   [May 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: M45
Strength:

340HP@6400, 333 torque@4500 V8 reliability, solid construction The Price (36000 with a sunroof and wood trim options + trunk mat etc. -- retail was 45,200)

Weakness:

truck like turning radius Bose stereo doesn't have much bass non-performance tires and suspension, heavy wheels

As good as Audis, BMWs, and Mercedes but with a solid reliability record. The combination of an extremely advanced 4.5 liter V8 (with lightweight titanium pistons and micro-finished valves) that produces 340HP, 333 torque and the low $36,000 price tag is simply unbeatable. All you need to do to turn this thing into a BMW 545i beater is replace the wheels, tires and springs to bring up the handling capabilities of this car (this is precisely what I intend to do). The car is fast as Hell and that engine purrs with the sweetest whisper. Very fast (0-60 at around 6.0 seconds) and extremely effective brakes -- the Eloctronic Brakeforce Distribution (EBD) brings this beast to a standstill in no time flat and with the addition of better tires, the braking distance should be improved yet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
b mancuso   [Jan 07, 2004]
Model Reviewed: infiniti m 45
Strength:

great engine, excellent seats, voice controls

Weakness:

a bit long (longer than my seville sts) gas mileage is a bit less than advertised...

this car is awesome!! Best car for the cash on the market! It has comfort, class (despite what "experts" say) and hp for days!! Looked at new e class and es/gs 300, and they arent even in the ballpark in terms of bang for your buck!!

Similar Products Used: caddy seville sts
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Pete   [Dec 10, 2003]
Model Reviewed: M45

Good Car. Michelin all season tires are do not work in snow. Dealer has refused to provide snow tires. Has anyone goten Nissan to address this safety issue?

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris   [Nov 25, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Infiniti M45
Strength:

The Engine, drivetrain, build quality, interior quality, price, drive and handling.

Weakness:

Interesting look to some, kind of an ugly duckling to others. Needs a better LCD screen for navigation, need better wheel tire combo.

My M45 is awsome. It drives like a larger Benz or Bimmer, but has a more sportier feel. If you are looking at a BMW 5 Series, take a better look at this car! I owned 2 2003 BMW 5 Series, the first was a lemon which I returned, the second gave me all sorts of electrical problems, so I went to my local Infiniti store and tested several cars. I drove a G35 Sports Coupe which was an awsome ride, but too noisy and too street racer. I am glad I waited, because I saved $9K on my purchase because of huge incentives with Infiniti on this car.

Similar Products Used: BMW 530I and 540I both Junk!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
nodice   [Nov 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: m45
Strength:

Turn off the (vdc) "vehicle dynamic control". And watch the 340hp, 333ft pounds of torq, m45 lay down more rubber than a tire factory.

Weakness:

Transmison is tricky. Wants to shift to early when engaged in manual mode. "Learn to slap shift fast".

Can I saw WOW. I have owned the car for about a month and it seems to impress me even more. I have driven m3's m5's and AMG'S, and my m4.5 litre is just as impresive if not better due it's price hp, and ft pounds of torq. Get's more looks to. Due to the random production. People think it has a bentley / concept lincoln continetial look that is definitly making it's way back to the seen of early retro look. There is no bad styling jugement here I just think infiniti is ahead of there game.

Similar Products Used: BMW M3/M5, Mercedes AMG, E-class ,lincoln ls,cadillac sts (etc). I whole saled cars.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
  [Oct 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: m45
Strength:

Power to weight ratio is awesome though it can shed excess fat. Car has character- not a generic ride, IMO. Only 10,000 of these units are intended for stateside so chances are you won't look like the clone down the street in the Bimmer. Unique front fascia and profile. Solid, easy to modulate brakes. Steering is well matched to engine and suspension. Great, supportive seats- 8 way powered for shot gun seat is needed though. In its price class, it's the sensible choice. For an emotional choice- get a '68 Camaro convertible.

Weakness:

These are minor quips and quibbles but I obviously felt they were livable drawbacks in the car: Looks- I can do without the piimp daddy wheels. If the hip hop crowd doesn't latch on to this thing in the next 3 yrs, I might very well renew my lease- yes, depreciation should be a concern given Infiniti's poor track record with depreciation. Car is a little longer than it needs to be, IMO. Can't drive it beyond 7/10ths before you feel like you might wrap it around a tree. May be under-tired. Lack of rear leg room for a car 197 inches long is embarassing. It's the same as an IS 300 for goodness sakes. Audio system is an underachiever. Tire size is really odd as someone mentioned. Parking in SF in the m45 is NOT like parking a Mini. Leave the sedan at home and take a cab or a moped.

Awesome car for the money. Due to its apparent controversial styling, buyers aren't exactly busting down Infiniti showroom doors to get this sled. That leaves value buyers like you and me a great deal. The VQ engine is considered one of the finest V8s in the world and is without a doubt the highlight of this car. Big on the outside, rides like a small vehicle on the inside. Ride is firm and compliant, yet not harsh. Gas consumption is in direct proportion to high performance engine. When mfgs choose to give us consumers so many cars to pick from, we're forced to come up with reasons to buy or not buy a certain car based on the criteria that are important to us. Here are mine for buying the m45 and passed on the others: m45 is much less frenetic than a G35 or any of the Acuras... I steered away from the German cars due to all the negative reviews on this site about reliability and maintenance costs. Here in the conforming minded Bay Area-contrary to popular belief; drivers lack the courage to be different. This car gives one many compelling reasons to be different. I spent a month researching my purchase and am very satisfied with my choice. Had put money down on a Acura TSX but realized that the road roar at 75 mph was realy unbecoming of a sports sedan. Felt the G35 fit and finish reminded me too much of a Nissan Maxima. Looked at the is 300 and felt like an overage speedy racer in a suit. Lexus went overboard with the rear tail light design on this car- reminded me too much of the bald headed teenager down the road in his lowered Civic. For 35k, I don't want to be his peer. Is it me or have the Lexus GSs and LSs and SCs gone gauche? Too much of a status symbol in conflict with the bad economy. Performance is bland and styling not aging gracefully for all these cars. Didn't even consider a BMW as everyone who owns a house and has an equity line in the Bay Area has a BMW. Mercedes C class and Audi A4s have questionable reliability issue- like BMW- and like BMW-everyone's got one! Ho hum. RX-8 is not a business appropriate car unfortunately. SAAB Aero was the only car I considered next to this one. Totally different car but IMO, one of the few cars left on the road that has a perfect blend of character in its styling, performance and ride. Again, my decision came down to price to features ratio, reliability and fit and finish and the Infiniti's rear wheel drive configuration. JD Powers rating of Infiniti didn;t hurt. I'm also slightly biased in that I owned a g20 back in the mid-90s and was thoroughly impressed with the entire Infiniti experience. I give little weight to the automobile press' reviews as their car values are typically so different than mine but I'm aware they are not high on the m45.

Similar Products Used: See above. Lived with my brother in law's 2003 Accord V6 for a month while he was out of town and must say it's very competent transportation; Definitely a poor man's sensible BMW with front wheel drive.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jorr   [Sep 12, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Infinity M-45
Strength:

Power, assembly quality, no rattles, nice paint, nice leather, good dealer attitude. Good displays, once acclimated. Good memory system.

Weakness:

Small trunk, leg room in back limited, chrome door handles, design a little much "Monte Carlo". Mouse fur headliner. (Typical for Japanese). Large turning circle. ONLY THREE TIRES AVAILABLE as replacement at Tire Rack. They really picked an "off" size.

I dumped my Audi 2.7T because I was becoming scared of it's reliability. Having owned several German cars in the immediate past, I was hesitant to go Japanese, because of the possible loss of 'soul'. But the engine convinced me to give this car a try. It is a screamer, and develops more HP than anything Audi has until you reach $70,000+. I do miss the fold down rear seats and huge trunk and rear leg room from the A6. But the quality of the M is readily apparent, and I anticipate many trouble free miles- more than I can say for Audi. For a big car it handles very well, but not quite up to the Germans. Steering is good. Tires are bad. Front seat comfort and design is fairly good, but again not up to Audi, not is the interior design.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
dtl922   [Aug 27, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Ifiniti M45
Strength:

Engine 345 horsepower seats are very comferdable

Weakness:

air does not blow that good. The trunk is small. The back seat is cramped

This Car is the best I have driven cars for ove 40 years and this is the best car for the money. If you have 2 or 3 people this is car is the best. If you have 4 try a different car, because this car is cramped.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com