Toyota ECHO Midsize | Compact

ECHO

The ECHO is offered in both two and four door models. Featuring a 1.5-liter 108-hp four-cylinder engine, the ECHO boasts 34 mpg in the city and 41 mpg on the highway in preliminary tests. The engine is coupled to a five-speed manual transmission. A four-speed automatic transmission is optional.

User Reviews (142)

Showing 1-10 of 142  
kelly   [Sep 12, 2010]

I was in a car accident where the driver lost control in this car and it flipped. DO NOT GET IT.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Will   [Jun 26, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 4 Door
Strength:

Great on gas, Easy to repair, Doesnt feel as slow as 45mpg should feel, Resale value

Weakness:

Not the best looking car, feels small when driving at high speeds (wonder why :p)

People pretty much covered the main benefits so im not gonna rehash anything. However I will say this.

I just sold my toyota echo 9 years after I bought it for 60 percent of what I paid for it new. How rare is that??

The amount of money I saved in auto costs over the years owning this echo allowed me to purchase a really really nice car as replacement :)

Also, over 9 years I spent just over 1k to maintain the car, including oil changes but also doing all the labor myself. Love and miss this car.

Similar Products Used: I have driven an 02 aveo as well. Cant even compare to the Echo. The aveo was cheap feeling, scary to drive in the snow, and underpowered.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
james watson   [Apr 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: echo
Strength:

Great leg room I am 6"5" Good vision for driving. Great room in the back.

Weakness:

This is my second Echo each bought new. we have an ethynol based gas here in Hawaii. I average about 24 mile per gallon city and highway the first got an average of 29 per gallon with alot of air conditioning use. Very slow to get going with transmission hesitation in both echos untill the engine warms up. It has always been a bit difficult to park between two other vehicles. Problems with both cars and the air conditioning.

Wish Toyota had kept this car in production, interior comfort is quite ideal with heaps of head and leg room. They missed keeping this one as the Yaris replacement is a step downward. I would not buy a Yaris and find nothing in the Toyota lineup that would work for me as the Echo has.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Meechity   [Jun 12, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Echo
Strength:

Fuel efficient, even after 120,000 miles. Well-built; nothing is falling apart. COMFORTABLE - there is a lot of room inside once you're sitting; nice high ceiling, arm room, etc. Easy-to-read dash; sits in the center of your view. It feels like you're in a comfy little pod.

Weakness:

I really don't have any complaints.

I got this little car used with 28,000 miles on it. Today, 3 years later, it's got 120,000 miles on it, and the only thing I needed to replace is the brakes.

Mostly highway miles on the little guy (lots!!). It hasn't lost its fuel efficiency (still pulling 30-34 mpg).

Similar Products Used: Geo Metro (similar mileage)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   [Jun 08, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Toyota ECHO
Strength:

DID I MENTION GAS MILEAGE?

Weakness:

It's not the car for vanity seekers. This thing doesn't turn heads. In fact, The Escalade and F-50 driver won't even see the ECHO beside them. It needs a louder horn.

I just purchased this vehicle to drive around during work hours. I have a gas guzzler SUV that gets less than 20 miles/gallon.
So far, so good. The car is suprisingly large inside with plenty of space for cargo and a six foot driver. I didn't buy it for speed, but it has the same zero to sixty speed as most big SUVs. I have no problem passing cars or getting up to highway speeds. It's an awkward looking car with small tires (makes the car appear to be on roller skates). But if that's what it takes to boost 40 plus miles to the gallon, I'll take it. the other thing I like is that it's so small it's easy to steer and park on a dime. It's obviously a used car, but I hope it has well-known Toyota quality throughout.

Similar Products Used: Ford Focus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Gerald   [Jul 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Yaris
Strength:

Fuel Economy, Interior Size

Weakness:

Poor brakes, poor acceleration, poor handling at least with the stock tires.

I now truely now know that car journalists are baised to Honda and Toyota. After driving the Yaris as a brand new rental which is essentially an Echo here in Canada for 50km, I releazed that this is not a good car and I wouldn't recommend it to other people. The interior room is good as is the fuel economy but the handling is terrible even compared to my 1987 Buick Park Avenue, the brakes are horrible very little feedback, the ABS doesn't seem to be of the proper caliber and the accelleration is terrible. I've found that the only way to accellerate with it was to downshift and floor the throttle.

Similar Products Used: Cars owned:
1987 Buick Park Avenue
2002 Subaru Impreza
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
crispbaker   [May 10, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Echo
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Nothing

My husband bought me my Echo new in 2000. It had 6 miles on it. Now it is 2006 and I still love my car. I have 203675 miles. It was in an accident with 4 other cars in 2001 and it was the only one to drive away, the rest had to be towed. It survived a nasty hail storm too. At 100000 miles I had to change out the mass airflow sensor. Other it has been regular maintenance. I love this car so much that I cried when I found out they quit making them. Everyone I talk to loves their ECHO. I am so disappointed that Toyota has quit making them. They are so unique in the way they look, you can see on ecoming down the road and know what it is.. I am going to buy another as soon as I can find one. I have only seen 2 on used car lots. I looked at the Thrift nickle dot com and found 5 from the east coast to the west coast. On E-bay I found 10 the other day. My car has been from california to florida to michigan so many times it could drive its self. I want to protest that they duit making the Echo. I love my car. I still get great gas milage.

Similar Products Used: Geo Prism
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Laurie Hamilton   [Apr 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Echo
Strength:

Exceleration is great. Gas milage is even better. LOTS of storage spaces. Good size trunk.

Weakness:

No power windows or locks.
As with most small cars- wind can blow it around a bit.

I was surprised by this little car. It has more room inside than you think. The milage if fantastic. It might look like a shoe or a roller skate, but it has a lot of pep. We drove it from Central California to Las Vegas NV and then all the way down to Tuscon Az without a problem-handled great on the highway.

Similar Products Used: Honda Civic

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
scypher7   [Sep 20, 2004]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Echo
Strength:

-VERY fuel-efficient -suprisingly roomy interior -fun to drive

Weakness:

-problems at high speeds when windy outside -lack of power windows

While not the first car I drove, this was the first car I owned. While I only received this car by chance, it was a great gift indeed, perfect for my get-up-and-go lifestyle. I haven't sat still for more than a few minutes since I got this car a few months ago, and it has kept step with me all the while. I've already put it through quite a beating, and taken it every I could go. The car is perfect for a college student who likes to drive home when he needs to (such as myself), and is a wonderful commuter car. With exceptional gas mileage (I believe it's somewhere in the neighborhood of 31 city/41 highway for the automatic) and pickup that's not too shabby considering the engine size, this car does its job and does it well. While the base model is almost purely function-over-fashion oriented, the Echo still manages to pull of an interestingly distinct look that I have yet to get tired of looking at. The interior is very unique, and has ridiculous amounts of storage in the way of a seemingly endless supply of little nooks and crannies. There are subtle things about the Echo that still suprise me even now. The car gets moving quickly, and can handle 5 people, though it can be a bit of a squeeze. I have the 4-door model, and it provides easy access to both driver and passengers. The optional CD-player is reasonably good, and while the contronls are a little low, they can be accessed easily enough. The two things that stood out most about the Echo, however, were the ehad clearance and the center-mounted gauges. The head room in the Echo is phenominal for a car of its size, and can easily accomidate people of over 6' in height. The center-mounted dash, while it may seem odd at first, seems so much more natural than the standard gauge that rests behind the wheel. The only problems I have with the car can be counted on one hand: windy weather, and no power windows or doors. At high spees, the Echo can be batted around somewhat easily by a decent crosswind. As far as power stuff goes. mine has power nothing, though I heard power locks are optional; no word yet on power windows. For a car that doesn't boast stellar performance, the Echo provides enough surprises to satisfy anyone who wants a cheap car that isn't as barebones as something like an Accent.

Similar Products Used: -1996 Toyota Camry -1997 Dodge Grand Caravan -1988 Mercury Grand Marquis -1999 Hyundai Accent -2004 Saturn Ion
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
t_bagrowski   [Sep 05, 2004]
Model Reviewed: 2Dr
Strength:

So far everything seems to be a Strength..The Engine as mentioned is easy to work on, it also has good pick-up and seems right at home doing 70mph. I bought this to use as a work car as my job as an inspector requires going from location to location..So the added gas mileage was a big factor in going with the ECHO, The dealer claims not many people are buying ECHO's because they can get a Corolla for about $1000.00 more But, they ain't getting the mileage the ECHO gets...This is just a fun car to drive and while driving it you feel as if you are driving a full size car because of all the room inside, it's only when you park it in a parking lot with all the full size cars that you realize just how small it is. You could probably fit at least 1 and a half bodies in the trunk if needed. (You know for sneaking into the Drive-ins and such) but seriously the trunk is huge. The car drives like a charm with power steering and is very easy to handle and fit thru tight spaces. I'd recommend this little car to anyone, for the price you can't beat it. It was so cheap that I didn't even bother haggling with the salesman and from reviews I read here it sounds like the Toyota reputation for reaching 300,000 miles with few problems should be a reality. I really like all of the nooks and cranies to throw junk in and the split glove box is just ingenious in itself. The dash mounted speedodmeter is very easy to get use too and smart enough of an idea that all cars should be made this way. The sound system that comes standard is pretty decent although I did goto Best Buy and buy a JVC cd player just cause the Radio alone can get boring..I thought of going with the dealer add-on CD player but you always get more bang for your buck going after market, Besides some seat covers to keep the seats clean and a cargo net in the trunk this car really dosen't need much else...oh did I mention it's fun to drive..probably because the gas needle dosen't fall out the car as you drive like other cars

Weakness:

Weaknesses as I said are few and really not worth metioning but here goes..I'd like to see a console or arm rest in the center it gets tiring driving with no where to lay your right arm, the little ledge on the drivers door does find for the left arm although I have seen people complain it's not big enough for them. Next I'd like to see adjustable mirrors as standard, having to reach out and manually adjust the mirrors is a pain I know the do sell upgraded adjustables mirrors so this may be worth looking into at the dealer.I'd also like to see innermittant wipers standard again this is an upgrade item, But let's remember this is the lower price car Toyota makes so beggars can't be choosers here..If it's within reason I may add these 2 items on, I'll talk to the dealer. But that is it!! Everything else about this car is a plus and believe me I've owned everything from a 65 buick to a full size Blazer to 4x4 trucks...This beats them all.

OK So I just bought this car Mine is a 2005 but that was'nt a choice when selecting the year. So far this car hasn't stopped impressing me, I pay alot of attention too the engine layout when buying a car simply because I do my own oil changes and anything else that's not beyond taking it to the dealer. Let me say I've already did my first oil change at (750 miles) Yeah I'm Anal about changing oil, I do my first one on New Vehicles between 500 and 1000 miles for 2 reasons...A: I don't know what the dealer put in it and B: Since the engine is new there is always the possibility of little metal filings (From Production) floating around and I wouldn't trust the filter to stop them, then it's every 3000 after that, I know the dealer says every 5000 But, he's in business to sell cars...OIL is the life Blood of any vehicle if you don't do anything else to it at least change the oil and hopefully you won't have any engine problems down the road. and with the ECHO it's easier than doing my Saturn VUE (Which is required to be jacked up just to access the oil drain plug) anyway there was no jacking with this little car...You just reach under and bam!! the Oil filter and Drain Plug are easy to reach. I'm amazed still..The engine seems to be layed out for easy access to just about everything you need to lay your hands on. Speaking of the Engine that little 1.5L has plently of pep. So far I haven't found too much I don't like about this car and what I don't like is so minor it's not even worth mentioning, But I will below and let's keep in mind that I just purchased it and the excitement is still going full speed, I have to admit though I wasn't even this excited over my Saturn VUE that I bought pretty much loaded, The ECHO I bought almost bare bones except for I wanted an Automatic, at 42 yrs old my days of Manual shifting are behind me. A/C was a must and that was my only really big requirements...it did come with some dealer add-ons like the 2 mentioned above plus the heavy duty winter package which just seems to consist of a heavy duty battery and rear window defogger and it also came with a digital clock and Power Steering and also the upgraded 15" tires instead of the standard 14 inch, But that was about it. One thing I did opt for was the extended warranty, I don't normally go for these things but it cost only 25.00 extra on the payment for 100,000 miles of bumper to bumper coverage and best of all if I end up not using the warranty within the 100,000 miles time frame, toyota refunds all my money I paid into the warranty except for $50.00 I had to make sure that was in writting cause I never heard of this before, But it seems like it's worth it since I use this as my work vehicle so it will see alot of mileage quick. My wife just bought a RAV4 last year at a different Toyota dealer and wasn't offered this deal, So I don't know if this is new or only offered at my dealership..The warranty is suppose to be good at any Toyota dealer nationwide, We'll see if I ever have to use it. Let's hope not cause then I don't get my $$$ back..But then again I guess it would be worth it if I do end up usin it. It seemed like a Win, Win deal so I took it.

Similar Products Used: Currently own the following: Saturn VUE AWD (2004) Toyota 4x4 Tacoma (1999) Toyota RAV4 (2004) The wife's that I occasionly drive. and of course my new ECHO (2005)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 142  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com