Pontiac Vibe Minivans | Wagons

Vibe

The 2009 Vibe is a 4-door, 5-passenger wagon, available in 4 trims, ranging from the 1.8L to the GT.

Upon introduction, the 1.8L is equipped with a standard 1.8-liter, I4, 132-horsepower engine that achieves 26-mpg in the city and 32-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard, and a 4-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional. The GT is equipped with a standard 2.4-liter, I4, 158-horsepower engine that achieves 21-mpg in the city and 28-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard, and a 5-speed automatic transmission with overdrive is optional.

The 2009 Vibe is redesigned for 2009.

User Reviews (45)

Showing 1-10 of 45  
Brent Templeton   [Nov 06, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Vibe
Strength:

Fun car to drive, tight turn radius, electrical outlet in dash (cool feature), incredible gas milage, multi-usefull.

Weakness:

Gas tank only holds 12 gallons of gas.

I am writing this today in memory of one of the funest cars I have ever owned. I bought it because I wanted to give my son a good reliable car when he got his license. I drove it for two years and then gave it to him for his 16th birthday. He drove it for over a year but this past Tuesday was in a wreck and it got totalled. He and his passenger came out without a scratch but based on the age of the car and the amount of damage, the insurance company declared it totalled. We are going to miss this car greatly as it never had any problems and the gas mileage was incredible. For a small car it also had incredible power. Back when it was new, we loaded down the car with lugage and took a family of four (two teen boys) and when on a cross country journey. The car handled great and I could not believe how easy it was to pass cars on the interstate with a full load. This car will be deeply missed. RIP

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Denali Man   [Oct 28, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Vibe
Strength:

Gas mileage, Toyota Matrix platform, interior design

Weakness:

plastic cargo area, exterior design compared to new model, engine sound (not pretty)

I had the Pontiac Vibe for about two years. It got good gas mileage and was pretty versatile. I liked the fold down passenger seat, the 110v aux power, and the interior design.

I wasn't all that impressed with the color I got (dark gray) and that's my own fault, plus when the new model came out it blew away the one I had as far as looks. I didn't like the plastic cargo space, it made thngs slip around too much and it got knicked and scratched easily. I never had a single problem with it, I just was yearning for an H2 so I traded it in.

Similar Products Used: Taurus
Tercel
Camry
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
commonsense   [Sep 21, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac/Vibe
Strength:

Made in America, Good gas mileage (35 mpg combined), Low Cost, Good Reliability, Cargo capacity.

This is an excellent car. I chose it over the Honda Fit. The Vibe is an American made car with an American nameplate, gets better gas mileage, has more room, and is less expensive than the Fit. I highly reecomend this often overlooked vehicle.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ms. Hall   [Jul 08, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Vibe
Strength:

Stereo system, mileage, storage.

Weakness:

Car is falling apart, I have had it less than one year.

This car is garbage. All the pieces are falling off, probably from the vibration and noise of the car. I have had 3 wheel caps replaced so far and now only have one left; the back of the passager seat has fallen off; side view mirror back has now fallen off. The back storage area scratches VERY easily. Overall a beautiful car to look at, very good mileage, but in my opinion not much thought or care was put into designing this for passengers. It is not at all a quiet, comfortable ride. I got sold on the look. (Last time that will happen)

Similar Products Used: Never owned a Pontiac before and it is no wonder they are going out of business.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
dougreed   [Mar 14, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac Vibe
Strength:

for an inexpensive to buy and OPERATE auto I can't imagine doing any better than the Vibe. Verstile-I can put 8ft lumber in the car. My SDcard Mp3 playing FM modulator sounds incredible on the factory radio -unlike in many other cars I've tried it in. A very cost effective feature is it has NO TIMING BELT, but a real timing CHAIN - NO service required!!! I personally do not find the driving position or steering wheel placement of any discomfort. There is lots of rear leg room for any passengers.

Weakness:

Rear drum brakes. Auto manufacturers should get rid of the dinosaur-like DRUM brakes on ALL there products. My 24 year old base model Saab has 4 wheel disc -so simple, and easy to maintain. That is the only change I can think of in 2 years of owning the car!

I bought my 05 vibe used with 12,000 miles on it. It had some minor cosmetic issues but it has performed flawlessly, with NO repairs, just oil changes, for almost 2 years now! I put all synthetic fluids in it and use Toyota recommended Shell brand gasoline. I get 36 mpg on the highway and 29-33 around town. I drive conservatively, obviously.

Similar Products Used: 1985 Saab 900-still drive, 1996 Chevy Cavalier-had antilock brakes as standard for a few years-nice.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jerry Fisher   [May 08, 2008]
Strength:

comfort of seats, gas economy, versatility. Ease of doing maintenance.

Weakness:

more interior noise than I'd like.

Excellent buy, very comfortable seats nice handling and visibility is good. Versatility works well. We transported a 5'X 10' rug and only had to fold down half the back seat. We are pulling a 950 pound trailer and have had no problems.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
barb   [Aug 06, 2007]
Model Reviewed: VIBE
Strength:

Mileage, roomy cargo area, not too high or big exterior.

Weakness:

Driving position- steering wheel does not tilt toward driver / awkard, tiring, & uncomfortable. Seat needs more back support- uncomfortable at times.
Dinky radio control knobs, dinky rear view mirror (can not see sides, too small mirror to point of unsafe). Windshield wiper mechanism (box) interferes w/ rear vision.
Control awkward & hard to reach (have to lean to right or take hand off steering wheel) - car seems to be made for someone about 4-5" taller than I am (5'"). Can't see fuel gauge w/o raising up, etc.
Annoying "dings" prematurely on seat belts- too loud to point of unsafe distraction (like at teller deposit- having to open door, etc.)
Should look at Saturn for GM sensibility in layout, intuitive user comfort etc.

Needs some comfort, convenience overhaul in interior. Otherwise good vehicle.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Pam   [Jun 20, 2007]
Strength:

Gas milage is great! Features are great! Roomy and easy to drive.

Weakness:

Cargo area but can be easily fixed with a bungee cord or cargo mat.

I love my Pontiac Vibe. It has lots of room, can turn on a dime. The moonroof is a great feature. Sound system is fantastic. The cargo area doesn't keep much in place but we bought a bungee cord and hooked it from side to side and put our grocery bags on it when transporting them Works great!

Similar Products Used: Nothing similar!
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe Call   [Nov 12, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Vibe

This is actually an 07 with the 100,000 mile warranty.

I have the 5 speed manual and have found it to be a very tight and stable car. Fit and finish was excellent and I have no complaints. After all my GM discounts I paid only around $12,000 for this great car.

Mileage is rather astounding giving me anywhere from 33 to 36 in town MPG and HWY at 34 at an average 74 MPH.

The seats are far more comfortable than I expected and it is a quiet car with tons of room. I have to power window, door, etc. package and have found that very nice as well as the cruise.

Love this car and I have owned many Honda civics in the past, including SI's.

Similar Products Used: Honda Civics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gapgtp   [Jun 08, 2006]
Model Reviewed: Pontiac
Strength:

Excellent Build quality, Great performance, Amazing utilites like built-in inverter, fold flat seats, lock down t-nut slots, 8 different storage bins, and on and on.. Great gas mileage (28-30mpg on highway). TONS of interior space, more than most small SUVs.

Weakness:

Single coat of paint is pretty thin. Car only available in 6-Sp, no auto option unless buying Base or AWD version.

I have had this car since I bought new in Feb. of 2003. I use it for work and have put 130,000 miles on it since new. I drive alot of highway miles and drive the car fast and hard. I change the fluids routinely and the Air filter and the car is flawless! I couldn't recommend a car more and I've had ALOT! Everything is great about this car, it handles well, has a great high-revving 4 cylinder that performs so well that Lotus buys it to put in their $40k Elise! (check it out if you don't believe me)THe utiliarian functionality of the car is amazing as well. It has tons of storage, cool features like fold flat table in the back of the passenger seat and a built-in inverter. The best thing about the car is that its made by Toyota which means you know its reliable with excellent build quality. THere are several cars like the Vibe (PT Cruiser, Mazda 5, Chevy HHR) but the Vibe GT takes the cake!

Similar Products Used: Nissan Maxima SE
Audi A8
Chrysler Crossfire
Ford Bronco
Pontiac Grand Prix GTP
Chevy Prism LSi
Chevy Cavalier Z24
Chevy Cheyenee 2500
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com