Hyundai Tiburon Midsize | Compact

Tiburon

The Hyundai Tiburon is a 2-door, 4-passenger family coupe, or sports coupe, available in 4 trims, ranging from the GS to the SE.

The GS is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 138-horsepower engine that achieves 23-mpg in the city and 31-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard, and a 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional. The SE is equipped with a standard 2.7-liter, V6, 172-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard.

User Reviews (192)

Showing 1-10 of 192  
iain   [Mar 18, 2013]
Model Reviewed: gs
Strength:

looks ,, fuel ,,reliable once silly stuff sorted out

Weakness:

its not a rear wheel drive

bought the tiburon at 80,ooo ks the woman owner had taught both her daughters to drive in it , the dual mass clutch was binned at 100.000 for a v6 elantra clutch and the ecu problem was sorted with a google search and $40 and a six pack to the mechanic ,apart from the plastic headers to the radiator ,,, the car hasnt missed a beat

Similar Products Used: Hyundai cars
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
daddysgirl12881   [Dec 29, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Tiburon
Strength:

Style, Price

Weakness:

Mechanical issues

I bought this car as my 3rd Hyundai. I have previously owned two different model accents. I loved my accents and they proformed as they should all the time I owned them. The Tiburon on the other hand does not. We were so excited to buy the sporty tib and have had it for almost 2 years now. We have just hit 10k on the milage and the clutch seems to be toast. I have researched and found that since 2003 the tib has had well known clutch issues. There was even a class action lawsuit due to hyundai blaming early clutch issues on improper usage. I find it crazy that in just 10k my clutch is gone. Actually my car was towed to the shop today and I am awaiting their call. I would not recomend this model of hyundai to anyone. EVER...... I would recomend the accent but really that just isnt the same now is it. Good luck to those out there who buy them. I will be unloading mine asap.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Ashleigh   [Jun 05, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Tiburon GTV6
Strength:

power, styling, ability to mod.

Weakness:

no turbo, had to install one myself.
gas hog, and needs seat warmers.

I have had my tibby for almost two years and have never had a single problem out of it. I hear problems about the sunroofs and ignitions, but I have never witnessed anything of the sort. My leather seats are just great. The power you feel when you hit the gas is a rush, I have a manual and don't have a single problem shifting. I love the ablilty to customize this car, I have made many mods to both the iside and the outside. I would cross the world in this car if only it would cross the water. I love my tibby more than my BMW and my Benz combined. As for the remarks about bad paint and warrenty, I have also not had this occur. I think tibby's are like jeeps, if you get a good one you can run them until their wheels fall off, but God help you if you get a bad one because they are more trouble than what they are worth. I say take the chance and test one out. Hyundai needs to put a larger gas tank on it too, mine sucks gas. I don't know if that is from the car of my driving too fast.

Similar Products Used: BMW 330Ci
Mercedes-Benz CL500
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
miketurner09   [Feb 03, 2009]
Model Reviewed: SE
Strength:

Badass design, shifts smooth, great gas milage, and good price.

Weakness:

None.

The car is just badass. I have the SE version so its got the two-tone red and black seats which look sick, the 6-speed is just raw, and the styling is amazing. I get tons of compliments on my car and its all stock on the outside! I've put in two 10" Alpine Type R subs that hit hard as hell, but also look really nice because the subs are charcoal gray with red Alpine logo (exact mactch of the paint). I plan on putting on some rims here pretty soon, the stock rims are very nice looking but I'm goin to throw on some solid black ones or maybe black with red trim. I've seen one other tiburon with that kind of color rims and it looks awesome.
One of my favorite things about the car is alot of people aren't familiar with the Tiburon! This is awesome because you get astonished looks everywhere you go, and people are constantly asking you what kind of car that your driving cause they haven't seen em and love the design!
I don't have the sunroof so I can't say much there, but I've had no problems with mine whatsoever.... just speeding problems!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris_Tiberon SE   [Oct 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Tiberon SE
Strength:

Price, Looks, Handling, Safety, and Fuel Economy

Weakness:

Sunroof and lack of 6 speed potential for highway mileage

I bought car new in '06... At the time i considered the civic SI but figured the 94+ octane fuel would kinda hurt... Looking back, i hafta kinda giggle... Its strange that even though gas prices have risen some 200% that the difference between octane fuels remained 10 cents LOL~

Anywho.... This car has been really solid for me, aside from the glitchy sunroof... I run a synthetic oil (Royal Purple) and get almost the MPG advertised... The car itself looks great and is alot of fun to drive... I do kinda wonder why Hyundai decided to only make the front brake caliper red though, just seems silly... Its also a mystery to me why they geared the 6-speed manual the way they did.... I run at 3200rpm @ 80mph... 5th gear is practically never used... Overall the car has been great, but simple adjustments could make it better....

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John Van Doren   [Jun 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Tiburon
Strength:

Teenage boys who drive their fathers' minivans seem to really like this car. But hey, anything looks good when compared to a minivan.

Weakness:

Where to begin.... I'm only 5'7" tall and I feel like a giant in this too-small car. Something is constantly rattling somewhere, either in the trunk or under the hood. If you hit a pothole you will know it, both by feel and by the sound. This car has almost no power (140hp -- some sewing machines have a 140hp motor), blind spots (careful changing lanes!); uncomfortable seats; rear quarter window leaks when it rains; tires and wheels are too small which adds to the already bumpy and noisy ride; front-wheel drive is really annoying, especially when driving in snow. As a bonus, I was told to use premium gasoline in this car because the previous owner had to shell out $2,000 for some part that broke down supposedly as a result of using regular gasoline. So I use premium gas because the thought of shelling out another 2 grand for this car scares me. Finally, insurance is very high for this car -- my insurance agent told me the Tiburon is one of the most expensive sports cars to insure.

If you want to be considered "cool" by acne-faced teenaged boys, then the Tiburon is for you. If you want a car that doesn't drive you to the brink of insanity, do not purchase a Tiburon. I bought this car used for $9,000 in 2006 so luckily I didn't lose as much moola as some people who bought their Tiburon new. All in all this is a car that you can't wait to get out of as soon as possible.

Similar Products Used: 2205 Ford Mustang GT (much better in all areas than the Tiburon).
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Car racer   [Apr 20, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Tiburon GT
Strength:

Great styling, fantastic handling, smooth and quiet V6 with lots of torque, good brakes, a fun car because of its performance. Solid and reliable.

Weakness:

Horrible seating position. Uncomfortable on long drives. Poor fuel economy for its size. Poor outward visibility.

This sporty 2+2 hatchback has lots of torque for seat of the pants acceleration. It handles very well with excellent cornering and a reasonable ride for a sporty car. In slippery conditions the traction control (posi-style) system spins both wheels resulting in momentary loss of control. This can get you in trouble if you're not careful. The car has decent storage space and the rear seats fold down for added room in a pinch. The rear seats are almost useless except in desperate circumstances or for small kids. The driver's seating position is poor and uncomfortable with the steering wheel about 2-3" too far forward and the seat 2" too high. Anyone over 5'10" will rub the ceiling with their head. The car is clearly designed for small people. It is fun to drive but it doesn't feel like a sports car. The seating position is too econo-boxlike and never lets you forget it. European-style controls are too close to the steering wheel and are easy to accidentally bump and turn on or off. This can be annoying. Build quality is good and the car is reliable; at least as good as most domestics I have owned. Remote doorlocks have failed at 50,000 miles and the steering column was loose so it had to be replaced. It required a new thermostat gasket at 55,000miles. The oil filter mounts sideways making it difficult to fill the filter with oil when you install a fresh one. The plastic engine cladding on the V6 is totally unecessary and only obstructs your ability to see any problems should they occur. The V6 is silky smooth and quiet. The car has very few squeaks or rattles. The leather seats really only have a few strips of leather, the rest is cheap vinyl. The styling is excellent and gets compliments everywhere. Fuel economy ranges from 30-34mpg generally. Even with its flaws the car is enjoyable for short people and I would recommend it.

Similar Products Used: 1977 Ford Pinto
1985 Nissan Sentra (a great car)
1993 Pontiac Sunbird SE
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Shan   [Apr 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Tiburon
Strength:

Very Sporty. Gets lots of compliments. Fun to drive. All the essential goodies.Exceptional stereo system. Great gas mileage. I just love the Tib overall

Weakness:

No headroom in backseat. Can tend to shake if tires aren't top quality and perfectly aligned. Seems to have a ton of blind spots. Not incredibly comfortable on long trips. I can deal though

2004 Hyundai Tiburon, I bought it when it was about 8 months old. Love my car!!!

Similar Products Used: I had a Lebaron back in the day. Kind of reminds me of a more fantastic model of that car.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Karen Crisp   [Mar 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: V6
Strength:

Gas milage saver- Great to drive and enjoy. Beautiful look and style.

Weakness:

none

I love this car! I get so many compliments on how nice it looks, not to mention the way it rides and the gas milage, too. It has such a sporty look! I bought it used and in mint condition...I'm so happy!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Shannon   [Nov 30, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Hyundai Tiburon
Strength:

Sporty, great looking, good gas mileage, nice interior, I get many people still admiring the car, I am short and the car fits me just perfectly but my husband who is a little taller (5'10")almost touches the roof (when he had spiky hair, it used to talk the roof), great at passing on the highway, I had the greatest dealership...they were fantastic. Great handling, hugs the curves, Fun to drive, great price for what you get. I would recommend the car, just know that there are some little quirks. I love my car...I don't want to let it go.

Weakness:

The stereo gave me many problems (stopped working at least four times on very very cold days and each time the dealership would give me a new one...had to eventually put a stereo in myself), very small backseat (I usually don't put anyone back there because even short people have their heads touching the rear window), the tires that come with the Tiburon are horrible in the winter so for six years I have been putting winter tires on the car which has made all the difference...costly though. I am short and the car fits me just perfectly but my husband who is a little taller (5'10")almost touches the roof (when he had spiky hair, it used to talk the roof), small trunk (but I never carried anything that didn't fit, slow pick up but great at passing on the highway, in the winter the heater takes a long time to get going but it really never bothered me...my husband is irritated by that.

I have enjoyed owning this car. I am now selling the car after having it for six years because of an addition to the family. The backseat is very small and because it is a two-door it is not convenient to have a carseat in the back. With all of the weaknesses I am listing, I am truly going to miss this car. I have loved the car and I never was bothered by the weaknesses...but now that I am looking for a new car, I know what I don't want in a car.

Similar Products Used: Honda Civic 2007 (we still own this one...and love it!)

The Tiburon was my first car...it has been fun.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 192  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com