Mazda MX-6 Midsize | Compact

MX-6

Mazda''s midsized, 4 cylinder sport coupe. Although Mazda is a Japanese owned company, it produces the MX-6 in the United States at the Flat Rock, Michigan plant. The Ford Probe is built on the same platform as the MX-6, and is very similar in many aspects.

User Reviews (115)

Showing 1-10 of 115  
ricerdand   [Mar 17, 2008]
Model Reviewed: mx6 ls
Strength:

crazy fast,handles good and looks good

Weakness:

sunroof leaks and not much room for more than 2 people,wont spin very good

pretty good car overall fast, looks good,handles good but wont really smoke the tires

Similar Products Used: probe
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
carlos blackman   [Dec 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: mx6 SL E-Spec
Strength:

FAST- and quick off the line i have plans t orace two eclips and a celica GT this summer i have drivn them both not even gunna stand a chance. comfterbale with the leather just cold lol. easy to trick out. fun fast car

Weakness:

windows fog really easy. bad on ice and snow for sure burns out alot to much hp.

i like this car alot. its my 3rd car. its still fast even with 170,000 miles on it. but i need to get it checked out for sure. its the E-spec so it has the two tone leather in it wit hthe V-6 so its a nice car it just eats gas like a mother. paint seems just fine ive herd bad things about it but its all good with me. this car has no problams that i have noticed.

Similar Products Used: uhhh celica, probe, elipse
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
Rylan   [Jul 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Mazda MX-6 LS
Strength:

Fast and reliable. An alround amazing car that I would recomend anyone to get if they had the chance.

Weakness:

Not great on snow and ice, not a good thing considering I live in Canada. Clear coat is starting to peel.

This car is nothing like I expected it to be, I've got a 2.5L five speed and it's got balls. I beat a brand new celica GT-S last night with five people in the car(I feel bad for the dude riding the hump in the back seat). I haven't lost a race yet. It's got wicked acceleration and a top speed to match it. I'm definately keeping this car for many years.

Similar Products Used: nothing compares yet
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
akhandc   [Jun 12, 2006]
Model Reviewed: MX6
Strength:

Legendary reliability, low cost of maintenance, brimming with personality

Weakness:

4 cylinder engine a little gutless on the highway, but more than sufficient in the city and returns decent mileage: 30 MPG overall.

What a car! Never breaks down, handling borders on amazing, looks stunning. Nine years since it rolled off the plant, everything works flawlessly--the AC still works great, interior looks like new. A very high quality machine. Find one with low miles and hang on to it forever.

Similar Products Used: Mitsubishi Eclipse
Toyota Celica
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
MX6ricer   [Nov 30, 2005]
Model Reviewed: LS V6
Strength:

I love the power- the V6 5 spd. blows away Vtec Civics. I added Magnaflow exhuast, took out the resonator, and installed cold air intake and it made a huge difference. The interior and exterior styling of this car looks like it was made today but its actually 12 years old. The leather seats have stood up well over the years and are super comfy- probably the best I have ever seen. The engine has had no major repairs at over 200k kms, but see weaknesses.

Weakness:

I have had many problems with this car and that's why i'm selling it this year- i'll miss it's power and looks and comfort- but's that about it. The biggest turnoff about this car is that it's engine is way to heavy and bulky- (and it's made by Ford!-the same as in the Probe!!) Nevermind trying to work on the engine- its a nightmare under the hood- there's hardly enough room for a cold air intake. Then there's the distributor which went at 200k kms- cost me $900- can't buy used or refurbished. The temperature sensor went- $300 + a week of headaches- the car would stall for no apparant reason and then not start for 5 mins. It had the mechanics fooled. When I first bought it it had no power whatsoever- turns out to be a plugged catylic converter- $120. I have also had many other problems like rattling doors-very annoying, Broken A/C with black leather- Ouch! Oh and before I forget the trunk leaks alot- water pools in the spare tire well and causes mold- I never could figure out how to seal it properly. THE MAJOR PROBLEM WITH THE MX6's is the PAINT. The clear coat on my car has corroded away and left big white spots all over the roof- its got to be the crappiest paint job out there. And its not just my car- many others have reported the same. I'm completly fed up with it- I hope to sell it for next to nothing and buy a quality car - a Honda :)

Overall i have alot of mixed feelings about this car and Mazda/Ford :( , :) in general. When i first purchased this car three years ago it was my first car and i was very happy with its unique styling and lots of torque. I would only recommend the v6 5spd since the automatic ones have tons of tranny problems. Mine has 250,000 kms and the original clutch!! If you are looking for a peppy car with great styling, this is the car for you- just make sure it has good paint, and in good mechanical condition- take it in to a quality repair shop and figure out what has gone wrong with it already and what has been replaced (see weaknesses) you will save yourself alot of headaches.

Similar Products Used: None, it was my first car and a shock in repair bills.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
sir leroy   [Jul 12, 2005]
Model Reviewed: mazda mx6 2.5 ltr jap inport
Strength:

still a eye catcher at 12 yrs old feels like u are driving a new car and can it move

Weakness:

when u open the doors a annoying bing sounds appears

this car caught my eye and spec the price i have owned celica,s bmws ect and this is by far the nicest car i have driven. it has apro 93.000 miles and is immaculate and was inported from japan.its is a 2.5 ltr v 6 but is excellent on fuel consumption .its surel y deserves more respect the handeling is sweet espec with the four wheel drive highly recommended

Similar Products Used: celica gt 2.0 toyota mr2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
mazdamx6ls94   [Aug 14, 2004]
Model Reviewed: LS
Strength:

Acceleration, Automatic Transmission burns tires off into 2nd gear, Interior controls are easy to use, Awesome corning/handling, Cost of the car for what you get, Faster than some 2004 sport car models made

Weakness:

Small back seat, availability of aftermarket or even simple replacement parts

I bought my car in November of 2003 with 138,500 miles on it, and didnt think much of the car, until I got the "hey, nice car" remarks, and the respect on the street for being nearly completly stock with an automatic transmission and still beating cars that have had a few dollars poured into them, such as a 1996 honda civic. I was 2 cars ahead of him at 45mph, AND he had a 5-speed. Amazing car for now having 144,500 miles on it. You get so much for your money. I think these cars deserve so much more respect. I can't believe this isn't a $10,000 car. Even though they were $24,995 new, you can get one now for under $3,000 easily, and basically still have what you would expect to recieve if you were paying $20,000 for it.

Similar Products Used: This is my first car, and I think it will be my last, even if I have to replace the engine and transmission 5 times
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
AcidRemix17   [May 14, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Mazda MX-6 LS
Strength:

quick, confortable seats, good stock system, nice clean shifts, moonroof is a good bonus

Weakness:

smokes tires even in 3rd gear prepare to go thrue tires faster than normal vehicles

Sweet Car all around I love how when you step on the gas and it just puts you back in your seat and then after 5000 rpms it puts you even further into your seat... it is such a nice smooth ride even at speeds excessing 80mph.

Similar Products Used: there are no cars to replace a mazda
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
ty   [Nov 26, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Mazda Mx-6 ls
Strength:

Turning,speed pick up

Weakness:

the fog inside the car on damp days

The Mazda Mx-6 ls is a dream of a first car. It runs almost silent and handles very easy. I have driven it in the rain and there was not skidding or slipping. I could not have choosen a better first car!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chefiel   [Nov 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: mx6 gt
Strength:

flawless

Weakness:

none

this car is quick.if u know how to drive it.I beat prelude mustangs integra type r and even 40,000 luxry car bmw 5 series.one thing when that turbo kick in u better hold that steering, the turbo 2.2 L is serious. high torque steer.

Similar Products Used: none like this.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 115  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com