GMC Safari Minivans | Wagons

GMC Safari Minivans | Wagons 

DESCRIPTION

(1985 - 2005) Sharing the Chevy Astro's platform was its sibling, the GMC Safari. In addition to standard passenger uses, the vans were also available as cargo vans, and converters used them as the basis for small conversion vans. The Safari is powered by a 4.3-liter, 160-hp V6 with a 4-speed automatic. This van sits up to 8 passengers and ABS is standard.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 79  
[Aug 26, 2010]
mike mcnulty
Model Reviewed: gmc safari rwd

Strength:

plenty of room
good gas mileage
tows my boat and trailer well

Weakness:

none

i can't believe the bad reviews i've read!
i must have lucked out. bought mine with 40,000 miles on it and now has 162,000
no major repairs. only brake jobs and window repairs.
wish they were still made. would definitely get another one!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 08, 2010]
Joyce
Model Reviewed: GMC Safari

Strength:

very strong runner has alot cargo space.

Weakness:

gas mileage

very good vehicle

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 27, 2009]
felix
Model Reviewed: safari

I got this GMC SAFARI 8 years ago and for me is THE BEST i have taken to mexico several times with no problems,,i like the style of others mini-vans But any one has the POWER the Room, Force to TOW LIKE Safati and Astro Vans,,, i hope GMC make More of this kind in the future because american people wants POWER,ROOM COMFOR and QUALIATY LIKE SAFARI

THANKS GMC

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 19, 2009]
sballard
Model Reviewed: GMC Safari Conversion van

Strength:

mainly routine maintenance, roomy and convenient

Weakness:

air conditioning after 10 years

Kept it for 10 years. Only problem we ever had was with the air conditioning last year. Would still be driving it but the metal bumper I rear ended was too much for it!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 04, 2009]
Judith Moore
Model Reviewed: GMC Safari Van

Strength:

Sooo roomy, smooth ride, accommodates your needs for almost any active lifestyle.

Weakness:

Maintenance is higher than other vehicles, but every time we think of selling it, we can't imagine doing without it. Small foot well for front passenger. Gets uncomfortable for long trips for tall passengers.

We love our Safari van. We have owned it since new. We are very active in camping, family, recreation, remodeling, gardening, etc. It has room for EVERYTHING. It has provided so many opportunities for us. We even rigged up a queen size sleeping in the rear just by putting down the seats and using plywood and sleeping mats. Got as good a sleep as at home. We have over 130,000 miles. We made more repairs on the van than other vehicles we have owned, but we have managed to keep the repair bills manageable by using good local repair shops doing the work for us and not the dealership. We would like to buy a new one and give this van to our photographer family member so he can enjoy it for his retirement. We want to continue to enjoy the benefits of the room this vehicle offers for an active lifestyle. We also experienced good towing with this vehicle for tent trailers and utility trailers. This van holds almost everything. We found it better than a truck because it can haul so well and provide roomy space for groups of people who "pile in", or for quick sleep over accommodations. We love it. We love it. I hope they still manufacture them and make them better.

Similar Products Used:

Toyota Highlander, Subaru wagon, Toyota Tacoma

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 25, 2007]
Carol
Model Reviewed: GMC SAFARI MINIVAN

Weakness:

Power windows on both drivers and passenger side.Rear door latch and handle.Side sliding door.

We have had major power window problems.Started with the drivers side going up and down only when it wanted.We found the recall and took it to the local dealer for them to install a wiring harness.After this harness being installed the window got worse and the passenger side started having the same problem.Now the passenger side can't be used at all and the drivers side may stay down for days.We called GM ams the dealer and they were both rude and told us as long as they did the recall it wasn't their problem whether it worked or not.The sliding side door sticks and sometimes causes the passenger not to be able to open the door from the inside at all.The rear dooe latch sticks and is very hard to pull on causing the handle to break.I need info pertaining to where I can file a legal complaint to get these things fixed.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Feb 20, 2007]
Dawn
Model Reviewed: GMC Safari Van

Weakness:

The vehicle has only 153,000 km with regular oil changes, care and maintenance. Well the first few years were ok but since than I know that regular items will go over time but I have never seen anything like what I have replaced on this vehicle. Tires, brakes (2 Times working on 3rd), Battery, Power Steering pump, Water Pump, Aternator, what upsets me the most is I am presently replacing the TRANSMISSION with only 153,000 km on it, that is just plain wrong! I need shocks, my rims are rusted and awful looking so they need to be painted, I have no lights on my Radio and a few other items on the dash. I have had a problem with the bumper, the back hatch not latching, the side door on the van.

I know normal items must be replaced but for this much invested in a less than 10 year old vehicle that I have maintained I am shocked. Especially about the transmission that is not a mild expense and should not be going on a vehicle that has been cared for the way I have and driven with care, maintained and has only 153,000 kms I would think twice before buying another.

I am the owner of a 1998 GMC van with only 153,000 kms on it andto be honest as much as I am a Chevy/GMC fan, I am extremely disappointed in this vehicle and the problems I have had. I bought the vehicle when it was only 1 year old and have been the only owner besides a 1 year lease before me. I will list my problem under weaknesses.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Dec 03, 2006]
AJC
Model Reviewed: SAFARI VAN

Strength:

REAR DRIVE FOR TOWING.

Weakness:

POWER WINDOWS.(MOTORS)

Power windows have been major problem. First drivers side motor went,just before warranty ran out. Then about six months later the passengers side went. I replaced it with rebuilt unit which seemed as good or better than OEM. That one lasted about 8 months and almost burnt the vehicle. The motor shorted and burned the wiring to the point of flames inside door. Luckily I had a fire extingiusher to put it out. Now to replace another motor and hope for the best.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Nov 20, 2006]
nicole
Model Reviewed: gmc safari van

I would like to know why my fuel pump is constantly going out. This van has had a pump put on it twice in one year. I would like to know why this keep happening. Is it because it has over 2 hundred thousand miles on it. I am tired of spending bad monies could you please tell me what I need to do.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Sep 24, 2006]
wekennard
Model Reviewed: Safari

Strength:

I love the power and torque this van gives me. Easy to 80 to 90 on the intersate. Sometimes more! It is a conversion van and gives my family a lot of room. I tow a trailer as we go to auctions and have towed other things, it feels like a truck. Insurance on this van is low, so we save money there. They rate this as a safe vehicle.

Weakness:

Need to replace a Mapp sensor as I am getting poor gas milage. Not to bad...It was due, moisture got in air filter housing from a heavy rain and the airbox is cracked. Gorilla glue will fix that. Fuel filter needs constant changing as it's location is aweful and collects dirt and water. Maintetance is high. I replaced the front end, shocks, brakes at 85,000 miles. Also replaced the A/C motor, panel control switch, resistor. Must have a vacuam problem, Hard to locate/isolate problem as I lost air flow from the A/C when on high. Put a portable fan on the dash, yeah it works. Factory tires suck. Put on larger and better tires this improved the ride so much better. Worth the money for better tires, such as off and on raod terrain tires. Sound system sucks as I need to get a premium system installed. Not all locks work now. As in older cars they are harder to keep em going. We do not slam the doors as it is hard on all cars electric motors if you do.

This van has been great. Fits 6 easy! We paid this van off about two years ago. I have paid other vehicles off and had to get something more reliable, therefore trading them in. I can't seem to let this one go. This is a keeper and I have had offers for this vehicle. The kids love it! This is a great vehicle for a family. It never left us on the side of the road stranded as it is reliable. ONLY LIKES SHELL GASOLINES, Do not know why? Does not like cheaper gasolines. No problem there.

Similar Products Used:

Multiple.Chevy trucks, Fords Imports

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 79  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com