Mercedes-Benz CL-class Luxury

CL-class

The freshened 2011 Mercedes-Benz CL-Class is a 2-door, 4-passenger luxury coupe, or luxury sports car, available in 4 trims, ranging from the CL550 4MATIC Coupe to the CL65 AMG Coupe.

The CL550 4MATIC Coupe is equipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 429-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 15-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway.The CL65 AMG Coupe is equipped with a standard 6.0-liter, V12, 621-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 11-mpg in the city and 17-mpg on the highway

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
lucien   [Nov 07, 2009]
Model Reviewed: CL600(73)
Strength:

Power and comfort and eye-turning looks.

Weakness:

You can NOT valet park. Wife is terrified of pushing the accelerator, which can be cool.

Well... I bought this car from a friend who deals in one-of's, and this thing is way too powerful for consumption -- It dyno's at a little under 838hp. It had less than fifteen thousand miles so everything worked (and works) well. The fit and materials in the cabin are superb, and when driving it on the LA freeways, specifically the 210, the acceleration is simply astonishing, far quicker than my 2005 CL65. I really like this body style, which is 'why' I bought it over buying a new CL65. I like the front end and the side styling much more than the 2009's and then, of course, when it comes to what you really buy a car for -- Brutish power -- nothing I have compares. BTW, it has built in frt/rear radar (in Display), bluetooth, auto-lowering and is 'de-badged' to not draw attention.

Similar Products Used: Ferrari, Ford, 289 Cobra, Bugatti,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
michaelv   [Apr 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CL500
Strength:

Smooth ride , great engine , fantastic seats , awesome looks , very quiet , exciting to drive and all the safety features one needs.

Weakness:

I couldn`t think of any except maybe that it`s the old body style and if you are not ready to pamper that Baby don`t get a black one.

Well , where should I start ? I have been driving several so called high end cars like 7 series BMW`s , Carreras and others. I lived in Germany till 2004 and moved to the US the same year. I was not really sure what to get me and it took me almost 2 years to finally make up my mind. The roads are horrible here in Texas , traffic is overwhelming ( I live in the DFW area ) and speedlimits are ridiculous . I was thinking several options like a 7 series ( I am not really convinced about the design ) , S class ( Propably to young for one ) , XJ Jag ( wayyyyyyy to tight for me , I`m 6,3 ) , Audi A8 ( Great car , great quality , great everything except that back home in Germany they still have to fight the Grandpa-image from 20 years ago and I just can`t get that out of my head ) , a Carrera again ( it would propably break my heart to drive this Baby over those streets) and so I decided to get me a CL. Whenever I bought a car , after 4 weeks I thought i made the wrong decision. Suddenly the other ones looked sooooooo much better than mine. Not this time. My CL is obsidian black which is very hard to keep clean but I wash my Baby at least 2 times a week by hand so it always looks like out of the showroom. And I can`t get enough of it. I think it`s one of the most beautiful cars on the road and since there are not too many of `em around it is an eyecatcher. I was thinking about the CL55 but what for ??? This one`s got enought torgue to get me through traffic fast enough but the ride is the smoothest I ever experienced. Problems? None what so ever! I put a pair of 20`s on 305/40`s on it and they are a bit rough but the look is insane . I was a little concerned first that it could be too much and look like "crack dealer" but it does not. I have older gentlemen asking me on the parking lot where I got this vehicle and I get a lot of compliments from people. This is the first Mercedes I ever drove and I am a fan. It`s a wonderful car inside and out and I enjoy it like I haven`t enjoyed a car in a long time. I will drive it at least another 2 or 3 years and then maybe look for a CLS but that`s mid term planning. For right now I am all excited about this toy and can`t imagine anybody NOT being thrilled to have the same model. PS: I even think it looks better than the new CL but maybe I change my mind down the road once I`m used to the new form.

Similar Products Used: 7 Series , Dad`s S Class ,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Cincy2   [Mar 31, 2004]
Model Reviewed: CL500
Strength:

Engine and suspension

Weakness:

Floor coverings Transmission bugs

I've had my CL500 (with Sport package)for five months now. I traded a Lexus LS430. My impressions: Exterior: Great paint, fit and finish. Front profile is odd but it grows on you. Side profile is understated and elegant. Rear profile is very avante garde. Interior: I'm really conflicted here. The leather dash surfaces are luxurious and sporty. The seats comfortable and very supportive. Wood inserts are very stylish and exude quality. Switches and indicators are well placed. The GPS software and display is very inferior to what I had in the Lexus. MB missed here. Where I really get confused is with the headliner and floor coverings. They are cheap fiber board of some type that belongs on a Yugo. I'm disppointed but I'll get over it. Engine and suspension. Beyond belief. Great handling and excellent fun factor even for a big coupe. Transmission: The new seven speed has issues. Occasionally, it exhibits high rpms and no torque like the "clutch" was slipping. Haven't been able to reproduce for the dealer. Not good to buy the first units out of the factory. Overall, I love the car. The trouble with love is have to overlook your object's shortfalls. This is a car like no other on the road. Whatever shortcomings it has are a small price to pay for the many many things Mercedes did right.

Similar Products Used: Lexus LS430
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Al Perales   [Sep 05, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mercedes Benz CL 55
Strength:

A SPARE TIRE!!!

Weakness:

Great looks but not as great as the SL55

Outstanding Car. The second best car I have ever owned... I say second because I used to own an 2003 SL55 before this one.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Josh K   [May 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: / CL500 Mercedes
Strength:

ABC, ABC, ABC, and so on and so on,,,,incredible system only Benz could come up with a system that really does work. The takeoff is impressive the stereo rocks as good as my Mark Levinson, to many strenghts to list.

Weakness:

Price for most people ,but thats what makes it a head turner not a lot of them on the street because of price.

This car is SICK! And when I mean Sick I mean SICK, I have owned a S500 sport a lexus LS430, Jaguar XK8 convertible, Lexus GS430 and not one of these cars compares to it.. I have a Obsidian Black(meteal flake with the black paint)it is loaded with the SPORTS pak. a must for anyone who is intrested in this car. There is just so much you get with this car, compliments, head turns, valet parks it up front, excellent service etc...

Similar Products Used: 01' Jag conv XK8 02' Lex LS430 02' Benz S500 sport
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
AMGCL   [Feb 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: CL500 Sport
Strength:

The Styling!!! Pulling up to the club The Bose Sound System *****The Sport Package***** The looks/compliments I get from people. The Girls I get trying to "holler" at me! Nobody else around here has one!!!

Weakness:

Price! I can only get 3 girls in the car at a time :( (I know im sufferin right!) The CL loves gas!!! Ride somewhat stiff with the 18's

The CL is one of the greatest cars MB has ever made. In no way is it like the S class as the previous CL was. Every time I get into my black on black CL, I feel like a celebrity! People stare and shake their heads in amazement when they see my beautiful car fly by. When I park it I keep looking back in amazement that i'm driving such a "hot" car. When I bought this car, I was also considering a CL55 AMG, but for 2001/2002; the difference just wasnt worth the 20 grand. I have driven many bmw's, and the 8 series was my favorite car, untill i drove the CL... wow!!! You have to go out and drive one! The engine is great, trust me it moves haha. I've had it up to 120 mph a couple of times, and its solid as a rock. This car will get you in trouble on the interstate :) The Bose sound system is amazing. When I have friends in the car, and I have some music with some heavy bass on, they swear I have a system. The navigation system is too polite. You have to be outright dumb to make a wrong turn under her guidance. The speedometer is fascinating. (Obvoiusly you can tell its the little things that excite me.) Now I'm 28, and single; trust me, girls love this car. When you buy this car, the Sport package is a must. The cooled seats are a waste. I bought my car used and it has them but they do nothing in my opinion. Keyless go is cool, haha I love to see the look on peoples faces when I unlock the door by touching the handle. Distronic, in my opinion is only useful if you do an excessive amount of highway driving. The Trunk closer is cool, but I feel really lazy pushing that button. If you have money to blow, get the designo package. I've seen a couple cars with them but haha that ugly shell color is not for me! I have been a bmw nut since I was in my teens, and I still am. The M3 is too much fun, but it cannot compare to the CL. I'd have to say that the 8 series is the only other car that can come close to it. As far as maitnence, this car is somewhat reliable. I cannot speak much on this because ive owned it for less than a year. The only thing I have taken it in for is the routine stuff and a slight vibration at 70, but nothing other than that. I bought the car used, and i purchased the starmark warranty (a must) for two extra years. I highly reccomend buying the cl's used. Just take your time and find the one with the right options for you. Its a good time to buy now because the lease returns are coming back, and the redesigned 2003's are out.

Similar Products Used: MB S55(On Davins) haha the Ultimate Attention Getter. BMW 850csi BMW M3(2001) BMW M3 (1995) Lexus SC430 MB CLK430 Jaguar XKR (Friends Car)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dennisc   [Sep 03, 2002]
Model Reviewed: model CL500
Strength:

Technical innovation, comfort, good looks, pose-ability, accommodation and warranty.

Weakness:

Thirsty V8 lump when pressed (high priced gas in UK) Expensive options list.

Few cars look as good as this and even fewer look as big on british lanes but if you like 'em sleek, fast and sexy, look no further. All three models go like stink, even my basic 500. Obsidian Black is not the most practicable colour and requires high maintenance but when washed and waxed it looks a million dollars! I'm not entirely convinced by the interior build in parts, having had both door cards and the centre glovebox cover replaces owing to slight rippling of the leatherwork. I found Mercedes warranty superlative and their "Mobilo for life" offers ultimate peace of mind. There are too many optional extras though and pretty pricey! I'm spoiled by Lexus having bought an SC430 last year with zero options. Mercedes should also emulate the Lexus sat-nav and designer stereo - systems to die for! If you're in the market for a big swoopy coupe that's fast and flash; suitable for girlies and guys - motors don't come much better than this.

Similar Products Used: Lexus GS, LS & SC 430 BMW 745 Jaguar XJR Toyota Supra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
dan_the_man   [Jul 17, 2002]
Model Reviewed: CL 600
Strength:

Style, technology, performance

Weakness:

Expense, cost - cutting in some areas, the dilemma of what to replace it with...

This car can only be described as fantastic. Its understated good looks draw attention wherever it goes. The leather - lined interior is a luxurious and relaxing place to be, even for hours at a time. The level of technology incorporated in this vehicle is astounding, from the COMAND system to the self - closing doors. The V12 engine remains quiet and refined even at speeds of 150 mph + , with all of its 389hp available at a stretch of your right foot. I do feel that more attention could be paid to some of the plastic mouldings used in the cabin, which look and feel a little cheap, but the finish, ownership experience, and prestige of this car are second to none.

Similar Products Used: Mercedes S500 , Ferrari 456GT, Porsche 911
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Ryan   [Feb 09, 2002]
Strength:

The power, the spec but the best is those massive arches crying out for 20inch rims.

Weakness:

Not a thing.

The CL600 has to be the most amazing car ive ever owned. I traded my S320 in a month ago agaisnt the 600 and even though there isnt as much room i have no regrets. Its a great car to drive round town or the motorway. 100%

Similar Products Used: S320, Diablo, M5.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
emiliolarrosa   [Sep 18, 2001]
Strength:

engine, hp

Weakness:

none

This cas es excellent, great motor, interior, exterior, size, DVD, sound system, everything.

Similar Products Used: jaguar, bmw 740, audi A8, corvette
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com