Volvo S80 Luxury

Volvo S80 Luxury 

DESCRIPTION

The Volvo S80 is a 4-door, 5-passenger luxury sedan, available in two trims, the 3.2 and the T6 AWD.

The 3.2 is equipped with a standard 3.2-liter, I6, 240-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 27-mpg on the highway. The T6 AWD is equipped with a standard 3.0-liter, I6, 300-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 119  
[Jun 15, 2010]
Susan and Gary Hetrick
Model Reviewed: S80

Strength:

Great Excelleration! When you need to approach the Capitol Beltway in DC or Virginia... you better have a very quick excelleration in the car!

Weakness:

In my Opinion... there really are none.

Love it!!! Want a Volvo Convertible when I can get my hands on one!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 22, 2009]
Marci
Model Reviewed: C80

Strength:

turbo great, blind spot camera, blue tooth, new head lamps very sporty and great in bad weather. excellent on ice and snow. Seat are a wow heated front and back seats. lots of truck room.

Weakness:

cup holder and no eye glass holder no big deal..

Nice car. People I have read review here and they seem to not get it. This is NOT a BMW NOR abig expensive fancy car. You get alot of bang for you buck and a great safe car. I have driven all over the world and BMW and others are lovely but I can not offered there maintence nor they name band snob attitudes. I have had three volvo's can down from XC90 to lease this great car to and love it is just beutiful a real ladies car safe and the turbo is fun. Get the package deal and you will get a excellent car for the $$$. Volvo has now style safty NO more blind spots and added turbo for speed. I hate to say this but American have no idea about speed nor saftey until they drive in europe. The 2009 has only gotten better. I have had BMW and other expensive cars they are costly to fix and maintane. Give this a try people and give the 2009 a try these other review are way old.. PS Lease package is great...

Similar Products Used:

BMW

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 11, 2008]
stsenos
Model Reviewed: S80 AWD 2.5T

Strength:

Seats are best in the market. I have driven cars worth twice as much as this with less supportive seats. Volvo does well. The AWD and Dynamic Stability Control systems are the best out there. This car along with its robust built, balance and AWD and DSC make it the best in road safety and control in slippery conditions.

Weakness:

The Swedes will never get the cup holders right. Do they not drink coffee in Sweeden.

This is my third Volvo and I am extremely impressed with the fit and finish and overall ownership. I opted for the All Wheel Drive motor with the Dynamic Stability Control and cant say enough on how well it handles Canadian Winters. I find myself in Northern Ontario roads in less the desirable conditions and the S80 outperforms any SUV or 4x4 Truck you might try to compare it to. Volvo for Life.

Similar Products Used:

2005 Ford F-150 XLT
2002 Toyotal Avalon
2000 Volvo S70
2003 Lexus 430
2003 Chev Blazer
1995 VOLVO 850

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 25, 2007]
Kay
Model Reviewed: Volvo/S80

Strength:

Comfortable, looks & drives good (when its not broken down!)

Weakness:

Everything but the outer shell (exterior)

I bought a used Volvo thinking it would be a good and safe car for myself and my two teenagers (it rides nice and looks great). However, it has been nothing but problem after problem. In two years I have spend close to $3,300 in repairs and every month or so something else goes wrong. I've been told by two dealers that they will give me $4,000 as a trade in for it. The single most expsnive car MISTAKE I have ever made! I have never been so distraught over the purchase of a car.

Similar Products Used:

No more Volvos EVER for me!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[May 19, 2007]
Sam
Model Reviewed: s80 T6

The best car I ever own

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 08, 2007]
Toto
Model Reviewed: S80 2.9

Strength:

Ride, quiet, comfort

Weakness:

Reliability and manufacturer support. Safety - how safe can a car be which breaks down while going 70 MPH on the highway?

A piece of crap. No more Volvos for me.

Grandfather and neighbor had Volvos which lasted 200K+ miles. Thought this one might be the same.

Love the car and hate it at the same time. Just like a bad marriage, after 8 years and putting so much time, energy, and LOTS of money - I've finally come to the realization that it's time to end the relationship.

Love the ride, hate the repairs which are too numerous to mention. You name it, it's been fixed. Just read all the other reviews and add a few. I can change headlights now in 20 seconds. Is that something to brag about? Volvo has never been of any help - just very frustrating.

The other night at the airport, went to start the car - it half started and then died. I mean died hard - no lights, no sounds, nothing. Opened the hood, looked inside, slammed the hood and all the interior lights came on. Started right up and been fine ever since. Time to move on. Should have listened to my friends and left her a long time ago.

They're trying hard to lure me in with the "new" S80 but they can't seduce me this time.

On to an Acura or Lexus.

Similar Products Used:

Honda Accord, Chrysler, Chevy Suburban

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Apr 24, 2007]
Chuck
Model Reviewed: Volvo S80 T6

Strength:

Stero sounds good. Smooth ride. Quiet

Weakness:

Reliability. It left my wife stranded when it only had 47k miles.

The doors seem light and flimsy when compared to earlier Volvo's from 1999 and earlier. It lacks the infamous solid sturdy safe Volvo feel. The electronic controls for the 8-way adjustable front seats stopped working. The turn signal lever and controls stopped working and had to be replaced. The throttle body had to be replaced. An engine mount cracked. The transmission died at 47,000 miles. It left my wife stranded when it only had 47k miles. Unfortunately it was out of warranty and the Volvo dealer where we purchased the car told us that it would cost $4,330 for another transmission. We sent a letter to Volvo and they basically told us to buzz off. A copy of the letter from Volvo can be found here: http://www.the-engineers-garage.com/volvo.jpg
It didn't seem to hold up to it's estimated blue book value. We couldn't sell it and wound up giving it to Carmax for a low price. Who would want a relatively low mileage Volvo with a rebuilt transmission?

Similar Products Used:

Volvo Cross Country(1999)

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 20, 2006]
teamsc10190
Model Reviewed: Volvo S80 T6

Strength:

Seating comfort and interior room are outstanding. Accelleration is a treat, (between breakdowns)

Weakness:

Makes a Yugo look like a paragon of reliability. If I were to list everything that has broken on this car, it would not fit in the allotted space, so it would be easier to list what hasn't broken; the steering wheel.

A common thread you'll find with anyone that has owned this car for any period of time is the opinion that it's the worst car they have ever owned. What a total piece of trash! A paragon of unreliability that will leave you by the side of the road again and again. In 154,000 miles, I have almost bought the car twice, paying over $34,000 in repair bills, over and beyond the new car warranty and the extended service contract. My vacations for the past six years have all been spent in Volvo dealerships waiting for them to replace the same parts again and again. Volvo is apparently incapable of making anything made of rubber; Engine mounts, sealing o-rings, upper suspension bushings, control arm bushings, sway bar links. Four transmissions (1 on Volvo, 2 on extended service contract, 1 on me at $5,000 a copy), three electronic throttle modules, six upper suspension busings @ $850 each. I could go on forever. I kept a book with a service log and copies of all the repair orders, because it was difficult to describe to anyone the magnitude of the failures of every single system on the car, again and again. Folks would ask why I didn't get rid of the car sooner. The real reason was that the car has almost no resale value. No Volvo dealer would ever think of taking it on a trade-in and putting it on his lot because he knows what a piece of garbage it is that will only result in more dissatisfied customers. At one point when the car was three years old, Volvo offered to have me participate in their "Owner Loyalty" program that would offer me a $5,000 discount on a new S80. The dealer would offer me $5,000 as a trade-in for a three year old car that I paid over $45K with tax. The car didn't have a dent or scratch on it. I had dutifully replaced parts as they (literally) continued falling off the car. So I took roughly $40,000 in depreciation in 3 years and 72,000 miles. Now there's a value proposition for you! I finally traded it in as six years old with 154,000 miles at a Mazda dealer for $7,100. God help the poor soul! I made certain to take all ID out of the car because I didn't want the new owner to know who I was. Buy a car from a company that knows how to build and support luxury cars. That certainly isn't the Ford Motor Compnay because their idea of customer retention equates to cost containment as they continue to bleed red ink. Pathetic.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 12, 2006]
Wendy boyer
Model Reviewed: S80T6

Was just shopping for a Volvo tonight and chose the 2004 S80 in Black, beautiful. Thank God I came home and read these reviews. Thank you to everyone who has written, sorry for your unfortunate experiences. I will move on to Lexus or Accura.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 14, 2006]
M D Stirling
Model Reviewed: Volvo S80 T6

Strength:

Very comfortable, nicely balanced car with excellent safety features

Weakness:

Not exactly a 'drivers' car that can be thrown around tight corners easily.

Not the most exciting car that I've ever owned with cornering & handling dynamics that are a little ordinary. It's now 7 years old and has 162000kms (100000 miles) on the clock and the only repairs and maintenance done on it has been minor and what would be expected as wear and tear for a car of its age.

For me this car has always been reliable, comfortable, safe and the best long distance touring car I've owned

Similar Products Used:

Lexus ES300

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 119  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com