Volkswagen Corrado (1988 - 1995) Midsize | Compact

Corrado (1988 - 1995)

The Volkswagen Corrado is a hatchback coupé successor to the successful Scirocco; it is a three-door hatchback with a 2+2 seating layout.

The Corrado has the option of a 1.8L, 158 hp suprcharged 4 cylinder or a 2.8L, 6 Cylinder with 178 hp. Other options include manual or automatic transmission and ABS.

User Reviews (64)

Showing 1-10 of 64  
andy   [Apr 02, 2010]
Model Reviewed: vw corrado vr6
Strength:

vr6/handling/engine power-gearing combo/comfortable to drive/fun factor is on level 10!

Weakness:

alittle hard to get in and out of if your a bigger then average person/it's a vw so wierd things can happen/gas guzzler if driven the way it wants to be driven/a bit delicate.

im gonna try really hard to keep my heart out of this review. im a car fan/nut 1st and foremost. i love mustangs/vw gti's. i got the opportunity to buy a vr6 corrado right before christmas a few months ago and.....im in love. i have a hard time not driving this car. i bought it from a gentleman who was the 1st owner and is now about 70 years old. the car had 43k original miles and all the maintenence records, even the window sticker! i really dont think my heated seats work that well compared to my 2001 vr6 gti. outside of that the car is a joy to drive, a true gem. it's a wierd car at the same time because it's a vw and this car seems like if the guys at porsche got thier hands on it. you just dont expect this type of executed performance straight out the box from vw. it's good on gas if you keep it between 50-60 mph. cargo space is really good. back seats have no room for an adult. stock stereo system is terrible. heat/ac is great. seats are comfortable. driving the car is comfortable,driving position is very good. the performance is absolutely satisfying. handling great. only my mini cooper s can out handle my corrado. the vr6 motor is one of the sweet'es engines ever made. the shifting is alittle sloppy,could be much better. sunroof needs a wind deflector when open. only issue i had was that a horn/buzzard kept going off when driving every now and then. scared the heck out of me but i let it continue until it died out on it's own. accelertion is QUICK! from every gear. there really is no gear where the car dies out. the trans could use a 6th gear for highway driving. it's a looker. any car nut knows exactly what it is and so far NOBODY wants to play for alittle bit(if you know what i mean, race? who me? no)! hahahaha! over all, it's a great car to have. for the right price i would sell it but most people dont want to pay for "the right price" haha! im keeping this baby forever!!!!!

Similar Products Used: i own a 1991 mustang 5.0 nothcback/1989 vw gti 16 valve/2001 vw gti vr6/2003 mini cooper "s". have owned 87 and 91 gti 16v/90 gli 16v/93 audi 90s. love them all. the one's i still own are my babies and the corrado is my newest kid! haha!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
spdrcr24716   [Apr 08, 2005]
Model Reviewed: compact
Strength:

speed,handleing,fuel mileage,and the looks of the car

Weakness:

suspention,alternator, oil hose to supercharger, heater coil recall,

i got this car for chrismas its my first car and i love it!! its like my baby i clean it everyweekend inside and out. i have some modifications to my car like a newspeed strutbar,tsw racing rims, k&n air filter but i plan on putting on a air intake and a turbocharger, i have a supercharger in too, i plan on getting some toyo tires, a new alternator for my big stero system 4 sony explode 12in subwoofers capeable of handeling 1300 watts each, and i plan on getting a engine dress up kit .

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
vwhead   [Apr 06, 2005]
Model Reviewed: corrado with 87,000miles
Strength:

Piece of artwork. The car handles great and is fast. Eaisly modified to keep your identity. Will be worth $$$$ in the future. Not a bellybutton car like a 5.0 mustang or a camaro or a honda. They are all like bellybuttons everybodys got one.

Weakness:

tranny and supercharger. CHANGE YOUR OIL!!!! The supercharger has a small stainless oil line that goes form the head to the supercharger. That line needs to be changed . It needs to be changed to keep the proper amount of oil going to the unit. If the oil is not changed regularly the line will get gummed up and resrict the oil flow and the charger will explode costing big bucks.

One word AWSOME. I get looks form people all the time. Very few problems. A timeless piece. The car was built way before its time. VW has not built anything like it since and probably never will. I plan to keep mine I have many mods rsr outlet, cam, pulley, rebuilt charger, exhaust, chip, HPkit. It only has 87,000 miles on it I think it will be worth $$$$$$$$ in the future for a nice unit because it is so rare.

Similar Products Used: 87 16V scirroco, 84 rabbit L (diesel if you can't tell by the L)02 Jetta GLI VR6
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
vdubg60   [Apr 05, 2005]
Model Reviewed: vw corrado g60
Strength:

fast, rarity, fun to drive, nimble, awsome handling, and the look on peoples faces when you race them and win to a car they have never seen

Weakness:

having to brag to your friends that you have the best car in the world. the trasmission, the head lights.

its a corrado do i have to say anymore. the corrado was made from 1988-1996 vw offored two versions of this car in the u.s a g60 version wich is supercharged and a slc vr6 with the 15 degree vr6 engine. the corrado is by far the best front wheel drive handling car i have ever driven. the car is small the throttle response on the car is awsome. my corrado is completly stock but have big plans for it in the future, im going with all bbm stuff for the engine. the one bad thing about the corrado tho is the o2a transmission kind of sux the syncro;s tend to go out even if you shift perfect other than that the car is so awsome. the car is rare im the only one in town with one in fact im the only one in about a 300 mile radiouse with one. the corrado is by far the best car i have ever driven. the car is just so much fun. in fact i dont think for the price you can get a awsome car like the corrado with as much potentiol as the corrado. i need to stop talking about it it just makes me want to go out and hit the back roads hard so stop reading this and go buy your self a flippen corrado it will be the best investment of your life.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
eddie_b   [Feb 21, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Corrado g60
Strength:

Unique, easy to work on, great handling

Weakness:

heater core, spoiler, sunroof, seatbelt motors

This review is being written 5 years after parting with the car. I bought a very low mileage car in 98. Loved this car. Put Neuspeed suspension, K&N intake< and pretty much left it at that. I used the car as a everyday/commuter for 2 years. Only issues were normal upkeep and maintenance. This had to be the best handling front driver I've owned. I've owned a Prelude, 91 Jetta GLi 16V, 2000 Jetta 1.8T, 2001.5 Passat V6 30V, and currently have a 96 GTi VR6. The Corrado has been the best. May have to find a clean runner to own again.

Similar Products Used: GTi,Jetta,Passat
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
g60_corrado_91   [Nov 26, 2004]
Model Reviewed: VW Corrado
Strength:

Exclusitivity Rarity Quick Nimble Excellent handling Speed-activated spoiler (when working) Grin factor around corners

Weakness:

Heater core recall VW parts are expensive I've heard VW dealers service sucks... I will just be buying the parts from there; installing them myself. Spoiler issues US spec lights suck Sunroof doesn't slide or tilt

I haven't had this car for a year yet, and yet I am very happy with it. Although I've listed many weaknesses, that is generally speaking. This car makes up for all it's problems. It handles really good (even with the stock suspension), it's fairly quick, and it's exclusive. I am the only Corrado owner in my town. I am never going to get rid of this car, even if it makes me poor. I plan on doing future mods to blow everything off the road and surprise BMW's, Supra's, and other cars.

Similar Products Used: This is my fist car. I think it compares to the Porsche 944 and perhaps an older M3. But nothing compares to the rarity and exclusitivity!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
g60ed77   [Sep 18, 2004]
Model Reviewed: VW Corrado G60
Strength:

Fast ,handles great , interior like a fighter jet , rare , german buit, fast,fast,fast , fun to drive,diffrent,its a vw,lots of parts to become too fast,last its a corrado that strength by its self the car tells it all no words can compare.......

Weakness:

nothing that cant be fixed nothing is perfect check all boost tubes and vac lines , sunroof mishaps, spoiler mishaps , g-lader charger replace it ,everyone wants to race..............

Where to start ,this car is awsome no words fit the picture i see in my garage. Fast nothing like it , handles like a dream. My car Started as nothing just g60 about to be put to rest and now i got a honda killing supra hunting corrado , i got 2.5 tt tuning exhaust bosal header ,tt hf cat ,ported head high rev spring titanium retainers 268 cam adj cam gear, port intake manifold, port polish throttle body , bahn brenner twin scew charger with bb intercooler pipes with blow off valve stage 4 ecu chip ,all fuel upgrades rail injectors etc. wheel well intake all low temp, no ac unit nuespeed h.p kit, sach clutch ,limit slip diff , short throw ,paint job ,ats rims kumo tires ,front and rear strut bars h+r springs all around and to top of my 300wheel hp baby 50 short direct port nos , this car is my life its my baby i love the look the work ive done there is nothing like it , the greatest thing they dont know what it is when you smoke them and not everyone can have one 160 never felt so good. if you want to kill hondas and give supras nightmares built your self a corrado only way to go VW love chi town.............

Similar Products Used: Corrado is the way to go if your into racing ,imports ,euro, honda killing supra hunting corrado like no other....
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Christopher   [Dec 09, 2003]
Model Reviewed: corrado g60
Strength:

G60 engine power is ez to increase Amazing handeling Adictive to drive everyday Great looking

Weakness:

Sunroof

I have drinen and raced the vr6 vrs. my moded g60 corrado. By far i would take my g60 any day!!! Let me tell you why. I spent only a few thousend in modifications and i am running well over 220 hp at the crank. First i traded the g60 in for a Bahn brenner g70 with an rs output, fuel kit, isv rerout, port and polished the head (only $250), bosal header, cam, New metal intercoler boost tubs ( much strighter then stock and i think they are essetial for any g60), Custom cold air intake, exust, chip, short throw, and much much more to the engine and the rest of the car. I took off the soft sport springs and replaced them with sport spings with bilstein shocks. This car handels the curves like no other car!!! It has a lot less weight then the vr6 up front so it handels the turns much better then the vr6 does. Next will come the bahn brenner compresser. Do the mods that i have done and build it your self like i did, it will only cost a few thosend, and you will have a a verry fast car that can handel better then many new cars. Since the g60 is forced induction so you get a lot more power with the mods that you do. For example $150 for a G60 cam and pick up over 10 hp and thats before the fuel upgrade kit or spend over $600 to pick up about 15 hp with the vr6. The G60's on the freeway will smoke so many cars. If you get the hp that I am running then you will be addicted to this car. This is the best car for the canyon roads, power with exulent handeling. At the piont that this car is, it will smoke so many cars off the line. When you are running that much hp you need to get a limited slip diff, so you will be able to spin both tires off the line, and in second gear also. So if you are buying a car learn about the g60, how to work on it and most of all how to drive it. I love this car, I will go out to just to drive on canyon roads or to smoke honda's. Some of them are familiar with the back of mu car, when they get smoked.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
JAE   [Nov 13, 2003]
Model Reviewed: VR6/SLC
Strength:

Speed, Looks, Rarity, Should I say more.

Weakness:

Does damn VW dealers. I will never repair my car there. independent all the way baby.

WOW!!! I have had this car for only 2 days and I swear im in love. Who would of thought that this little puppy could move like this. I would reccomend this car to everybody. Stop reading this review and just go buy one, then you will truely understand the insanity.

Similar Products Used: nothing else compares to the price payed
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
G60 Man   [Nov 07, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Volkswagen Corrado G60
Strength:

Handeling, try and keep up in the corners faster off the line than the VR6 has a good solid block, good for high RPM Plenty of available upgrades IT DOESNT HAVE AN UGLY OUTRAGES WING ON IT THAT IS BOUGHT A PEP BPYS FOR 49.99....YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE

Weakness:

weight, heavy for a small car lighting, the stock lights arnt to good

I used to have a 1990 VW Jetta GLI 16v. Nice car, to slow. I knew i wanted a G60, supercharged fun. I found a '90 G60 on the side of the road with a for sale sign and called the guy up. After we made a deal i had the corrado and he had 1200.00 and a old ford bronco i had layin around. So far i have put a smaller performance pully on the charger also reruted the forced hot air from back into the charger to a "down pipe" below the grill, gives it a nice whistle. Punched out air box with a K&N filter forces alot of air into the G charger. It has only 127 k on it now and looks like it is ready for a longer life to come. so many plans and hopes i dont have enough room.

Similar Products Used: 1990 VW jetta GLI 16V 1995 VW jetta 3 GL (yes it was the 2.slow)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 64  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com