Honda CRX Midsize | Compact

CRX

CRX engine options are a 1.5 liter 4 cylinder with 62 hp, a 1.5 liter 4 cylinder with 92 hp or a 1.6 liter 4 cylinder with 108 hp. Available with manual or automatic transmission.

User Reviews (192)

Showing 1-10 of 192  
Ryun Leazer   [Jan 25, 2009]
Model Reviewed: crx
Strength:

good hadeling. good cornnering. sunroof. sporty. looks great.

Weakness:

two seats. sun roofrusts. rust spots. and a little bit small.

i got my honda crx about 4 to 5 months ago and have loved it ever since. it handels well. cornners well and over all it is a fun car to drive. i love to open up the sun roof and roll down the windows and just cruze for a while on nice sunny days.it is a great car for all walks of life(lol) and for any age person. i have one and im 18, my neibhor has one and she is 26-27 and my friends father has one and he is 46-47 they are great cars and anyone that wants to save money and has a chance to but one should.

Similar Products Used: the only other car that i would say is similar is the VW gti. but the insurance is higher on the gti and it isnt so economical.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
atreyuforyou35   [Jun 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Honda CRX Si
Strength:

gets up and goes fairly well for a small car, and very good gas mileage for a sporty little car

Weakness:

the particular car i have needs much body work, its main problem is the rear quarter panels, many CRX's i have seen seem to have rust problems right above the rear tire, however just a little grinding it out and a new paintjob and she will look brand spanking new

I just picked this car about 3 weeks ago and this car gets killer gas mileage i commute about 35 miles daily and i can do it at around 4 dollars depending on how hard i drive the car. the other night i took it out to see what it could really do though, and i was surprised, when i had fifth gear at about 6250 rpms i had the speedometer pegged at 125 so my guess is it was doing about 130 its a good little car for someone on a tight budget but want something kind of sporty to zip around in

Similar Products Used: my father has a 05 suzuki aerio with 155 horsepower and 152 ft lb of torque, his car gets up and goes much quicker but the CRX sticks and handles much better, except its light wait tends to let it hydroplane much easier
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Almanzo Bänffer   [May 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic CRX
Strength:

The engine

Weakness:

Rust above the rearwheels, all have that.

Ik have this Honda CRX 1.6 131bhp (Enginecode: D16A9) and it drive fantastic it have alot of grip on dry roads but on wett its a bit slippery. And it hase a great engine with alot of power.

Similar Products Used: Honda civic and that drove great to but not as sporty as this.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
idlook2   [Jan 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Honda Civic CRX Si
Strength:

Quick, dependable - I had around 180k miles on the engine i bought it at 150k miles, nice get up and go, and I had great acceleration, I Clocked 0-60 at around 6 seconds. Decent looking after the paint job, it was originally red, a hideous color...

Weakness:

easy to break into. Made of aluminum, crinkles bad when in accident. Sun roof motor is weak and failed at times. Very Easy to break into, I lost some things like a stereo a sub out of the car, and lost the car once, but did recover it.

I bought the car for college, a cheap efficient, reliable car, It happened to be an Si, so It was suprisingly quicker than I imagined an 89 honda to be. I painted the car Green, then someone stole it... than I got it back and a few months later I was in an accident. the front end is a little crinkled, but It ran for about 1000 miles after the accident, before dying, and I believe I only need a new injector. someday I will get it running again, I do have a carbeurated Intake for a 1.5 engine. It was a great car, and for how light it was it could toy with the big boy imports.

Similar Products Used: 93 honda civic del sol S <- this is a SLOW car, Leaks..., on my second engine, as the original was old and smoked.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
BrianCRX90   [Nov 06, 2005]
Model Reviewed: CRX HF
Strength:

Agility though traffic Interior design Well built engine Good looks

Weakness:

Wimpy accleration Poor Axle assembly design Touchy clutch

Hence my name, I had this car since 96 and finnaly got rid of it yesterday. There was a time over 10 years ago I was facinated with getting a stick shift. I also fell in love with this paticular car, I thought it was awesome. But only the models built from 1989 to 1990. Originaly was going to get an SI at a junky used car dealer and went to take a look at it. Across the street was a Honda dealer and they got this beautiful white one and looked mint. This was December of 1996 and it only had 20,000 miles on it! I imediatly went down there and got it. This car is PERFECT for installing a small stereo system. And that I did to it, customized the hell out of it. A Toby Ranger duel sub box that took up the entire back hatch area, but fit perfectly. I used the compartment behind the seats that inside held two amplifiers and a crossover. I also got a new cd player, new speakers and tweeters and a eq in the dash. It was fun to drive for years, and very slowly started to really hate it. Horrible clutch design. One of the first things I did when I got this car was get a clutch job. 600 bucks seemed to make it better but shortly it was touchy again. The steering in this car is freakin terrible. Power steering is nearly mandatory. It's hard to back out into parking lots having to use so much muscle to get in at out. Weak engine, but very well built. I took care of it after every oil change from 50,000 miles on putting CD2 or STP in the crankcase. The CV boots are poorly designed in the car. But once you spend the 800 bucks to get new axles, they are better then the orginals. What I really did like about the car was the brakes. Not too touchy, felt good. I liked the leather interior I had, it was good quality and the dash lasted a long time. Why did I finnaly get rid of it? The air conditioner. I spend over a grand last march to get it fixed. The hub on the compressor was not engaging, due to a burnt coil so we thought. The solution is to find a place that can just do a clutch assembly on the orignal compressor. The compressor is a Mats. vain rotary. ( I used to rebuid air compressors, this is a good compressor that will never lock up but is not very powerful because it doesn't use pistons). Well the same thing happened 8 months later and I just got tired of putting money into it. It was a good car for the most part. I sold mine and it only had 123,000 miles when all said and done. Honda, you need to re-release this car again. Honda stopped making the CRX to go to the hidious Del Sol, which everyone knows was a big flop for Honda. The CRX was an inexpensive little car and sold them like hotcakes. Honda should release this car again with the 00's of today's needs and looks and price it in the low 10,000 range. They would sell tons of these, a good car for young people, but I'm 30 now and I got a Mazda and I'm happy

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
vragsdale   [Jun 23, 2005]
Model Reviewed: DX (B16A installed)
Strength:

see 1st post

Weakness:

see 1st post

Now that I have gone through a thing or two with my CRX, I felt it only just to share my experience in hopes that it will help others following my path. If you are going to put 17" inch rims on it, use 205/40-17 tires coupled with the Eibach pro-kit & Kyb Agx ajustable shocks. You will have absolutely no fender rubbing of any kind and it will only leave a 1.5 finger fender gap. If you Crx is leaking water into the car off of "hatch struts" (the 2 black pistons that push the hatch up) it's usually cracks in the roof of the car. Follow the black strips that run the roof of the car from the windshield to the rear hatch, where the roof stops and the hatch begins there is a gap. In the gap directly below the black strips on each side a crack often forms. They look unimportant, but $1000 dollars later (after replacing parts for my health & diagnostic fees)I realize their relevance. I got some "Goop" from Home Depot and sealed them up, and haven't had a leak since! If you replae your engine with a B16A YOUR CAR WILl FEEL HEAVY WHEN YOU GET IT BACK! IT WILL NOT FEEL AS KNIMBLE AS IT ONCE DID! Don't fret, just bump up the air pressure in your front tires a little to compensate and it will feel much better. Not the same as it used too...but better. *MOST IMPORTANT* You can get EVERY SINGLE PART for this car at http://www.hondaautomotiveparts.com/. I found any and everything there, from wire harnesses to the whole a/c system. Ecu, new door panels, etc.... it's all there. I think that little tid-bit will be the greatest gift I give to my fellow CRX-Owners. I hope this post will be useful and I wish you all well wil your CRX's. Drive wisely and respectfully. -All my best

Similar Products Used: see 1st post
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
minihassan   [Jun 08, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Honda Crx SIR DOHC b16a JDM
Strength:

has good looks very fast kitted out

Weakness:

top end speed too slow

hi guys i have this car from nothing to what it is now ive spent alot on it and im thinking of selling it it has served me well but ive been reading crx forum and to be honest guys there is another model JDM SIR standard 168hp ive increased this quite a bit and the car is doing o-60mph in under 5.6 sec and top speed is 142mph very very quick and its running on 17" rims with my old 14" rims was even faster ( i am thinking of selling so if any of u guys are interested send me an email have pictures and im not excepting no lower than 4500k and it has private plate)

Similar Products Used: apexi hks koni etc etc
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
T6nis   [Apr 11, 2005]
Model Reviewed: CRX 1.6-16V
Strength:

Acceleration, little gas bills, engine, little maintanance needed.

Weakness:

Rust, handling in deep curves should be better.

Car of my dreams, no parts what so ever. 130 hp certainly does its work. Acceleration is great 0-62 in 7.5 secs. I got my mind set on this car when i first drove my sisters crx -86. That was the desider for me. After 2 years of torment i finally got my own. I have driven it for 8 months and still i can't wait to get in my car and drive somewhere.

Similar Products Used: Honda crx -86, Golf 3 GT, vw passat -99 1.8T,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Surestick Malone   [Mar 16, 2005]
Model Reviewed: CRX - Carbed
Strength:

handling - it does understeer if pushed, but for the street & the average driver that's probably safest. low weight cheap to aquire, drive, & maintain Only two seats lots of "trunk" room No nonsense like power steering, A/C, power windows, power locks, etc. (as Jeremy Clarkson from BBC's Top Gear said in praise of the Ferrari F40 "it's just road - seat - ass - the end"). FUN (ever gone go-karting & then wondered what it would be like to take the kart out onto the street?).

Weakness:

No nonsense like power steering, A/C, power windows, power locks, etc. ;-) Prone to rust :-( low power - acceleration is good from a stop due to it's light weight & it will go fastish because it's small & not too bad aerodynamically but at highways speeds acceleration is sluggish. Low seating position which is good for the center of gravity is bad for city driving - at stops it's hard to see traffic around parked cars. Only two seats

What can I say... Probably the most fun for the least amount of money you can get automotively. Easy & cheap to fix if anything goes wrong which it doesn't often as it's a Honda. Fun to drive, easy on gas. It's basically a two seat street legal go-kart. When I started looking for a car I was on a budget & looking for a used Golf, GTI, Civic hatch or CRX. I read the reviews here & on other sites & the majority of the VW reviews said "fun to drive but this went wrong, that went wrong, had to replace this, electrical probs since day one, etc, etc.". The Honda reviews said "Fun to drive, I'm waiting for it to die to replace it & it just won't die" or "fun to drive, cheap, I sold it a few years ago & wish I hadn't". I bought the CRX & haven't looked back. It's one of those cars that just grows on you. On the days I drive to work, I can't wait for the day to end, not because of work, but because it means I get to drive my CRX. Some cars are just cars, they are there to get you from point A to B & do it well but there is no emotion involved. Some cars, like the CRX, make just the thought of having to go to point B put a smile on your face. It's not about what's at A or B, it's about what's in between.

Similar Products Used: Haven't really tried anything that's in the same class (small sporty cars like the Civic hatch or the Golf/Golf GTI, Scirrocco). Have driven Ford Tempo, Chrysler Concorde LE, Pontiac Grand-AM & Sunfire. They all felt heavy & soft by comparison. The worst of the bunch (though admitedly the oldest) was the Tempo - terrible handling, no power, boring.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Serks   [Oct 22, 2004]
Model Reviewed: CRX Si
Strength:

Awesome on gas, great a acceleration, a 2 seater, compact, easy to manuever.

Weakness:

Hard to find performance upgrades for, under side rusting, should you break the front fenders and or the header panel good luck on finding those in good shape as they are made outta plastic.

Well this is my 4th, yup thats right my 4th CRX and i wouldn't have it any other way. I have had an 85 and 86 carbed DX, both were awesome little cars. They were so much fun that i had to have another, so i got a 91. Well the 91 is totally gutted out and is going to be used for the track, so i came across this little 87 Si and man is she ever a rocket. Right from stand still this car can smoke the tires right off the line and still smoke them in second gear as well. The car has 245,000 km on her motor. There aren't any major mods done to her as of yet, only thing is a Dynamax Turbo muffler and an APC cone filter.

Similar Products Used: 1985 CRX DX Carbed 1986 CRX DX Carbed 1991 Civic Sedan 1991 CRX DX USA model
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 192  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com