Mazda MAZDA6 (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact

MAZDA6 (2010 and older)

There are a lot of midsize cars on the road today, but the MAZDA6 is different from all the others in two very significant ways. Most noticeably, it is the only midsize model line to offer three distinct body styles to fit your style and utility needs. More importantly, it is built with a strong emphasis on driving dynamics. As one look at any of the 60-plus international awards the Mazda6 Sports Sedan has received clearly shows, no other model line in the class delivers the ride and handling characteristics near and dear to a driving enthusiast's heart like a MAZDA6.

User Reviews (61)

Showing 1-10 of 61  
Zoom Zoom Savannah   [Apr 05, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Mazda6 s Touring Plus
Strength:

Styling, Ride, Comfortable Seats, Visibility, Blind Spot Monitoring, Key fob remote with "switchblade" key, big trunk, daytime gauge lighting, nighttime gauge lighting, moonroof, beige seats, base stereo system, cool little ambient blue light near moonroof switch shines down on cupholder area, sliding armrest, coin box where it should be, Info button to monitor driving stats, outside temp reading, V6 power, horn is not a wimpy beep - actually honks!

Weakness:

Just nitpicky stuff like when you select a/c mode to defrost windows you can't select recirculate air at the same time. Stereo steering wheel control - when you scan to a station that's not a preselect I expect the next bump up or down to select the next preselected station in numeric order but it doesn't - I think it goes to the previously selected station. Gas mileage on the lower end of most Japanese V6s. If you have to turn your lights on during the daytime like for a "lights on when raining" situation the gauges dim a little too much.

People - I have been new car searching for over a year and a half - trying to find the right combination of style, comfort, performance, etc. I was out to replace my '98 Accord V6. Naturally, I started with testing the 2008/09 new model of Accord. HATE the VCM they started using. I want V6 power all the time. I don't mind taking the hit on a few mpg. Plus, my '98 V6 with Michelin MXV4 tires was quieter. Even test drove the new Accord Crosstour - safety issue for me as visibility was very poor and I felt a little claustrophobic. I had rented a Mazda 6 4 cylinder last spring and I liked the car but didn't want a 4-cylinder. I put off seriously considering the Mazda V6 because of the gas mileage. All things considered for so long I finally decided to go with the Mazda 6 s Touring V6. It almost has no options because almost everything you could want/need is included. The ride is super sweet. I'm averaging 22.6 mpg in mixed driving - more city and that was 2nd tank of gas!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
William McQuirter   [Aug 09, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Mazda 6 GSI4
Strength:

Nice car, good handling.

Weakness:

Brakes have a design flaw or quality issues and wear out prematurely.

Love the car since it was bought new at the end of 2006. Except just had into dealer and had to have new rear rotors and pads installed at 38,000 km. Dealer tells me this is normal and brakes only last around 30k. I told them they're wrong & have a problem with brakes on their cars as I have never had to replace brakes on any car I've had that early. Reading some other reviews and other Mazda owners have had similar problems. Mazda seems to have design or quality problem with brakes. Dealer & Mazda Canada told me the replacement is nornmal but they definitely have a problem. Nice car but beware you may have to replace brakes every 1.5 years based on normal mileage.

Similar Products Used: Honda, Toyota, Mazda.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Worst dealership   [Jul 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: vw
Strength:

They are motivated by greed alone they are heartless people

Weakness:

You name it no communication they do not care about there costumers at all

My wife stopped in at Everett Mazda very depressed and trying to get a different car. Unfortunately she has problems with prescription medication. They took a car I could have sold for $12000.00 and gave her a $500.00 piece of junk and a check for $3500.oo, nice people. I have tried for over a month to get our car back due to the fact she was completely impaired while buying the vehicle. They just do not care. These are the most horrible people you can imagine, they are driven by greed, they took complete advantage of the situation meanwhile I am out $8000.00 all I have received is threats, one owner claimed he wanted to make things right and then never contacted me when he said, they do not care about anything but money it is really sad to have people like this are in business. Buyers beware this is the worst dealership ever.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
marefin   [Jun 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mazda 6
Strength:

Handling, looks, price

Weakness:

The newer model could use a boost in HP.

I bought my Mazda6 brand new with 25 miles on it. Before buying it, I test drove '03 Accord, '03 Altima, and the '03 Camry. Out of all of them I found the 6 to have the best handling, which to me was very important. Not to mention that it had the best looks out of the four.

I haven't had any major problems with the car. I've been very pleased with my car.

Similar Products Used: Honda Accord, Nissan Altima, Toyota Camry
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Susan   [May 02, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mazda 6
Strength:

It is a beautiful car.

Weakness:

The car pulls hard to the right and goes through tires every 14,000 miles.

I bought this car and loved it. I dont love it anymore, I resent it. I Have had my car for 7 months and my two front tires are already completly worn to the belt from my car pulling to the right. Not only did the dealership laugh in my face when I expected them to pay for my new tires, they charged me 500 dollars to get my car fixed. I also found out while I was at the dealership that my car was sitting on the lot for 4 months before i bought the car and was never taken in to get serviced before i drove it off the lot. I had mention to the dealer when buying the car that the car was pulling to the right and he blamed it on the roads. The service manager also blamed my tire and allignment problem on the roads. I have taken my car in three times since then becuase of its allignment problem and they still have not fixed it or will do anything to help me with this problem. I am Extremely unhappy with this car and the service I have received from Mazda.

Similar Products Used: Honda, Honda, and Honda
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Steve Durden   [Feb 03, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mazda 6s
Strength:

Quick Little car, good looks, good handeling

Weakness:

Engine problems which I hear happen more as car gets up in milage, rough ride, little cramped inside

Loved the car when it was running ok. Bought the extended crap warrenty and started having engine troubles but warrenty wouldnt cover it because i do my own oil changes. Things just started going all wrong. Local Dealer said needs new transmission and engine $11,000.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
reecegd   [Oct 17, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mazda 6S
Strength:

Quick, good steering, lots of room, great trunk room, good radio system, nice clean cut interior.
GREAT SPORT CAR FOR HOW MUCH ROOM YOU GET

Weakness:

Bad in rain and snow.
Front chrome lip hard to clean.

Overall, I love the car. I love the sporty style, clean & classy interior, quick handling, quick pick-up and room. I got the 5 speed manual with cloth interior and sunroof. I like the car alot. There is one downfault... it stinks in the rain and snow. In the rain the car tends to slip-out often. I have to be very careful on the highway espcially. In the snow, the car is horrible at traction. I am currently looking for a new vehicle because of this. But for the past year and a half that I have had the car, I was very please with everything else.

Similar Products Used: Volkswagon, Honda, Ford
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
mikevm78   [Sep 21, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mazda 6i
Strength:

Looks, reliability, value, gas mileage, semi-sporty, good service, great value for the money!!!

Weakness:

2.3 4 banger could use a little more low end torque.

I bought the car with 17 miles on it. I loved it right form the get go. It has the 2.3 4 banger but it still will get out of its own way when i need to. Highway driving is a blast, and i ive gotten 500 miles to a tank on more than a few occasions. For the price and what you get i am very pleased. The car currently has 10K on it with no problems other than a rattle now and again underneath. The service at the dealer is 1st rate. I plan on trading it in on its beefier older brother the Speed6 in a year or so. Cant beat the gas mileage in town and the highway, and the 5 spd manual auto makes it fun to drive. I bought the very very basic model and was very satisfied with what you get for a base car, the 6 speaker stereo sounds great. The car just looks good as well, compared to other "basic" sedans. I am very happy with my 6.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SARAHMIA   [Sep 02, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mazda 6
Strength:

LOOKS AND PERFORMANCE

Weakness:

PULLING HARD TO THE RIGHT

I loved this car from the moment I saw it. The car I test drove in was immaculate, loved the whole zoom, zoom, zoom experience. When the sales person pulled my car from the back, was nice road smooth but that lasted for two weeks. I have never had an experience like the one I had at this dealership. It was the worst experience of my life. I took the car back for service because it was pulling hard to the right. They had the car a week couldn't find anything wrong. I asked to test drive another car while mine was in the shop and they couldn't find another car on the lot for me to drive to compare cars.
I knew right away this was going to be a disaster!

Needless to say I have taken the car back 5 times. The last time an expert came in to check it out and he said it was the "toes" of the car. ?? I don't know what that is, he was also trying to explain to me that in Miami the streets are slanted so it isn't the car it is the streets of Miami. HUH? I might be a woman but I am not dumb!

I was not convinced. These men are taking me for a ride. I am sick of these people not listening to me so I have taken this to another level and hired an attorney.

I am thirty-something, experience drive for twenty years and all my cars are new. There is no way these people are going to keep me in this vehicle if I am not happy.

I am waiting for the response to excercise my Lemon rights!
Enough is enough.

DO NOT PURCHASE YOUR CAR FROM LEHMAN MAZDA!!!! THEY ARE NOT HELPFUL AT ALL!

Similar Products Used: HONDA, TOYOTA, LEXUS
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Costin T.   [Jun 06, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mazda6
Strength:

The design "look". The accessories that come standard.

Weakness:

Pretty much everything else starting with the finition of the boddy and ending with the mechanical problems.
Extremely bad customer assistance from Mazda.

When I first saw this car in a parking lot I told to myself: I have to own one!
After 3 yrs I am not that enthusiastic anymore. From the moment one I had multiple problems with my Mazda. Starting with the blocked back wheels in the dealer's yard. I had 3 times the check engine on; I had to change my suspension system (but I had to go 4 times to the dealer for it). At 60 000 km I had to change completely the brakes ($1200 paid from my pocket). At 16 000 km I a vibration started in my gear box, and the dealer pushed me with the reparation till 60 000 (I went there at least 6 times for that) when he told me I have to pay cause I’m out of the warranty o.O.
I’m not judging this car point of view how the coffee cups are hold in the dash board (as other people) but the problems that come with and the reliability of this car. Bottom line: nice design, very weak mechanics, the car is far from sporty with a I4 engine; I found the car unstable on the road till I upgraded to low profile performance tires (+$2000); brakes have to be change very fast and are pricey; BAD, BAD BAD maintenance service (they will charge you stuff that they didn’t do) and even WORSE customer service and the list could go on. If you want a sporty car go for a Subaru - like I did. If you want a middle size sedan Honda Accord is the one. I don’t contest that I could been had the chance to get the "lemon" of the batch but that doesn’t change the naightmare-ish service and assistance from Mazda Canada.

Similar Products Used: Honda, Audi, Subaru
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 61  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com