Jaguar X-Type Luxury

X-Type

The Jaguar X-Type is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, or luxury wagon.

Both trims are equipped with a standard 3.0-liter, V6, 227-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 24-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (34)

Showing 1-10 of 34  
Carstuff   [Jun 24, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar X-type
Strength:

Great Styling and Handling.

With upgrades:
Feature filled touch screen Naviagion/central control display and sound system.
Adequate 230hp 3.0 v6 with 5 speed manual trans gets me 23 local and 28 Highway.
Self Leveling Xeon headlamps make a big difference for night driving.
2 degree Heated Seats work great.
AWD with DCS puts you at a great advantage in all weather driving.

Weakness:

Problems with Sunroof not wanting to close.
Random A/C issues.
Factory alloy 17" wheels don't hold up potholes.
Limited trunk space; though the fold down seating in the rear is nice the gap from the inside of the trunk to the bottom of the rear deck is narrow.
Slight humming noise from the rear on the highway.

I have owned this car for over 2 years with no real issues. I purchased the car with 22k miles on it and it now has 51k the only complaints I can speak of are:
One that the power sunroof will not close on its own. When the roof is fully retracted and the button is pushed it will start to close then it will suddenly start retracting to the open position again. Not yet fixed :(

The second issue is the A/C on 2 occasions just stopped working. I had this issue once on a muggy 12hr ride down to North Carolina in 8-12-08 it worked for about 6 hours then didnt work for 5 and since then it has worked fine up until yesterday which was muggy also. I Haven't tried it today so not sure if it (Fixed it self again).

Similar Products Used: Now looking at the Cadillac SRX for more cargo area.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
JORDAN5466   [Jun 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: X-Type
Strength:

Looks
Name
Sound

Weakness:

Computer Issues
Door issues
Window issues
Price to fix anything

I bought my Jag when she was about 1 year old with 30,000 miles on it. Have had nothing but problems. 2 months after purchase the doors would only open half the time. The locks seem to be at fault. The interior door panel broke on the drivers side so I thought that was the initial problem but then it started doing the same thing on the passenger side. My sun roof will act up from time to time. and all of my windows the same. They seem to think they are hitting something on the way up so they just go back down again. On day my engine fault light came on and shut the whole car down. After a $2300.00 at jag the cad. converter was fixed. It will still fault out from time to time and I have to stop and restart it for it to go anywhere again. I will agree with a lot of you about the stock tires, they are junk. Lots of road noise and even after being aligned and rotated still have a vibration to them. The defrost vents in the front widows will not stay put they keep popping out. even after buying the "newer improved" ones form Jag they still do the same thing. Lastly the navigation screen went haywire on me; and since everything is controlled by the screen nothing works (radio, nav., temp control) and it is stuck on auto temp at 80 degrees. I have 80,000 miles on this thing and a brick taped to the pedal, and big cliff sound real nice right about now!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Isaac   [Sep 06, 2007]
Model Reviewed: X-Type 2.5 Manual
Strength:

Beautiful exterior and interior. Outstandinng handling and ride.

Weakness:

Manual transmission is not as smooth as it could be.

Was intrigued by this car ever since it cam out, but was hesitant to buy one because of reliability issues. Took the plunge anyhow, and so far, am very pleased with the car. The handling and ride are first class, in true Jaguar tradition. The last car I drove was an Audi A4 and the Jag blows it away in terms of ride quality. The other concern I had was that the 2.5 engine would be too weak. I have not founbd this to be the case, as the car is plenty fast for everyday driving and the fuel economy is excellent as well. Fit and finish is excellent, and the interior styling is also true Jaguar. In short, the X-Type is an excellent and undervalued car.

Similar Products Used: Audi A4
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Donna   [Feb 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: X type - 3.0
Strength:

Looks pretty!

Weakness:

TRANSMISSION, door latches, radio.

Bought my Jaguar January 2006. Thought I was getting a great deal. Car had about 23,000 miles seemed in good condition. Had a mechanic look it over and everything. First a tire totally worn on the inside, needed all new tires. Thought not so bad. Then 4 months later the driver door would not unlock, that cost another $400.00. Now one year and one month and only 30,000 miles on the car the whole transmission is dead. Since I am 11 months out of the factory warranty and didn't think I owuld need an extended warranty I am being asked to pay $5200 for repairs. Jag corp won't stand behind their cars!! Based on everything I've been reading this is an on going problem with these cars. DON"T BUY!! Oh yeah the whole radio needed replacing just after I brought the car home.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
KMD   [Feb 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: x type sport
Strength:

looks

Weakness:

expensive transmission troubles

Bought car wiTH 49000 miles on it ten month ago performed and looked great all the sudden gear box fault displayed tranny sliped real bad.Dealer said car needs new tranny and cooler.I am having that done as we speak.Dealer says jag will warranty new parts for a year.I liked the car enough to go forword with this $7000 repair.has any one had a new tranny put in and gotten good trouble free miles out of an x type or when i get it back should i trade for a dependable japanese built car like lexus.Oh yeh dealer also saya drive shaft bad.and need differential flush.car now has 63000 miles on it.should i abort this vehical yyes or no

Similar Products Used: saab9-5 mazda millenia s both great runners trouble free and dependable
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
D Wishart   [Jan 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: x-type
Strength:

Exterior and seats

Weakness:

Everything that makes the car work

I have a 03 X-type. In 35 days, the car has been in the shop 4 times! From the wipers, prop shaft, differential, engine case, vents, suspension, it has been nothing short of a nightmare.

Similar Products Used: CTS
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Cyril Worgan   [Dec 28, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar x-type 3.0
Strength:

Luxury,safety,style,performance,individuality

Weakness:

None

Fell in love with the looks, plus wanted AWD for our winters here in Toronto,Canada. I did not realise how safe they were until I researched it. Relly, really pleased with it, drives nice and feel good in it. I owned a BMW 325i before and that may be a bit of a better driving car but nowhere near as luxurious. I will bee sticking with X-Types as long as Jaguar keep makeing them.

Similar Products Used: ML320 (nice but an SUV so cannot compare)
BMW 325i nothing wrong with it but not enough luxury or style also too many on the road.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Matty   [Oct 09, 2006]
Model Reviewed: X Series
Strength:

The body look good a good sound system.

Weakness:

Electronical system

My son gave me a 2002 X Series for Mother's Day and I am having problems with the electric system, the battery light stayed on for months, I was told it was the aLternator found out it wasn't the alternator. I tried to take it to the dealer they couldn't get to it for two weeks. I took it to another dealer that works on foreign cars, he was able to fix the battery light. Five days later the Gear Vault Box light and the amber engine light come on, I am still trying to find out the problem, I am about ready to trade it in.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
nikaux   [Oct 04, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar X-type 2.1 V6 Executive
Strength:

Impresive,good grip,good value,luxiary

Weakness:

Suspension problems
Keys problems

Lot's of problems. Keys stopped functioning so i changed them 3 times in 1.5 years. Suspension problems also appeared in the first 6 months of use and only in 3000 km. Note that i was very careful with the car. It had never gone over a bump and I had never run on a bad road. Also when i accelerate i lose instantly control because the car goes left or right without turning the wheel. If the car is on freeway and finds a road hump it feels like you are in a boat. I bought a new car that from the first months I am fixing it. It may be free because it’s under warranty but if I wanted a fixed car I was going to buy a used one a lot cheaper and not a new one at that high price. The reseller is refusing to give me a new one. If i had bought a Japanese car probably I‘d never had so many problems.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
borichar   [Jul 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Jaguar X Type 2.2D SE Saloon
Strength:

Looks, comfort and sher drivability.

Weakness:

None yet

First of all the 25,000 price refers to Bitish Pounds Sterling.
I've had the car from brand new for just over a week and I'm delighted. I've reached that stage in my life when I wanted something really speial....and I hope this is it! We keep our cars a long time here in the UK and I'm expecting this car to last me at least 10years which shouldn't be too much to expect - so I'm expecting reliability please, Mr Jaguar.
We pay a fortune for our car fuel in the UK so miles per gallon is important. Hence going for the turbo-charged 2.2 litre diesel with manual transmission and 6-speed gearbox. The manufacturer's claims are up tp 60mpg on extended urban cycle......hmmmmm.....we'll see about that because that seems toogood to be true. Anyway, seven days and just over 200 miles under my belt the fuel guage has hardly moved, might have to tap it to se if it's stuck. Maybe the claims of 600 miles on a full tank are right after all!
A diesel car? All my friends tried to talk me out of it. "They are more expensive that the petrol equivalent." Wrong. This one was 1,000 pounds cheaper. "They are noisy and smelly." Wrong. OK, after cold start the engine sounds a little agricultural but after 30 seconds or so it's as quiet as any petrol equivalent. And it don't smell - except for that delicious new leather smell that comes with a new car and hopefully will never fail.
On the road it flies. After picking the car up from new I had it up to 70mph on the M1 motorway between Derby and Nottingham. In 6th gear the engine was just ticking over at 2,000 revs and so quiet. At this point I wondered what would happen if I put my foot right down on the gas from 2000rpm in top gear. Yes, it accelerated alright. Amazing how flexible that engine has been at all speeds in all gears and seems to be very forgiving if you don't have the most appropriate of the six gears selected. Another diesel engine myth exploded.
The chassis and diesel engine is straight off a Ford Mondeo which has had the hardened Jaguar enthusiasts crying in their gin and tonics over the years. Well, is that a bad thing? Us humans share 97 percent of our DNA with chimpanzees, but we aint chimpanzees! And this car aint a Mondeo either. Ok, some of the switchgear seems to have come out of a Ford parts bin at the factory, which is a shame, but the car is a Jag. It looks and feels the part and people look at Jag drivers differently than they would at Mondeo drivers.
I love the looks- - the rear view is probably more stylish than the front, which is a bit like a scaled down XK. Some say that the car is trying to look like something that it really isn't.
The touch screen is superb, if a little tricky to master.
The sat-nav is OK as built-in units go. Storing locations is all back to front as you have to select "add to store" before you find th location instead of the more logical process of first finding the destination and storing it. It has also come up with some rather strange routes, seemingly ignoring the more logical way from A to B.
I chose the standard Alpine audio system over the premier upgrade. Still, it sounds pretty good.
The great British summer is with us so the automatic windscreen wipers and auto headlamps work fine. Can't wait to get it dirty so I can enjoy seeing all my neighbours down the road watching me washing it at the weekend.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com