Pontiac Montana Minivans | Wagons

Montana

The Montana is powered by a 3.4-liter, 185-horsepower V-6 coupled with a four-speed automatic transmission. ABS is standard and it sits up to 8 passengers.

User Reviews (134)

Showing 1-10 of 134  
John   [Dec 31, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Montana EWB loaded
Strength:

Reliability, functionality, gas mileage and cost of ownership.

Weakness:

Interior room due to Quad captain chairs, rattles and small vibrantions. Alloy wheels need to be balanced properly.

Excelent value, especialy given massive discounted price for used vechicle. We are a large family and have used it for long and local trips, it has returned 10.0l/km during the last year. Very reliable and inexpensive to maintain and run. It presently has 115,000km with no major repairs, only general maintainence items. DVD plays find etc. This is our third van, had a honda that was very problematic, so traded it in for this loaded van.

Similar Products Used: Honda, chev
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
matthew   [Mar 19, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Montana SV6
Strength:

no

Weakness:

rattel everywhere/ sliding door broken/
from beginning can not use blockheater/
starter probl./ etc

get ride of this ......

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
skyegazer   [Jan 29, 2011]

I have nothing but problems with the heat!!powersteering makes sounds and when braking and turning the rear vibrates!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
bhayne   [Jan 25, 2011]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac/ Montanna
Strength:

Lots of room. It keeps on going and going. I live in the Northwest Territories and commonly drive on 5 to 15 hour trips.

Weakness:

Electrical is poor- fuel guage is erratic, radio display doesn't work, rear windshied wiper doesn't work.

This van paid for itself on its first trip. I bought it and put $1500 in maintenance which my friend and I did ourselves. It's a pain to work on but now with regular oil changes, it just goes and goes. I put 100000km on it in two years. Now it has 350000km.

Similar Products Used: First time owning a passenger van. Seats 8.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   [Apr 28, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Montana
Strength:

Very powerful engine, 940 Kms per tank, excellent vehicle. Already 32000 Km with no one single problem to report

Weakness:

None

I own a Pontiac Montana 2008 extended version. I have had 2 Chevrolet Venture and another Pontiac Montana. I do not see why to pay more other more expensive brands.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Michell   [Oct 06, 2009]
Model Reviewed: 2001 Pontiac Montana
Strength:

manuevering, temp controls, entertainment package, room, design, on-star

Weakness:

gas mileage

I got this van at a steal of a price. At over 180k it has no major problems. I bought it off of a friend at a used car lot and she literally teared up as I drove off with it. It was her personal van and she didn't realize how hard it would be to let go of it. After 6 months of driving it I completely understand her sobbing. It drives and manuevers like my chevrolet cavalier did and while the mileage isn't top of the line (20.2 to a gallon in the city) the comfort and features are awesome. I have three kids, 2 of which are in safety seats, and I can fit my entire 5 person family in it in comfort with extra seating. It is a smooth ride and the entertainment package is handy on long trips. The dual side doors are a plus and the remote access to them is simply amazing. The rear temp controls keep my kids in comfort as well as the front panels keep my husband and I. I have always heard minivans are hard to keep warm in the winter and cool in the summer but with this one it simply isn't the case. I would recommend this van to anyone who wants great quality.

Similar Products Used: dodge caravan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Olga Ma   [Sep 26, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Montana
Strength:

It was good for the kids and dogs. Spacious. I love it because it had 4WD so it is safe on snow.

Weakness:

bad product overall - does not last - looses much of its value. After 6 years this car is worth nothing!! Someting breaks all the time

Don't recomend unlesss you have money to throw out the window. It does not last, it requires fixes on regular basis. The AC went dead - Sent hundreds to have it fixed. Still the rear AC spills warm air! My Montana 6 years old is worth about $1,500 as a trade in. The paint on the bumpers is just coming off. It's fully rusted undernetah. I was told by my mechanic to get rid of it. I owe 2 Pontiacs and both are just HORIBBLE PRODUCTS - ripp of. I almost want to let the GMC have it back - it a piece of trash

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Dale Baker   [Sep 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Montana Extended
Strength:

Gas mileage, cargo capacity, reliability

Weakness:

Air conditioning, washer fluid tubes.

We purchased our Montana new in 1997. It's now 2008 and has 155,000KM on it and very little has gone wrong with our van. It did have a recall in the first year (leaking brake line) but so far we've only replaced the battery in 2007 and the brake pads once. The rest of the expenses have been in general maintenance, oil changes, tune-ups, tires, etc.. We opted for the heavy duty trailering package and maybe that has made a difference to the longevity of our van. The are some minor things that we don't like, namely the windshield washer fluid tubes on the front wipers getting iced up easily in the winter and a weak air conditioning system. Our mechanic made us aware of the leaky head gasket problem and checks it every time it's in for an oil change (every 3 months). It still drives beautifully but because of it's age we are now making the rounds of dealerships looking at new/newer vans. Because of how reliable this van has been I don't think we would hesitate to buy another Montana.

Similar Products Used: Sunbird,Regal
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
ianj   [Jun 10, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Montana
Strength:

Fast,good on gas,fun to make fun of

Weakness:

Good chance of losing your left foot

Biggest piece of crapp ever. It is the closest thing possible to the Night Rider.Sometimes the lights and dash would randomly come on in the midle of the night,when the key wasnt even in the ignition.Suprised it hasnt taken my left foot yet.

Similar Products Used: NONE!
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
sbanks1971   [Mar 29, 2008]
Model Reviewed: pontaic montana
Strength:

lots of room, seats fold down to haul large objects

I love my pontiac montana. Ive had no problems with it at all. Im not sure what the neg. reviews are about. I havn,t experienced anything bad at all.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 134  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com