Dodge Avenger (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact

Dodge Avenger (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact 

DESCRIPTION

The Dodge Avenger is a 4-door, 5-passenger family sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the Express to the Lux.

The Express is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 173-horsepower engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 30-mpg on the highway. The Lux is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 173-horsepower engine that achieves 20-mpg in the city and 31-mpg on the highway.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 290  
[Mar 15, 2011]
B. Swanson
Model Reviewed: Avenger

Strength:

This car is fun to drive, very comfortable and has great pick up on the highway. The gas mileage is good and as stated in the manual. I really like the sporty , easy care interior, the sound system and most definitely the sporty exterior! Oh yes--it came with heated seats--LOVE them!

Weakness:

I,m not too crazy about the forward leaning headrests, but I'm guessing they are designed that way as a safety factor?I was used to a van so did initially I felt there were some blind spots. As I've gotten more used to this car and how I like my seat adjusted it doesn't seem to be a problem any more. The trunk did initially pour water in when lifted during or after a storm, but the dealership quickly fixed that. That is the only problem I've ever had with this car.

I would recommend this car for anyone who wants a sporty, smaller car at a great price. It handles really well and is a real pleasure to drive. The interior can really take it from little kids to the family dog.

Similar Products Used:

Chevy Cavalier, Pontiac Grand Am

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 06, 2010]
Brent Templeton
Model Reviewed: Avenger

Strength:

Decent power for a lower cost car.

Weakness:

Terribly large blind spot and car not made for a person over 6 foot tall.

Recently I was in a wreck and my car had to be fixed at a local body shop. The rental car I was given is a Dodge Avenger and I have now been driving it for at least two weeks. The car has a nice appearance and a few neat feartures. However, they are NOT worth what you give up in being able to see. It is hard to tell where your front end and tail end are when driving. The worse part comes in the EXCEPTIONALLY LARGE BLIND SPOT. I was trying to back out of a parking place yesterday when I heard a horn. I had already looked both ways and was looking backwards while slowing backing out. I stopped, looked around, still nothing. I began again when I heard the horn go off again several times. I stopped again and then noticed that their was a midsize car starting to drive past me and it was totally blocked by this large blind spot. Most cars have at least a small window between the rear seat and the back windshield. This one does not and it has a large amount of abstruction keeping you from seeing clearly backwards. I can not wait to get my Altima back next week.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 24, 2010]
natosuperman
Model Reviewed: stx

Strength:

good gas milage, I got 34 MPG on a 800 mile trip thru the North Carolina mountains

Weakness:

rental car had 18,900 miles and was on a new set of tires, the RR strut made noise, the cruise control did not work all the time, the RF vent was would not move, the center console did not open correctly, the wind noise at 75 MPH was louder than the radio, the ride was rough, the wipers would randomly start. I realize this is was a rental car and they are abused, but the wind noise alone was enough to turn me off to every buying this car.

another POS from the big 3. one thing for sure is I'll have plenty of mopars in my shop to repair.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 22, 2010]
RCole80
Model Reviewed: Avenger ES

Strength:

Uniqueness, styling, interior room and comfort, power options on everything, gauge cluster, smooth ride, everything on the dash can be reached from the drivers seat.

Weakness:

Clear coat on the paint and headlights fades, typical for all Chrysler's in this year range, location of the radio leaves you bumping the shifter constantly. Rusty rockers and no company makes replacement sheet metal.

My buddy had this car for 12 years, outside of normal wear and tear had no problems with it. Had it serviced at the right intervals including transmission flushes-almost everyone forgets that one! No leaks at the windows at all. Those of you who said you had to keep replacing parts must have been using the cheapskate parts, any part replaced on this vehicle has yet to need to be replaced again, even at 150,000+ miles. As with any car, if you take good care of it, and you can guarantee the last owner did, it will last. I can see myself driving this car for quite some time. Even though it had barely moved from the garage the last year, when I drove it the 70 miles back to my house I got 23 miles to the gallon. Say what you will about crappy gas mileage, my last ride was a 1997 Suburban...14 mpg SUCKS, this car beat it hands down. The turning radius is fine if you give the V6 a little incentive, not sure about the I4 (not v4 as someone tried calling it) with or without the manual transmission. Sporty good looks and decent fuel mileage, reminds me of my Firebird. The Avenger has a cockpit feel to it as well, not so good if you're claustrophobic but great for me.

Similar Products Used:

1989 Firebird, 1984+1985 Mazda RX7, 1995 Neon x2, 1966 Mustang V8, 1971 Oldsmobile Cutlass 'S'

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 29, 2010]
heyonah
Model Reviewed: Dodge Avenger

Strength:

Looks

Weakness:

Was in the shop about every month for the first year.

Broken axle after one year

Paint scratches very easily

Airbags needed to be replaced after one year

Panic alarm very difficult to shut off if accidentally activate

Door locks automatically but the locking mechanism will pinch your arm if its resting near the window

Car stalls in cold or rainy weather very often

I would never recommend this vehicle to anyone. They had a lot they should have ironed out before marketing this one.

Similar Products Used:

Mazda Protege

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jan 18, 2010]
johnb
Model Reviewed: AVenger

Strength:

Nice looking from the outside. Great radio system with hard drive for adding your own music and photos

Weakness:

Very uncomfortable front seats. THe headrest push your head forward. Transmission leak within first 3 months and I am currently waiting for a tow truck to once again fix transimission trouble and "throttle control".

Do not recommend.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Oct 29, 2009]
cemetsgirl
Model Reviewed: Avenger

Strength:

Looks, but don't let that fool you!

Weakness:

ALL OF IT!!!

This car is not worth the money. I agree with the other posts everything they have said is true. Transmition sucks, thumping when rear windows are open. I have a moon roof, can't have that open either. Tire pressure, gas milage, all of it, this car is NO GOOD!!! DON'T BUY IT!!!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 10, 2008]
Elijah Pou
Model Reviewed: Avenger

Strength:

It handles very well. Drives very smooth and handle the bumps in the road well.

Its a smaller model of the Dodge chager. It is a good vehicle on gas that performs above the expectations and the ratings that it is given. Its a mid size car that is a keeper.

Similar Products Used:

2000 Dodge Intrepid
1998 Dodge Neon

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 05, 2008]
erosmanuel
Model Reviewed: Avenger Se

Strength:

Motor
Espacio

Weakness:

La Agencia tarda mucho en entregarlo

Sobervio, muy buen carro satisfecho al 99% de mi compra.... tiene espacio y poder excitantes... muy comodo silencioso...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 28, 2008]
Greg
Model Reviewed: Avenger SXT V6

Strength:

Exterior styling

Weakness:

Interior is cheap. Quality overall is bad. Transmission trouble. Customer service lacks CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Aside from what I think of the dealership i purchased it from, this is what i think about the car. AN AWFUL PRODUCT. The interior is terribly cheap for a Dodge product. This car appears to be at the beginning of a 'work in progress' on the design table. It should have been left on the table until complete to spare us the misery of ownership. I purchased the car used as a ceertified vehicle with 16000 miles. The transmission chirps when decelerating and chugs at steady low rpms. The service department said this was normal and that all the 08 Avengers did this. Unacceptable. I have not driven another to confirm. The right rear door will not open from the outside. Owning this car was a huge mistake. Put it on the do not buy list and especially do not buy it from Gary Miller Dodge in Erie, Pa

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 290  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com