Honda Fit Midsize | Compact

Fit

The Fit is a 4-door, 5-passenger family sedan, or sports sedan, available in 6 trims, ranging from the 5-Spd MT to the Sport 5-Spd AT w/ Navigation System.

All trims are equipped with a standard 1.5-liter, I4, 117-horsepower engine that achieves 27-mpg in the city and 33-mpg on the highway.

Offering one of the largest cargo holds in the class, innovative interior storage options, good fuel economy and spunky performance, the 2011 Honda Fit is a hard to turn down.

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
surly jason   [Aug 20, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Base
Strength:

Great fuel economy (36-42mpg), comfort on long trips, fun to drive, feels tight, responsive and of good quality.

Weakness:

The vehicle begs for a sixth gear on the highway.

I've had the vehicle for more than two years and 37,000 miles and nothing has gone wrong. It's as fun to drive now as it was the day I drove home: around town, it's zippy and easy to park. On the highway, I usually get around 40mpg. And the vehicle is, surprisingly, tank-like in the snow. Despite the small size, I feel great sitting in the vehicle and all the controls fall readily to hand. I often drive a variety of state-owned sedans and mini-vans, and it's always a pleasure to get back into my little Fit. I've taken many four-hour trips in my car and I've never had a problem with comfort. There was a recall on this model, something to do with the valves, but the dealer took care of it and returned the vehicle cleaner than when I took it in. Overall, the vehicle has been a pleasure to own. The only thing I've spent money on has been oil changes, inspections, a new set of wiper blades and a new set of tires. Great job, Honda !!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Drew   [Jun 30, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Fit Sport M/T
Strength:

MPG better than expected
Fun to drive
Handles well
Firm seats
Roomy
Flexible rear seat configurations
Quality interior

Weakness:

Needs 6 speed badly
A little odd looking

Needed an economical family car with room and good gas mileage. I have been very happy with the Fit. I would definitely recommend it.

Similar Products Used: Scion xB
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
jc   [Nov 20, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Fit 5-Spd AT
Strength:

There is nothing like it on the sub compact market. Efficient design in every way. Quality Built. Peppy engine. Fun to drive. The rear seats fold down FLAT. Or you can arrange them any way you want. The american auto builders havent figured that out yet. Its the only sub compact you can get with a Navigation. The Navigation is worth the money. The steering is tight and competent. The car stands alone. High quality paint and materials. Its worth every penny.

Weakness:

The ride is stiff. For older people it may be an issue. If you like driving around in a sports car all day long and don't mind the stiff ride its fine. The seats are very firm which is good but it doesn't soften the ride.

I am known for trading my car in frequently. I wont let this car go until the next version comes out. I hope it comes out soon. I like new. lol.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lala   [Mar 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Fit
Strength:

Drives great

Weakness:

Interior design is too macho, geared towards young male drivers. Sorry, that just doesn't fly for me or my (young professional) daughter. The interior cabin does not feel spacious. The small Toyota cars outshine the Fit and Civic on the interior feel and space.

Engine a bit noisy in lower gears. Car has a sporty feel. I was actually reaching for the gear shift (though maybe the rpm noice was making me think I should shift up). Drives like a Honda (I have owned Hondas for 20 years.)

Similar Products Used: Toyota Corolla, Yaris, Prius
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Dick   [Jan 29, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Fit
Strength:

One can just throw this car into turns with full confidence it will track like it is on rails. Versatility, it holds an amazing amount of stuff. Air bags front and side are stock. High crash ratings and also high ability to avoid accidents. Braking and handling are excellent

Weakness:

Road noise could be better. Drivers seat adjustments are limited to fore and aft.

Having driven many cars in my lifetime I find the Honda Fit fun to drive, economical to meet service requirements and absolutely astounding in storage space. I very highly recommend this vehicle for buyers.

Similar Products Used: Ford Escort Wagon.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fitnfine   [Jan 27, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Honda Fit Sport
Strength:

great gas mileage
low maintenance cost
fun-to-drive
storage space
standard equipment on Sport model
parkability
handling
clutch and manual transmission

Weakness:

diminished peformance for full load
somewhat choppy ride

Before I had ever heard of the Honda Fit I had lusted after the Mini-Cooper, but I could not justify its purchase from a practical standpoint. When the Fit came out I read everything I could find on it. It sounded too good to be true. Well, I own it, and it is all true! With just over 18,000 miles, my overall average is 37.87 MPG, but I plan ahead and I'm never in a hurry to get to a red light. Like they say "your mileage may vary." My highest single tank average mileage was 45 MPG; my lowest 29 MPG. I usually don't exceed 70 MPH on the highway, but it'll cruise at 80+ without any complaint, other than decreased mileage and a little engine noise. Compared to my previous vehicle, a 2.4L Nissan Frontier, the Fit's acceleration is quicker and the storage space is large enough for all of my occasional hauling, especially with the rear seats down. Plus the Magic Seats come in handy for hauling anything up to 48" tall. This car is more fun to drive than any other new car I have owned, including a '65 Mustang and a '78 280Z. The steering is precise with good road feel, and it turns on a dime. Only 2.41 steering wheel turns lock-to-lock. It also corners well with very little body lean. With such a short wheelbase, you can expect the ride to be a little choppy, but the suspension is firm and it absorbs bumps well. I've never had the suspension bottom out. The handling really comes to life on winding mountain roads. The clutch and 5 speed manual transmission make shifting a breeze, No matter what the traffic conditions are, I would never willingly give up the control and economy of the stick-shift for the convenience of the automatic transmission, but that is just me. Attention to detail is up to the usual Honda standard (high). Some of the extras, cruise control, tilt steering wheel, power windows and door locks, remote control mirrors, and more, are all standard on the Sport, and are nice touches for this amazing economy car. From the inside you totally forget how small the car is, until you see another one on the road. Then you realize what a great packaging job Honda has done. I tend to keep cars for a long time in order to minimize depreciation. I think I'll be keeping this one for a very long time! Thank you Honda.
One caveat: Most of my driving is with one or two occupants; if you consistently carry 4-5 people the car's performance and economy may be less than what this review would lead you to believe.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
PipeDiezel   [May 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Honda FIt Sport
Strength:

seating, handling, radio, and seats.

Weakness:

lack of a roof, and small tires

Fun is an understatement. this was my first car i am only 19 and have been driving honda since i was 14. i love a stick and could not live with out one. i love the magic seats and how they can just make the car seem huge. i am 6'9'' and fit fine. love it. needs a touch more power just put a Weapon secret intake, and a honda performance muffler. oh yeah

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John   [Sep 07, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Honda Fit
Strength:

"magic" rear seat, great ergonomics, gas mileage (when driven reasonably), roominess for size, and Honda quality!!!

Weakness:

More horsepower would always be great, larger gas tank...(only 10.3 gallons), and cruise control should be offered across the board.

Had a 2004 Saturn Vue die on me at 63000 miles after having every preventive maintenance recommendation completed throughout its priveleged life. Decided I had had enough of "American" cars and purchased an automatic base model fit. It has been 3 months and I couldnt be happier. This little car is just amazing. It feels as if I am driving a much more expensive vehicle. The quality is top notch and the "magic" rear seat has had me wondering how I ever got along without it. It loves to cruise at 70 and has no problems keeping up with traffic. I have had 2 relatively large passengers in my fit with the a.c. on and had no trouble keeping the car in pace with much larger vehicles. I will admit, however, that in order to do so I did have to ask the tranny to downshift but it didnt complain much. I am hoping this car lives up to Hondas rep will allow me to get a couple hundred thousand without needing any major repairs. So far so good.

Similar Products Used: 1985 Mazda glc, 1987 nissan sentra, 1987 Dodge Daytona Shelby Z, 1992 Mazda 323, 1995 Mitsu Mirage, 1998 Ford Escort Wagon..won in raffle for $1, 1998 Saturn sl1, 2001 nissan sentra, 2002 honda civic coupe, 2002 saturn sc2,2004 saturn vue and lastly, my 2007 Honda Fit.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kevin   [Apr 25, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Honda Fit Sport
Strength:

alots of room inside.Style

Weakness:

Low MPG

Nice car,went with a manual 5 speed, I tested both automatic and manual transmission.The manual felt faster.The car is advertised as getting 38mpg on the highway,I think it's more like 25mpg.My 2000 civic gets better gas mileage.It has alot of room inside.I felt I was getting more for my money getting a honda Fit than other vehicles.I've been on some of the fit blogs sites,other owners complain about the low MPG

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Alfredo   [Apr 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Honda
Strength:

Great interior space, nice control panel and fuel economy

Weakness:

compare to another cars of the same type, none!!

I live in Costa Rica and we bought the Fit back in 2004. Incredible mileage per gallon (up to 37 miles per gallon) and this is not a hybrid or diesel car.

The space inside makes you think you are driving a much bigger car ( even bigger that a regular suv ). The variation in the seat configuration is very usefull.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Starlet, toyota corolla,
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com