Lexus SC Luxury

SC

The SC is a 2-door, 4-passenger luxury convertible, available in one trim only, the 430.

The SC is equipped with a standard 4.3-liter, V8, 288-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (79)

Showing 1-10 of 79  
John   [Dec 24, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Lexus SC430
Strength:

Beautiful to look at
Reliable
retractable hardtop
Quality of construction on fit and finish
Good mileage for a 300HP V8 18-25mpg

Weakness:

Road wander?
Suspension not very forgiving, hard bumps

Perfect car for this South Florida envirnonment, lots of straight roads put this car into it's element, cruising. Powerful, quite, elegant, stylish and well engineered goes a long way to satisfy all of your senses. Almost perfect for the personal luxury car because of its design, construction and reliability. My only criticism would be that my car seens to wander, being sensitive to all road services but much more nervous than I would expect from a Lexus. Maybe an alignment will address this issue.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gas Master   [Jan 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: sc300
Strength:

reliability,durable, style, milage, fit finish handling is better then most,but this is not a sports car. its not an suv either!

Weakness:

trunk space, not good in snow but sad to say worlds industrial complex is taking care of that problem.

Bought the sc300 3 years ago with 48,000 for 12.000. It was in an accident thus the reasonable price and low miles.i changed all its fluids and replaced the timing belt at time of purchase and in years have had one repair for rear shocks and it just turned 80,000miles. the car runs and handles great. just returned from trip to FL from PA with side trips along the way logged in 2800miles got 26.6 miles to the gallon and on interstate I 95 averaged 76 mph. for the heck of it on an empty stretch pushed the car to 125 though acceleration was slow above 100, the car ran smooth and still had a bit to go above 125 but I ran out of nerve lol.
it has timeless styling and is confortable.
For those of you who own this fine car go to the lexus owners club web site for great information on how to keep this and other lexuses running great. Buy a lexus used and save a bundle would be my advise to anyone.but be careful do your homework,

Similar Products Used: 1993 gs300 180,000miles just as good reliability.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Harry   [Dec 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: SC 430
Strength:

Looks great; I hope it drives more smoothly & quieter , when I get my new non flat tires next week; Everything else I love about the tire

Weakness:

Run flat tires.

Car is great to look at, but the irritating issue has been the tires. We had problems beginning at 8500 miles ended up with a cut tire at around 13,000 in which the tire dealership stated it was defective. The tire company replaced the tire. The tires needed to be replaced at that point. The lexus dealership (Jacksonville) offered no monetary assistance unless we replaced with run flats. They sent me a quote for regular tires & the reviews actually said that the survey showed that the customers who had that tire would not purchase them again. So much for advice. My Lexus is setting in my garage with another cut tire ( same wheel; looks like an identical cut). I now suspect that the wheels are causing the problems. I have not hit any large pot holes but I'm sure I have driven on rough highways. I live in a rural setting & no one stocks this tire, even in Tallahassee , Fla, which is where I had my first issue. I was towed home. My car will now be towed to the Macon dealership & I will never recommend the Lexus of Jacksonville as they have been absolutely no help. I've owned 2 infiniti's & the service was always great.

Similar Products Used: infiniti
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Howard   [Sep 24, 2006]
Model Reviewed: SC 430
Strength:

Hanlding, acceleration, style.

Weakness:

No front end. Wheel covers will get beat up and tires will have to be replaced regularly. No traction in winter so you have to put snow tires on which cost $400 each and dealers charge over $400 to balance and put on the car.

Great look, terrific handling and acceleration. No front end. Be prepared to replace $400 tires long before they wear out. Hard top goes automatically into trunk within 30 seconds. Fun to drive but please do not hit anything a normal city street. Great show room drive. However, when you hit a pebble you will know it and be prepared to go into your pocket to replace very expensive tires that never go flat.

Similar Products Used: I have had Jaguars which never incurred these problems. I have had over a half dozen leased cars and no one but Toyota has asked for money because their car has no front end.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Marc B   [Jul 13, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Lexus SC 430
Strength:

Looks
Construction
Ergonomics
Quiet
Hard top convertible style and function
Acceleration
Smooth transmission
Interior components

Weakness:

Ride Quality
Some body lean in hard turns

Purchased my Lexus SC 430 from the local dealer. Certified auto. Excellent car with only one fault. The ride is somewhat firm and stiff even with relatively ride friendly Michelin Pilots (standard tires). Definitely, not quite up to the standards of the usual Lexus ride. Otherwise, the car is great fun to drive. The car accelerates nicely, shifts very smoothly, takes turns fairly well (though there is some body roll), and has great interior and exterior ambience and looks. The wood trim in the interior is very well done. The leather is of good quality and relatively soft. Controls are well placed and easy to use. The Mark Levinson stereo system is clear and strong; probably the best stereo system I have ever heard in a car. The navigation system is superb, but expensive to update (DVD based). The hard top convertible is fantastic; works flawlessly and raises/lowers fairly quickly. The car is VERY quiet with the top up (closed). Even with the top down, noise levels are moderate and the wind is not too instusive into the passenger area. All in all, a well crafted vehicle and one of the very best cars I have ever driven and owned.

Similar Products Used: 1991 Mazda RX7 Convertible (not really a similar product)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lc6529   [Jun 27, 2006]
Model Reviewed: SC 430
Strength:

Jaw Dropping looks - Do not drive one if you are shy, you will get stared at!

Good Gas Mileage - 30MPG at a steady 63 with the top down and AC off.

Quiet - With top down, you can talk with your passenger. With the top up the beast is creepy quiet!

Engine - Powerful yet quiet, but does have a nice growl when movign.

Weakness:

The back seat is a joke, Yes I know this is not an SUV but that back seat seems to only tease my kids into thinking they can ride with me. But I kept my SUV and my wife has her van so we can still cart them around and keep the SC 430 for us!

What an awesome vehicle! I specifically wanted a hard top convertible and looked at the Pontiac G6 but the price was over 40 grand from the dealer who sniffed I would have to wait in line! I then found an autobroker who mentioned I should look at the Lexus and then promptly found a beautiful used one with less than 19K miles on it.

Similar Products Used: Tried - Toyota Solara - Nice, but was worried about people cutting the top. Not as quiet at the Lexus.

Mustang - Nice, yet Lexus gets more looks.

Pontiac - Did not drive, less than pleased with GM's reliability from previous experience with GM products.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
gary   [May 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: SC 430 Convertible
Strength:

fit & finish, materials, refinement, stereo, engine

Weakness:

lack of trunk space, lack of rear view camera, not cheap.

Great driving car. Don't miss the BMW convertible one bit.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mjneuma   [Mar 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: sc400
Strength:

beautiful car and has had no major problems on it since the first mile. my car now has 145000 miles on it. runs real fast and sucks a lot of gas ... but evey doller of gas i put into it is defentally worth it. i would defentally buy another on after this one dies. this has to be one of the best modles lexus has put out. my grandpa just bought a new cadilac CTS and he said the lexus treated him better

Weakness:

none

wow what a great car. i bought this car for $12000 and this is my first car. there is not one thing about this car i do not like. the stereo system is 5 star and works like brand new. i did have a problem with the front speaker but i got that fixed .. $192 later. i have the diamond pearl white paint and i did get in an accident which cost me 1900 $ to get this fixed by the lexus dealer. let me remind you this is only a minor dent. everything on this car from the $1000 tires to the 5 star nakamichi audio system will run you a fortune.

Similar Products Used: none!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mjneuma   [Mar 01, 2006]
Model Reviewed: sc400
Strength:

beautiful car and has had no major problems on it since the first mile. my car now has 145000 miles on it. runs real fast and sucks a lot of gas ... but evey doller of gas i put into it is defentally worth it. i would defentally buy another on after this one dies. this has to be one of the best modles lexus has put out. my grandpa just bought a new cadilac CTS and he said the lexus treated him better

Weakness:

none

wow what a great car. i bought this car for $12000 and this is my first car. there is not one thing about this car i do not like. the stereo system is 5 star and works like brand new. i did have a problem with the front speaker but i got that fixed .. $192 later. i have the diamond pearl white paint and i did get in an accident which cost me 1900 $ to get this fixed by the lexus dealer. let me remind you this is only a minor dent. everything on this car from the $1000 tires to the 5 star nakamichi audio system will run you a fortune.

Similar Products Used: none!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Themblues   [Aug 25, 2005]
Model Reviewed: SC400
Strength:

power, looks, handling, the Nak speakers

Weakness:

parts prices

I have an earlier review on this car and I've since put another 50K on the thing and it's still going strong! I bought the car in 2000 with 125K and it's now at 180K and the repairs are still mega-expensive, but the car is still a joy. Ask ANY American car owner if he likes his car as much at mile 180K as he did at mile 1. But I recently had another large repair, this time for the drive shafts I got off cheap and they were still $700 plus labor. I thought this was the tranny at first, so I looked into getting a Lincoln Mark VIII with half the miles. Well it was about half the car, didn't even come close to the SC. I had the stock stereo replaced with a very nice JVC KD-SH707 (see my review on this site) system and the speakers in this car are the bomb! (with a separate amp on the sub) I also upgraded the rims to the '97+ chrome 5-spokes. I suggest everyone do this. Overall the only car that I have driven that is better than this car is the 2001+ LS, but then those start at $28K. If you can get a decent condition SC of any year with less than 125K, get it. But expect some wear adn tear. My paint and leather are showing wear, definately. A great site for professional reviews: http://auto.consumerguide.com/auto/used/reviews/full/index.cfm/id/2272/

Similar Products Used: Toyota Cressidas; Nissan Sentra, Maxima; Old Fords
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 79  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com