Ford Fusion (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact

Ford Fusion (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact 

DESCRIPTION

The Fusion is a 4-door, 5-passenger family sedan, available in 6 trims, ranging from the I4 S to the V6 SPORT_AWD.

The I4 S is equipped with a standard 2.5-liter, I4, 175-horsepower engine. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard, and a 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional. The V6 SPORT_AWD is equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 263-horsepower engine. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-7 of 7  
[Dec 04, 2010]
bhildom
Model Reviewed: Fusion SE

Strength:

Just the right size, not too big, but not too small. SYNC is great for those who own a iPod or Blutooth phone (most of the features are available by voice button on steering wheel) Highway MPG in low 30's. Large trunk gets even bigger when rear seat is folded down. I've been amazed on how much I've been able to cram in there. Very good handling while maintaining comfortable ride. Low wind noise with sunroof open which encourages less use of AC on warm days.

Weakness:

Disappointing MPG in urban driving (17-19 MPG). Rear visability is a challange when parellel parking into a tight parking spot. Dash is "Button Happy". I have to take eyes off the road to change HVAC function because all the buttons are the same and are very low on the dash. Sync has a big leaning curve (remembering the commands) and does not like my upstate NY accent. The front end is very low, causing the front end to scrape on steep driveways and parking lot stops. The Automatic transmission with the 4 cylinger delivers harsh shifting at times. The service bulletin did not solve the problem. Ford is aware of this problem and is working on a solution.

Overall I love the Fusion. It looks great in red. Once I adapted to the low front end clearance and learned the SYNC commands I have only one complaint: low MPG in stop & race traffic. On the highway, just set the cruise, set back and get 30 MPG. The shifting problem is sparatic (happens about once a month, but is annoying since the car has only has a few miles on it.

Similar Products Used:

2006 Chevrolet Malibu LT
2001 Chrysler Sebring SE

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 03, 2010]
Jeremy
Model Reviewed: se

Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

Gas Mileage
Looks

Great Car. But the gas mileage is average i get about 20.5 and the looks are average.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 29, 2010]
Chris
Model Reviewed: Ford Fusion SEL

Strength:

Smooth transmission, SYNC, Fuel economy, 8 way power seats, fun to drive, easy to steer in parking lots

Weakness:

NON so far..

This is a great buy, i bought the SEL trim, which is an excellent value for an additional 1,200 you get a lot of options!! I found the drive to feel safe, and to top it all off, my insurance went down 40 dollars a month from when i had my 2009 honda civic!! crazy!

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Similar Products Used:

2009 Honda Civic, 2007 Buick Allure, 2008 Pontiac G5, 2004 Chevrolet Malibu, 1999 Buick Regal LS, 1996 Pontiac Sunfire

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 05, 2008]
njfusionnut
Model Reviewed: Ford/Fusion SE

Strength:

Handling - seats - standard features - 5 speed.

Weakness:

Could use some more horsepower, but not bad with the 5 speed. Wish they offered the 5 speed with the V6.

EXCELLENT car!! Tons of options that are standard. Tons of interior room & trunk space. Beautiful paint job. Good fit & finsh. Have over 4,500 miles of happy miles in less then 3 months. Have added a cat-back system for more power.

Similar Products Used:

None - Big guy, always had SUVs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 20, 2008]
sonarrat
Model Reviewed: Fusion S

Strength:

Economical
Spacious
Good list of standard equipment

Weakness:

No fun to drive
Low quality materials

This is my first domestic car after owning a Toyota and a Honda, though the major driveline parts are shared with the Mazda 6. It was a good value, but now I'm wishing I still had my Honda (sold it for a stupid reason).

I got the base S model with a 5-speed manual. It was their "loss leader," and I got it nice and cheap with a good promotional financing deal. It was priced about the same as a new Honda Fit after all the discounts. It is well equipped for a base model, with side & curtain airbags, ABS, air, power windows and locks, and a CD player.

The motor is strong, flexible, and economical so far getting me 27 mpg in mixed driving, but it makes a loud drone between 1-2k on the tach. The throws between shifts are a bit long. All of the pedals feel good. It is stable and trustworthy on the freeway.

The main complaint I have with this car is the fit and finish. In a Honda, the wheel feels like leather and the plastics look expensive. The steering wheel in this Ford is grainy and hard, like a basketball that's been left out in the sun too long. The shift knob feels all right, but it's the size of a regulation softball and the soft black covering over the linkage looks very flimsy and cheap. It's difficult to close the trunk without slamming it. The buttons on the key are tiny and nonsensically placed.

On the plus side, I enjoy the blue tinting along the top edge of the windshield and rear window, which makes it less painful to drive into the sun. The seats feel good and don't hurt my sensitive back. It's not a bad car by any means, but it's not much fun and doesn't make me feel proud to own it.

Similar Products Used:

Toyota Celica, Honda Element

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 02, 2008]
Ryan Lantz
Model Reviewed: Ford Fusion

Strength:

Love the body style, interior styling is incredible, great sound system, large sun roof.

Weakness:

I'm really beginning to think I have a lemon.

Got the car May 2008. It was the Demo Vehicle..5000 miles. It now has 14,000. It has been to the dealer ship 7 yes, count em 7 times already for various problems, A/C 3 times, Leaking sunroof, huge space between inner ceiling and roof, Makes me nervous for the future, especially with the price of the vehicle (self supporting college student here)

Similar Products Used:

2002 Chevy Cavalier, 2002 Merc Grand Marquis, 2005 Chevy Impala

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jun 02, 2008]
racingdude911
Model Reviewed: FORD/FUSION SE

Strength:

Sleek look, style similar to the Lincoln LS. Great performance on turns.

Weakness:

Not a lot of horsepower (could be I am use to driving a V6).

Terrific car for its class. Awesome turning, I bought mine with Leather and Sunroof also came with upgraded speakers. This car is great on gas and handles beautiful on turns. Not a lot of horsepower for a I4 engine. But the four is more than enough when comparing to the V6.

Similar Products Used:

Honda Accord

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com