Hyundai Accent (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact

Hyundai Accent (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact 

DESCRIPTION

The Hyundai Accent is a 2- or 4-door, 5-passenger family sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the Blue GS 3-Door to the SE 3-Door.

The Blue GS 3-Door is equipped with a standard 1.6-liter, I4, 110-horsepower engine that achieves 27-mpg in the city and 36-mpg on the highway. The SE 3-Door is equipped with a standard 1.6-liter, I4, 110-horsepower engine that achieves 28-mpg in the city and 34-mpg on the highway.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 217  
[Oct 25, 2011]
Warbird27
Model Reviewed: 2Door Hatchback

Strength:

Extremely fuel efficient

Weakness:

BUILT LIKE A CARDBOARD BOX. UNSAFE!

a 10mph 'fender bender' TOTALED my Huyundai. It crumpled like aluminum foil. Not one of the airbags went off and I suffered facial bruising and heavy whiplash pain because of it. EXTREMELY displeased as it's supposed 'safety' was the reason I bought it.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jul 25, 2010]
Jason Dodson
Model Reviewed: GS 3-Door

Strength:

Practical, and fuel efficient, the Hyundai is a utilitarian marvel.

Weakness:

Needs a stereo which I will take care off very soon. The interior quality could be a little better.

I just purchased my Accent and could not be happier. The car is peppy enough with its 1.6L engine to pass highway traffic. It is easy to manuever, is a nice looking car, and has everything I could want in it, save for a stereo, and I truly believe my family made a smart purchase.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 30, 2010]
kencava
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Accent

Strength:

Not many

Weakness:

Easily falls out of alignment. Poor acceleration. Very noisy and shaky ride. Very mediocre fuel efficiency for a subcompact. Horrible resale value(I wonder why).

By far the biggest problem was my car frequently fell out of alignment. Before I realized it was a problem, I had a tire blowout right on the freeway. Had to have several realignment jobs done since. The mechanic said the alignment system was strange on this model car.
The ride was quite loud and shaky. It almost felt like it would explode when I reached 45 mph.
The acceleration was awful. It was scary to merge on the freeway with no pep at all.
I never did a direct test on gas mileage, but I'm pretty sure it was in the low 20's per gallon. A car this size should easily get over 30. Even four door sedans like the Toyota Camry get way better mileage than this subcompact.
I grew tired of the alignment problem. I was always afraid it would cause another blowout on the freeway. I traded it to the dealer, and was seriously "under water" with this car. I mean I owed over eight grand and its value was less than a third of that. I had to take a bath on this one. I seriously hope the next owner takes it out for a long test drive before purchasing my old Accent, otherwise he'll be stuck with a real lemon.

Similar Products Used:

I traded it in for a 2010 Chevy Cobalt. It is still far too early to recommend the Cobalt, but the drive is 1,000 times smoother than the Accent. I really feel like I am driving a luxury car compared to the Accent even though the Cobalt itself is a lower end economy car.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 19, 2010]
Geoff
Model Reviewed: Accent GT

Strength:

Handling.

Weakness:

Everything else.

-Its slow
-Its getting 21, 22 mpg
-Its been in the shop 4 times in 3 months.
-Uncomfortable seats, no cruise control, no tilt wheel, no leg room, front or back.
-Windshield wiper fluid shoots over the car instead at the window.
-paint chips off like plaster
-pedals are too close together

It has been in the shop because every time we add gas to it, it idols roughly, and almost stalls for 3 miles. To fix this, they replaced a solenoid, all spark plugs/ wires, and a intake gasket. And ... the problems is still present.

Mine just might be a lemon....

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 15, 2009]
ABusyCommuter
Model Reviewed: Accent Hatchback

Strength:

None, maybe mileage, at one point I was getting 30 mpg.

Weakness:

Everything, underpowered car, cheap parts, all talk, no help, company tells you to take a hike if you have a problem

This has been the absolute worst car experience I have ever had. I bought this piece of junk because I wanted to buy a brand new car to get away from problematic used cars and I got screwed royally. Other than basic maintenance, I have had it in for a major repair including replacing the transmission TWICE over 15 times!!!! What a piece of crap!!! I even tried to go Lemon Law and Hyundai fought me tooth and nail! They probably spent as much in legal fees as this clunker is worth. I also got sold a bogus wheel warranty for extra money, when I tried to use it basically I was told that unless the wheel are pristine they aren't covered. What kind of warranty is that? I will never ever buy another Hyundai or have anything pleasant to say about the company or it's dealers. The dealer just threw their hands up and said I had to deal with corporate for any problems, but damnit if they won't gladly take my freakin money for repairs.

Similar Products Used:

I had an 84 Corolla, decent car, sold it due to age
I had a 92 Cavalier, sold it due to maintenance
I had a 92 Saturn, sold it for the same reason
Now I am stuck with this piece

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 20, 2009]
curtis
Model Reviewed: accent gls

Strength:

good mpg like the way it looks and the way it holds the road good

Weakness:

to much noise when on the road wish it had better saftey ratings but she had a 2006 accent and got into a car crash and walked away

my girl has a 2007 and we love it and have yet to have any thing go worng on it

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 03, 2008]
kat123456
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Accent manual

Strength:

Excellent gas mileage (36 pmg); low maintenance costs; Excellent trunk space and lots of space when rear seat is folded down; excellent roadside assistance plan included; low purchase price

Weakness:

door plastic scratches easily; high medical bills from accident; things seems to break right after the warranty ends; dealers difficult to find in some areas (had difficult getting service from a dealer)

I have had this ACCENT for 6 years now. It has 156,000 miles on it, and I am currently driving 35,000 miles per year. This car needed virtually no maintenance until 95,000 miles. Since then, I have replaced the air conditioning (VERY expensive), the windshield wiper motor, front axle, the clutch (the original lasted 'til 135K!) and lots of other little things (e.g. - the window crank center broke and keeps popping out). My mechanic said it looks good right now, other than the leaking rear struts. Overall, it's been just about the least expensive car I have ever owned in terms of maintenance. However, I was in several accidents with this car. I think people hit me so often because the car is grey - literally the same color as the pavement - and so people would back into the side of the car in parking lots, etc, because they could not see it. I was also rear-ended a couple of times, including one when I was stopped at at stop sign and an SUV hit me very hard while he was speeding. That accident caused a neck/back injury that I still haven't fully recovered from, 2.5 years later. I had $18,000 in medical bills from just that one accident (all paid by insurance). This car still drives well, though, and gets 36 mpg even at its advanced age and mileage. I am buying a new car this summer and will not buy another Accent, due to the extent of the injury I received in the low-impact accident. This is the perfect type of car for someone who has to haul a lot of gear. I drove halfway across country in it - twice - with no problems whatsoever. It's also great in the city, since it can fit in parking spaces that many other people pass by!

Similar Products Used:

Geo Prizm (Corolla)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 13, 2008]
Sam
Model Reviewed: Accent SE

Strength:

Inexpensive. For price, interior is well made. Great Warranty. Looks better than similar priced competition.

Weakness:

SLOW. Wish it still had 4 wheel discs (though its cheaper to service the rear drums) dash plastic scratches easily.

I must be the luckiest Accent owner ever. I'm on my 3rd Accent and my luck is as follows:

1. 2001 Accent 3 door. Great car. Got great mileage. I paid $10,000.00 out the door. Drove it for 2 1/2 years and totaled it in an accident. Car was demolished and I walked away with absolutely no injjuries. I was very impressed. Seeing the car, my insurance company called to ask me when I was being released from the hospital... I told them I was perfectly fine. they were impressed too. I was paid $7,500.00 from the insurance company so this car was almost free to drive for almost 3 years.

2. 2003 accent. This was a BASE model 3 door. Other than an aftermarket CD player and AC it really had no options. I bought this in early 2004 with 23,000 miles for $4,500.00. It looked brand new. No problems at all until 85,000 miles. The clutch resovoir and starter went. $900.00 service. Other than that and new tires (this car LOVED Michellins) this car ran for 97,000 and I thought I better trade it before it hits 100,000. Traded it in on a 2008 SE, got $3,500.00 for it last week. Again, I can't imagine a better car costing less to own and drive.

3. 2008 SE. I can't belive this is the same model as my others. Sun roof, ABS brakes, Tire pressure monitoring, 16" rims!! and still under $15,000.00

Like I said maybe I'm just lucky but my Accents have all run like tanks. And, lets just say I don't take the best care of my cars... oil changes are sometimes... cough cough,,,,, late?!

I have recommended Hyundais to my friends who laughed... until they drove one and cost compared them to Hondas and Toyotas. They ended up buying Hyundais. Ist it a BMW or Lexus beater... hell no. Is it a car that you can drive for a few years and get most your money back? Maybe. I have and will probably buy another one in 4 years. Maybe they'll have a V8 by then??? :)

Similar Products Used:

Toyota Corolla, Mitsubishi Mirage

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 09, 2008]
mcluvin
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Accent

Strength:

LOOKS GOOD QUIET RIDE

Weakness:

TRANNY I GUESS I DONT THINK ITS TORQUED RIGHT

Feb. 09,2008

Just bought a brand new hatchback accent. pulled it off the lot with 4 miles on it.. took it home and notice wow i had a full tank of gas before i came home and now im empty...heres the math i drove 50 away from home and bought my car (meaning i had a 50 mile trip home in my new car) the car has a 11 gallon tank and is spose to get 32 mpg well if i had a full tank and it only took 50 mile to empty a full 11 gallon tank that doesnt sound like a big 32 mpg does it?? the car is manuall and when on the high way in 5th gear and 70 mph its hitting about 5 grand in rpms not good plus when sitting at a red light it is about 2000 to 3000 rpm and thats just ideling also the clutch and brakes had NO pressure behind them at all and every time i would go to take off i would stall or it would jerk like it wanted to stall. i took it back to the dealer because i dont want a pice of crap i could have bought that off the street. so i got a new one pulled that off the lot with 1 mile on it good for 3 days but the 4th day the pressure in the clutch went and now im worried~!

Similar Products Used:

scion tc AMAZING!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Jul 25, 2007]
Demetrios
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Accent 2dr Hatch

Strength:

excellent gas milage
sporty body style

Weakness:

its no V6 and its no luxury car...but if u have the money u can make it into one.
the panels on the doors tend to scratch easily.

I just wanted to say that this is an excellent little hatchback.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 217  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com