Mercury Grand Marquis Midsize | Compact

Mercury Grand Marquis Midsize | Compact 

DESCRIPTION

The Grand Marquis is a 4-door, 6-passenger family sedan, available in one trim, the LS.

The LS isequipped with a standard 4.6-liter, V8, 224-horsepower, flexible fuel engine. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 140  
[Oct 06, 2010]
Ryan Sherman
Model Reviewed: LS

Strength:

Huge, spatious, comfortable seats, radio sounds great, smooth riding, It's a beautiful car.

Weakness:

I feel like it uses mass ammounts of fuel, I mean just short trips take huge chunks off of my fuel guage.

I love the car. I was driving a 1998 Buick LeSabre with a V6 and already I exclaimed that gas mileage seemed poor. I love big luxury cars. I was warned about RWD up here in the mountains in the winter, but I have studded tires to deal with that. It is a beautiful and amazing car, I like the classic feel, the bench seats, the shifter up on the steering column. God does it suck up tons of gas.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Mar 14, 2010]
sachinkz
Model Reviewed: GRAND MARQUIS LS

Strength:

Reliable, Safe, Huge Trunk space, Not-bad mileage for the size of the car and engine power, comfortable, smooth transmission, Exterior look

Weakness:

Horrible brake system, terrible handling of snow(back here in the northern east coast) - during heavy snow, the car just wouldn't climb uphill(rear wheel) and could be stuck for a long time, door attachments could be better, fittings around the inner lights needs to be made better than the cheap stuff being used, parking in tight situations especially while guessing the space behind the car

Overall, its a nice car. Worth driving in a lifetime.

Similar Products Used:

cadillac deville 96

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 24, 2009]
salmanjed
Model Reviewed: LS Ultimate

Strength:

best

Weakness:

back trunk tire capacity

gr8 car

Similar Products Used:

ford

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 07, 2009]
Jim
Model Reviewed: LS Limited

Strength:

Built like a tank. Roomy. Plenty of power. Ride quality is excellent. Handling is surprisingly good. Great gas mileage on the highway.

Weakness:

Can't spell Grand Marquis without "G-r-a-n-d-m-a." Early 1990's era styling. Cupholders are terrible. Difficult to park. City mileage isn't great. Steering wheel audio controls should be standard. Handling package (including dual exhaust) should be standard.

Grand Marquis and its corporate siblings are the last of the traditional American V8/RWD/body-on-frame full-sized sedans. The ride is soft and smooth, as you would expect, but with the improved suspension for 2003, the handling isn't as boat-like as it used to be. It's like driving a leather sofa. The 4.6L 2V SOHC V8 provides enough power to get you into trouble, but Ford could do better (and did with the Marauder).

I have the LS Limited Edition, which comes features body color door handles and chrome mirrors along with a two-tone limited edition leather interior. My car is a metallic "Toreador Red", which makes mine look less boring than most. Mercury put most of the toys in this model, including heated seats, an electronic compass and upper console, automatic rear view mirrors, heated side mirrors, automatic climate control, and power everything. The factory AM/FM/CD/Cassette was manufactured by Alpine, so it sounds better than you would expect, but is missing some of the features of more modern systems. If you don't like it, it is VERY easy to replace.

On one hand, it's tough and reliable and plenty luxurious, on the other hand, it is more than a bit dated. If you can accept the limitations of the platform, the Grand Marquis is a great car for the money, especially if purchased used.

At 28, I am probably less than half the age of the average Grand Marquis owner. Still, why buy a stripped down tin-can compact when you can get a luxurious, full-sized, tank for the same price?

Similar Products Used:

Oldsmobile Custom Cruiser

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 16, 2007]
Douglas
Model Reviewed: Mercury Grand Marquis LS

Strength:

Comfort, room, quietness, exterior style, truck, features.

Weakness:

Needs more modern dashboard styling. Needs rear sensor for parking.

Don't own it yet, but ordered one. Fantastic car. Last of the breed. Buy this instead of an overpriced little import.....please!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 04, 2007]
ash
Model Reviewed: GS

Strength:

-EXTREMELY durable & reliable; see above
-easy to maintenance
-very practical & versatile (it can hold a lot, has a huge trunk, AND gets descent gas mileage)
-more power than I would expect

Weakness:

Style, I suppose, if you care about all of that. I was going for the derby-car look but never could completely achieve it.

While I'm sure that many would shy away from the Grand Marquis as the "old mans" car, I was happy to pay 1000 for my semi-delipidates, 188,000 mile "beauty" with pealing paint & a broken mirror. I was desperate for a new "college car", and needed something practical, reliable, and CHEAP. I have been nothing but impressed. Mine has 295,000+ miles now. After 5 years of my admittedly abusive/very-abusive driving (much of which was on gravel roads, with much stop & go driving, & some off-road excursions), I haven't had ANY major problems.

All work has been minor, and nothing I would consider beyond routine maintenance (belts, brakes, spark plugs, filters, with the occassional minor repair). The engine, transmission, suspension, etc. are all still going strong, though it does burn some oil now (surely fair at nearly 300,000 miles). Even the little electirc luxury features (like keyless entry, power seats, power mirrors etc.) basically all still work with little/no repairs having been needed.

Also note that I've performed all minor repairs and maintenance myself. I'm no mechanic, but I've fixed enough cars for friends and family to appreciate that this one is engineered to be abnormally easy to service (at least in terms of the simple, routine maintenance that has been needed).

This massive car also averages 22mpg for me; I'm sure it could get better with a more conservative driver. Actually, this is slightly better than the 99 Grand Marquis that I'm driving most of the time now (which matches epa estimates, though I'm not sure why the 92 should be more efficient than the 99).

By the way, I've taken this car off road numerous times for both work (inspection & investigation at rural sites) & just playing around (various off-road chase games, shooting games, camping, etc). Bear in mind that one must operate the rear-wheel drive beast quickly through mud, etc. to avoid getting stuck. I've also driven this car down hole-ridden gravel roads at 60-70mph+ on many occassions, and 80mph+ on limited occassions. Because nothing in the suspension, etc. has ever broken during any of this, I would have to conclude that the suspension, body, drive train, etc. are extremely durable/solid.

Also note that while some might say this car handles poorly, it does hold solid to the road when barreling down bumpy, poorly-maintained gravel roads with relatively little danger of spinning out of control (a real problem, in my experience, with "better handling" vehicles).

For whatever reason, I've decided to retire the beast after just 300,000 miles. I'm sure it could probably take more, but need to stop paying for the 2nd set of plates, insurance, etc. You see, I'm driving a my newer 99 Grand Marquis most of the time now anyway (only because I didn't have enough faith to believe the 92 could perform this reliably this long). My wife has been temporarily driving the dented, oil-burning, paint-flaking, 92 as her own "college car" (having given up a much nicer looking Cadillac Eldorado due to reliability issues), but has her heart set on something a little newer/more sporty now. I suppose that's fair.

I cannot express enough how reliable and durable this car has been for me. This was the best $1000 dollars I ever spent on a car.

Similar Products Used:

99 Grand Marquis - a great vehicle as well

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 01, 2007]
Paris
Model Reviewed: Mercury Grand Marquis

Strength:

Full frame, full size, V8, smooth-ample power, smooth ride, seating for six, easy to read instrument cluster, fuel mileage, storage space, decent price.

Weakness:

non-lighted cruise control buttons, cup holders, size, handling.

2004 Merc Grand Marquis: 58,000 miles when purchased....now has 61000.
The last of it's kind......V8, rear wheel drive, full size, full frame, American (Canadian built) car. Plentiful options and good power. The car is equipped with traction control, AM-FM stereo w/cassette and CD player, A/C, cruise, tilt, power drivers seat, adjustable pedals and cloth interior.
I recently took this car on a 1000 mile (nearly) trip through Ohio, West Virginia, Virginia and into Tennessee. I encountered many steep grades in southern West Virginia. The 4.6L engine handled them with ease and averaged almost 27mpg. The seats are large and comfortable with plenty of room to move around. The non-power passenger seat sets a little low to the floor for my liking but power seats for the passenger would cure this.
The only problem with this car was a bad front wheel bearing (was bad when I purchased the car). It was easy enough to replace but was fairly pricey.....$180 from NAPA. I didn't mind paying a little extra for this part as it's made in the USA (keep yourself AND your neighbors working).
The handling isn't bad but could be a bit better but I'd rather have a smooth ride over sportier handling.
This car seems to handle a little better than the '97(ish) Marquis that I recently drove.
Needs rear seat cup holders and the front seat cup holders need to be moved out from in front of the heater controls.
If you're looking for a vehicle with a smooth ride, smooth power, seating for six and plenty of trunk space, the Grand Marquis/Crown Victoria is hard to beat.

Similar Products Used:

'07 Town Car, '97 Grand Marquis, '07 Impala

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 26, 2007]
David
Model Reviewed: Mercury Grand Marquis GS

Strength:

Power, Dependable, Roomy, Fast

Weakness:

None

I drive a 1999 Mercury Grand Marquis GS model and let me tell you these are fun cars to drive. They are very dependable. You can beat on them and they keep coming back for more. This is my 2nd one I've driven and I can feel a big difference from the 1995 model I used to drive. I drove the 1995 model for about 3 years and the only problem it had was it made bottom clanking noises and made popping sounds when you turned it but $600 fixed it then a $1000 tune up (car had over 85k miles). It's my grandmas car since I no longer drive it she does. The only problems with it now are the windows/ac don't work other then that it has plenty of power for a car that's over the 110k mile mark probably around 120-130 now. The 1999 model I drive me and my father share it he baught it 4 years ago and it had under 19k miles currently it has about 50,500 miles and it has no problems at all. The engine is so quiet and I can tell the power it has over the 95 model and the way the gears change it's much better. The AC is nice and cold and all the toys work on it just fine. The only thing done to it so far is new breaks/tires and standard oil changes. It still has a perfect wheel aligment. If you want a good dependable car and want nice V8 power and luxury feeling go with a Marquis or Crown Vic and you won't be disappointed.

Similar Products Used:

1995 Mercury Grand Marquis LS

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 21, 2007]
Frank Davis
Model Reviewed: Mercury Grand Marquis

Strength:

Dependable, engine is powerful and takes abuse with ease. Very roomy and comfortable, especially for those in front. Very large trunk space and fairly well designed spare and jack storage. Soft and easy handling. Console and controls are arranged simply and intelligently. The car has small blindspots, especially for its size. Cruises very well in highway and interstate situations.

Weakness:

Fuel economy, has few problems but any that do appear keep coming back. Oil is very hard to check, at least in the '92 model. Auto-trans can be rough sometimes, mostly in in-town situations. The car's loose suspension makes changing a flat a rear workout. No cup holder.

I received my Grand Marquis when I was 17 and it is my first car. I must admit I was very rough on it from the period of 4 months to 8 months after I began driving. I went over a 35 mph dip at 92 scraping the bottom into the pavement and leaving 1.5 inch groves, took a 15 mph turn at about 45 mph, and early on hit curves while fiddling with the radio at about 45. Through all of that, the car still works fairly well. It is simple and dependable and feels like sitting in a very cozy leather chair. It is not by far the best car ever made, but it keeps going. It has been a wonderful first car for me and has allowed me to learn the do's and do not's of driving without much consequence. That said, it does have drawbacks. First off, the oil is extremely hard to check. Sometimes it shows that it is virtually empty, but after adding just one quart, it shows it is fully filled. Other times it may take three or four. And I have not found a correlation with temperature or weather yet. Also, not much goes wrong, but that one thing that does, which in my case is electrical problems, keeps coming back. The engine is very dependable, amply powerful for normal road usage, and takes abuse with ease. It also had and insatiable appetite for gas and oil. I ride the car easy the days and my avg. mpg. in town is 16-18, on the interstate it is somewhere between 20-24, depending on the terrain. My last gripe is it does not have cup holders. A semi-luxary sedan without cup holders. However, that said, I would like to emphasize that I do have much respect for the car, and I feel it does have a significant place in the automobile world. If you can get your hands on a used one at a competitive price, go for it. I would not buy one new though.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 01, 2007]
aviatorfun
Model Reviewed: Grand Marquis GS

Strength:

trunk space.

Weakness:

Lack of power, auto trans, handles like a drunk elephant, brakes are about as good as using your feet, horrible interior, primitive engine and suspension, rear seat room, driving position, body on frame construction makes for rattles over bumps, the automatic constantly up shifts at horrible times, size makes it hard to park, styling looks to be the most boring design in the history of man, and rear mirror gets in your way all the time.

OK so I was looking for a car to replace my beloved Saab 900 Turbo, it reached 200K miles and it was just time. I checked out the Grand Marquis at my Dad's request, he wanted me to get an american car this time. I tested a 2006 Grand Marquis GS. It was the worst car I had ever driven. First the car is big and heavy, over 4000lbs(bigger then most SUVS). I started to drive and realized that the V8 is the worst engine ever. My Saab had a 2.0L 4 cyl and produced almost as much hp as this car. It was slow and I was really afraid to get on the highway because I didnt think it was make it to speed in time. Seriously do no buy this car.

Similar Products Used:

Dodge Charger, Chrysler 300C, Pontiac GTO,

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 140  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com