Lexus ES Luxury

ES

The Lexus ES is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, available in one trim only, the 350.

The ES is equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 268-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 27-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (110)

Showing 1-10 of 110  
steve bakatsas   [Sep 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: lexus es 300
Strength:

great car!!!

Weakness:

none!!

To the guy who believes the navigation cannot be used while the car is moving. I got news Mr. Dummy there is a setting for that just like your Garmin has.

Similar Products Used: Acura TL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
keith   [Sep 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Lexus ES300
Strength:

Smooth ride, great look, excellent sound system, very quite

Weakness:

transmission

I absolutely love this vehicle! Never exprienced a ride so smooth. If a complaint...the transmission isn't the best. It has ths "jerking" problem that can't seem to be remedied. Other than that, everything is great.

Similar Products Used: 99 Accord, 01 GS430
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Schwartz   [Jul 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: ES 350
Strength:

Ventilated seats are nice.

Weakness:

Nav system, bluetooth phone and radio are seriously limited when the car is in motion.

Car is fine as far as it goes. My issue however is that Lexus (and Toyota, their parent does the same thing) has the navigation system disabled for most features whenever the car is moving.

This may sound like a good idea until you consider that:

1. The car is not theirs to tell me how to use it.

2. My $500 Garmin Nuvi doesn't have these restrictions at 1/4 the price.

3. A passenger can safely operate the system while in motion had they left it enabled.

I have details along with a collection of comments from users at: www.jeffsstuff.com/blog

Please, before buying a Lexus or Toyota with a navigation system, ask yourself if it is worth it. For me, it is not.

Had Lexus been honest with me and disclosed this limitation before the sale, I never would have bought the nav system and probably not bought the car. Their competitors don't treat their customers like children!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
dariod   [Dec 29, 2004]
Model Reviewed: toyota
Strength:

TOYOTA is toyota will last forever

Weakness:

none

Just to inform others Lexus does not make Toyota, Toyota makes Lexus. LEXUS ES300 is the same car as the TOYOTA CAMRY V6 they are built on the same drivetrain and they use same engine (V6 models) so please stop saying it looks too much like a camry IT IS A CAMRY except you pay $10000 or more for the name. So next time you buy a ES300 or fully loaded camry XLE V6 think about it you get pretty much the same cars but one guy has more than $10000 dollars in his pockets to spend shopping at the mall.

Similar Products Used: Dodge Neon 1995- piece of crap
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lizzydoc   [Aug 31, 2004]
Model Reviewed: LEXUS S330
Weakness:

Transmission

There are definite frustrating transmission problems with the driving of this car. Jerking, long changing of gears, etc. There is some computer malfunction, I am told. While the agency repair people are sympathetic, they say these problems are inherent to the model and they can't fix them. They told me that Lexus knows about them. With a name like Lexus, it's a shame I can't have a pleasureable ride.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
lenoloc   [May 27, 2004]
Model Reviewed: ES300
Strength:

appearance, finish, sound system, predictable handling (soft and easy)seat comfort.

Weakness:

no memory for driver's seat positions (do US models have it?) no telescopic steering wheel, only tilt, no stereo controls on steering wheel.Looks a fair bit like a Camry

This car is the best I can find. I'm an arthritic grandad and want a smooth, comfortable, QUIET car. The Lexus looks beautiful inside and out and I love the smoothness and quality. In traffic I drive in 4th gear rather than 5th and the transmission seems to behave better; more certain downshift when I accelerate quickly.Could be a bit more responsive though, but the car is for us oldies, not for young bucks and it behaves accordingly.

Similar Products Used: Volvo S80, Lexus GS300 (sports) Mercedes "C" class,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
jonest   [Mar 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: ES300
Strength:

- Mark Levinson Sound system - GPS Navigation System - Heated seats - rear seat cup holders - beautiful woodgrain and leather interior - Blue headlamps - front floor lamps - storage pockets throughout interior - auto wipers/lights

Weakness:

I'm beginning to understand the transmission issues I've been reading about. I wasn't sure if it was me or the car. I'll have that VSC feature checked before I make an assestment on performance. It's hard for me to articulate the problem, but I realize that I'm driving a luxury vehicle and not a sports car. As much as I hate to admit it, the ES300 does look a lot like the Camry, but it's not. It don't drive like the Camry and it's definitely of higher quality. I wish there was an override on the Navigation system that will allow the passenger to input information while the car is moving and allow the DVD player to operate for viewing by passengers while the car is in motion.

I wanted the E320 Mercedes, but it was extremely pricy. This is my first luxury vehicle and I'm very pleased with my selection. I'm most pleased with the Mark Levinson Sound System, the GPS Navigation System, and the luxurious interior of the vehicle. The Navigation system is a must have. This is the one option I grew to have an appreciation for immediately. It's easy to use and impossible to get lost. This is not a sports car and it will definitely let you know that. I only wish, Lexus wouldn't have made the Toyota Camry look like this car. In any event, it is truly a much better car. With all the optional bells and whistles I have, this car is unbeatable in it's class.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
sokhoms   [Mar 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: ES300
Strength:

Doesn't break down often.

Weakness:

Cheap leather quality, handling, brakes. Look like Toyota Camry

I owned this car about 4 years. After 2 month of purchase I heard a valve simm noise from the engine, it sounds anoying so I brought it to a dealer and they changed that simms. after three weeks later that noise came back again. but I don't care it anymore and I kept driving like that.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Greg Dixon   [Dec 29, 2003]
Model Reviewed: ES 330
Strength:

Smooth powertrain and transmission. Fit and finish. Lexus cache.

Weakness:

Spongy suspension. Lighweight doors do not convey an expensive feeling. Not much bang for the buck.

OK, I didn't buy the car...yet. My wife is going to go back to the dealership and get the thing tomorrow (the same wife that wanted a Lincoln LS...yuck!!). I drove the ES 330 this morning and was not impressed in the least. I will admit that the motor and transmission are both very good and work well together. However, the horsepower should be higher and other detractions cannot be ignored at this price. The suspension is spongy, it soaks up the first bump well but cannot handle multiple road corduroy. I know this car is for luxury and not sport handling, but there has to be a better compromise than this. Does the word land yacht ring a bell? The thing reminded me of my parent's old Buick. The seats are comfortable but other sedans that I have drive offer seats that are every bit as good for $10K less. The amenities on our test model didn't have heated seats and the ergonomics weren't up to the level of the Honda Accord. You get the picture. The bottom line is that this ES 330 does not provide much bang for the buck. It looks like and drives like what it is, a tarted up Toyota Camry. But for those out there that are satisfied to have Lexus written across their car, this one will do as well as any I suppose.

Similar Products Used: Nissan Maxima Infiniti G35 Acura TL Honda Accord
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
G   [Dec 25, 2003]
Strength:

High quality materials...quite ride...nice styling...great impression

Weakness:

Not enough power...soft paint...$800.00 tune up...

I bought this car as a certified vehicle with 22,000 miles. It has 55,600 miles today. The only things I have done to keep this car up is regular oil changes, new tires, and new wipers. The car is fully loaded including optional GPS. The only problems I have had are is from the dealer- I had them mount and rotate my new tires and rims, and they chipped my rims.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 110  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com