Chevrolet Express Minivans | Wagons

Express

The Express Cargo Van is a 3- or 4-door, up to 2-passenger full size van, available in 6 trims, ranging from the G1500 Regular Wheelbase RWD to the G3500 Extended Wheelbase RWD.

The G1500 Regular Wheelbase RWD is equipped with a standard 4.3-liter, V6, 195-horsepower engine. The G3500 Extended Wheelbase RWD is equipped with a standard 4.8-liter, V8, 279-horsepower engine. A 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is standard on both trims.

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
Josh Taylor   [Feb 22, 2010]
Model Reviewed: 2500 express
Strength:

nice room and interior

Weakness:

gas mileage, poor workman ship, 15 trips back to dealer. intake gaskets, front suspension, Plastic door parts break when cold,

Overall I have been a chevy fan all my life and I lost so much money buying this van. I would feel bad selling this poorly built van to anybody. Chevy express gets a big thumbs down. Come on GM build better cars and trucks please.

Similar Products Used: ford e 350
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Narchem   [Sep 23, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 2500 van

This review is exactly a description of some of the problems that I have had with my 1998 Chevy 2500 van. I purchased the vehicle from a used truck dealership with 74k miles for $9000, and it currently has about 150k. When it rains the engine computer and the fuse box are soaked with water. The GM design has a plastic deflector that partially directs the water from the windshield away from the electronics, but it is not successful. When it rains, the speedometer frequently does not give a steady reading and it rapidly bounces up and down. The transmission at that time also shifts up and down rapidly, even while I am attempting to travel at a constant speed. Once wet, the truck can not be driven until the engine compartment dries out. The dealership indicates that they have never heard of this problem before. They previously checked the connectors and told me there was nothing wrong with them. I had the connectors cleaned and I tried securing plastic garbage type bags over the area with a little success, but I am now beaten.
The vehicle since I have owned it has required 2 fuel pumps, two alternators, and two transmissions. The transmission failures I believe are a direct result of rain water entering the electrical connectors and engine computer and consequently the computer sent false signals to the speedometer as well as false readings to the transmission with the result that the transmission wore out prematurely. The dealership replaced the transmission (12 month warranty and $2500 pricetag) and it failed again in the 15th month. Most recently, after a recent rainstorm, the truck would not start and I had it towed to the dealership. I am now told by the dealership that due to corrosion of the electrical system, the truck now needs both a new engine computer and the connectors for which they want $2200+. As a separate issue, the engine also has either a manifold gasket leak or (the dealership says) a head gasket leak. The engine loses about 2 gallons of water from the top of the engine for each hour of operation. The dealership wants another $2000+ for this problem. In addition to the electrical and water problems, I should also mention that the passenger side cargo door (rear half) has two broken hinges. I rarely used the door and I was told that I should have lubricated the hinges and used them more often. I am not clear how I should have lubricated the sealed hinges. The good news is that there is no water in the engine oil, the bad news is that the diagnostic shop computer indicates a cylinder 5 miss-fire. The coil, plugs and wires are all brand new. Until recently I used this truck every day for work. I stored it in the garage overnight. I purchased this truck because it is a basic truck with no delux features. I also naively believed that since so many of these trucks of the same design had been manufactured that GM would have eliminated all the problems. It is no wonder to me why GM is now looking to the government for financial help.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
wasmussen   [May 01, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Chevy express passenger van
Strength:

Our van has 285,000 miles on it. The same tranny is in it and the same engine would have been in it too if it wasn't for the plastic radiator clogging up suddenly. The new engine has 2000 miles on it now.The old engine had no valve lifter npise and was running strong.

Weakness:

The plastic radiator is garbage and so is the orange color supposed to last 100,000 miles radiator fluid. Instead it eats away your gaskets and causes expensive gasket replacements to the head. The plastic in the van makes it light but like I said earlier there needed to be metal clips or at least metal replacements to fix the bad design.

This van has plastic everywhere that breaks in about two years. The foors have plastic for the trim that holds the doors to the steel interior frame that break quite easily. The head liner has now been letting go in this humid area of TX.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Jeffs386   [Mar 31, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Express 2500
Strength:

styling,ease of maintenence,reliability

This is my 3rd Chevrolet Express cargo van
I use them for my contracting business
I currently have 65000 miles on this one
the last one I owned was a 2003 I traded it with 150000 miles and before that I had a 2000 that had over 250000 miles
This one is just like the previous ones in that it gives me zero problems and is very easy to service
I have owned Ford and Dodge vans in the past and the Chevrolets are far superior in every way
I need to use my van each and every day so I can't afford to own something that has to be at the repair shop constantly

Similar Products Used: 2003 Express
2000 Express
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bigricksharpe   [Feb 07, 2008]
Model Reviewed: 1997 Express Geneva Conversion Van
Strength:

Nice styling, the Geneva Conversion is the best too bad they are'nt around anymore! nice Pwr plant.

Weakness:

in my opinion the Tranny is the low-blow and very costly to service, i wish Detroit would listen to the heart of the real mechanics, and get things simple again, because if up to enviro nuts etc. all the computer crap and sensors etc,will continue to make a good thing even worse!

I have always loved Chrolet products, the last ride I had and am sad I had to give up was a very clean 56 Biscaynne, "my Gasser" I even had this unit show on Mr. Dennis Gages car web-site. well I brought an nice 97 Express Conversion, this Van has only given me problems 1st. time an original water pump, no sweat, i replaced it myself, it suck that the unit has no "doghouse" most recently the upper return line from the Tranny to cool came loose, found out it had a two piece rubber hose but only a non flared joint tube, i replaced it and alot of fluid, tranny still wont drive properly in drive, will slip out at 20mph, and will go all day in 2nd, you know Chevy has sad folks in charge of Customer service all they care about these days is cost not customer service, I cant afford to pay 3grand like the other person esp. being laid off, I do love this truck the 5.7 Vortec is really a hotrodders engine, a bit underpowerd for a large Van though. I wish a kind lawyer would have the balls to sue Chevy Corp for Me, and those who feel short changed, I can only hope to have tranny hold out till summer so i can have cash saved up, but in the meantime i like other Valuble Chevy Customers must pay for a vehicle which may or may not get me there! This unit has been meticuously been cared for, even have all original books and paperwork from day one! has second owner I dont has any legal foothold, I can only hope has an Veteran of the US I might find some help here. I have grandkids, and a limited budget, unlike customers who can go out and buy a Vet brand new and thats cool! I wish I could. Please Chevy hear your customers, because since I was an kid I have always had a Chev at some point in my life! would hate to have to say Foriegn car dealership at least know how to have some compassion, and are not bound by a number cruncher!

Similar Products Used: First time Van owner, would love to own a GMC Tandem axle RV, they were cool then and still are-will trade Van for one! I call this unit production wise avg. because Detroit has forgotten we still have to have pride in the title made in USA!!!
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
wildbill2   [Dec 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Express Van conversion
Strength:

Engine is one of a kind. A great engine that will continue to run as long as you keep the oil changed on a timely basis. Gas mileage is not great but something I can live with.

Weakness:

Transmissions and A/C are both below par and problems should be addressed by GM. They used to make the best product on the road and it is now one of the worst.

Excellent engine, have had no problems with engine whatsoever. It has over 200,000 miles and still running strong. Air Conditioning and Transmission are another story. Have Had Transmission problems since day one and dealer worked on it 5-6 times and always said they could find nothing wrong. Transmission went out at 54,000 miles and had to have it replaced at my expense. Have had it replaced one other time since. Air conditioning has never worked properly especially the rear air. I have had to replace compressor 2 times and it is currently out and will have to have it replaced again. These problems are standard as I have read other reviews and know that it is something I just have to deal with. My main irritation is the piece of junk that they have for interior door panels. They both have broken off, drivers door panel went first and it is just a piece of molded plastic with a few anchors also of plastic that break off. General Motors should be ashamed of themselves making a piece of crap like this.

Similar Products Used: 2005 Silverado, 1997 Astro, 1996 Dodge 1500, 1991 Dodge 1500,
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
dawn   [Jun 04, 2007]
Model Reviewed: chevy express
Strength:

fits 7 nicely

Weakness:

brakes noise -while driving-gas usage

Bad van to buy- 5 brake jobs-windows rattle - door handels fell off- no air/ heat to back of van. cd and atenna broke after 3 years. surges forward waiting for light change- fuel pump out 6 years over 700 to fix. 100.00 at time to upkeep

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
KAS   [Jan 21, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Express
Strength:

Its nice under the hood other than the A/C It runs good.

Weakness:

Read above

So far its been an ok vehicle except the A/C doesnt work well, the front speakers are out, inside door handles fall off, the rear heater console pops in and out of the area where its placed.
Now, if you get a flat and need to take the spare out, watch out! I was taking the spare out the way the manuel says (loosen the wing nut and wind down with cable drop) Well when I un-did the wing nut, I found out that the cable had rusted and the tire fell down right on my face

The vehicle will dent if you blow on it to hard also. Other than that It's fine so far.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Carl   [Aug 03, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Express LS 1500 5.7L Eng.

The back brakes have had problems for a couple of years. The interior plastic trim leaves alot to be desired. Both back door panels and both rear speakers were replaced under warranty. The cooling system has developed leaks, and the AC does ont work. Although I think after six years, not having any Ac without some work is to be expected, all the interior trim breaking or being replaced is unacceptable. As expensive as these vans are, I would think the interior would be of higher quality. I have a 1989 car with just as many miles, and the interior is in much better shape.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Detroit Diesel Van Owner   [Jan 16, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Chevy Express 3500
Strength:

There are none !

Weakness:

The entire GM Line.

Well I thought my problems were over for a little while after purchasing a 2002 Diesel Chevy Express 3500. Wrong! I should have realized after just reading the 24 prior warranted work orders I keep on file. I guess the only reason I purchased another GM product is because I had $4500 rebate earnings from my GM credit card. Ford offered the rebate earnings up until they started offering a better product. As for my GM van as usual GM still offers poor quality, poor design and poor workmanship bumper to bumper, that’s there Guarantee! GM has been selling their name only. What does that mean? General Motors, It’s just a General product that all! It’s not called: Quality Motors or Quality Control Motors, it’s just called General Motors because it’s just a general piece of crap, nothing more - nothing less. For the money we all pay for vehicle’s one would thing we would get some kind of satisfactory, I guess not! As for my 02 Express Diesel van my main complaint is the Lift Pumps I have to spend money changing them every 35,000 miles, with a dealer price tag at $1000. What a crime! They don’t tell you when your purchasing the vehicle, “Oh but the why Mr. Customer, I realize your spending an extra $6000 for a Diesel Motor, but did I tell you you’ll have to bring you vehicle in for a new Fuel Lift Pump every 35000 miles so we can install a new one. GM never upgraded to a better fuel system so you the consumer gets it where the sun doesn’t shine”. I bet you never heard that one? I have 70K on my diesel and I’m paying for a 2nd lift pump. After doing research from Chevy, Dodge & Ford. Both Ford & Dodge DO NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM. GM know they still have this problem ever since the early 1990’s and haven’t revised there problem yet. The new Duramax motors also have a fuel problem. So if your considering purchasing a GM Diesel, DON’T! Go for the FORD Power Stroke – International motor. It’s a better motor, no fuel problems, no head problems, no valve problems, no nothing. Just a non destructive motor which will run just like the every-ready bunny does. Keeps going and going and going… Should I add that I’ve that I too have had the common problems like: broken door panel problems, broken glove box door, power windows that bounce up and down when opening plus fall off the track, vibrating mirrors at 55 MPH, bad transmission at 20k miles, broken door lock switches caused form the mechanic service dept, and not to mention the dam head lights are impossible to align, one points up to the right and the other points down to the left. I almost forgot the rotors were warped at 4000 miles. Please Tell me where I can buy a foreign van with equivalent cargo room so my problems will be over. I’ve had it with GM.

Similar Products Used: 91 Chevy G-30 van, 5 bad tranny's, 3 bad computers.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com