Toyota Corolla (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact

Toyota Corolla (2010 and older) Midsize | Compact 

DESCRIPTION

The Toyota Corolla is a 4-door, 5-passenger family sedan, available in 5 trims, ranging from the Base 5-Spd MT to the S 4-Spd AT.

The Base 5-Spd MT is equipped with a standard 1.8-liter, I4, 132-horsepower engine that achieves 28-mpg in the city and 35-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard. The S 4-Spd AT is equipped with a standard 1.8-liter, I4, 132-horsepower engine that achieves 26-mpg in the city and 34-mpg on the highway. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 335  
[Jun 02, 2011]
Paul S
Model Reviewed: toyota corolla ce

Strength:

excell. gas milage drives like a champ

Weakness:

seams in back seat weak

BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED, I BOUGHT THIS WITH 26,000 MILES AS A RENTAL RETURN, I HAVE PUT 150,00 MILES ON THIS CAR IN 5 YEARS WITH NO MECH PROBLEMS WHAT SO EVER, ONE THING DID BREAK AND THAT WAS THE TILT WHEEL HANDLE, LITTLE BIT OF A HEADACH TO FIX BUT DID IT, OTHER THAN THAT PERFECT, PROBLEM WITH CAR DRIFTING AT HIGHWAY SPEED IS DUE TO THE TIRES WVEN IF NEW (CHEAP GOODYEARS) BEST TIRE FOR THIS CAR I FOUND IS THE KUMHO BRAND...GOT RID OF THE DRIFT NOW GREAT ROAD CAR. CAN'T WAIT TO GET ANOTHER ONE

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 17, 2011]
mobster
Model Reviewed: ce

Strength:

Good on fuel
Nice ride
Heated mirrors

Weakness:

Wind noise around doors
Interior noises
Quality issues

As a former Toyota product advisor I have driven many Corollas and always thought of them as a great car. After leaving Toyota I bought my new Corolla expecting the same quality as I had seen in the past, but was I ever disappointed.
My problems started off first thing with the car wearing front tires, a very large rattle from the dome light and wind noise. The car was out of alignment (4000km had the tires worn bad) the dome light had fell apart inside and the doors were out of adjustment( I actually noticed this problem on alot of the new Corollas I drove). Then came a mailbox full of recall notices, we won't even talk about that. Then the heater blower making noises like the motor was going from time to time, when cold out side the radio made all sorts of rattles from the speakers, the rear spoiler came off (2 sided tape held it on),I took it in for an oil change and they noticed the water pump was leaking,the transmission starting shifting funny for a while and finally it wouldn't start one morning for no apparent reason (look on Toyota Nation for this problem) This is just what I can remember, good thing for warranty. The no start issue was the final straw after my local dealership couldn't find any problem and doing research I found it was a recurring problem in some Corollas, it was time to get rid of it.
I just don't see the quality in the latest version of the Corolla as the last generation. I took in many lease returns in with well over 100k on them that never had any problems and still were just as quiet to drive as a new one, wish I could say that for mine.

Similar Products Used:

Honda Civic
Dodge Neon
Toyota Corolla

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Feb 05, 2011]
Theresa
Model Reviewed: corolla sport

Strength:

I love this car. It handles easily and gets great gas mileage.Very quiet and smooth ride. Great sound system.

Weakness:

None

Great car. I have no complaints with the car itself. Dealer customer service could be better.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 16, 2010]
gregg
Model Reviewed: Corolla CE

Strength:

Great car. Never any problems, so I guess it was before the current load of Toyota QA headaches and nightmares.

Weakness:

Not much power. But that's moot for an econobox.

A great car with solid quality. Only gripe after 10 years of use is the driver side window motor stopped working properly about 3 years ago. I can't believe buying a new motor for a window and getting it replaced is a $500 procedure! Robbery! (which is why it's still not fixed)

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 08, 2010]
louie
Model Reviewed: s

Strength:

good on gas. rydes great on city streets.nice interior and truck space.

Weakness:

hard to drive on highway . electronic steering makes car wonder all over the road , need to be carefull , keep both hands on wheel. road noise is bad on highway too

all and all corrolla is a nice car. but lately with all the safety recalls and bad press makes me wonder if i would buy another one..sounds like the toyota brands has quality issues

Similar Products Used:

honda civic

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Aug 28, 2010]
Bas
Model Reviewed: Toyota Corolla

Strength:

It is a Canadian build Car, absolutely
rattle free.Fit and finish is impeccable.
Very well equipped. It runs on "Fumes"
I do use 92 octane gas. Dual glove box is unique, lots of storage space and good sound system. Very good Dealer Service.
Road noise inside the car is non existing.
Only under fast acceleration can you hear a bit of a rumble.
Absolutely nothing has gone wrong with the car during my 4 months of ownership.
The Airco worked better than expected during the "Heat Wave" we had in Vancouver. I can not come up with anything bad about this car, I think it is
the best bang for the buck. I am over 6 feet, 110 Kilo and have more than enough room. This has been the last car I bought before retirement, it has to last for a long time and I know it wil.
Thank you for reading,I hope it is helpfull.
Bas Vancouver BC

Weakness:

The Firestone tires the car came with and
the rather numb electric power steering,however, I did get used to it within the first week.

Will recommand this car in a blink of an eye .
Never will you get so much for so little and be like me,so Happy

Similar Products Used:

Never used any car similar to a Corolla,
I did drive for over 30 years Skodas,have
still a Citroen DS and a Chrysler 5TH Avenue.
This is my first Japanese Canadian build car.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 15, 2010]
Zoli
Model Reviewed: CE

Strength:

EXTREMELY RELIABLE! Great gas mileage. Good acceleration for a 4 cylinder car with a 1.8L engine. Good trunk space.

Weakness:

It's a small car, so if you are tall, you probably will not have enough headroom.
Toyotas are great cars, so they are a bit more pricey than a comparable "domestic" car.

We bought this car brand new. My wife has been driving this car year around during summer as well as in our snowy Canadian winter, for the last 7 and a half years and not one single problem. We have only spent money so far on routine maintenance and normal "wear and tear" items such as fluid changes, tires and brakes. The car has 141,000 kilometres (that is 87,000 miles) on the odometer. The body is starting to rust, but then again, it has been driven through seven winters.
This particular "Japanese" car was actually assembled in Canada. Inside the engine compartment, I saw Japanese, US and Mexican made parts.

Similar Products Used:

Chevrolet Cavalier (bought it new, lots of problems, sold it after six years), Pontiac Transport (bought it new, had recurrent problems with the engine, but the body never rusted since it was made of fiberglass, so I drove it for 13 years and then sold it), Pontiac Vibe (this is the car I have been driving for the last 5 years, and I am very happy with it)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 10, 2010]
rene

Strength:

everything

Weakness:

door rubber keeps coming off

I have 3 corolla on taxi cab. i have been in the taxi biz for 20 years now and had every car you can think of. so far the best one is the corolla my first one has 750,000 km and is still going strong. in the last 3years i had it i put 1326.00 in repairs compared to 6000.00 a year on other makes. my other one has 550,000km in the last 2years in repairs im up to 893.00 and the 3th one has 230,000 and so far just front brakes $35. i will buy 2 more next month and they will be all corolla also.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 19, 2009]
James
Model Reviewed: Corolla LE

Strength:

The Engine and Tranny will never, ever quit.

The car has started up when I turned the key everytime in the past five years.

Only one mechnical issue in that time.

Great Gas Mileage (I average 38mpg).

Reliable, Dependable, Reliable, Dependable

Weakness:

The bare bones styling might be a turn off to some, but the Corolla is not supposed to be a high class car.

The only drivabiltiy issue I run into is the fact that there is so little power in the vehicle. I do not expect it to be fast, but I do end up cutting some people off merging from a dead stop because the car simply does not have the power to get up and go. To me, this is a minor issue.

I bought my 96 Corolla in 2004 with 95000 miles on it for 2100 dollars, and did so without even opening the hood to look inside. I have not regretted that decision.

In the 5+ years I have owned this car, I have put one hundred thousand miles on the car (195000 total), and have driven this clear across the country (2800 mile trips) four times without an issue.

I have had one non-routine maintenance issue with this vehicle the whole time I have owned it, a CV joint went at about 142000 miles.

I do not do much more than the basic maintenance issues on this vehicle. I only change the oil three times a year regardless of miles, I am not easy on the car, and I have not changed tranny fluid, timing belt, etc etc etc on the car since I have had it.

I had beaten the car up, neglected routine maintenance and the car just keeps coming back for me. The Corolla does need new springs(for the last two years) which I will probably do before it hits its fourteenth New England winter.

I can not express the gratitude I have for Toyota for building such a dependable vehicle. The total amount of money I have spent on this car since I got it, INCLUDING the price I paid, probably come in right at 3000 dollars! That is such an obvious good deal it hardly needs to be pointed out.

A year ago, we bough my sister the same car (96 Corolla) with 210,000 miles on it, and it now has 230,000 and has had no problems at all. It runs like the day it came out of the factory.

I recommend this car to ANYONE and EVERYONE who even casually mentions buying a vehicle. The money this car has saved me is beyond measure. Thank you Corolla!

Similar Products Used:

Cars I and my family have owned:
1993 GMC Pickup
2000 Dodge Stratus
1996 Ford Ranger
1996 Ford Taurus Wagon
1998 Ford Escort Wagon
2004 Toyota Sienna Van
Two 1996 Toyota Corollas

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 05, 2009]
whudgens
Model Reviewed: Corolla/XLE

Strength:

Moves

Weakness:

sudden surprise pull to the left or right randomly

While driving on expressway and roads the Vehicle will make a sudden surprise pull to the left or right randomly. One thing to note when turning any corner the steering wheel won't recover straight as if it forgot I turned. The car is less than a week old. - Suggest Folks that have the issue to record problem to nhtsa.gov

Similar Products Used:

2003 Toyota Corolla, 06 Sienna, 96 Camry

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 335  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com