Mazda MPV Minivans | Wagons

MPV

The MPV is powered by a 3.0-liter, 155 hp V-6 with a 4-speed automatic. Rear wheel ABS is standard. And it's available in 2 or 4 wheel drive models.

User Reviews (178)

Showing 1-10 of 178  
RM   [Sep 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: MPV
Strength:

Good Performace.

Weakness:

Engine Coil and Brakes do not last long

My Mazda MPV 2004 has the Engine Light On problem, which has been found to be due to an Ignition coil failure. I have owned this Minivan for almost 3 years now and occasionally found the Engine Light On problem occuring. The dealership replaces the Ignition coil and I have to pay a heavy sum each time. I strongly feel that Mazda should announce a recall and fix this problem once and for all.

I have not yet placed this on the Reviews for on the Mazda website but seriously consider doing so, if Mazda does not take necessary steps

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Ron   [Dec 19, 2009]
Model Reviewed: ES
Strength:

Great handling. Great for family of 3+ kids that are under 10 years of age.

Weakness:

Ignition coils problems - stranded twice on two separate long distance trips. Mazda covered under warranty.

Great overall value for young family.

Similar Products Used: Buick Terraz, Honda Odyssy
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Kurt   [Mar 09, 2009]
Model Reviewed: MPV 4x4
Strength:

large windows, strong heater, good sound system. It's fun to drive. easy to get in and out. like to 4 door.

Weakness:

Transmission. I burned out 3 of them without any help from Mazda. Very expensive parts. The driver seat is NOT centered and the gas and break pedals are way to close together, especially in the winter time when wearing boots.the defogging system is a joke. Mazda warranties are NOT very good. Every required service costs you between $4 and $600. If you do not have a good Mazda mechanic close by don't buy this Mazda model. The pick up speed is a bit weak, but otherwise an okay car.

I have been driving the same type of Mazda MPV 4x4 since 1990. It is a nice driving van. It is supposed to be a 7 seater, maybe 2 adults and a bunch of kids!It is versatile as you can take out the 3rd. seat for luggage.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
lonnieto   [Jul 21, 2007]
Model Reviewed: MPV
Strength:

Roomy, reliable, relatively good price

Weakness:

none so far (lucky me)

I have gone through more than 30 reviews posted on this car and I am compelled to air out my opinions on this vehicle.
I have this 8 seats MPV for almost 10 years now and it never gave me any problem so far (may be I am just lucky). I just have regular oil change every 5,000 miles; change the timing belts at around 70000 miles; change tires around 50000 miles and that were all I did to it.
In 2001 Summer, I took this car all the way to New Foundland of Canada and put 14000 miles to it just for this trip. In this 52 days driving trip, I had no problem whatsoever with it for the whole trip. I did not even take her for any tune-up besides regular oil change after the trip.
My MPV now has 120000 miles and still running smoothly except with minor raise in gas consumption and I am very happy with her.
I came across some reviews by owners who were quite unlucky to have bad experiences with this vehicle and I am sorry for them. I can only concluded that there are always some lemons in renowned brand and there are always someone not so lucky to get them. I must also add that driving habits have something to do with how long the car can last.

Similar Products Used: Toyota Tercel, excellent car but not enough room for my family.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
DependableCarLover   [May 29, 2007]
Model Reviewed: mazda mpv
Strength:

3rd row seat does fold to the floor.

Weakness:

parts expensive
bad MPG-fuel efficiency
not reliable
repairs are expensive
the worst japan in the market

this car has not been good to me since I bought.

problems:
manifold was cracked. got an estimate to replace it. the estimate was over $1000 due to freaking manifold being expensive($800.00). there was no OEM manifold available. The only option left was to get it from the DEALER. and the dealer said he would do his best to get it soon but no promises.

Once manifold was fixed, new problems started happening. check engine turned on. somehow, manifold having been replaced, triggered some sensors to go bad. I had to get the EGR(exhaust gas recirculator-some part that is manifold related)replaced so that check engine light would go off and the car can pass virginia emission test. ($450.00)

1 week later, check engine light came back. this time, the reason was MAP(manifold air pressure)

then, finally, this wknd, it did the ultimate betrayal. it stopped working when driving back from vacation. I had it towed. it turned out that water pump got dead.

I may have forgotten about some other problems that I went thru with this car.

for instance, MPG is pretty bad when you consider it only has 2.4 engine and is being a small van compared to sienna, odyssey, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Chris J   [Apr 18, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mazda MPV

Has been reliable to date up to a precipitous transmission failure at 70,000 miles. This is completely unacceptable and I will not purchase another Mazda vehicle. The earliest I have experienced transmission death before was at 80,000 miles in a 1965 Plymouth Fury.

Similar Products Used: 2000 Mazda Millenia
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Adnan   [Feb 22, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Mazda
Weakness:

power seems to be a little less. fuel economy is low.

I bought this vehicle at 91000 kms and driven 45000 kms so far and pretty much happy about the performance of this vehicle. I only had few minor problems so far but thank goodness no CEL/tranny problem so far. It has just started giving intermittent jerks on highway speeds. I hope it is not the transmission going. I am getting 6-8 kms/litre, I dont know if it is normal?

Similar Products Used: chevy lumina 91 that costed thousands of dollars in one month and then engine pooched.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
sdeckert   [Feb 20, 2007]
Model Reviewed: LX
Strength:

Great value

Weakness:

Small size

Other than having the transmission replaced within the first 4000 miles (everything was covered by the warranty), this vehicle has performed flawlessly. We have roughly 60,000 miles on the vehicle, and no other issues have emerged.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
brian   [Jan 23, 2007]
Model Reviewed: MPV ES
Strength:

For my small statured wife and three young children, the van has worked out well.

Weakness:

2.5 Litre is slightly under powered.

We bought this 01 new. Overall the van has been good. Within the first year it required a transmission change out. Now in the last month, there has been a jerking like the timing was off. Changed wires and plugs and all was well. Then two weeks later it started again. Replaced the coil. Dealer says that problem is fixed and they are now trouble shooting why the factory alarm will not turn off. They say it is a short somewhere and they are currently tracking it. If anyone has had such issues that were resolved, pls advise so we can have ours checked where your problem was found. Thnx, Brian

Similar Products Used: This is our first mini van
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
shannonhb   [Jan 06, 2007]
Model Reviewed: MPV V6
Strength:

nothing special

Weakness:

See above

Purchased the MPV in 2000, replaced the tranny in 2001 and again in 2003. Accelorator stuck and sent me into oncoming rush hour traffic twice. The driver side door handle broke off from simple wear n tear use. Oh, and I'm replacing the transmission again this weekend. NEVER buy anything made by Mazda.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 178  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com