Dodge Neon Midsize | Compact

Neon

(1994 - 2005) The Neon is offered as a two-door coupe and four-door sedan with two engine options; a 2.0-liter, 132-hp 4 cylinder or a 2.0-liter/150-hp 4 cylinder. Choose between a 3-speed automatic, 5-speed manual transmission. ABS is optional.

User Reviews (470)

Showing 1-10 of 470  
CENTRALMOTORPLAZA   [Jan 05, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Plymouth Neon
Strength:

Central Motor PLaza is Awesome best Dealership in the world. Best cars in the World. Best Recreational Vehicles iN the world. Best service in the world. Best of the best

Weakness:

Their prices are to good, and there products are to good. and they are way to nice to deal with.

Central Motor Plaza
Central Motor Plaza
Central Motor Plaza
centralmotorplaza.com
centralmotorplaza.com
centralmotorplaza.com

Similar Products Used: centralmotorplaza.com
centralmotorplaza.com
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sonja   [Oct 21, 2010]
Strength:

I had this car for 12 years, bought when it was 2 yrs old. It was a great car, lots of room and didn't have to put a lot of work into it. I was amazed how well it handled in snow, I never got stuck once.
I would still have this car but unfortunately it was stolen and totaled. I loved this car and was sad to see it go.

Weakness:

The one major flaw that all neons seem to have is the head gasket. Everyone I knew who had a neon, including myself, had to get it replaced and fairly early in the cars life.
The second flaw and the only reason I will not be buying another neon, is it is too easy to steal. My car had been stolen twice and one attempt to be stolen.
The second time it was stolen, it was one of about 20 cars parked on the same street and mine was targeted. Then come to find out that Neons are one of the cars that are targeted first to be stolen because it's easy.

Great car but too easy to steal.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Ernest82009   [Nov 18, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Neon Highline
Strength:

Lasts for years (with repairs), Good gas mileage.

Weakness:

You could hear the wind at high speeds, noisy engine, poor acceleration.

I am reading all these poor reviews on the Neon and it really is not a bad car. I have owned my 1999 dodge neon for the last 5 years and it's still running strong for an 11 year old car with 130,000 miles. Of course there is going to be repairs over the years. Cars don't last forever and parts are designed to wear out just like any other car. I drive my neon from Safford, AZ to Phoenix, AZ 2-3 times a month without any problems....that's about 320 miles round trip. All in all, it's an awesome car.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Glenn   [Mar 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Neon
Strength:

Outstanding value, large interior and "peppy" performance, engineered CHEAP upkeep (simple transmission, designed to burn poor gas, intentional inexpensive spark plugs, etc). Outstanding Winter performance .. 2" high ground clearance then Civic, wonderful heater, etc).

Weakness:

DEPRECIATION was enormous ... but was largely due to Chrysler's pricing practice of inflating MSRP to cover the cost of often "0%" financing. My 2005 MSRP was $20,000 but I paid $14,500 cash -- so I had learned to essentially pocket the depreciation by not using the Chrysler financing.

I have had three Dodge Neons .. 1995, 2001, and 2005 (called Dodge SX 2.0). All have been just terrific cars; as we all know, until 1997 the headgaskets went constantly; so my 1995 was a really nice driving car, it has some issues.

However my 2001 and 2005 have virtually been trouble free. J D Power -- contrary to popular belief -- rated the Neon slighty ABOVE the Honda Civic for durability (both cars were not highly rated -- again something people are surprised to hear).

The Neon has was heavily made sport of by Toyota and Honda buyers because of it's cabforward styling -- which gave it a large interior, but made the hood short.

Today, both the Corolla and Honda Civic are strongly cabforward designs and the Civic adapted away from the double-wishbone suspension, to being MacPherson Stuts -- just like the Neon. The Corolla redesign was almost spec to spec identical to the 2nd generation Neon -- including the engine being approx 132hp.

Although the Neon never receive the "major" redo that was actually planned for 2000 -- it was stil competitive until the Mazda 3 came out, and the most recent Civic redesign -- both of which surpassed the Neon in being clearly superior designs.

Until then, the Neon did very well in Quantitative assessment, and poorly in Qualitative assessment (like consumers magazine) -- in comparison to other cars of similiar size and cost.

Similar Products Used: Drove a Civic for several years, before happenstance .. uh forced .. me into Dodge products. I was amazed how my views were incorrect on domestic cars -- granted you have to do far better research to get good domestic cars.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
msmegan   [Aug 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Neon
Strength:

Great gas millage (I filled up for $35 on almost $4.00 per gal); cheap parts. Reliable ~ I can't stress this enough. The car never left me stranded on the side of the road due to faulty engine ect, which was a big concern of mine as a young SWF. Safety: during the accident, the trunk was pushed in, but the airbags never deployed and my boyfriend and I walked away safely from it (minus whip lash). The neon has excellent safety ratings to boot. The car looked almost normal after the accident except for that smushed up trunk, regardless of the fact that he hit us going 35+. Can you tell I miss this car yet? :) The car's heater always heated up the car quickly too.

Weakness:

No special bells or whistles. I added a CD player to it. Power locks/windows would have been nice. Some minor blind spots in the rear due to thick frame.

Perfect College Car! I bought this car fresh out of high school in 2004 for $5,000 for my northern Maine college weekend commute. The car itself, had been in one previous accident but it was the most reliable car I've owned so far. It originally had 63k miles. I lost my car two weeks ago because a SUV rear ended me while I was stopping for a pedestrian and totaled my beloved car.

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Hatteras   [May 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Plymouth/Dodge Neon
Strength:

It fits in a small space

Weakness:

I already went there.

When I purchased my neon, I needed a car for a new job that was a long distance away. I thought the gas mileage would be good on such a small car. (I went from an Izuzu Rodeo to this.) The gas mileage wasn't that great. I only had the car a few months when the engine light came on. I've had many different things repaired by many different mechanics and the engine light is still on. I also purchased an extended warranty, which didn't cover anything that went wrong during the covered time frame. The back speakers work once in a blue moon. When they did decide to kick in it would almost blow the hair off my head. Turn it down, and they quit working again. The air stopped working 2 years ago...(I live in Florida, yuck.) It's not very comfortable on long trips. And don't go shopping and purchase anything of size. It won't fit. I've gone to Home Depot and had stuff hanging out the windows to fit. Has alot of engine noise for a little car. And it has recently started making a whining noise from the front end...I'm too afraid to ask what that could be. The FM radio quit working and you have to be sitting in the parking lot of a good strong AM station to hear anything. The cassette player plays at chipmonk speeds now. The headlights are dull and the High beams are a joke. I bicycle light has more power. And there is no light in the trunk. Have to keep a flash light in the car in case I loose something back there. Some problems I have a listed seem to be a re-occuring issue in other reviews, like the engine light and the speakers.

Similar Products Used: Dodge Daytona (Which I loved!) Ford EXP
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Barbara Butler   [Feb 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 4 Door Sedan
Strength:

It's cute, it's been pretty low maintenance aside from the frequency in adding oil related to the cracked head gasket. It has been an easy to drive car for me....my daughters both learned how to drive in it.

Weakness:

My little metallic emerald green girl is headed for the auto salvage yard. Once again Chrysler has a known problem with one of their cars, and once again have declined to do anything to help. The previous car I owned was a Plymouth Voyager. It too had a problem- a paint problem. The van was navy blue, and it blistered. The van was always kept in a garage. My body shop guy told me the navy had a problem with not bonding to the primer- a problem common with the color.

My Neon was my first brand new car ever. I absolutely loved it. Several years ago while having an oil change, my mechanic noted the head gasket was cracked. Contact was made through my car dealer with Chrysler- the mechanic said this problem with Neons was pretty commonplace. Chrysler of course said they would not help out with the $1,200 needed to have the head gasket replaced. The oil leak was minimal, so I've made sure as I did prior that my oil changes were done on time, etc. Recently my oil light was flashing, so upon checking the oil, I discovered I was 3 quarts down, so I added the needed oil. The next day I was running an errand a mile from home when the oil light flashed again. This time the reading showed no oil level. I discovered later that, after adding an additional 3 quarts of oil. Again I took the car to the mechanic, and $500 later and a prediction the car will be in need of major expensive mechanical repair within 6 months. Okay, the car is 11 years old, it has only 104K miles on it, the body is in good shape as is the interior. But under the hood it's essentially junk.

Similar Products Used: Between the paint problem with the Voyager and now the head gasket problem with the Neon, my car shopping is headed in other manufacturer directions.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Resolve2k7   [Jan 16, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Neon SE
Strength:

Great starter car. Make sure you get it in standard trans. They seem to have less problems

Weakness:

Dashboard was a bit weak. Wiring for the speedometer went out, but that didnt bother me since i was driving standard.

My mom had purchased the car in '99. Not sure what the price was. Ther car actaully held up on it's own. When she transfered the car to me, it was all good too. Only main problem I had was the clutch. It didnt give out thought until 3 yrs after she bought it. Thats pretty good. Then of course the standard stuff. New tires, new brakes, new battery. I liked it

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
hinmanlove   [Nov 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Neon
Strength:

Cheap, basic, little but roomy, great starter car

Weakness:

Bad paint! Leaked oil & antifreeze, slow pick-up, car gets nervous on expressway, my car doesn't have cruise control!

My Dodge Neon is a faithful car. It doesn't brake constantly like a lot of those nicer looking cars.

Neons aren't the coolest cars, but they're dependable and affordable. It's my first car, and I had it for 3 years before fixing one thing on it!

However, either the primer or paint was bad because my blue paint is patchy. There should have been a recall.

My car probably gets 23 or 24 miles to the gallon, and it's ten years old. It gets worse with age, I think!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
paperorplasticbags07   [Sep 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Dodge Neon Sport 2d ATX
Strength:

see above

Weakness:

see above

This was a HORRIBLE car to drive. I was a high schooler at the time and was fortunate enough just to have a car, but looking back 5 cars later, it's hard to believe how much I had to deal with.

It was black Sport 2 door with chrome badging, power hood bulge, fog lights, spoiler, etc. . . was a fairly decent looking car. Good on gas, decent stereo, great A/C - HVAC system.

PROBLEMS:

- Engine was noisy and extremely weak. Constantly leaked antifreeze all over my driveway after about 3K miles
- 3-speed auto was HORRIBLE and would constantly chug in gear
- 2 of 6 speakers blew within 3 years
- tachometer broke
- power sunroof frame torqued itself crooked, snapped and broke
- ate up 1st pair of tires in 12K miles
- weak brightness from headlights
- horrid rainbow specks on seat fabric (very emasculating. LOL)


OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 470  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com