Subaru Impreza 2.5RS Midsize | Compact

Impreza 2.5RS

The 2.5RS is available with a 2.5L 4 cylinder 165 hp engine. 4 wheel disc brakes with ABS is standard.

User Reviews (66)

Showing 1-10 of 66  
donald balentina   [Dec 07, 2007]
Model Reviewed: impreza RS 2.5

I'm okay with the car
only I need help now. I plug to the Air Flo Meter is missing. Need the sequence from left to right to conect and to be on the road

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Alexandre   [Sep 18, 2007]
Model Reviewed: subaru impreza 2.5RS
Strength:

Awd is one of a kind, transmission ratio is great, the confort isn't bad, the brake are strong ( without the ABS) stering is precise, love the look

Weakness:

the Damm ABS are way to sensitive, Engine is missing a little something, Make's you feel your in a rally car witch can become dangerous;)

In one word I love the car ... it get's me everywhere I want to go and brings me back home safely. God bless AWD any one who hasn't drove one yet should!!! the handling is way better than most car I've driven. Power wise it's decend and very predictable the transmission ratio kick ass always in the wright revs :D

Similar Products Used: to much ot list
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
TMworks   [Feb 03, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Impreza 2.5RS
Strength:

AWD with sport suspension for extremely well handling, cornering for all weather, very responsible power output with 2.5 liter Boxer engine: 165hp & lb/ft–torque. Front sport seats and 4 door sedan. I paid what I got!

Weakness:

Noise interior that’s it.

A fun car to drive. One of the most popular sport import vehicle since WRX, & STi those two “big” brothers are selling good in US. Why I still got a N/A RS without a LSD? Lower price, more gas/miles, I got AWD that is better than getting any FWD vehicles at this price, also it still has good modification options to play with. By the way, I just got a new Lancer EVO MR, that’s my autox/weekend drive vehicle.

Similar Products Used: Apexi 80mm air filter with AEM short ram, Tanabe Hyper Medalion full stainless steel catback exhaust with Stainless steel 4-2-1 header. 5Zigen FN01-RC 17" 16lbs. racing wheels. APEXi SAFC 2 with reprogrammable ECU. Front and rear cross-drilled racing brake disc rotors with pads upgraded, full original front lip, rear lip, side skirts, fog light cover. All sponsor by www.intakeone.com
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
400Superamerica   [Aug 31, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 2.5RS
Strength:

Handling, Looks, torque, At least it starts every day. Smooth running as long as it's not burned all the oil away

Weakness:

Paint is only thick enough to make the car look blue. Scratches if you look at it funny. Leaks oil, burns oil Noisy transmission Clutch chatter Squeaky suspension Mashed-potato brake pedal feel Low rent interior

Subaru Reliability?? Purchased used with 70,000 miles as a one owner car. This car has been a real disappointment since I got it. I wanted a car that was reliable and cheap to own which is why I sold my 2002 VW GTi and bought the Subaru. The AWD was a real selling point for me, as was the sporting nature of the handling. While it has never let me down or left me stranded, it has had various mechanical problems that have left me wondering wether or not it is worth keeping. Things that are potentially bank-breaking. I have had the dreaded head gasket problem, which, even though the car had the recall coolant treatment performed, Subaru was unwilling to warranty. Keep in mind that all cars that have had the recall performed have an extended warranty related to head gasket failure up to 100K miles. Well, Subaru thinks that because mine was leaking oil, then I am not included. My dealer quoted $3000 to fix the gaskets, a "while we have the engine out" clutch job and various other problems they dug up while the car was getting an oil change. I consulted other mechanics who stated this was so far off- the engine does not even have to come out to do head gaskets! Beware of Subaru Dealerships!! They are ready for any sucker to walk in the door! I thought that going with a Subaru would be a smart move. My wife's 97 Outback has been fantastic and trouble-free. This Impreza was a dealer serviced one-owner car when I bought it and I have been so very disappointed with the troubles I have had. I don't like having a car that I know is a ticking time-bomb. It runs fine now, but it's only a matter of time before I have another $3000 repair quote.

Similar Products Used: 2002 VW GTI (regret every day I sold that car) 1993 VW Passat GLX 1984 VW Rabbit GTi
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
silentsymphony   [Aug 30, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 2.5 RS
Strength:

I recently backed into a car. Her car was totaled, and I simply had a giant scratch on the bumper. When they give these cars the highest crash test ratings available, they mean it.

Weakness:

About 2 months after buying the car I recieved notification that the parking rod had been recalled. That's not the most comforting thing to hear. My car has also developed a couple of interesting noises that the dealership assures me is just stress on the engine from the miles... I have just over 10,000 miles.

I love my car, granted it has had it's flaws. As a 17 year old girl, I don't think I could have picked a better car for me and my personality. It's torquey and responsive as well as reliable. While my friends are fretting whether their car is even going to start after school, I'm out having fun in mine.

Similar Products Used: This is my first car, but I do recall my mom's bad experience with the old style of Nissan Quest mini-vans.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
hoxypad   [Feb 12, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS
Strength:

Low-end torque, acceleration, boxer sound, cornering, shifting, drifting, sliding, riding

Weakness:

very little tiny little dents (i have about six of them)

This is by far the coolest car I think I will ever own. If you want to contact me personally to tell you ANYTHING...I mean ANYTHING about this car, I know it top to bottom - hoxypad@yahoo.com, if you want to see my website on cardomain, visit www.cardomain.com/id/hoxypad Buy this car if you don't have one, way way too too much much fun fun!!

Similar Products Used: 93 Nissan Altima GXE 2.4L
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
seamus   [Dec 09, 2003]
Model Reviewed: subaru impreza 2.5RS
Strength:

Torque. Handling. AWD. Boxer motor sound. Looks. Fun to drive!

Weakness:

Rear seats don't fold down to haul large items around (like bicycles)

Love it. Wanted one for a long time, and then the WRX came out. I test drove WRX's several times, and while they're nice, and certainly fast, I like the look and especially the feel of the RS better. It's lighter, with more torque, and it's very noticeable to me. A year later I've done the basic bolt-on mods and upgraded suspension, and it's a blast to drive on a twisty mountain road but still rock solid reliable. I've had only a few minor problems at 75,000. There are faster cars out there, and more economical ones, but there are few cars that are this much fun to drive and own. When I purchased it, I compared it to WRX's, Civics of various type, Integras and VW GTI's, but the RS had a much more solid, nimble and responsive feel right from the get-go. Would I get one again? Absolutely.

Similar Products Used: Mustang GT (heavily modified) Toyota Camry, numerous trucks.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rob   [Nov 02, 2003]
Model Reviewed: impreza 2.5
Strength:

AWD with a 2.5 boxer engine SWEET!!!, big trunk space, A very sporty interior, and fun to drive.

Weakness:

no trunk light, body dings too easy

I had a jeep wrangler before this sweet little machine. That jeep was about as aerodynamic as a brick!! I wanted a car that had 4wd, and at the same time could hold it's own on the road. Also it had to be fun to drive. Bingo, this car had it all. It even gets about two times better gas mileage. It's boxer engine it a fine power plant. It sounds real sweet,like it wants to go faster. We'll after a speeding ticket. I had to tone down the way I drive. "There are too many nuts on the road as it is". They don't need any hep from me. Now back to the car. It has ample trunk space, with a fold down armrest in the back seat. I use that for my fishing pole. However, the trunk has no light. So do your shopping in the day time. This car handles like a dream. I could just drive it all day. I drve on curvy country roads, yeh I'm having FUN!!!

Similar Products Used: Just a jeep, if that's similiar there is something very wrong here. besides it having four wheels.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Tyrone varon   [Sep 27, 2003]
Model Reviewed: RS 2.5 impreza

I traded my legacy outback for this car. It's fun to drive and i got the 5 speed manual too for acceleration but its not really that impressive. At 15000 i got my clutch bearing to be replaced under warranty, shrudder on cold start too. Im still waiting for the review of sti, if it's really worth the money and insurance.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ian fountain   [Jul 19, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Subaru Impreza
Strength:

steering, acceleration, traction

Weakness:

none.

AWSOME> so awsome i wrecked it. but it was a bad ass car. very safe. i totaled it and walked away unharmed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 66  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com