Mitsubishi Lancer Midsize | Compact

Lancer

The Mitsubishi Lancer is a 4-door, 5-passenger family sedan, available in 4 trims, ranging from the DE to the Ralliart.

The DE is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 152-horsepower engine that achieves 22-mpg in the city and 31-mpg on the highway. The Ralliart is equipped with a standard 2.0-liter, I4, 237-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (23)

Showing 1-10 of 23  
Mebliu   [Sep 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Lancer vr
Strength:

Good looking, well equived, top safe rating, good engine

Weakness:

Carbin noise, handling

A very smart choice for first new car buyer, a young man like me who just started a new career.
the price is good, with 7 air bags and EBD, ASC what else you can ask for.
the look is stunning, perfect for a young person. Engine gives enough power on hills, the sound of engine is very nice, and now I am never worry about wipe and lights, they on and off automatically, how amazing is that for that price
Handling is bit lame, sometimes feel bit tough, also the major problem is the cabin noise, specially on free way, the tyre noise is obviouse when you drive over 100km.

Similar Products Used: mazda 3, Holden Astra,Toyota carmy
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
toledobrent   [Apr 11, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Lancer OZ Rally
Strength:

This car is very reliable. This past winter (its fifth year) I often had to start the car in temperatures between -15 and -25 degree F without any problems. The car also does very well on gas mileage. I have gotten a consistent 31 mpg highway for 5 years, and generally get 26 mpg city. On some longer trips it is not unusual to get 32-33 mpg. This car also seems to maintain this gas mileage up to about 78-80 mpg.

The car handles great. It accellerates well for a 4-cylinder, but it could be better. It seems to accellerate better at higher speeds. It also breaks pretty well, even though the car does not have ABS (I believe this is standard now).

Weakness:

I can't think of much. This model year lacks ABS, and the accelleration could be better, but it is more than good enough for normal driving.

I am no car expert, but I am no fool. I have owned this car for 5 years now and it has been nothing but reliable (around 68,000 miles). The only maintenance that has been needed was a new O2 sensor at about 60,000 miles. I had purchased the extended warranty, so I only had to pay the deductable (would have been 300-400?). Other than that I have never had to have anything on the car fixed or replaced. Even the OE tires are still in good shape.

The car looks great, the paint still shines, and looks almost like new (that is being modest). The car is fun to drive and handles great. I have the sunroof and spoiler, and I think they make the car look even sharper. And the open sunroof gives the car a great feel.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
lancer admirer   [Jul 11, 2007]
Model Reviewed: glx
Strength:

looks, drive, control, grip n handlin, d DS mode of d glx dat turns a simple city saloon to a turbo charge ralliart evo 8 uptodate.... yeah i aint jokin... not the es but glx has it... top of d class!!!!!!

Weakness:

nothin much cze its just a gr8 car... ok mayb they should get rid of that manual a/c control knob system ....... its kinda getin 2 long on d tooth

waoh this car simply rocks. its sexy, hot n just a beauty...
turns heads around especially d purple grey n black colour...
good mits added d wooden interiors... they shld include letha seats well advice them............
smooth drive, great appearance ,,,,,, i simply LOVE this beauty....
welll 2 those who are plannin to get one d glx is d best opt,,,, the es ,,,,,nahhh aint dat goood...
but man d glx rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: nissan
corrola
ford
daewoo
merc - some old model dn wry
yup like dats it ok
n once a ssanyong n saab
well just 2 add mitsubishi rocks baby
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jean   [Jun 21, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Lancer
Strength:

The Lancer’s proportions and details are spot on. The high beltline adds to the impression of size from the outside, yet allows occupants to feel surrounded and safe. Mitsu ripped off the tail lamp design from the Alfa 156– a gorgeous machine that Americans never got the chance to ignore. The Lancer’s new front fascia copies Audi’s current pig snout and makes it work, flanking the orifice with a set of angry eyes headlights and bisecting the otherwise gaping maw with a suitably wide bumper.

Weakness:

The new Lancer is not a stunning design per se– it’s more handsome than drop-dead gorgeous. But it is a stunning development for Mitsubishi. The Lancer is to Mitsubishi what the Altima was to Nissan five years ago: a radical reskin that instantly elevates a plain-Jane model from zero to hero. Unfortunately, the parallel continues inside.

In “The Blue-Eyed Salaryman,” American author Niall Murtagh charts his fourteen year career inside Mitsubishi Japan. When Murtagh gets transferred to Osaka, he concludes that the Tokyo part of the company focuses on large visionary research projects, while Osaka demands practical applications. And there you have it: the dichotomy that accounts for Mitsubishi’s progress in the automotive arena. You have visionary products like the Evo with very little practical purpose, and dull products like the Outlander with very little vision. So where does the new Lancer fit?

for more visit the truth about cars <a href=http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/?p=3975>Mitsubishi Lancer Review</a>

Similar Products Used: Subaru Impreza / WRX / Outback Sport
Mazda Mazda3
Honda Civic
Nissan Sentra
Mazda RX-8
Subaru Legacy
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Dmitry   [Nov 11, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Lancer ES Sedan
Strength:

-Amazing audio for stock
-nice styling
-roomy

Weakness:

-120 BHP stock
-Front brakes wear out fast
-No ABS standard

The lancer is the first car I have had, and I still have it today. It has never failed me and still runs well today, only have had some problems with it. but otherwise I would definetely recommend it to anyone looking to by a standard car. plus its a great and easy car to upgrade as well. some dissapointing things are that it does not come with ABS standard, the front brakes tend to wear out fast, also it would be nicer to have a few more BHP, but that can be easily fixed with a new muffler and/or Intake, short ram or Cold air.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
sandmanssicjoke   [Jun 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: WHT Lancer ES
Strength:

Great handling/turn radius (turns on a dime), Comfortable, Nice sized trunk for a compact car, reliable, stock speakers and CD player sound great (my friends swear they're not stock), looks great, great for modifying.

Weakness:

No anti-lock brakes, rear seat doesn't fold down, no keyless entry, and there's only one cigarrette-lighter (have to share the lighter with my GPS, Satelite radio, blue wheel-well lights(, stock engine could use a little more power. Reality though, I love this car.

I bought this car used in need of an A to B car. What I got instead was a really nice looking, great handling car for the price of a decent car. I've had this car for awhile now, and I must say that I am very happy with it. It looks sporty, it's easy and fun to mod, runs great, very reliable, and gets great gas mileage.

Similar Products Used: '05 Toyota Corolla S; '95 Honda Civic
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
LancerDriver   [Nov 19, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Lancer ES
Strength:

Good Price Looks lot of space inside comfortable, easy to handle

Weakness:

resale price Cheap materials used very thin body paint pills easily

hello guys. I've had this car for about a month and it is a great car. This car is very easy to handle and very durable. It is a very nice car for everyone.

Similar Products Used: honda civic toyota corolla hyundai accent hyundai elantra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
amil420   [May 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Mitsubishi Lancer ES
Strength:

60/40 Back seat split Acceleration great when needed Power Windows/ Locks CD Player Stylish Interior with Silver Black (wood like) trim Comfort ride, handles great

Weakness:

Veers to the right Heat shield tends to get loose Long windshield NO Anti Lock Brakes

My brother has the Lancer Evolution, so it was hard to compare. I love the look and feel of the car, drives like any BMW. With better gas mileage and safety. Easy to get in and out with plenty of room. For a new Mom this was important.

Similar Products Used: NONE!!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chr15   [Apr 08, 2005]
Model Reviewed: ES
Strength:

saftey! in case of a head on colision, there are crumplezones midway thru the hood, and the engine is designed to drop to the ground (if necessary) and not thru the dash board and land in your lap. roomier than my dads 4 door dakota, smaller turn radius than my old hyundai Accent, and more acceleration than most cars ive encountered. This car is designed more for a taller person, and i actually cant have the seat all the way back unlike other vehicles i've operated.

Weakness:

FLOOR MATS WERE NOT INCLUDED, BUT CD, POWER WINDOWS-LOCKS-AND MIRRORS WERE. have to pay extra to have seats fold down, from the trunk it looks like it is done, but isnt. steering is sensitive and vulnerable to the crown of the road, can drift to the right. is extremely easy to remove cd player. deep slope for windshield. i feel i am getting poor mileage at 24-25, when list says 23-35.

Actually the 05. got it used with 865 miles on it. and ive always wanted a Lancer. I love this car although its just a financing pain for a 19 yr old kid. the 2 tone trim looks nice especially with the black wood looking material all across the dash.

Similar Products Used: no comparison!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Monitorman   [Oct 06, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Lancer ES
Strength:

My Lancer is economical (if I stay out of it) getting near 30mpg. The ES that Hertz sells has everything but a sunroof and cruise. I retrofitted an SCS Frigette cruise-control to my Mirage but the kit offered for the Lancer didn't work out so I sent it back. The chairs in this car truly excellent. You sit up high and the ride is reasonably well controlled. The interior materials are acceptable and the controls are all w/in easy reach. A nice touch is the split rear seat though the trunk opening is small. The 2-liter motor has enough pep for normal driving. The "adaptable" transmission comes in for special praise. So smooth it's almost imperceptible. Maintenance is easy - I do my own oil changes. Tune-ups are really a thing of the past, esp. since the valves on this car don't need adjusting (yeah!), unlike Hondas and Toyotas, etc. Just change the plugs and air filter and you're off. The state-of-the-art in small cars has come so far in the last decade or - even the Koreans have caught on. Hyundai learned a lot from Mitsubishi, BTW...

Weakness:

Steering effort is about right but the choice of tires is important for overall handling. The motor "drones" a bit at cruise (past 3,000 RPM) and it doesn't go away at speed. My Lancer doesn't feel that rigid sometimes (body flex). I guess that's what happens when you cut four-doors into the body of a small sedan.. A 5-speed automatic would be nice, but probably would raise the price of the car. Mitsubishi is in receivership - I don't think the powers that be will let it fail, but that's a consideration. There are three dealers in my area. I call them "The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly". The "Good" is really good so I'm happy with Mitsu warrantee service. Parts are usually in stock or available in a day or so. This is not the situation with Mazda, which made me choose the Lancer over a 2-Liter 323 4-door that I liked even better....

I bought this car after my Mirage (also purchased at Hertz) was side-swiped and totaled. I liked the "no-hassle" policy at Hertz and the cars appear to be well-selected from their rental fleet. The financing was attractive, too. I saved a bundle over the used-car lot price. I didn't get the color I wanted but my second choice was OK. You can do well buying an ex-rental at Enterprise but I didn't check out Budget or Avis. Only Hertz had the Mitsu.

Similar Products Used: Mitsu Mirage Honda Accord(s) Opel(!)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com