Volvo S40 Luxury

Volvo S40 Luxury 

DESCRIPTION

The Volvo S40 is a 4-door, 5-passenger sports sedan, available in two trims, the T5 and the T5 R-Design.

Both trims are equipped with a standard 2.5-liter, I5, 227-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 30-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed automatic transmission is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 111  
[Jul 24, 2008]
Amuro
Model Reviewed: s40

Nice compact & solid swedish car
I like all but passenger side seat has manual control. I like all rain sensor and speed sense audio, weather package etc
I like unique 5 cylinder - only odd number
I loved speed once but now i need safety and saving without autoban

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2007]
prgeyer
Model Reviewed: Volvo S40 T5 AWD

Strength:

Good acceleration and handling
Loaded with many standard options
All-wheel drive

Weakness:

Questionable initial quality
Limited cabin storage
Lousy city gas mileage

Overall, this is an attractive and fun to own vehicle. With the T5 engine and AWD, acceleration and handling are very good. Winter driving was secure, backed up by excellent safety features.

Unfortunately, this vehicle also came with a number of quality problems right off the assembly line. The left-rear stereo speaker has had an annoying buzz that the dealership can't trace. Also, as others have mentioned, the A/C system made a weird hooting noise, which the dealership has been able to resolve.

While highway gas mileage is quite good, city mileage is dismal.

Storage is extremely limited, although the space behind the floating center console is handy. Despite an extremely small opening, the trunk is surprisingly large.

All in all, I don't know if I would purchase this same car again. Poor service at the dealership may have something to do with this. I don't regret my purchase. I just don't have the same warm feeling about this car that I've had about others I've purchased in the past.

Similar Products Used:

Audi A6
VW Cabrio

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 21, 2007]
J Plunkett
Model Reviewed: Volvo S40

Strength:

.....can't think of any

Weakness:

You name it!

I'm not sure I've ever been less satisfied or more disappointed with a vehicle, or any product for that matter. I bought the Volvo name because of its reputation for reliability and safety. For starters, after I bought the car new in 2001, the dealership promtly quit selling or servicing Volvos. The next closest dealership is over 90 miles away in Houston. I have never taken the car to the dealership and left with a bill under $500. Standard maintainance costs are staggering. It's something everytime it goes in for service. There isn't a light bulb on the car that hansn't been replaced numerous times. The brakes - rotors, pads, and calipers have all been replaced - numerous times - at great expense (was charged over $700 for last job). There is always, without fail, some kind of sensor that needs to be replaced. Now, it's in the shop again and they "haven't figured out yet what could be causing the driveability problems". I fear it's the transmission. The resale value on the car has always been crap or I would have traded it a long time ago. In '03 with less than 70K miles, it was worth less than 5 grand. 20,000 dollars in depreciation in only 2 years. I'm not sure what Ford has done to this company, but there's no wonder Ford is going broke! I would never recommend a Volvo to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 16, 2006]
pmmargo
Model Reviewed: volvo s40T

Strength:

Powerful engine...T5 is nice

Weakness:

Bad quality and Volvo lacks proper attitude.
I will have to pursue lemon law officially with them...They lack class, when I requested a refund.

Annoying Owl Sounds. Still waiting on "computer software fix"
Problems with fuel pressure gauge and clock resets itself. Annoying nonlinear acceleration.
Volvo does not support their products...do not buy from them.

Similar Products Used:

I owned a 740 and a 960.

Never again! This will be my last Volvo!
Advise you to pass Volvo by.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Aug 25, 2006]
Natalya Sabga
Model Reviewed: Volvo S40

Strength:

Size, performance

Weakness:

BLIND SPOTS. I have to fault Volvo for a BIG BOO BOO with the S40- blind spots. These have caused me one full accident and one near miss. The blind spots are dangerous and prevent me from recommending this car to others.

I absolutely love my new Volvo S40. I drove an S70 for 8 years, and not only was it a high maintenance car, but also highly maintained! The S40 is no different, although the exterior seems easier to clean and keep clean.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 21, 2006]
agolembe
Model Reviewed: S40

Strength:

My S40 gets adequate mileage. It has a great deal of power and handles well, something that helped me out of tight spots while driving in Italy. It's a comfortable ride. Handles well, hugs the turns.

Weakness:

High maintenance costs. Constant brake replacement. Workmanship in the car itself is shoddy. Stuff falls apart constantly. The paint scratches if someone breathes on it. Chips easily.

I have a love hate relationship with my Volvo S40. Love the way it handles and the power it has. Hate the cost of upkeep. Every time I took the car in for maintenance it's needed engine mounts (twice), brakes, or some other expensive replacement. It's never just the standard scheduled maintenance. Then in August 2006 my car suddenly, unexpectedly developed a loss in power and a jerking on acceleration. The certified Volvo mechanic told me it was a ring (after a $750 engine tear down). He didn't want to replace the rings because no one was trained in complete tear down and rebuild so he recommended engine replacement for a mere $8,000 (almost as much as the car is worth). It took a half hour of argument to get them to even consider ring replacement. A week later they told me their machine shop would not do the machining because they had never done it and didn't want the responsibility. Foreign car repair shops were surprised a Volvo engine failed, were willing to try and replace the rings but couldn't get to it for several months. Some said Volvo made it too hard to get replacement parts and therefore no longer worked on them. The Volvo service center finally told us the ring replacement would cost almost as much as engine replacement. Volvo North America a first considered paying half the cost but then decided the car was "too far out of warranty". Be aware. Major engine work means engine replacement.

Similar Products Used:

1991 Toyota Camry

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 16, 2005]
David Hulme
Model Reviewed: Volvo S40 1.9 DS

Strength:

Safety Features Fuel Economy Responsiveness - the turbo on this is good. Comfort. Quality of build. The aesthetics of the car. It's reliablity.

Weakness:

Rear windshield vision. Wing mirrors not large enough to eradicate blindspot when overtaking. Windscreen pillars create blindspots.

My S40 is a diesel powered 5 speed manual transmission car. I bought it as a used car with 32000 miles on the clock in July 2004 for the price of £GBP10,500 (approx US$19,000). I took it in for service when the light came on and my local dealership replaced, under warranty, the bushes for the rear suspension(it had been owned by a car hire agency)and at my instigation the rear brake discs and pads were replaced - I like my cars to be able to stop when I want them to!! I have now done 8000 miles in the car and I really cannot fault it. The fuel economy is superb - 60 British miles to the British gallon at 60 mph. I would prefer to have the electric seat but one cannot have everything all the time. Having read the reviews on here about this vehicle, I have to say that we in Britain must get a better quality built S40 than you folks in the USA. The problems that you folks have had defies belief. And as for dealership problems, I have to say that I have no problems with my local dealership (who are not the ones I bought the car from) and they have been absolutely great. I use Volvo owners insurance so I can have a loan car when mine is in for service. My dealership rings the insurance company (without charge to me) and effects the changeover. I then drive away with a top of the range S40 or S80. One of these days, I will like the loan car so much I won't take it back!! I can only surmise, that as all Volvo dealerships are franchises irrespective of where you are in the world, that some of the mechanics are not really up to scratch when it comes to working on a Volvo. Fortunately the mechanics at my dealership are second to none and yes my car was washed after its last service (again no charge) which I think only goes to prove the pride in which they take in their work. I sincerely sympathise with those of you who have been receiving substandard service from your dealerships. Okay, I'm not really all that interested in having the up to date must have hifi equipment in the car. That is not a priority for me. I have the standard HU605 setup which has a three band radio, single cd and cassette player. The audio system is more than adequate for my use - I am not one of those who thinks it clever to drive around a neighbourhood in a mobile disco. The car itself does what I want it to do without any fuss. It looks good - perlescent black paint with 15" alloy wheels - and the daytime running lights along with side markers, for me, adds to that appeal. The car looks the business. It gets some very jealous looks wherever I go with it. As for bulb burnout, I have not had that problem. Is this a production quality control problem within the USA or are you folks being supplied with substandard lightbulbs? I certainly have not had any problems with erroneous indicator lights on the dashboard. Someone mentioned that there wasn't a ding ding sound or tone when someone had not put on their seatbelt? My car has a tick tick sound if I do not put on my seatbelt. A small light illuminates and flashes on the console where the overhead lights are located - silly place - and I get a steady light on the dashboard console. Personally I think that these are the wrong way around. Someone else mentioned the suspension. Yes, my car has the sports suspension which, I have to agree that it can be rather harsh. This probably explains why the rear suspension bushes had to be replaced as well being used as a hire car (see comment above). Apart from that I cannot really fault the car, other than to say I am going to have to replace it. Due to a knee injury, I am going to have to source an automatic/geartronic version and will probably look at the S60. The only crticisms that I have of the S40 are: 1. Due to the angle of the car it is nigh on impossible to judge where the back end is when you are reversing due to the angle of tilt. Fine, I could retrofit a reversing sensor device and that would solve the problem. But it does not address the original problem of the design. 2. The external mirrors are not large enough to eradicate the rearview blindspots particularly when overtaking. I find that I have to check over my shoulder to make sure that I have not got someone there in the blindspot area. This appears to be standard with Volvo. each one that I have owned have had this problem. And finally 3. The windscreen pillars are rather thick and actually create a blindspot that hides other vehicles. Where I live I drive to a T-junction and actually have to look around one of the pillars to make sure I have not missed the oncoming vehicle on the major road. Apart from that, as a modern day car, I cannot fault it.

Similar Products Used:

Volvo 244 saloon Volvo 740 saloon

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 05, 2005]
eeilers
Model Reviewed: S 40

Strength:

2000 model - ride is nice, and has a good power curve with the 1.8T model. Leather is ok, but there is better out there. Handles ok. 2005 model - Handles really well

Weakness:

2000 model - more problems with the whole car electronics and ignition system. We absolutely cannot rely on the car. I use my Toyota Tacoma as the "reliable" car in the family. 2005 model - The visibility really sucks! I guess that is why Volvo has to have great safety ratings...you are more likely to crash in the thing! Controls are cheap. Stupid radio layout!!!! Waste O space!!! It is noisy. The 2.4L model has very little power, way less than the 1.8T in our older one.

Complete Nightmare!!! We bought this car because we thought Volvo was a reputable maker. Two days after we bought the car, it stalled in the middle of traffic. Got the car "fixed". According to the dealer, the car had been sitting on the lot for a bit, and the battery had gone bad. We bought the story unfortunately. We should have taken this as a hint from the start. We have now had the car a little over a year, and it has continued to stall in the middle of traffic 4 more times and it had to be towed each time. Same symptoms each time, but they always fix something different and call it "fixed", but it never is. We are pursuing our right on the lemon law in San Diego. The dealer is either incompetent, or the car is just a complete POS. We have gotten nothing but attitude from the dealer until we brought the term "attorney" into the picture. Now, since the car is in the shop AGAIN(for the 5th time), they gave us a brand new 2005 S-40 as a loaner, and it really sucks! DO NOT BUY AN S-40 from San Diego Volvo!!! So this is actually a review of the 2000 model and the 2005 model. What really sucks is that we really liked the car aside aside from it having to be towed.

Similar Products Used:

Acura TSX - just for a test drive today. Mercedes C230 - Neighbor has the sport model. Audi A4 - Highly recommended from friends

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 07, 2004]
Amin
Model Reviewed: Volvo S40

Strength:

-Leather Seats/Comfort -Handling -Acceleration

Weakness:

-Audio -Speaker rattling (silent w/ audio off) -Lack of features

Previously to this car I had driven a 2001 Toyota Camry Collectors Edition (similar to the XLE). This was a great car but was totalled in a hit and run by an unlicensed driver. Recently I decided to purchase this Volvo due to the fact that the 2004.5 model was coming out and I could get a great deal. And I did for the most part. I bought a 2004 Volvo S40 LSE. However, since I've had it, it's had some minor problems. Despite that scratches it has taken within it's first month (some quite deep), and it's blemishs which have kept me awake some nights, there are other issues to take note of. First off the audio system sucks. The one in the camry was much better. I have the upgraded premium audio (HU-555 w/ upgraded speakers). While the audio is decent, upon first driving the car I noticed that the right passenger speaker has issues with rattling. I made sure it was the speaker because as soon as I grabbed hold of the door, the rattling stopped due to the door's stabilization. A relativley minor problem, you might say. Then there is the issue of a "scraping" sound when I take dips. I take great care of my car and take dips at EXTREMELY slow speeds. However, there is an apparent scratching like noise at certain angles that the turn/dip is being taken at. I've heard this sound just driving on the 91 fwy with no major bumps at all. The car's drive magnificantly for a fwd vehcile. In comparison with other fwd drive cars I've driven, this by far takes the cake. It's four cylinder turbo is much smoother than my V6 camry ever was. It provide a nice little kick that shows it's more than just a family sedan. Handling is quite surprising as well. I've heard many reviewers saying that the handling on this vehicle is subpar, I can assure you that this is not the case at all. I've taken it through rough, rough corners at above 50mph, and for a four door sedan to accompish these kinds of performance manuevers, specially within this price range, proves that it definetly is a contender. Where this vehicle falls short is in it's features. In terms of audio and other features such as a compass, disc changer, homelink, navigation, this car falls short to competitors in it's range such as the ES330, Toyota Camry, Honda Accord, Nissan Altima, and Mazda 6. It also lacks some of the features found in other near-luxury cars such as the Mercedes C230 and BMW 325i. However the leather seating is amongst the best I've ever sat in. Very, very comfortable seating. The audio is horrible, I recommend replacing the 6 speaker "premium" with something better. It's a joke, really for that kind of system to be in this kind of car. As far as drive is concerned, the S40 whoops all non-luxury competitors such as Toyota (Lexus ES330 as well), Nissan, and Mazda. I also believe it edges out the C230 sedan in terms of performance and is more along the lines of a BMW 325i, again which is fantastic when viewing it as a FWD sedan. The car does 0-60 in 7.3 seconds which is comparable to the C230(7.5) and 325i(7.3). I would give this car a 8/10 in comparison to others in it's class and a 9/10 in comparison to it's price value.

Similar Products Used:

I have driven a 1997 Mercedes S430, 2001 Toyota Camry, 2003 Accord Coupe, 2003 Nissan Maxima, 2003 Toyota Corolla, 2003 BMW325i, 2002 Mercedes S500, 2001 Audi A4, 1993 Bently Arnage, 1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 01, 2004]
ilovecars
Model Reviewed: S40

Strength:

I was rearended the other day and the whip system totally did it's job. Bravo! My paint is about 3 years old now and is still beautiful. The interior is spacious for a small sedan. The seat belts and child seat holders are excellent. The engine is the smallest I have ever owned, but the turbo makes up for it. Drives like a typical V6 and besides the occasional wierd downshift it is a very smooth ride. Even over bumbs and I'm am now 9 mths. pregnant.

Weakness:

The dash and interior is like white bread. No frills and fun stuff. The cupholders are not practical and the in-dash one does stick. Comes with 15's. Inexpensive new tires are good, but not pretty or sporty to look at. Does not have home link like many cars of today and the trunk release only unlocks the trunk instead of actually letting it pop open. I love cars. I loved my last car (BMW z3 hatchback) but it was not practical since I am with child. This car is too boring in fact that I can't help but long for something more fun. SOON!

I chose it for the safety features and the great price. The car was a demo with very low miles and it came with a full warranty. Felt like it was a good choice since I am with child. Safe and cheap. Since it was on the lot as a demo I'm sure it had been rode hard and it had some minor flaws as to be expected. The dealership fixed all of them, while lending me a loaner car. I've have noticed that it downshifts kind of rough and spontaneously when I take corners and try to accelerate. The strange thing is that it only does it sometimes. I need to take it in for that. I also just noticed a loose front headlamp. Will have to get that fixed too. Both of which are covered by the warranty. You get what you pay for with this car. It is the baby Volvo in every aspect (price,style,ammenities,engine size, etc...) except safety. One can't expect to pay half the price and get the whole bag of goodies.

Similar Products Used:

BMW 3.0 Z3 Coupe, Acura 3.0 CL, Mitsubishi Eclipse GST,...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 111  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com