Nissan 200SX Midsize | Compact

200SX

The 200 SX engine options include a 1.6 liter 4 cylinder with 115 hp and a 2.0 liter 4 cylinder with 140 hp. Choose between a 5 speed manual or a 4 speed automatic transmission.

User Reviews (50)

Showing 1-10 of 50  
CarPixie   [Aug 21, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 200SX
Strength:

Strong engine and transmission; inexpensive to maintain; very inexpensive to buy; reliable; excellent visibility.

Weakness:

Interior falling apart; road noise on the freeway; takes supreme gasoline; breaks are noisy when they're hot (but only in reverse... wierd!), yet they work fine!

This has been a fantastic runner! It now has alomst 200,000 miles on it - and it keeps going. When I first purchased this car 6 years ago, I didn't have high expectations. The exterior was in good shape, but the interior was (and still is) in pretty bad shape. It had been sitting for quite some time, too. To my surprise (with a little TLC) it has NEVER failed me yet! It is easy to maintain.... parts are inexpensive (though honestly I rarely need to do anything to it). It's not the greatest to look at, and the road noise is pretty extreme - but I've never witnessed a stronger engine nor a more solid automatic transmission. And to my surprise - it continues to pass CA Smog test without a problem! Highly recommended first car (reliable, cheap to buy, easy to maintain)!

Similar Products Used: Datsun 510
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
justin bickle   [Oct 14, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 200sx
Strength:

It is pretty snappy and the reliability is great.

Weakness:

When it was all stock it wasnt that fast but its a 4-cylinder what do you expect.

This car is great i have done allot of stuff to it i have lowered it, put 18 inch rims on it ,full magnaflow exhaust system with headers,jim wolf cams, cold air , and a racing chip and it goes fast i love the car an di loved it when it was stock to very nice dependable car .

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rio Deal34   [Aug 21, 2003]
Model Reviewed: 200sx
Strength:

Dependable--what more do I have to say?

Weakness:

Old Interior jacked up in mine...but I bet it was pretty when it was originally out of the factory.

This car was great even though it was 20+ years old!! If I had taken care of the leaky hose before the darn thing overheated on me, I would still be driving that car. If my dad fixes the head gasket and nothing else got jacked up in it, I will so drive that car again. I know Nissan doesn't make that model anymore, but if you can get your hands on any 200sx (especially one that has been taken care of) jump all over that.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe   [Sep 30, 2002]
Strength:

DEPENDABILITITY!!!!

Weakness:

Not as much power as I would like, but, still has plenty.....What do you expect from a 4 cyl.?

NO trouble at all. Had to replace one belt on it in 5 years!....Could use some struts now, but it is alright. Engine is quiet and without problems. Uses NO oil. Has 150,000 miles. Will plan to keep it, as it is Blessed!....Front end is still aligned!...................

Similar Products Used: Datsun 1980 pickup
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mom   [Jun 18, 2002]
Model Reviewed: Camaro
Strength:

none

Weakness:

everything

test drove this car with my mother as she was looking at the Nissan 200 sx. We both found it to be weak and tight. Has no torque and and no passing power on the highway. Engine strains to pass the rigs doing 80mph+. Poor handling at high speeds. My camaro just sails by this car with my pedal half way down. 230 ft-lbs of torque on my the high revving v-6 made her buy a v-6 pontiac grand prix. No more 4 cylinders again!

Similar Products Used: all imports with 4 cylinders stink. V-6 and up is the way to go. V-6 30 mpg and my sis's ol cavalier 4 cylider got 28 mpg. go figure!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
jdluvschiefs   [Jun 06, 2002]
Model Reviewed: nissan 200SX
Strength:

Handling,power,looks good,

Weakness:

The only thing I dont like is it pops out of first gear about 1/4 of the time

I originally wanted a ford ranger pickup.I was looking at just trucks.This car had been sitting at this lot for a few months.I finally said well lets take it for a test drive and when I did I fell in love with it little did I know it had a 3.0 v6 with power to burn no time flat I was doing 95mph.I bought it been in love with it ever since.handling is awesome,every option available,power is awesome.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kane   [May 30, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 200 sx
Strength:

drives fine. I like the way it looks.

Weakness:

after 60,000 miles, the electrical system plumeted. most recently, the car died after speedometer plunged to zero out of nowhere. All lights were flickering on and off. fuel smell. doors unlocking and locking on their own. very strange.>

I woud love this car a lot more without all the electrical troubles...

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Yamit   [May 19, 2002]
Strength:

The car looks sporty, it attracts attention. It handles pretty well, and it hasnt given me any mechanical or electrical problems.

Weakness:

Since its not an SE-R, it kinda lacks power, but I''m hoping to improve that. The only annoying thing that the car does is that the check engine light turns off and on from time to time. Other than that, the car is a dream.

Oh I love my black 200 SX. I''m a big guy and it is really confortable. I added a new stereo cause the old one kinda sucked. And also I added a sport suspension with a 1.5" drop.Everything works, nothing has broken since I bought it. I plan to add more after market performance parts.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Scott   [Apr 07, 2002]
Model Reviewed: 200SX-SE
Strength:

Reliable engine. A well taken care of Nissan will last forever.

Weakness:

Noisy interior. Not fun on long trips. Shifting rather rubbery. Cheap tires. Radio and power windows broke. Rear brakes make an awful noise!!!

Very reliable little coupe that''s starting to wear a little thin. I had an `85 Accord before that needed a lot of money put into it, I opted instead to put my money into a new car. The CD player broke after the first year. The dealer told me to go to a stereo shop. I''ve had a loud noise coming from the rear brakes that the dealer either cannot or will not fix. The passenger side power window is broken. (And I never use it) Haven''t looked into fixing it yet. I just find it a little frustrating that these "little things" break on the car. The front tires wore out after only a short time. I replaced them and had the front end alligned. They were cheap tires to boot. The new tires are much better.

Similar Products Used: 1980 Honda Prelude 1985 Honda Accord
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Christopher   [Nov 06, 2001]
Model Reviewed: 200SX SE V6
Strength:

POWER. Hatchback body style is great looking and very practical. Interior in great condition. It''s rare to see another 84-88 200SX which is cool. Wedge-like styling is sweet.

Weakness:

I wish it had a sunroof and cruise control. Also the suspension is worn which is hurting the handling, but it is soon to be fixed. Very long throw on the shifter.

I was specifically looking for an 84-88 200SX cause I knew how much fun the old RWD 200''s were having owned an 82 in high school. It was awesome to find a V6 in such good condition. 87-88 were the only years for the 200SX V6. The engine is a 3.0 liter SOHC, same as in 88-89 300ZX. Same 5-speed from 300 too. 165HP in such a light car with RWD is a blast! Also decent gas mileage, great reliability, I''m keeping it forever.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Celica-I''d blow away anything pre-2000, a GT-S might take me over distance but I''d have him off the line. Civics/Accords/V6 Mustangs haven''t got a prayer.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 50  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com