Chevrolet Astro Minivans | Wagons

Astro

The Astro is powered by a 4.3-liter, 190-hp V6 with a 4-speed automatic. ABS comes standard and it sits five-eight passengers.

User Reviews (182)

Showing 1-10 of 182  
tslattery   [Oct 27, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Astro LS AWD
Strength:

High visibility, cargo hauling capability 4x8 sheets, AWD makes it a mountain goat in snow and ice, towing package, 1/2 ton truck frame, rear heat and A/C, very reliable, V6 Vortec runs for at least 300,000 miles and still doesn't burn oil.

Weakness:

Final overdrive gear ratio could be improved to increase mpg, but it's good at 19 mpg on interstate for a large van/truck.

Overall this is the perfect multifunctional vehicle. This is my second Astro and I will swear by them. Too bad they quit making them. Why is it when GM has a reliable useful product that they stop making them. Maybe because they run 300K with very few repairs.

Similar Products Used: 1995 Astro AWD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jkk   [Mar 17, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Astro AWD van
Strength:

Reliability.Passenger room. Dependability. Cargo room. Height -- if you like being up and seeing over the traffic, it's great.

Weakness:

Not the most comfortable vehicle on the road. It's a draft horse, not a Tennessee Walker.

I love my Astro van! Why Chevy stopped making them is a mystery to me. We purchased ut wutg 29,000 mi. and it now has well over 200,000. Repairs have been minimal overall, though there have been annoying electrical glitches that the dealer cannot find -- none that affect drivability. There is little leg room in the front, but we knew that going in. We've been from Niagara Falls to Yellowstone in our Astro, with 4 kids and 3 adults along. We've gone on ski vacations and gotten up and down snow covered roads with the best of the more expensive SUVs. I was warned not to buy one because of comfort issues, but I've never regretted getting this big van. I hate the thought of moving down to a mini, but can't find a good 2005 Astro with low milage. The best vehicle I've ever owned.

Similar Products Used: GMC van, Dodge and Chrysler vans.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bonorlea   [Sep 16, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Astro AWD 4.3 litre
Strength:

Room, dependability. Upholstery shows no wear, paint terrific, no rust, great in even a foot of snow.

Weakness:

It is feared I may look like a nerd, and I don't care. Lack of leg room. Gets me to work first in the snow.

Love it. Just turned over the 300,000 with no engine and transmission work. Makes my Crysler look like a toy. Have done regular maintenance regularly and that is all. Outstanding.

Similar Products Used: Crysler mini van
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
andrew   [Jun 08, 2008]
Model Reviewed: chevrolet astro
Strength:

like a tank, and the new paint job on it, pearl blue with chevy orange flames

Weakness:

nothing bad i can say about it and we have had it for 19 years

my parents bought this van 2 weeks before i was born and it now has almost 500,000 miles on it, its never let me down and has almost no repairs besides the usual oil change, spark plugs and what not.. people complain about how bad it is, treatr it right and it is one of the best vehicles out there today and still has great gas mileage for a 262 v6

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
debacker   [Apr 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Astro Van ext
Strength:

Good engine, low maintenance, seats 8 people.

Weakness:

None that I have experienced.

I have had a great experience with this purchase. I am the original owner on this 1994 Astro Van with 204,700 miles. I have never had to do a major repair. I do have the oil changed every 3-5000 miles but the transmission and engine are original and show no signs of giving me problems.

With the extended van and removable seats in the back, I have transported band equipment for my son or up to 8 people on a road trip.

Best purchase I ever made!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hodakaking   [Nov 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Asrto Van LT
Strength:

Lots of room, rear air and heat. All Wheel Drive feature. Truck reliability.

Weakness:

Slippery running boards even after they have been scrubbed. Leg room for front seat.

We looked hard and long to find one of these vans in good condition. I needed a AWD van to haul my 3 rail motorcycle trailer. After weeks of internet and dealer visits, we finally found this jewel in a small town in Pennsylvania. It has every optional available. Running boards, leather seats, rear heat and AC. Mileage was reasonable at 90,000. I bought a dealer brochure on eBay to see what was available. I had to add a trailer hitch, but these babies come with all of the other things needed to make the hook up. The only thing I have done to it is replace the shocks, which looked to be original and add rear helper springs from J.C. Whitney.
I have taken it on 2 long weekend trips. One in the mountain of PA and one to Mid-Ohio. That was a long trip. Very comfortable riding vehicle. I get about 16 MPG, which is reasonable for a van this size and with this power. Loads of torque. It tows better than my wife's 1995 Buick Park Avenue which has more HP.
This is my first van. I really have nothing else to compare it to other than cars I have owned. I have read other postings about some problems with this van. I will keep an eye on things, but I think if one does the maintenance, this van will serve me for many years to come.

Similar Products Used: Dodge Dakota pick up.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave Feldkamp   [Sep 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Astro
Strength:

Roominess, full frame, 4.3 litre motor. Handles mountain roads, great for long trips.

Weakness:

sliding door mechanism

This is the most incredible car I have ever owned. I now have 306,000 miles yes that is 300k. There has never been anything wrong with the motor and I got almost 200,000 miles out of the transmission. I have raised six children and friends in the last 11 years and it has always got us there and back. We live in the mountains and the van has towed up and down the mountain since new. The body has had no abnormal problems and I am sorry that GM does not make the cars anymore. What a loss. Because of the mountains we go through brakes and tires but that is to be expected. I have serviced the engine according to recommendations, serviced the trans every 25 to 30 k and changed the O2 sensors every 50k. It still gets 20+ mpg on the highway and I would recommend this car to all. If we used astros in iraq maybe we would be further ahead

Similar Products Used: Ford Windstar, Ford Areostar, Full size chevy, Toyota, 63 VW
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
paul radke   [Apr 26, 2007]
Model Reviewed: astro
Strength:

few

Weakness:

many

The most UNreliable vehicle I have ever owned. Would not recommend this vehicle to any friends. Bought new. Over $7000 in repair bills accrued in the time we've owned it. We should have paid the extra money and bought a Toyota. List of issues include: AWD Transmission defective, Multi Switch defective, Power Windows defective, Steering Idler Arms defective, Power Steering fluid leaking, Oil Cooler Lines leaking, Fuel Pump defective, Alternator defective.....etc. GM Customer Service was a waste of my time.

Similar Products Used: Ford Aerostar we owned previously was a more reliable vehicle.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
oliver   [Dec 18, 2006]
Model Reviewed: ext
Strength:

has big on running 4.3l v6.does minimum of 19mpg.comfey and lots of entertainment.

Weakness:

a bit shakey and needs a new exaughst.

this van is so reliable and cool.has everything,bit heavey on the juice though,can go for miles and has been imported to britan(my country)from first alaska in america,then japan,now in britan.has only done 53k but has problems because is only running on 5 cilinders even though it has 6.its 4.3l engine is clean and big.needs a service but needs a specialist because its a rare import.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CHEV MAN   [Aug 15, 2006]
Model Reviewed: CHE ASTRO
Strength:

POWER STYLE EASY TO REPAIR PARTS ARE CHEAP
NEVER BREAKS DOWN

Weakness:

HARD ON FUEL BUT NOT IS BAD AS OTHER BIG TRUCKS

THIS VAN HAS BEEN THE BEST CAR I HAVE EVER OWNED I AM A MECHANIC AT AN IMPORT DEALER AND CAN TELL YOU NO IMPORT CAN COMPARE WITH THE ASTRO TOW 6500 LBS BOAT IT IS AWD TAKE IT OFF ROAD AND HAS OVER 350000 KM ON ORIGINAL ENG AND TRANS

Similar Products Used: 1989 SAFARI 1994 ASTRO 1997 SAFARI
LOVE THEM ALL
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 182  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com