Acura TSX Midsize | Compact

TSX

The TSX is a 4-door, 5-passenger sports sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the 6-Spd MT to the 5-Spd AT w/ Technology Package.

The 6-Spd MT is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 201-horsepower engine that achieves 20-mpg in the city and 28-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard. The 5-Spd AT w/ Technology Package is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 201-horsepower engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 30-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (34)

Showing 1-10 of 34  
Axehead   [Oct 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Acura TSX
Strength:

1 - shifting gears
2 - revving and smooth engine
3 - rock solid reliability
4 - the best and most practical guages in the industry (and 2004 is better than new 2009 model to boot
5 - handling
6 - gas mileage, unless you rev the crap out of the engine but it's worth it.

Weakness:

for some reason I'm getting lots of dints and scratches on this thing...must be haunted.

This is the 1st post I have made to this excellent web site. I rely on the comments here to make informed decisions. I recently decided to purchase a 4 year old Acura TSX. I wanted performance, a good manual transmission, good gas mileage, Japanese reliability, and luxury as I will be travelly frequently in my new business as an independant consultant. WOW, does this car deliver. This is one of the most exiting and fun cars I have ever driven. It's not a rocket, but that 4 cylinder, DOHC, IVTEC, 7.4 rmp redline little high reving beauty of an engine delivers. And corner...it's a real joy to hit turns at high speed, in high revs..what a blast. Everything in this car screams quality and ergonomics are fantastic. I can't find enough excuses to drive. If you're thinking about a good overall car that performs far better than it really should...just do it.

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord 98 - still haven't changed the muffler after 200 km, awesome car.
Ford F150 (rust bucket), Toyota Celica
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Brandon Allen   [Jun 04, 2008]
Model Reviewed: TSX auto
Strength:

205 HP I-VTEC, Smooth shifting transmision, Great interior features, Great gas millage, Great tech features, The car has an overall expensive feel that other cars in this price range lack. After a year of daily use the car has absolutly so signs of wear.

Weakness:

Not a problem to speak of.

The TSX is a great car. It does everything with grace and confidence. It's just as fun as it is functional. I can't think of a better car for the money. I have been averaging about 25 miles per gallon around town. The practical side of me likes the car just as much as my fun side. The color combinations are great too.

Similar Products Used: I looked at the Lexus IS250, but could not justify paying the extra ten thousand. However, I did like it.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ohlphil   [Dec 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Acura TSX
Strength:

Fun to drive with nice cornering and comfort. Cruises effortlessly and quietly at 80 mph like a full size luxury. Tracks great at speed with minimal steering corrections. Driver ergonomics are excellent. Driving position and alignment of steering wheel, pedals and elbow-rests feels perfectly natural. Heated seats in a car less than 30k!

Weakness:

An oil service guy asked if it was a Civic. I like the looks but it needs another element to say "Acura."

Excellent value for an entry luxury car. A great mix of good gas mileage, luxury and handling. I don't share the complaints about low torque. Jack Rabbit starts at low RPM are not my concern. This car giddiups nonetheless. At speed, the horsepower kicks in and adds to the fun factor. I'll trade the lower torque for the better gas mileage that the TSX achieves. Everything about the drive spells "tight" with the obvious attention to quality construction and design.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jteeen   [Aug 18, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Acura TSX / with nav
Strength:

quality and the price =D

Weakness:

people say it doesnt have enough horsepower but hey i really dont need that much. its not like im gonna use it as a racecar. so no weakness for me

I am speechless. possibly the best car ever. if youre looking for a luxury car but dont want to spend lots of money. this car is perfect. having everything as standard (except nav, comes optional) then nothing compares to it. love the exterior and definitely the interior. the ride is smooth and engine is quiet. when i got it i got lots of head turns according to my sister who was with me. all of my friends love my car. definitely worth getting it.

Similar Products Used: honda civic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Debbie   [May 21, 2007]
Model Reviewed: TSX auto w/ nav
Strength:

Loads of features for the price. Numerous choices in color combinations
Great gas mileage on highway (30-31mph+ in NJ)

Weakness:

- High rev at low speeds, but I'm not a gunner type driver, so doesn't bother me.
- Too much outside noise when windows closed. Makes me want to look at Lexus (super quiet) but can't get past their price tag for the same features.

This is the first luxury car I ever purchased and must say I am so pleased. I've had the car for almost 4 years, with 95,500 miles on it - with no major problems at all.

I am already looking to buy a new car next year, when this car will have about 130,000 miles and keep coming back to this car. I am researching TSX's competition and am ruling out the BMW 328 and Mercedes 350 due to quality criticisms. The TSX is not getting blasted in overall quality.

Similar Products Used: Driven hi end Lexus', never owned.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Mateson   [Mar 07, 2007]
Model Reviewed: TSX
Strength:

Styling, Gas Mileage, Price

Weakness:

Uncomfortable front seats on a long drive, power, size

Great car for the price. Overall, have been happy with the performance...could definitely use some more low end torque. Reliablity and gas mileage as good or better than expected with a Honda product. Would have bought the TL if I had to do it over due to size and power.

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Mike   [Dec 14, 2006]
Model Reviewed: TSX
Strength:

Lots of well placed options in the interior. Good on gas.

Weakness:

could use a little more low end torque

Overall, it's a well thought out car. Handles well, brakes well, not too harsh a ride for a sport sedan. Lot's of std options that you have to pay extra for in similiar cars. Great for the price. Very happy with it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Kimstarr   [Jul 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Acura RL
Strength:

Handles okay. Voice activation features are nice. Navigation system is a little confusing to use but very powerful once you get the hang of it. Adequate power.

Weakness:

Noisy .... lots of wind noise, rattles, squeeks....reminds you of a New York City taxi cab more than a $45K - 50K luxury auto. Local dealer is too busy trying to rack up warranty stuff. They don't know how to fix anything or treat customers. Acura headquarters doesn't care either, so if you care about customer care, you don't want this car.

Overall a poor choice and I'm sorry I wasted the money. Lots of hi-tech, but totally missed the basics. Expensive car that is a pile of rattles and noises. Poorly designed. Customer service non-existant.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
alinki   [Jul 07, 2006]
Model Reviewed: TSX-Auto/ Nav.
Strength:

Great on gas, Excellent build quality, fit and finish, nav is great.

Weakness:

None to note!!

This car has it all. I am very impressed with Acura.I wait along time for my car to come. I had special ordered it. They are so hot the dealer cannot keep them in stock.

Similar Products Used: Acura TL, C-Class Benz, Honda-EX-L V-6 Accord
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Laers   [Jul 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Acura RSX Type S
Strength:

Power, handling on a rail, nice short shifting, the whole package.

Weakness:

One cannot expect a sports car to be completely quiet, and the RSX is not. There is road noise.
Disappointed at Acura discontinuing it for 2007. How can Acura quit making a success story just because of the Honda Civic SI filling the size/price gap? I thought Acura would keep the can with little changes for the future. I feel like I own a classic and the RSX should keep a high resale price because of it.

This is a great car. It is responsive, quick, very reliable, and looks great too. I bought the car on advice from my 17 year old, I am 48, but loved the choice and still smile when driving the car. Other than an issue with rattling along the windshield edges, which was resolved by Superior Acura by replacing the whole windshield while I drove a TSX, I have not experienced any other problem. This is one heck of a car and has been beating the competition on comparisons and reviews many years in a row.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 34  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com