Plymouth Voyager Minivans | Wagons

Plymouth Voyager Minivans | Wagons 

DESCRIPTION

The Voyager is powered by one of the following engines; a 2.4-liter 4-in-line with 150 hp; a 3.0-liter V-6 with 150 hp; a 3.3-liter V-6 with 158 hp; or a 3.8-liter V-6 with 180 hp. All come with your choice of a 3 or 4-speed automatic and standard ABS. It's available in 2 or 4 wheel drive and sits up to 7 passengers.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 200  
[Feb 01, 2009]
Lino
Model Reviewed: Plymouth, Grand Voyager

Strength:

Runs great, highly dependable, decent highway mileage for it's size.

Weakness:

No stow and go.

After doing research and reading reviews on this site, I new to look for 99, with a V6, I bought this one wrecked and with high miles 172k.
Recently made a trip to Mexico with 5 of us and all the dive gear and kayak on top, 1400 mile round trip averaged 19 MPG average speed 75MPH.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 04, 2008]
qwertpoi
Model Reviewed: Plymoth Voyager SE (3.3 L)

Strength:

Simple, practical display and button layout. TONS of space for both passengers and cargo. CUPHOLDERS FOR EVERYONE!!!
Decent comfort, seats are fabric and well padded, something I wish was done more today. All the little parts (handles, hooks, armrests, etc.) are REALLY solid and show no signs of breaking.
GREAT driver visibility. Large windows afford perfect surround view even with passengers. Pretty smart layout.
Engine feels and sounds REALLY solid, even in old age. Standard upkeep should keep you and it happy.
Solid vehicle, feels big but not bulky. Good handling, although I think it takes a bit of extra strength to turn and brake. That might be from age.

Decent Gas Mileage for its size. I've calculated it at a max of about 24, but its usually closer to 20 MPG.

I get the feeling that if a lot of the weight was removed, such as the rear passenger seats and spare tire, it could probably be doing better mileage and less wear on the engine.

SMOOTH RIDE. Shocks have NEVER broken, and they've seen a lot of action.

Weakness:

Could get better gas mileage. 18 gallon tank gives it plenty of range but is expensive to fill.

Rear Passenger seats are REALLY bulky, more than you'd think by looking at them. Two strong individuals can handle them no problem though. Not many amenities, didn't come with a CD player, but was cheap to install one. NO CENTER CONSOLE, but room to install one as well.

Oh, I'll warn you that although it has a jack and spare tire, the wrench it includes can quickly become useless, so I'd invest in a AAA card if you worry about roadside assistance.
The A/C is just BARELY sufficient on a hot day with a van full of people. Otherwise its fine.

I'll admit that there are a LOT of things that could potentially break down on this vehicle, and that will get expensive to replace. I wouldn't buy this thing used as a cheap spare vehicle, you might end up needing to spend an extra 4-500 dollars to get it back up to running condition.

If you own one thats still running, KEEP UP THE MAINTENANCE.

I have noticed minor paint chipping, not sure it thats age, weather, or driving conditions.

Brakes will be replaced more than anything, Assuming they're not abused, should last a couple years before they become an issue.

I've ridden or driven this car since it was purchased. My grandmother used to to (no joke) drive to the grocery store on weekends, then my family subjected it to a bit more intense usage to drive to hockey games around the County. Now I drive it and haul college friends around. I'm a bit of a Speed Demon.
So far, this car has been to hell and back with no major failings. A lot of flat tires (drivers fault, not vehicles). A car backed into it on the right sliding door as mom was driving my two brothers out of the neighborhood. Noone was hurt, and the worst that happened was a MAJOR dent on the door. Fixed now, door works consistently.
Since I've been driving it, its sustained a flat tire and a bent rim. Plus a frantic drive from Tallahassee to West Palm averaging about 90 MPH, with spurts around 110. Only two stop for gas. Didn't overheat, didn't fail. I've kept up maintenance as much as I can.
I honestly think the 3.3. Liter SE voyagers have a better record than any of the other Plymouth offerings, make sure you KNOW what you're buying. The transmission has never failed, and still feels smooth even as it passed 110K miles.
Brakes are replaced 'fairly' often, as its a pretty heavy vehicle. It handles well, I'd say it requires a little extra muscle to turn and brake, though that might be because of age. I LOVE the exterior design, wish vans kept the aerodynamic look nowadays. LOTS of space. Holds 7 comfortably and you can fit a TON of stuff if you take out the seats.
The engine continues to feel strong. I cross my fingers it will hold out to 200K and do all I can to make it there.

I honestly feel that this is an EXCELLENT passenger van, a good middle ground between the newer, tiny minivans and larger passenger vans. Its large but doesn't feel bulky, and will protect in all but the worst accidents.

It lacks most of the features of newer models, but you tend not to miss them unless you're really used to them. Yes, I worry that the Plymouth curse will hit and the van will go Kaput, but it keeps rolling past each 1000 miles like a champ. If Plymouth sold an updated version of the Voyager, I would recommend it tentatively. As for the 1998 Plymouth Voyager SE 3.3 Liter, I WISH I had gotten this thing new so I could enjoy even MORE of the great times its given me.


I have heard of the many lemons from Plymouth, and I believe them. But I also HONESTLY believe that the Voyager SE 3.3 liter is a superior vehicle that, with menial upkeep, will serve faithfully well into old age.

Similar Products Used:

None. My first car. I've RIDDEN in a lot of minivans though, and few are as spacious as this one.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 07, 2007]
r3boud88
Model Reviewed: Grand Voyager SE

Strength:

Strong engine (3.3l)
Comfortable Ride
Excellent Storage Capacity
Easy to Work On
Reliable

Weakness:

Notoriously Weak Transmission
Crappy Cupholders
Sliding Rear Bench Seat (won't find that in an Aerostar)

1995 Plymouth Grand Voyager SE
3.3l V6 - 4spd Automatic Transmission FWD
Bought nonrunning for $800 with 97,600 miles.

Just over a year ago, I was in the market for a vehicle and saw two old Grand Voyagers on the side of the road. I usually wouldn't have considered it, but we had recently bought a 1998 Grand Caravan and couldn't be happier with it. It turned out that the owner had changed the transmission in one, and couldn't get it to start afterwards... and the other was for parts. I paid the man $800 for both of the vans and towed them home. With a little bit of research, I found out that the crankshaft position sensor was slightly out of adjustment. With a little movement the van cranked right up! I have had to throw a bit of money into it to get it into good shape, but it is running strong and I have put 30,000 miles on it. It is at a point now, where I think the transmission may be on its way out, but I am pleased so far. It was a junkyard transmission that was put in it, so there is no telling of its lifespan. I admit that I have run the van pretty hard, and I keep it loaded down with a lot of musical equipment.

It has left me on the side of the road one time, and that was because my aftermarket coil pack fouled out.

Overall, I am more than pleased with my van. It is peppy, it is comfortable, and I feel safe in it. It also has a lot of features that like.

Similar Products Used:

1998 Dodge Grand Caravan

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 29, 2006]
kriswaye
Model Reviewed: Plymouth Grand Voyager

Strength:

Powerful, reliable, versatile, roomy, smooth drive, trouble free.

Weakness:

Interior plastic breaks easily, hard on gas in the city, parking is no picnic, winter driving is scary.

This van is great. It has over 260K km and is still going strong. With regular maintanance I've never had a problem. It has it's original paint which is only beginning to chip on the hood and rust on the back door. Otherwise there is no rust. I find it very versatile and convienent. The interior is in very good shape but has breaks in it which cause it to squeek when I drive. It has a 3.3L V6 which is powerful on the highway even with 6 passengers. Fuel mileage is not bad, average 24 MPG. I have a "Velocity Tuner" installed in the air intake which helps with the mileage. The seats are bulky to try to take out by yourself, but it is an older vehicle, it was very convienent in it's time. I would reccommend this vehicle to anyone who knows how to care for it. I have replaced the gas tank, exhaust, shocks, struts, ball joints, sway bar & bushings, tie rod ends, wheel bearings, and the normal tune up parts. This sounds like alot, but I'll have my van for 260 000 more kilometers :)

Similar Products Used:

1994 Dodge Caravan

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 10, 2006]
jjohnlee
Model Reviewed: Voyager

Strength:

Roomy, seating for seven.

Weakness:

Transmission, transmission, transmission.

DO NOT BUY THIS VEHICLE! I have owned many cars over the years and this is the biggest piece of junk I have ever owned. When I bought it in 1999 new from the dealer there were not many choices for a family of six people. I have been through 3 transmissions. The first died at 12,000 miles and the second at 62,000. I have never, ever had to replace a transmission in any other vehicle - foreign or domestic.

Similar Products Used:

Ford Windstar

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jun 30, 2006]
Non-Sequitur
Model Reviewed: Chrysler Grand Voyageur SE

Strength:

Reliabity, performance, comfort, value, styling

Weakness:

Fuel economy (I average only about 20 mpg), couple of rattles that I could never find or identify, but they didn't seem to hurt anything

I purchased this vehicle in 2004 with 62,000 miles on it. I have owned it two years and driven an additional 25,000 miles. I am extrememly happy with this vehicle. I have only had to have regular maintenance performed, which included brakes. The windshield wipers sometimes have a mind of their own, but that can be overcome by turning them off and on again. All of the options and accessories work fine. The ride and handling are good. The engine is adequate. It is a flex-fuel vehicle, but I could never find an E85 station to try.

Similar Products Used:

2004 Town & Country
1995 Grand Caravan

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Aug 20, 2005]
maniac73
Model Reviewed: plymouth grand voyager

Strength:

lots of room. nice options and comfortable ride.

Weakness:

it dosnt stop! Warranty is a joke! removable seats are too bulky and heave for one person, especally for a mom with lil kids hanging on her ankles.

You know I said for a long time I would never own a dodge (had a 1987 daytona...the worst) but because of money restrictions I settled for a plymouth voyager, Honestly the van has not given too much trouble, just that the things that do go wrong are sooo pricey! Let me put it this way, my van runs, but it wont stop! ' At about 156,000 miles I was driving and my brake light came on...before I had the chance to pull over I realized I had NO brakes. Beautiful!! with a little skill and a lot of luck I pulled over and got it into park. I called my husband and he came to look and guess what, it was fine. This went on for about 2 weeks then we took it in for service, what a joke. They had the car for 2 weeks then we find out it was a part that was recalled. Here is the other great news, it was not warrantied after the recall. $1000 to repair a part that was faulty...hmmmm let me think about that NO! regardless, it was a decent vehicle but I really would be careful...there are a lot of problems with these vans and you would be better off with a chevy, pay the extra, save the hassles. Also avoid the 3.0 like the black plauge, they tend to blow headgaskets on a regular basis! The 3.6 is a pretty good motor.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 04, 2004]
MikeKoz
Model Reviewed: Sport Wagon Edition

Strength:

- comfort - performance with 3.3L engine - cargo space - smooth ride, great handling - cheap replacement parts - great for road trips - good on rough roads - for a big car, 19mpg is nothing to whimper about, it's not a 2-door coupe - '94+ have dual airbags - walked away from a write-off accident

Weakness:

- tranny mounts needed yearly checkups/replacements, but not expensive - leg room for 7-passenger non-grand versions dismal for backseat passengers. I just drive with the 3-seat bench in the back - belt may sqeak for 50km when wet, especially after a drive-through carwash. it goes away once it dries

My specs: SE "Sport Wagon" model, 3.3L V6, 4spd transmission, all options, 215/70 SUV tires I will use the past-tense as this van was recently involved in an accident and was written off. I purchased my Voyager with the intent of driving in the city 90% of the time and hitting the rough logging roads of British Columbia for the rest. With relatively high ground clearence and decent logging road performance, this van (or should I say truck? ;) handled well on the streets, exceptionally well on the highway and didn't give much trouble on rough roads (at non-excessive speeds of course). As with all bigger vehicles, gas was an issue, but at 19mpg in the city I wasn't about to start complaining. Why? The ride was smooth, the handling simply excellent, visibility great, storage never a problem, and with the 3.3L, this van had power! My only gripes with the van were - the engine and tranny mounts would go about once a year. At $200 it wasn't a biggie to deal with anyways - removable passenger seats were heavy, always requiring an extra hand - passenger room was dismal in the non-grand version, but I usually drove with only the bench seat in the back. It felt like being in a limo without the middle bench according to passengers - associated with a soccer-mom image, but I was never one to care much about that There are a number of harsh reviews for these vans, and for the most part, they are reflective of their owners experiences. However, I drive my cars like they're precious commodities. I never accelerate too fast, break too hard, speed up to red lights, do stupid manouevers or push them to their limits. I drive with care and don't work the engine too hard if I don't have to. This kind of driving has kept my cars in awesome condition requiring regular maintenance. TRANNY Yes, the transmissions on these vehicles have caused problems. Again, a large part of the tranny problems arise when the vehicle is driven too hard. Don't spin the wheels, roll off slowly from a stop, roll in slowly to a stop, and don't push the engine too much too often. Use the emergency break when parked, and here's a tip: DO NOT USE the "3"rd and "L" gears. Just use your breaks when coming down a hill and unless absolutely necessary, climb hills in "D"rive. Trust me, keeping the van in "D"rive will help preserve the engine and tranny. And another tip: I put 215/70 tires on mine. They're bigger but they made a HUGE difference in increasing a smooth drive. Also, they complemented the van great on rough roads. Overall, this car was a real gem. It was comfortable, roomy, powerful, and handled exceptionally well. Since these cars are so common and many people have them, buying them used needs some smart thinking. If you see the van has been driven like crazy, chances are it wasn't taken care of properly. People forget oil changes, run the car too hard and push it for all its got. In the end its the used car buyers who pay for other peoples driving habits and give reviews which may sour a cars reputation. Just take it easy, and these vans will last forever! My 94 Caravan CV is already at 400,000 km and still giving all its got. Recently my van was hit by an oncoming vehicle and was written off. I experienced first-hand the safety features this van has and I have no reservations in saying this van saved my life or at least prevented serious injury. Would I buy the '94 SE again? You bet I would, but only if it was driven like I'd drive mine, otherwise it'd be nothing but problems.

Similar Products Used:

1998 Nissan Pathfinder, 1994 Dodge Caravan CV

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 10, 2004]
donna mclean
Model Reviewed: grand caravan

Strength:

none paint is peeling now too

Weakness:

transmission and paint

was assured by the selling company it had been so well checked out. had it checked elsewhere and there were things to be done. however on a trip to portland oregon,the transmission blew. cost me 3000.00 to get it rebuilt in kelowna and 1500.00 to get it flat decked home. would i ever buy another............no ruddy way, its back to chevies.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 09, 2004]
Donald White
Model Reviewed: Grand Voyager

Strength:

Engine (3.3L, I change the oil & filter regularly)

Weakness:

Transmission!

I recommend that you do not buy one of these vehicles. The problems we have had include: Transmission rebuilt 4 times! (once by dealer at 90,000, 3 times by Aamco (sure glad I bought a lifetime warranty from them for it!) 120000, 160,000 and now at 187,000.) Had to replace clockspring, water pump, power steering pump, drivers side window mechanism, the list goes on. Chrysler quality sucks, and they don't deserve any more of my money!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 200  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com