Oldsmobile Silhouette Minivans | Wagons

Silhouette

The Silhouette is powered by a .4-liter, 185 hp V-6 and a 4-speed automatic. ABS is standard. Sits up to 8 people.

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
Sergio   [Jul 03, 2008]
Model Reviewed: olds. Silouhet
Strength:

very smooth drive, nice line good room, Capitan chair excellent

I been driving this unit for 7 year not problems at all, just regular services now is 144,000 miles and y drove from Neenah WI to Miami FL, just adding gas, From Houston TX, to Chicago, no problems.parts I replaced normal wear, struts, shocks, brakes, tires, filters, water pump I can not complain at all

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Trailblazerowner   [Feb 27, 2007]
Model Reviewed: Shilouette Ext
Strength:

Engine (power)
Transmission
Comfort
Options

Weakness:

Power Sliding Door

AWESOME VAN!!! We had a 1991 Oldsmobile minivan and we were so impressed with it that we bought the 1997 minivan when they changed the look. Still on the road today and going strong. Love the ride and comfort it offers. Too bad Oldsmobile is no more, they made nice cars.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Herman van Donkersgoed   [Sep 29, 2006]
Model Reviewed: 3.8 V6
Strength:

Engine, acceleration, ride, space, visibility, no rivets or welding in body (Japanese style), audio, rear-lights (if U like Christmas), light weight chairs, ventilation, no rust

Weakness:

Small front seats, steering wheel off-centred, weak brakes, accessories (a/c, cruise control, locks)

Someone brought this car to Holland, and we bought it in 2002. Comfortable car, nice ride, great engine and transmission. Bought it 10 years old but with only 61.000 miles. Installed gas in it (about 20% of cars in Holland run on gas at about 35% price of petrol), and it runs great. It now has 140.000 miles. We have it serviced very regularly, to keep the magic alive. We love this car, it's become part of our household.
It's got a crack in the fender, because the plastic can't dent like metal. So it's the first car that I glued back in shape.
Looks like the pre-1994 owners are happy people and after that the redesign spoiled the party. So after this (my lucky shot, hope it lasts forever) I won't buy a later Silhouette.

Similar Products Used: VW Van, Ford Transit Van (European)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
davebenq   [Sep 25, 2006]
Strength:

space

Weakness:

maintenance nightmare

Electrical nightmare, dash lights go, LED lights so its not just a bulb, brake lights go, no fuse so computer must be replaced, seat heaters stop working, electric windows stop working, door hinges drop, engine temp varies as you drive, transmission ejects fluid when towing a heavy trailer. Tire rims leak so flats are frequent.

Similar Products Used: GM Limina
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
gina@lookingatyoukid.com   [Jul 11, 2006]
Weakness:

It'a pocessed
Brakes
door locks
everthing falling apart inside the car

OMG the damn thing is pocessed. First off if anyone has these problems please........ email me gina@lookingatyoukid.com if you know the answers. The damn thing keeps locking constantly even when the car sits parked somewhere and as your driving all you here is click click click it locks you in or out of the car: where everytime you unlock it to get out it locks back up immediatly.
Sometimes the power windows don't work
sometimes it starts up sounding like you ran out of oil, tranny fluid and antifreeze all at the same time then I turn it off and start it back up and it's fine.

Similar Products Used: ford mini van
dodge caravan
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
oldsmolbuick   [May 30, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Olds Silhouette
Strength:

Quality engine/transmission, sizeable and flexible for people and/or cargo, 16-19 mpg, comfortable ride

Weakness:

Brakes pads seem to wear too quickly, accessories break over time

This is our first minivan and what a ride it has been. Going from a family sedan, we were thrilled with the roominess, particularly with the removeable seats. Given to us as a "hand-me-down" about 3 years ago, it now has 248,000 miles and going strong. Possibly showing some trannie problems to come (noises only right now - no loss of power or shifting problems), it has been very reliable. Alot of the luxuries have broken (it is 15 years old after all), including cup holders, air conditioning, fuel light always on, fuel gauge off by 1/4 tank (learned to adjust after running out of gas 2x), gear shift works great but the display needle always shows Park, brakes seem to last not quite long enough between repairs, replaced water pump at about 230,000, no motor problems, uses 1 qt oil every 3,000 miles or so, radiator fluid always low but temp guage always normal...all to say this is a great vehicle!

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jamiason Locker   [Nov 03, 2003]
Model Reviewed: silhouette
Strength:

comfortable, nice extra's, good suspention

Weakness:

engine wearness, radiator problems.

Van is a good automobile with wear and tear issues.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
scott   [Oct 30, 2003]
Model Reviewed: olds silhouette
Strength:

this vehicle will never dent!!!

Weakness:

front and rear blower motors, distributor,number 3 spark plug.

i have had this van for two years now and i am impressed that it has been reliable. when i bought it the rod bearings were worn. ive replaced them without replacing the crankshaft and have put over 100,000 miles since. ive grown so emotionally attached to this vehicle that ive put 3 inch exhaust, limo tints, 800 watt audio, power inverter, tv, dvd, vcr, foglights, custom interior. i searched kelly blue book and it says this vehicle is only worth 1675.00. if thats the case i will keep it till eithier i die or it does.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tony87   [Sep 05, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Oldsmobile Silhoette
Strength:

Has 165,000 miles on it!

Air conditioner problems since I bought this van. Right and rear doors won't open, locks broke. The driver window will only open half way. Hard on alternators. But the stereo sounds great!lol!!!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
davesherryd   [Apr 01, 2003]
Strength:

Pamela Sue Andersn syndrome....looks great, but all screwed up!

Weakness:

Not enough space here.

Driving this thing into a lake would be to good for it! It has been a thorn in our side since we bought it.At 40,000 miles it started falling apart. First thing was the load levelers needed repaired. Then the drivers side pwer seat motor failed. Then the positive post on the battery blew out.Now we move on to the power window nightmare. Drivers side started sticking. Dealer wanted 500.00 to fix it. Said I need ed the regulator(which is the entire guts of the door including motor, tracks, speaker, etc)Oldsmobile wont sell just the tracks that were bad. But with a little research, found out Chevy sells them for the Venture for about 30.00. Same part! What a scam!Got that fixed, lasted a couple months. Now the power slider wont lock. And load levelers failed again.Noticed I am losing coolant someplace. Engine has some noise too. The ride is terrible. Noisy and body has a lot of roll to it. I cant even get rid of it now because it is worthless, absolutly no resale value. I am actually embarrassed to say I am a GM employee! Had a '95 Silhouette that was absolutly marvelous. The engineers really screwed this model change up and should be executed before they give a public appology!

Similar Products Used: 1995 Silhouette. Great vehicle in every way.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com