Subaru Impreza WRX Minivans | Wagons

Impreza WRX

The Impreza WRX is a 4-door, 5-passenger sports sedan, or wagon, available in 5 trims, ranging from theWRX 4-Door to the WRX STI.

The WRX 4-Door is equipped with a standard 2.5-liter, H4, 265-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 18-mpg in the city and 25-mpg on the highway. A 5-speed manual transmission with overdrive is standard. The WRX STI is equipped with a standard 2.5-liter, H4, 305-horsepower, turbo engine that achieves 17-mpg in the city and 23-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
lpoolfc14   [Jan 26, 2010]
Model Reviewed: WRX Sedan
Strength:

Power, once the turbo kicks in its extremely quick.
Looks, i like the aggressive styling, especially from the front. Youll get looks of second looks and looks even better with tinted windows. The exhaust is great for being stock. And can be even better with an aftermaket exhaust. Momo steering wheel looks and feels excellent. I love the recaro style racing seats. They are comfortable and keep you stable during aggressive driving. Handles great in any weather. Never have to worry about getting stuck or poor handling in the snow.

Weakness:

Turbo lag is pretty bad. But the aftermarket is available to help with that. To change the front parking or headlight bulbs you need to take off the whole bumper and for most that means you need to either take it to the dealership or take 2 hours and do it yourself. Any aftermarket mods are VERY expensive.

This is the first car i have ever bought. Have always wanted a WRX because i like the looks and wanted a car that was fast and can be modified to be even faster. I couldnt be happier with my purchase. I have had no problems to date. and have only had to make minor repairs (New timing belt because it was right around 115000 miles when i got it. otherthan that just routine stuff and is still running great.

Similar Products Used: Audi A4, Lexus IS 300
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
presto   [Apr 09, 2005]
Model Reviewed: Impreza L (wagon)
Strength:

The car came equipped with automatic transmission, and the AWD can be very helpful, especially during bad weather. Other than cruise control and a sunroof, the car is fully equipped with A/C, power windows and locks, etc. Otherwise, I have nothing negative to write about this vehicle.

Weakness:

The vehicle has a tendency to tremble when idling. Also, because it is all-wheel-drive (AWD), gas consumption may not be impressive to some (about 22 in the city and 27-28 in the highway). The body also rusts and corrode at a faster rate than the engine's performance, which may require frequent trips to an auto body shop for outside cosmetic work.

Of all the cars that I have owned, the Subaru Impreza L wagon, is my all-time favorite. It was originally my father's, which he purchased brand new from a local dealer in Syracuse, NY during the early winter months of 1993. During the times that the car was in his possession, he used it mainly to commute to work, and go on vacation trips every now and then. My dad claimed that other than scheduled preventative maintenance, the car performed very well and it never gave him any problems whatsoever. In his third year of ownership, however, the car got involved in a serious accident. Needless to say, the car remained in his driveway collecting dust, forming rust, and exposed to the elements 24/7 indefinitely until my wife and I decided to salvage it. Using most of the 'gifts' from our wedding, we took the car to a local auto body shop to have it restored. My hunches were right! Other than body work, everything in the vehicle remained intact and fully operational! Besides using it as a commuter vehicle, the car had been through a lot with my wife and me. We have driven the car almost everywhere -- from the ski slopes of Vermont, to the outskirts of Quebec, and even in the harshest driving conditions in New York City -- the car always performed impressively! In one of our home improvement projects, this car pretty much hauled most of the lumber, tools and hardware that we purchased from the store (including an entire kitchen set!). Twelve years (including the years that my dad owned it) and 134 thousand miles it is still going! The car never broke down on me -- not even once -- and 95 percent of the time, it is in the driveway when I need it instead of the repair shop. I will admit that work was performed on the vehicle in the years that I've owned it, such as replacement of the catalytic converter and exhaust pipes, as well as, CV joints. It also had/had its share of visits to the auto body shop and the auto detailer for cosmetic work, since the body tends to give in at a faster rate than the engine's performance. Overall, I am very impressed with this vehicle, considering that a puny 1.8 liter, 4 cylinder engine powers this little baby. The all-wheel-drive is also an added bonus, making it THE car to drive during the winter season or in bad weather.

Similar Products Used: I used to own a: 1988 Honda Accord LX (excellent and reliable); 1989 Dodge Colt GT (great gas mileage!); 1991 Mazda 323 (perfect commuter car) Besides the Subaru, I currently own a: 2004 Kia Optima (this car is a piece of s***, and buying it is probably the biggest mistake I ever made!)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Charity   [Jan 07, 2004]
Model Reviewed: WRX Wagon
Strength:

Get up and go speed. Gas Mileage (compared to the landcruiser). Racing seats, steering wheel and gas pedals.

Weakness:

Cup holder is in a very bad spot above the stereo, you can not take out the CD without removing your drink. No pause button on the stereo, in order to stop a CD you have to turn off the stereo

I went from a 89 Toyota Landcruiser to this awesome Subaru

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
  [Dec 28, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Impreza TS Wagon
Strength:

Price, space in back with seats down, not everyone has one, fun to drive, AWD, and its really cute!

Weakness:

Stupid cup holders and visors. Noise above 70 mph is more than I expected, but at slower speeds not an issue. Stereo is pretty junky, need to upgrade.

LOVE IT! This is my 6000 mile marker review, and the only blip in my satisfaction has been minor regret that I didn't get a WRX. The TS is well worth the money so far, it is very peppy, corners well, and is handling well in the snow. Gas mileage has been about 25 city, 28-29 highway. Seats have conformed well to my behind, unlike Toyotas, which never seem to conform, just get squishy. Only major complaint about car is the stereo, it just sucks.

Similar Products Used: Ford Explorer sport and taurus.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
  [Sep 17, 2003]
Model Reviewed: TS Sport Wagon, AWD Automatic
Strength:

Cute, AWD in Michigan is great, very reasonably priced, fun to drive. Its a wagon but doesn't really look mom-ish, especially with the spoiler and alloy wheels. Gets about 27 mpg in mixed driving, bad for a small car, but great for a car with AWD.

Weakness:

Road noise, no window frames, interior lighting (lack thereof).

What a great little car! This will be my intial review and I will update after 10000 miles. I was getting out of the SUV class and could find NOTHING that fit my search model (young and sporty, reliable, with some hauling room in it) and was ready to give up and keep my SUV until someone suggested this. Seats fold down so there is almost as much room in the rear as the Explorer Sport I gave up. Ann Arbor Subaru was much much nicer than the Lansing dealership. If you aren't going to be racing around and want to save some money, get this over the WRX.

Similar Products Used: Ford Explorer Sport, Ford Taurus
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Al Hunter   [May 20, 2003]
Strength:

Steering, Power, Breaks , visablity, and seats.

Weakness:

Wind noise in wagon. Could be the roof rails. Some turbo lag with auto. It can be surprising when power is needed in a hurry. Would like better quality carpets and plastics. Sunroof would be nice. The paint looks very thin .

Best steering car we ever had. The ride seems just right and is very stable at any speed.

Similar Products Used: Subaru SVX.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
jamakajt   [Mar 20, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Outback Sport Wagon
Strength:

Nice suspension and braking system.

Weakness:

Drive trian components, A/C system, Torque transfer case to AWD.

Even after my disappointment with my 98 Impreza RS, I decided to replace my 92 Legacey wagon. Because of the faith I have in the AWD feature of these vehicles. The car was ordered in 2000 and I took delivery in 2/01. Within the first few hundred miles I detected a nooise from the engine compartment that transmitted through into the cabin area, once able to convince the service department the noise exsisted, a drive belt adjustment, a drive belt, 2 different alternators and finally the power steering pump corrected the issue. The a/c has only ever been mediocore at best, though I have had it check several times to be told that it is within specification. During this winter it developed a hard bang at the rear when the rear wheel drive engages on snow or ice, it is as if someone has impacted the back of the car. Dealer service says cannot duplicate problem, therefore will not service for issue. And now at 22000 mi, I have "the Subaru knock" which is very noticable in cold weather and continues during warm up, and after another 15 min. or more during drive time, I feel this is beyond normal and will continue to try and resolve issue with dealer service and regional service advisor. I have documented this problem with Subaru of America customer service and made record at dealership. I feel at this time that perhaps the only satisfaction will come when I sell this vehicle. I used to be a strong supporter of the product, however after owning 2 of these 2.5 liter engines and being told that these problems are a result of better engineering, I would have to question the marketing position on resolving such issues. Perhaps the WRX family group of 2.2 liter engines are more refined.

Similar Products Used: 98 Subaru RS 2.5, 92 Legacey 2.2 wagon
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Acadian   [Mar 11, 2003]
Model Reviewed: Impreza WRX Wagon
Strength:

- AWD - POWER - Plenty of interior room for a compact car - Rear seats fold down easily - Driver's side height-adjustable seat - Super easy to do your own oil changes - So many aftermarket parts available - Convenience and cargo room of the Wagon - Looks

Weakness:

- Tires - Turbo Lag - Brakes could be better on this car - Stereo could be better - Econo Interior - Antenna location - Cup Holders

Awesome car. I've owned trucks all my life, so this is my first real little sports compact car. It's everything I want in a car! Power, handling, comfort, convenient (Wagon), etc... I race Mountain Bikes, so I need space to put all my equipment. The Wagon is perfect for that as it has plenty of space. I also installed a Factory Hitch, and use a SportWorks rack to carry my bikes around. Now I can get to the trailhead in style and FAST!!

Similar Products Used: none really...owned truck all my life.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com