Saab 9-5 Luxury

Saab 9-5 Luxury 

DESCRIPTION

The redesigned 2011 Saab 9-5 is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sports sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the Turbo4 to the Aero XWD.

The Turbo4 is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 220-horsepower, turbo engine. The Aero XWD is equipped with a standard 2.8-liter, V6, 300-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 27-mpg on the highway.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 123  
[Jan 30, 2010]
Steven
Model Reviewed: 9-5 SE V6 Wagon

Strength:

Solid performance
Reasonable gas mileage (20 mpg overall)
Comfortable
Relatively safe

Weakness:

RELIABILITY!!!!
Expensive to repair... anything and everything!

Despite warnings on many sites, I purchased this vehicle in the hopes it wasn't a lemon, having had two earlier model 900's that were generally reliable. Unfortunately, in the end, you get what you pay for.
I've found the following problems:
1- Instrument cluster sporadic failure
2- Loss of pixilation
3- Power mirrors don't move
4- Power sunroof doesn't open
5- odometer/speedometer don't register motion in any gear
6- bogging down of motor

What might have been an excellent product and experience has quickly turned to sh*t.

Caveat emptor in full effect.
C'est la vie.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 26, 2007]
J. Henderson
Model Reviewed: 9-5 Linear

Strength:

Power, comfort, style, uniqeness, smooth ride, large trunk space, ergonomic interior design, nice features

Weakness:

UNRELIABLE.

I feel like I'm in a bad relationship. I absolutely love my Saab. It looks great. The interior design and comfort is unmatched. I've test driven BMWs, Mercedes, etc., and I wouldn't trade my 9-5 for any of them (except maybe an Audi...hmm...maybe). The ride is so smooth and effortless. The turbo zips me from 60 to 110 MPH in no time flat with no discernable strain on the engine. The car seems to just yawn- as if to say "Is that ALL you want me to do?" "Are you SURE you don't want to go faster? Please?"

The problem is, I've had this car for about a year and a half, and I've been to the mechanic WAY too many times for a four year old car. Bypass valve failed. Bi-Xenon headlights failed (at $230 EACH no less), SID failed (like all Saabs, it seems) O2 Sensor failed, and I've had the Direct Ignition cassette replaced. All of this in 18 months. If one more thing goes wrong, I'll just endure the hit and GIVE it away- pass it on like a discarded old unfaithful girlfriend....and then cry myself to sleep. I love...and hate..that damn car.

Similar Products Used:

Honda CRX (220,000 miles - original clutch!)
Honda Civic (great car)
Mitsubishi Mirage (no one problem in 5 yrs)

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[May 30, 2007]
Mark Simpson
Model Reviewed: 60th Aniversary 9-5 Aero Sport Wagon

Strength:

Good fuel economy, many accessories standard, handles great, nice cockpit layout, interior comfort.

Weakness:

Lacking cup holders, annoying rattle behind instrument panel, molded mud guards not available.

I went from a large SUV to the 2007 9-5 Aero Sport Wagon roughly four weeks ago. Great decision on my part. I thoroughly checked out all the so-called competition and I felt the Saab wagon 9-5 won hands down. The lower cost vehicles just didn't compare and the higher cost vehicles didn't have anywhere near enough added value in oder to justify the substantial extra cost. One might say that all-wheel-drive is a must, but I find the front wheel drive is just fine and you benefit from added gas mileage as well. I'm extremely pleased with the car overall. I don't live at the gas station anymore. The comfort is great and it handles like a sports car. The cargo area is bigger than anything in it's class with extra storage under the cargo floor. The only two minor things I have to complain about, is the lack of front area usable cup holders and an annoying rattle behind the instrument panel. I haven't owned the vehicle long enough in oder to comment about maintenance. I personally recommend the Aero version over that of the basic; much sportier. As a personal observation; the navigation system offered by Saab and it's competition is a complete rip-off unless you have money to burn; you're way ahead of the game just to purchase a portable GPS separately.

Similar Products Used:

BMW, Audi, Volvo, Jaguar, Mercedes

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2007]
M Simpson
Model Reviewed: 9-5 Aero Sport Wagon

Strength:

Good fuel economy, many accessories standard, handles great, nice cockpit layout, interior comfort

Weakness:

Lacking cup holders, annoying rattle behind instrument panel, molded mud guards not available

I went from a large SUV to the 2007 9-5 Aero Sport Wagon roughly four weeks ago. Great decision on my part. I thoroughly checked out all the so-called competition and I felt the Saab wagon 9-5 won hands down. The lower cost vehicles just didn't compare and the higher cost vehicles didn't have anywhere near enough added value in order to justify the substantial extra cost. One might say that all-wheel-drive is a must, but I find the front wheel drive is just fine and you benefit from added gas mileage as well. I'm extremely pleased with the car overall. I don't live at the gas station anymore. The comfort is great and it handles like a sports car. The cargo area is bigger than anything in it's class with extra storage under the cargo floor. The only two minor things I have to complain about, is the lack of front area usable cup holders and an annoying rattle behind the instrument panel. I haven't owned the vehicle long enough in oder to comment about maintenance. I personally recommend the Aero version over that of the basic; much sportier. As a personal observation; the navigation system offered by Saab and it's competition is a complete rip-off unless you have money to burn; you're way ahead of the game just to purchase a portable GPS separately.

Similar Products Used:

BMW,Audi,Volvo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 09, 2007]
jimazee
Model Reviewed: 9-5 Aero Wagon

Strength:

Great turbo-4 / 5 speed auto. Roomy interior with comfy seats. Looks great (to me...also get regular compliments from strangers). Economical gas mileage.

Weakness:

Some dumb on-board computer functions. Meager casual storage in cockpit for such a large car. AWD might be better than the FWD which is pretty good.

Great car, especially if you like something different. It is quick, economical, sporty, comfortable, attractive, unique, fun.

Bought it new after selling a 92 9000s - 4 cyl. with 155k miles on it that I bought new. I have driven the 2005 31k miles in 18 months. So far the only problem is a horn that doesn't work on one of the four steering wheel quadrants.

The car easily gets 30+ mpg on highways at 70+ mph in sporty comfort with loads of stuff in the back. Carries 5 adults comfortably. Happy that I don't have an SUV.

Sad that Saab dropped the four. I hope the upcoming redesign doesn't destroy the character.

Similar Products Used:

Saab 9000s, BMW 535i, BMW 325i, Audi A4

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 08, 2006]
Ron Doering
Model Reviewed: 9-5 Linear Sport Wagon

Strength:

That said, the car is safe, powerful, comfortable, fun to drive and reasonably economical, especially on the highway where the weight (the station wagon weighs about 500 pounds more than a Camry)is less of a factor. I think the wagon is the best looking out there and only the Mercedes E trumps it in cargo space. It is also distinctly European and therefor will age gracefully. Just check out the first edition Lexus or Infinity models still on the road to see what I mean!

Weakness:

My car has not been without problems but I'm going to try to differentiate these issues to the best of my knowledge and experience (I've been driving and working on my own cars for almost 25 years) between what is a design or build fault and what was simply abuse by the previous owner.
1. Front suspension bushings. I should have known. Both front wheels were cracked and I had the dealer replace them. Whatever the previous owner hit likely damaged the bushings as well. (again beware)
2. Direct Ignition Cassette failure. This is a known SAAB weakness and subject to a mass recall. When it fails it fails without warning! Mine failed soon after we bought the car at 36,000 miles.
3. Cylinder head gasket leak. Bad gasket design.
4. Sludge in the engine oil. Ultimately this is SAAB's fault too. They were happy to pay for the first three years of maintenance which for SAAB is every 10,000 miles. Think about that. 10,000 mile oil changes! In a turbocharged car no less! So here's the scenerio: In the market for a used SAAB? Chances are the car has come off a three year lease. Now SAAB recommends that oil changes be done more often in let's say urban driving, but who's going to do that when they know they will be getting rid of the car at the end of the lease? I can only assume that my engine now has exceptional wear and tear.
5.Bulbs/headlight relay failure. For safety, my lights are always on. I like that. The down side is that the lights are always on so of course there is going to be agreater rate of failure here. You can always have the dealer disable the feature.

This is as much a review of a certified pre-owned experience as the car itself. My experience (at least with SAAB) is that the dealer does not run anything like a "1,000 point inspection" so don't expect that problems have been rectified before hand or that SAAB only accepts perfect cars. They don't. They will, on the other hand be happy to pay for repairs that come under a fairly generous warranty. If you are not aware of this going in the experience can of course be frustrating as problems develope which are usually left-over from the previous owner. In other words, look for a cream-puff and check the ownership records-if all good you should be fine.

Similar Products Used:

1982 Toyota Starlet (Everyone should experience a car like this-no mod cons, even a manual choke!)
1987 Volkswagen GT (Truly aweful car-and the most "dishonest" car I have ever driven or owned)
1986 Honda CRX (Truly great)
1995 Honda Civic (I wish I still had that car!)
1997 Plymouth Voyager (Not bad for what it was-an excellent value)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 16, 2006]
j_goughnour
Model Reviewed: SAAB 9-5 Aero Sport Wagon

Strength:

Engine, seats, looks, ride, SAAB cache'

Weakness:

reliability, dependability, quality... you need to decide if you are willing to put up with the headaches before buying this car.

Be very careful when purchasing a SAAB. If you want a car that you can drive mile after mile year after year with few problems and trips to the mechanic do not, I repeat, DO NOT buy a SAAB. My 9-5 Aero has been to the shop 6 times in the first year for electrical and gas tank related problems.

I can't decide how I feel about this car. The engine is great, the seats are incredible, and the looks are unmatched for a wagon, but if I have to bring this thing to the shop one more time I might rip my hair out. You would think that a car this late in its life cycle would have all of the kinks worked out by now, but it does not.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jul 15, 2006]
smgorun
Model Reviewed: 9-5

Strength:

Gool looking, goood feel, drives fine IF you are prepared to sink a lot of money after the purcahe just to mainatin it.

Weakness:

Outrageously expensive repairs, hostile cutomer service

I purchased my Saab 9-5 from a friend (dealer) at 50,000 miles so I knew that the car was maintained properly. However, problems started to occur soon (I am no at 97,000: the info pannel failed three times, the transmission had to be rebuild, the engine had to be rebuild too, a plastic valve that controls the air failed too, plu s small problems. The most upsetting thing is Saab's arrogance and poor cutomer service. I expected for a luxury car more dependability. Saab appears to be in the business to rip you off. They refused to acknowledge the poor quality of the info pannel, did not trust my mechanis and wanted me to spend $70 just to have a Saab delaer make the same determination and help them colelct marketing data while stating that since I am two months beyond the warranty they do not care. Accesing the palstic valve ($15 value) would hae cost me over $1,000 in labor. They knowe the valve was defective from many complaints o the web and dealers' feed-back, yet refused to assume any responsibility.
The car is nice but maintaining it is a nightmare, excerbated by what I feel the predatory policy of Saab. Be aware of their slick ads. I would stay away from these kind of people just to maintain a normal blood pressure.

Similar Products Used:

Volvo, BMW

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 04, 2006]
Jon
Model Reviewed: 9-5 sedan 2.3t

Strength:

cool features like sport mode and winter mode (drops it into 3rd at start) for auto transmission. Decent gas mileage for the performance you can potentially get out of it.

Weakness:

Repairs are frequent. Also expensive. Saab like's to rip you off because no one else can plug into the ecu. (no one else can or wants to fix it)

I bought it with 45k miles on it. 15k miles later... after an engine rebuild, a replaced ignition, and a new fuel system.. well.. would you look at that i have a new car... no. I cannot count the amount of time my car has spent in the shop... probably close to the same ive taken while actually driving it. Other than that. It can be fun to drive... in sport mode, going down hill.. with the wind behind your back.

Im far too negative though. It drives very nicely when its in good working order. And it has a lot of storage space in the trunk. So if you enjoy a sedan that you can load up a lot of your stuff in, and you can handle the expenses then its a good car.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Jun 14, 2006]
Edward Viceroy
Model Reviewed: Saab 95 Sport Combi

Strength:

-Great looks, aggressive styling.
-Pirrelli tires on really nice aluminum rims.
Refrigerated glove compartment for drinks (How cool is that?)
Superb handling
Great gas mileage

Weakness:

Light cheap feel when closing doors, especially the back hatch. (You gotta slam it to close it)
Sun roof a little tricky to close just right.

My first Saab. I think there will be more in my future. This car replaced a Mercedes 230. I truly loved the Mercedes, but I need something larger. I no longer miss it though.
The Sport Combi is a hard one to peg. The power is awesome. Hold on to the wheel, take a deep breath, and brace yourself before you stomp the gas pedal. The traditional "turbo-lag" is minimal, but still there.
The comfort has a Mercedes feel...almost.The seats are great, but the doors scream "I came from General Motors!")
The handling? I drove this thing from Canada to Florida through the mountains of Virginia. My wife said it was a a little scarey to see the goofy wide eyed grin on my face from morning till night. She was also quite annoyed with me for never letting her have a turn at driving this beauty.
The redesign of the body is attractive.. for a 'Station-wagon'. No manufacturer is gonna get caught calling one of their vehicles a 'station-wagon'.
It seems now a days that's the Marketing kiss of death for sales. However if it looks like a duck, I call it a duck.
I am truly enjoying the number of compliments and comments from people, everytime I am beside the car. I thought it looked great for a 'Station-wagon', from the start, but I thought it was just me. The compliments and head turns from the Twenty and Thirty-sometings really freaked me out in the beginning.
After four months and 14,000 kilometres, the honey moon is still on. No problems to report whatsover,..so far.
Love the roomy storage that the back end offers. It suits my life style for hauling stuff. Thoughtful tie-downs are a nice touch. Love the coffee cup holder. I thought my Mercedes had first prize for cool design, but Saab must have spent a fortune coming up with this thing. Just try and not play with it during the first few weeks of ownership.
The interior is nicely finished with Two-tone saddle-stiched leather seats. (option)

Similar Products Used:

Mercedes C230 Kompressor
Saab 93 (borrowed frequently)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 123  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com