Ford Windstar Minivans | Wagons

Windstar

The Windstar is powered by a 150-hp 3.0-liter V-6 or a 200-hp 3.8-liter V-6. Both come with a 4-speed automatic transmission. It sits up to 7 passengers and ABS comes standard.

User Reviews (336)

Showing 1-10 of 336  
JayP71   [Jun 27, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Windstar LX
Strength:

Decent gas mileage, about 23-24 mpg. Plenty of cargo room and a roof rack. Interior is a lot more wear and tear resistant than the previous product.

Weakness:

Not as reliable as I'd like. The power train has been okay so far. But HVAC and electrical gremlins have been an issue with the van. It goes through front brakes faster than anything I've owned.

Not a bad van. More room than any other minivan we looked at. Respectable power and handling (for a minivan). The price on these is great compared to a Nissan, Honda, or Toyota minivan.
The Windstar was built on a car chassis, unlike the van it replaced. This gives it a more comfortable ride at the expense of towing/hauling capacity.

Similar Products Used: Had 2 Ford Aerostars in a row before this thing. Both were a lot more durable and lasted well over 200,000 miles. I have no illusions that the Windstar will reach similar mileage.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Troy Ross   [Mar 02, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Ford Windstar GL
Strength:

3.8 motor is peppy enough to enjoy. Very smooth ride and lots of room inside. Looks sharp when it is clean.

Weakness:

Locks act up but we just reprogram them and they work for another couple of months.

We have owned this van for almost 2 years and we think it is a good van. Bought it at 180 km now has 214 km on it and just tensior pully in it $70.00. That is all that we have had to do to it. We bought it with a fixed transmision as we all know had to go. It has been a great family vehicle and never left us anywhere. We trust it fully to get us from point A to point B and back to point A and sometimes to point C. Maintenance done regulaly so we keep on top of it. Just had it in 3 months ago and given it a clean bill of health.

Similar Products Used: Ford Focus, Ford Escort, Ford Ranger
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Derrick   [Jan 28, 2008]
Model Reviewed: SEL
Strength:

Good Power. Very comfortable with captains chairs and leather. Hasn't left us stranded...yet

Weakness:

Emissions system, transmission, fuel mileage (15 mpg). Takes a 40 acre field to turn

I was a little reluctant buying it with 95,000 miles on it but my mechanic looked at it and said it had been well taken care of and runs great. We have driven it 7,000 miles over the last year and have spent $1800 in repairs. The first two were minor emissions control problems. The next one was a brake light switch due to the brake lights becoming stuck on. The latest one was $1000 due to a broken torqque convertor and stator in the transmission. The transmission has always shifted funny but my mechanic said that's how they are made. The most annoying part is it seems to constantly hunt for a gear to stay in around 40 mph. After owning 1 other new ford which was also junk and 1 other new Dodge (junk) I will begin buying only Japanese vehicles. I have owned 2 Tacomas and 2 Corollas and have never had problems with them.

Similar Products Used: no minivans but I love my toyotas
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Michael   [Aug 14, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ford Windstar
Strength:

Nice ride with comfort for 6 plus.

Weakness:

Power steering issues by the previous owner, but it has been a good one for me.

Nice van for 2 grand!!! It has a lot of room and gets decent fuel economy for a minivan. The dual doors are nice, and the stereo is a plus.

Similar Products Used: All kinds of Ford products. Dodge Caravan
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Carol   [Jul 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Windstar
Strength:

Very roomy, great driving during winter and believe me living near Buffalo, we get bad winters. Very,very reliable with general maintence.

Weakness:

The only weakness I can think of regarding this van is it didn't last forever. I have now bought a Kia Sedona, and after reading the reviews on this van, I am a bit nervous to say the least.

Well, we purchased this van to replace a Mercury Villager with 174,000 miles on it. I have to say that I LOVED my Windstar. I deliver a large motor paper route 365 days per year, and this van has been remarkable. Saddly, she died with 193,000 miles on her, but she served me well. Sure there were some repairs over the years, but I can hardly complain! I don't know why others are so down on this van...mine was a great little van and I will miss it.
Oh, when I bought this Windstar it had 31,000 miles on her, so the rest of the 193,000 miles was put on doing the paper route. So, 162,000 miles were hard used miles.

Similar Products Used: Mercury Villager, Ford Aerostar, and other Fords too numerous to remember.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
TerryAnn   [Jul 10, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Windstar
Strength:

Roomy passenger compartment. Great Fuel mileage. 32 mpg

Weakness:

faulty factory workmanship has left us with a vehicle with no tradin value whatsoever.

Well imagine while looking for information on our Windstar I come across another owner having almost the same problems, if I were that person i would be taking out the carpets though and looking at the floor beneaf in all the corners,I was shocked to find that ours is rusting from the inside out due to maufacturing faults. Spot welds not taking and holding the floor to the subframe and the sealer not even around the seatpots in the floor, allowing the water from the road to force its way inbetween the skins and the frame causing the passenger compartment to be unsafe as it is also rotting the seatbelt bolts and anchors. Not to mention the fact that exhaust fumes can enter the interior. Passenger side wheel well is rusting out after the seals were replaced as per recall. The rear sliding doors have been repainted under warranty three times, and are still rusting out. The paint is pealing off the backdoor. It also has a rare tendency to accellerate without having foort on the accelerator.

Similar Products Used: I have owned and operated other Ford products without these problems.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
thecarguy   [Jun 19, 2007]
Model Reviewed: ford windstar
Strength:

lots of room.nice smooth ride.quiet.nice stereo.sharp looking van!

Weakness:

gas mileage could be better.when turning in a close space, you must have lots of room or make a 3 point turn.

i can believe all the negative feed backs on this van.i have owned it two years and just resently had to replace the alternator.really no other problem like all theses people on here.with all the transmission problems i think may be due to putting in the wrong fluid.this van must use mercon 5.you cannot use mercon 3 or 4.i love driving this van.it drives better than a cadallic!

Similar Products Used: 1984 ford ranger,1991 subaru legacy,1984 chevy camaro
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Luis Morales   [May 09, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ford Windstar
Strength:

NONE

Weakness:

Cruise Control Deactivation Switch remains hot even with the engine off, and power off.

I strongly recommend that if you own one of these MONSTERS to get rid of it. Ours caugt fire sitting inside the garage at 11:00 PM. Imagine if we would have been sleeping what a disaster or if we would have been away on a cruise which we like to do at least twice a year. We usually take my F-150 (which I am also going to trade) to the port and leave the Windstar in the garage. I hate to even think what would have happened. The fire inspector states that the fire was caused by the Speed Control (Cruise Control) Deactivation Swith shorting out. This has happened with other Ford Products but The Ford Motor Company refuses to conduct a total Recall of the vehicles with Cruise Control. What is it going to take, Death? I have been injured because I tried to get the fire under control. I will see them in Court!

Similar Products Used: Ford F-150
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
M   [Apr 17, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Windstar
Strength:

lots of get-up and go. Roomy. Tons of cool features. Amazing stereo (especially for 11 years old)

Weakness:

Speedometer jumps a little between 90 and 120, but it stops after a few seconds of driving at that speed. Not incredible on gas, but what 96 vehicle is? Probably like most fords the alternators are weak (but that is only 60 bucks to fix if you are smart and do it yourself)

Alright, so reading everyone reviews I was getting a little bit worried about all the transmission problems and such. Then I decided to check out all the other make and model minivan reviews, and THEY ARE ALL THE SAME. There are tons of people giving every minivan 1 out of 5. What do you people want? Vehicles will all break if not taken the correct care. Any vehicle given regular oil changes, transmission and engine flushes, and not beig driven like a complete moron will last you a very very long time. I just bought my Windstar. I spent a long time going over bills and receipts with this van. They had taken good care of it and it still runs very well at 170,000KM. THey have changed and alternator and thats about it. THe interior is still mint, the body still has no rust, and it is still smooth.

In closing, take care of your vehicle (whatever it is) and it will take care of you.

Similar Products Used: 1991 Ford F-150 Custom, 1988 Mercury Tracer, 1999 Plymouth Voyager, 3 different 2003 Ford Taurus' , various Ford focus'. Plenty of others (I drive for a living).
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Kim Smith   [Feb 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Ford Windstar
Strength:

Comfortable, roomy. The sliding doors are awesome I have to admit. So far my locks have worked fine.

Weakness:

Sluggish, not much power. Transmission is weak. Gas hog!

DO NOT BUY A FORD WINDSTAR! It is a piece of junk! Ours is at the dealer right now. We just found out today that the transmission is completey out of it. It only has 74,000 miles. I never noticed it slipping at all. Supposedly our extended warranty is going to cover it. My rear windshield wiper never worked right. Also the electrical is screwy. It starts blinking on and off by itself. Spare yourself the agongy and don't buy it, even though it looks comfty!

Similar Products Used: I have a Toyota Camry- almost 100,000 miles and have not made one repair! I am a Toyota owner for life from now on. Also beware of Pontiac Grand Ams. They are notorious for Transmission problems. I speak from experience!
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 336  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com