Honda Prelude Midsize | Compact

Prelude

The Prelude is produced with a 2.2-liter, 195-horsepower inline-four mated with your choice of a 4-speed automatic or a 5-speed manual transmission. ABS is standard.

User Reviews (351)

Showing 1-10 of 351  
Cairo-Numbers   [Feb 03, 2010]
Model Reviewed: prelude base model
Strength:

Horsepower. Durability. Looks beautiful. Race style seats.

Weakness:

Automatic SS Tranny known for going out. Hondas fault, but still gotta love the car.

I first had an acura integra. When I switched over I already felt the difference in power. Though the ss transmission which is known for going out soon is definitely a weakness honda made up for this in the final few years of production by makin an extended warranty and changed out for a different transmission during the later years. But this was only the automatic version of the car. I am currently changing from auto to manual but even while the transmisison is out.. it seems to only be in cold weather and you can still use 2nd and 4th gear instead of not being able to drive it at all. like i said very durable. Plus some people complain about rear seat room. it wasnt made for 4 people but it has the capability to carry 4 people if you wish. (if that makes sense) Over all a beautiful great car. my engine is at 215,000 and going. have fun with yours

Similar Products Used: 1991 Acura Integra 4 door.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
rico28215   [Jun 01, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 2.0s badass
Strength:

the engine is so powerful n the shifting time is perfect

Weakness:

yea the only weakness i see is that it was kinda heavy but now i did sum modz to it no probs.

i love prelude i street race n just stock swap motor i've burn plenty of car like they were nuthin

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
IrisCarniato   [Feb 11, 2009]
Model Reviewed: prelude SH
Strength:

Hot car, safe, fast

Weakness:

so far i have no complaints.

LOVE my car but I lost my license for speeding!
such a smooth ride... wonderful.... I have wanted one for years and managed to "luck out" when I found it.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
crunchbar04   [Dec 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Honda Prelude base auto
Strength:

Its a Honda, reliability
Fun to drive
looks
Its different, not many others out there

Weakness:

BACKSEAT, really isn't one
Timing belt, why can't Honda use a chain? Expensive to replace
Tires, performance tires aren't cheap and I have eaten several of them
cargo space, moved with this car, it was not fun
paint, sunburnt
Was just told that my transmision is about to go out on me, not cool. It does have 150000 miles on it though so I guess I can't complain too much

Got this car in Highschool after I had drooled over it for a few years. Finally found one that I could afford and couldn't be happier with it. Got it in 2003 with 66000 miles, now after 5 years and another 90000 miles I still love it. Scared that it isn't going to last much longer, has been very good to me over the last five years. I am, however, looking forward to the Porsche 968 cabrio that is on its way to my garage.

Similar Products Used: '95 mustang V6 is the only thing that could even be compared, and this thing kicks its butt and has outlasted the Ford. Much more fun to drive and has twice the miles with half the problems.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Trev   [Jun 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Prelude
Strength:

Fun to drive. Reliable engine and 5 speed transmission.

Weakness:

Rusted badly after turning 22 years old. Hard to get parts.

My Prelude was an 84 and it only kicked the bucket (with 292k) last year. It was 20 years old when I bought it and it was a great first car. Fun to drive, decent mpg. More than anything it was amazing how well it still performed with over 200k on it. Long lasting and still could burn a new civic.

Similar Products Used: 95 Civic
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
CJ   [May 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Honda Prelude SE
Strength:

Extremely precise handling, high speed ability, good pedal and steering feel, Good low end Torque. Sporty styling, solid gearbox and engine, and easy maintenance.

Weakness:

FWD, Premium fuel only, low MPG, useless back seat, small interior.

This is a very good car, I have no complaints other than the fuel. Its a car that gives you more for your money than any other Honda in its class, and likely any other car at all in its class. The SE (non-Vtec 2.3 liter) is faster than many sports cars on the road, and pulls low 7's 0-60. But the high point is its handling. If you want a straight line ricer, this car is not a good pick, because thats not what it was built for. If you want the most out of it, you need to know how to drive, there is no safety system to save you if you screw up. Its bare bones, ABS is the only real safety option.

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord, Honda Civic
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Worsley   [Oct 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: 2.2 VTEC
Strength:

Does exactly what the hype says it does.

Weakness:

Economy

This is the best car I have ever owned - it looks fantastic from the outside, and its actual performance more matches the aggressive style of the car. The VTEC engine is quite civilised below the 5200 mark, but savage once you get beyond it - sounds very good as well. Corners like its on rails and has put the fun back into driving. The interior is comfortable, but rear seats are for joke value only (who cares) - the dashboard has a very cool 80's style spacecraft feel and makes you feel very important! In short - an absolutely great car that will outperform any boy racer and a good deal of supposedly superior cars - especially fun when BMW drivers try to dust you off the lights (it can easily leave a BMW 525i behind) - Buy one immediately!

Similar Products Used: Rover 220 coupe
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jeff baddeliyanage   [Jun 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: honda prelude vtec
Strength:

good power after 5500 rpm,good handling have 200,000mi still reliable no problems nice stereo good paint quality

Weakness:

none that i can see or complain about

I think the prelude vtec is reliable. I have 200,000 mi on mine doesnt leak anything runs smooth a bit rough on the back roads. headlights work great at nite, transmission is responsive at all power bands.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ZX10R Rider   [Sep 19, 2006]
Model Reviewed: VTEC
Strength:

Build quality, unique style.
Strong motor for 2.2L inline 4
Handles very well, brakes are pretty good.
Paint quality way better than current Hondas and plastic quality inside second to none.

Weakness:

See above, but reliability is just average, and engine design needs work. Engine is way too complicated for what it does and parts are very expensive for the VTEC.

NIce car when I first got it. I've owned HOndas before and this one was definitely the best. Strong motor but IT IS a headache monster. Stock stereo is weak and rear subwoofer ridiculously expensive to replace.
Overall build quality good, but reliability not so good, especially mechanical stuff. How so?
Well, there's a reason why Honda doesn't use the H22A anymore. This motor was built with major flaws.
Timing belt tensioning system is pathetic. Hope you never have a problem there, because 1 slip and you are on your way to "Bent Valve City." Engine loves gas, fuel economy is not that great. Even with perfect maintenance (trust me, I have) engine will just lose it's seals gaskets and other stuff. Fuel line is sickeningly weak...better get a Honda guy to remove the fuel filter or you WILL be buying a new fuel line.
Oil pump (at least on mine) died at 132K miles, unheard of in a Honda. It is expensive to replace and where it's located is just stupid (should've been designed to be electrically driven, I think).
Rear seat is a joke, but makes a useful backpack storage area.

Similar Products Used: Acura Integra GSR
Honda CRX
Honda Accord
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
dizondr   [Aug 31, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Prelude SH
Strength:

Solid engine and 5 speed transmission. Handling, handling, and handling especially for a fwd car. This car remains one of the funnest cars I've ever driven. It deserves my recommendation if anyone is looking for a fun, sporty and reliable secondhand car.

Weakness:

Boring interior. Small interior. Useless backseats. Overpriced (but holds its value very nicely).

While I think the car was overpriced, I loved the car. It was a blast to drive. Incredible handling capabilities given its FWD platform. Proved to be reliable - anything that went wrong was due to my modifications. Prior to my supercharging the car, it wasn't all that fast. It was quick but this car didnt' belong on the dragstrip to begin with and wasn't meant for straightline racing, what Honda is? Canyon runs, winding backroads are this car's home. Anything with a curve to it. The interior was small but slightly larger than the previous generation. The dash design was rather bland and not much to look at, but at least things were within easy reach, easy to read. This isn't a luxury car though so I can't count the interior design against it really. The engine was solid as was the 5 speed transmission. Again, this car was just fun to drive. It could keep up, handling wise, with more expensive RWD sports cars.

Similar Products Used: 1996 Ford Explorer. 2004 Audi A4 1.8t. 2004 Honda Accord Coupe V6 6MT, 2004 Subaru WRX Sti, 2001 Nissan Maxima SE, 2002 VW Passat V6, 1996 Volvo 850 Turbo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 351  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com