Volkswagen R32 Midsize | Compact

Volkswagen R32 Midsize | Compact 

DESCRIPTION

The R32 is a 2-door, 5-passenger sports coupe, available in one trim only, the Base.

The R32 is equipped with a standard 3.2-liter, V6, 250-horsepower engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway. A 6-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Jul 12, 2022]
ampva302


Strength:

This car is very great for an old model. I have this car since 2014, and my co-worker from the best excavator in Portland want to buy this from me.

Weakness:

Nothing at all

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 01, 2022]
quarleswebbkg


Strength:

If you're looking for a car that feels like a luxury car but has you grining ear to ear when you crank it up then this is the car. We have a lot of crap roads here and I was very worried about how rough the car would be, no worries though the ride is ultra firm but the car handles rough bitumen effortlessly. Mind you on a test drive I did hit a pot hole and thought I'd left a diff behind. >window awnings Pleasantville NJ

Weakness:

None so far

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 30, 2022]
JellyMin


Strength:

I'm still trying to run it in and even when I can control the throttle foot the car pulls hard with such little effort. It's also easy to handle in low revs and easily plods around in 5-6 gear at 60km/h (40mph?) and will pull well from here to. home remodeling

Weakness:

None so far.

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2022]
disposableserva


Strength:

This is a sweet ride! Love it. The controls are exactly where they need to be, the interior of the car wraps around you as a sports car should. Perfect for mobile detailing

Weakness:

None so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 06, 2021]
rosendamanns2808


Strength:

Hosepower, accelleration, comfort, ride, stability, cargo space, and BRAGGING RIGHTS. - rochesterconcretesolutions.com

Weakness:

No lighted cruise control controls.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 30, 2021]
JackieH


Strength:

So far so good. house painting contractor

Weakness:

None so far.

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Nov 30, 2021]
richie


Strength:

Superior handling. Lots of cargo space. Easy to service engine. Awesome gauge cluster. Sweeeeet stock stereo. Climatronic climate control. Building Decks

Weakness:

None so far

Purchased:
New  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Sep 03, 2008]
JCS
Model Reviewed: R32

Strength:

Sophisticated German autobahn cruiser feel, exclusivity, speed without the Boy Racer nonsense

Weakness:

Bit fuel thirsty -- and if $30,00 is a lot of money to you -- then it is expensive

Grey Metallic -- Super Stealth machine. Drove it 12 straight hours - just stopping for Gas. Mixed driving - 75% Freeways, 25% paved mountain roads. 66 mph average speed. 23.6 MPG

VERRRY comfortable long trip car. Quiet, fast -- planted feel of much more expensive German cars.

This is not a beginners car -- they'll pick the mazda 3 or STI -- none of which have the sophistication.

Interior is an absolute Joy -- leather, great cockpit lighting, good radio -- quiet at high speed.

Truck dropped an item in front of me -- 80mph quick evasive manuver -- no drama -- many cars wpould have hit or had other problem.

Get one b4 their gone if you are an experienced enthusiast looking for something distinctive, quality and YES for what it is CHEAP.

Similar Products Used:

Porsche 911's, BMW's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 14, 2007]
Kyle Surwilo
Model Reviewed: R32

Strength:

Luxury appointments.
Attention to detail.
Fantastic boltered, heated racing seats.
Aaudi Quattro AWD
250hp!
Fasy, fast, FAST, and a "sleeper" too
Superior handling.
Lots of cargo space.
Easy to service engine.
Awesome guage cluster.
Sweeeeet stock stereo.
Climatronic climate control.
Red-digitized on board computer feedback system.
German engineered AND manufactured unlike other VWs.
Scarity and uniqueness.
A FAR superior car than the 2008 release in almost every aspect.

Weakness:

No rear spare tire.
Expensive tires!
Fuel mileage isn't great, but good for a very torquey V-6 powerplant.
No CD changer.
No ipod adapter.
That's it!!!

I LOVE THIS CAR!! Being from Anchorage Alaska, it seems like "everyone" who drives a performance car all year round up here (except for the 6 months without snow) drives an Evo or STI because they offer AWD. I must admit, that I'd been salivating over an STI for some time now, and had almost completely forgotten that before I left Oklahoma to move to Aalska in 2004 I had been reading reviews about Volkswagen's new R32. How there was only 5,000 made and what a sweet ride it sounded like. It was European, not Japenese, and alhough not as fast as the Evo or STI, it was to be produced for only ONE year. It was also a Volkswagen and a 2-dr. (I've owned 5 cars and none of them have EVER had 4 doors). Well... I was looking for a new job, and got hired here in Anchorage at Porsche, Audi, VW, and to my utter SHOCK, there, sitting in bright Tornado Red, directly in front of the store was a sparkling VW R32, the likes of which I had NEVER seen in person, and to be honest, had completly forgoten about. Instantly, I new it would be MINE. I'm in to fashionable, rare, stylish, unique things (and sports cars) so this R32 fit the bill perfectly. As you can imagine I lusted after a Corrado as a youngster. Well, even before my urinalysis results came through, I bought the car to replace my aging jade green 1995 Eagle Talon AWS TSI. A GREAT car, especially in the winter here, but also one with 161,000 Alaskan miles on her. It was almost as if destiny had landed smack in my lap. My R32, heretofore to be referred to as "Scarlet" is a JOY to own AND drive. There are only 2 R32s in this entire city of 300,000. In fact 0nly 10% of the 5,000 R32s imported into N.A. in 2004 were manufactured in red, meaning that as far as colour is concerned, my car is one of only 500 or less still in existence in N.A. I was VERY pleased to learn that! Also, although the spec sheets list the VW's engine at 240hp, it is actually IDENTICAL to the one used in the Audi TT and produces 250hp!! Check out on Wikkipedia, and/or dig deep on the Internet if you're skeptical. :) At the last minute, VW opted to use the TT's engine to reduce production costs. So all you MkVers aren't receiving a stronger power plant. It is THE SAME. The seats in my car are the best looking I've ever seen in a car of it's kind. When I open my door in the morning, all I smell is quality leather. The interior is opulent in comparison to either the Evo or STI, and I LOVE the indigo and red lighting inside at night. The ergonics are GREAT. Everything falls right to hand, with the exception of the parking brake being a bit too close to the seat. The cup holders are awesome. There's 2 different sizes (as well as two small ones in the glove box, maybe for a drive in movie). More importantly, one of them is large enough to perfectly hold my ubiquitous litre bottle of Aquafina, which is hard to believe (no more bottle rolling around on the floor!) I especially enjoy the Monsoon sound system! It REALLY THUMPS, and the sound quality is FANTASTIC! Since 2004, VW has pulled the Monsoon, and been installing worse sounding audio systems in their vehicles, again to cut cost. Although the 2008 version has 2 more speakers, I've heard it sounds worse. Besides the magical burble from the exhaust at around 4,000 rpm (especially in 3rd gear) is music enough for the ears. This car is VERY fast, (0-60mph in 5.8 secs/Motortrend) and has impressed everyone I've given a peppy little ride in. The handling is stellar as well. It's better to simply keep your foot planted in turns, then to let off the gas as this will make the nose start to come around just a little before the rear tires dig in and take over. If you want a little adrenline rush, DO the latter. Braking is better than most super cars, even surpassing the Ferrari Enzo (108ft!) Her engine is well laid out and very easy to service. I love the way the lights inside come as soon as you turn off the engine, as well as the way the daytime running lights shut off when the parking brake is pulled. I also like that as soon as you hop inside the dark the interior and shut the door the interior lights remain on until you turn the key, allowing you, your passengers and their belongings, to get properly situated for take off. I also like that the radio continues to play until you remove the key. I LOVE the heated seats (bottom AND back), rain-sensing wipers, auto dimming rearview mirror and heated mirrors. I like the external temp. guage and Climatronic. I also love the large rear cargo area with fold down seats for increased hauling capacity. Oh, and how could I forget the sun/moonroof as well. WHAT A CAR, and soon to be a collectors item as well! The only negative things I could possibly say about this car is that it has no spare tire (to save weight)however, I purchased the extended warrantee, and thus have VW's free Roadside Assistance Program. Tires are spendy, as well, and fuel mileage isn't a strong point.

Similar Products Used:

1996 Red Honda Prelude V-tec.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 03, 2005]
cnahm
Model Reviewed: R32

Strength:

Smooth torque, laser-like handling, fantastic interior, melodious exhaust note, stealthy factor (only true enthusiasts even know what this car is rolling down the road).

Weakness:

Rattles developing in interior, already a couple strange intermittent electronic glitches, terrible monroe stock shocks which bottom out too easily and are wallowy- a little bit compromising to the handling

Refined Rocket! This car is a complete blast to drive. I feel that handling is the best strength. I had a chance to drive it on the St. Louis VW club's Spring drive, challenging my driving abilities and the car's like never before. It doesn't understeer at all...it just pivots around the turns, and continues gripping when you think you'll give up first. It has freight train like torque. And the exhaust note as noted by everyone else is wonderful. Just drive with the windows down and no stereo on. The steering, while a little light at center, does transmit the texture of road surfaces nicely. I feel like I'm driving the best performance car for the money on the road presently! This past winter, with ContiExtremeContacts on it, the car was great in the snow. Find an empty large lot, turn off the esp, and have a donutting ball. :) I hope to have this car for years to come.

Similar Products Used:

Wrx (felt like a toy by comparison), Acura RSX type S(great car, but no awd), '91 BMW 325ix (nice car, but waaaayyyy too many repairs to afford keeping).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com