Toyota Sienna (2010 and older) Minivans | Wagons

Sienna (2010 and older)

The Toyota Sienna is a 4-door, up to 8-passenger minivan, available in 12 trims, ranging from the FWD 7-Passenger I4 to the Limited AWD 7-Passenger V6.

The FWD 7-Passenger I4 is equipped with a standard 2.7-liter, I4, 187-horsepower engine that achieves 19-mpg in the city and 26-mpg on the highway. The Limited AWD 7-Passenger V6 is equipped with a standard 3.5-liter, V6, 266-horsepower engine that achieves 16-mpg in the city and 22-mpg on the highway.

User Reviews (260)

Showing 1-10 of 260  
Dan   [Oct 15, 2013]
Model Reviewed: Sienna LE4
Strength:

v6 power, visibility, turning radius, reliability, interior space, smooth ride, driver and passenger seats, front dash, looks, paint/steel durability against corrosion, refined ride, a/c, stow and go 60/40 split seating in back, versatility, heavy and solid in the snow.

Weakness:

cheap plastics on interior (if driver or passenger door slams too hard, inner door shin pops off jamming door shut>>good times!), power sliding door (now manual), poor fuel mileage (equivalent to small v8 p/up), driver door issue (Toyota recall), tires don't last nearly as long as they are rated (I even went up a size), low hitch receiver clearance to ground

Bought van with 70,000km, now has 170,000km. Changed oil every 8,000km with Mobil 1 5w30 synthetic and high efficiency filter. The synthetic oil helped with fuel mileage. Motor and tranny have run amazing and smooth. Thus far, there is no engine leaks, and the engine doesn't consume any oil. I can still smoke the tires, though they wear fast enough with normal use.
Single power sliding door failed when cable snapped. Clipped cable and now have two manual sliding doors (Toyota wanted $1700.00 to repair)
Low hitch receiver to ground clearance resolved by installing Airlift 1000 air bags inside the rear springs of the van. (Airlift has a fantastic warranty btw) I occasionally tow a utility trailer and camper (3500lb. popup) no problem, but want to put on aux. tranny cooler.

Excellent rust resistance. Besides brakes, tires, front struts, windshield wipers, engine fluids, and light bulbs, I have not had to put any other money into this van. Very happy with it, hoping to keep still for a long time as was pricey to purchase. I heard the engine power and efficiency improved in models 2006 and newer, but I'm happy with what I have.

Similar Products Used: 1987-88 caravan (junk)
1995, 2000 windstar (rusty junk)
1998 chev Silverado w/350 (amazing truck)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
daddyplus4   [Oct 07, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Base Sienna 2.7 liter 4 cylinder
Strength:

Immense cargo space, great gas mileage, strong acceleration even loaded with 3 adults and 4 children with strollers and luggage. 1000 lb towing capacity.

Weakness:

Getting 26-28 mpg highway, should be 30 or better. Clear coat scratches easily, though it is easily resolved with a quality polish.

EPA estimates were 19-24 for this model, am getting 22 city, 28 hwy. Car has good acceleration, massive 2.7 liter 4 cylinder engine is smooth and quiet at all speeds, have cruised at 90 mph for over an hour on I87, engine didn't break 3K rpm.

Ride is smooth, quiet and carlike, seats are comfortable, sound system is adequate.

Biggest selling point is the great mileage I'm getting, coupled with the fact I saved thousands buying the 4 cylinder instead of the 6. I test drove both and didn't notice any difference in acceleration or drive quality, I did notice the price difference.


Similar Products Used: Honda Odyssey, Dodge Caravan
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kahalaiki   [Aug 25, 2010]
Model Reviewed: ce
Strength:

nice look, interior, roomy

Weakness:

crapy made inside and out. bolts, engine, locks.

Ok, where do I start. Super bumed out I got this tin can! Heads up to someone thinking of getting one of these pretty tickit items. Even the CE are costly. In my opinion so not worth the $$. Super light weight tin. Dont even lightly bump any thing(IT WILL LEAVE A MARK) Bolts on sliding doors just come off and need to be reset. Out side struts for back hatch fell off. (reg wear) glove box locks get stuck and break. Back compartemnt bolts fall off, Interior cup holder (part where seat is in front of you comes apart) if you have kids this will probley happen alot faster! Oyea, engine problems. Oil leaks and engine make strange noises. If you are not one to change oil EVERY 5k mi, expect mechanical problems. Just super not happy with this big ticket item that is more hipe than QUALITY!!! But at least it looks good, that is untill every thing starts breaking!

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Angie   [Mar 04, 2010]
Model Reviewed: Toyota Sienna
Strength:

Smooth ride.

Weakness:

I expected so much more from Toyota. It does not have many of the normal options on it. You have to pay for things like daytime running lights, automatic shutoff for lights and doors. If you leave the sliding doors open or leave any light on in the interior or exterior of the battery will die in an hour or less. I cant even leave more than one door open while i vacum or it will kill the battery. I have brought it to the service center at Toyota and they told me this is normal for this van. The sliding Doors have closed on my husband and it left indents on him. I was also told that is normal. I would not reccommend this van, I have been very unhappy with it. The transmission is computerized so there has been a few times that it didn't get up and go when I need it too.

I have had many vehicals and I dis-like the 2007 Toyota Sienna the most. I was really expecting more from Toyota. They really under did this van.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Suchomel   [Sep 23, 2009]
Model Reviewed: toyota sienna
Strength:

It has lots of inside room and it is all wheel drive

Weakness:

It's repair record has been an nightmare- and now that it is out of warranty Toyota doesn't even want to talk to us. Their help line said it would have a supervisor get back to us in4 to 7 business days-so either they have not many supervisors or lots of complaints

It was great when it was brand new. But then it had its third set of tires by 56882km,and now with under 98000km on it we have spent $4900 (-1500 in wheel bearings) worth of repairs not including fixing the power sliding door that would have cost another 2000 when a plastic clip broke should we have chose to fix it. Under warrannty the drive shaft replaced at 80123km, now at 98000km the rear differential has gone which will be 2600 plus tax. This van is lady driven only around our town, with a few 2hour trips to visit family, never been in an accident, maintenanced done regularly. We thought we paid for quality and all we have had is mainly a headache with this van.


OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Nigel   [Jul 04, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Sienna CE AWD
Strength:

Roomy, good power, All wheel drive, good dealership.

Weakness:

Quality,Fit and finish, MPG, appearance

Had higher expectations from my first Toyota. I bought it because it was the only all wheel drive minivan on the market at the time and we do a lot of winter driving.
The fit and finish is poor, with 15,000 miles accumulated it squeaks and rattles excessively. Highway driving is uncomfortable due to wind noise and lousy seats. Very poor gas mileage averaging 14 mpg with mixed driving. Both key remotes have failed, the AC failed today, problems with the drivers side sliding door and we had three trips to the dealer in the first month to get it properly aligned.

Similar Products Used: Volvo X-country
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Gary   [May 20, 2009]
Strength:

mileage
reliable

Weakness:

none

I have had no problems with it in 180,000 kms (110,000 miles), mostly highway as we winter in Florida. Just replaced my front brake pads myself. I love and would buy another in a heartbeat.

Similar Products Used: I have owned Toyotas since 1975 and this is the best.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ray   [Jan 30, 2009]
Model Reviewed: Sienna
Strength:

Toyota drive train has no equal in motor industry, flat and simple.

Weakness:

Need improvements on impact collission.

My comments is directed at the hype of Hybrid. Hybrid vehicle, Elect-Gas only have a significant advantage when the user's driving route is stop and go. If the user or owner do not encounter such driving predicaments, Hybrid has no significant value at all. Let this be clear.

Similar Products Used: Honda is almost equal, but the cooling system of Honda need a great improvement.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Gski   [Apr 21, 2008]
Model Reviewed: Sienna
Strength:

Styling and drive

Weakness:

Quality, Quality, Quality

Where do I begin:

Tires: We had to replace the tires at 30,000 miles and then the replace at 60,000 miles, tire store manager said the tire size was not designed right for the van.

I needed to replace the air conditioner at my cost. Out of warranty.

The radiator went bad, Toyota paid for that.

Now the fun part, all of the door mechanisms needed to be replaced, Toyota paid for the front door because it was safety concern. But the side doord they said they would only cover half out of "good will", they must not care about kids as much as adults. I am was only half happy. This cost me $3000.

I would venture to guess I paid close to $6000 in extra repairs for this van since it was purchased new in 2004. Not an easy pill to swallow considering the gas price increases within the last year.

I never will purchase another Toyota.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Pau Liang   [Feb 18, 2008]
Model Reviewed: CE
Strength:

Reilable powertrain

Weakness:

Poor body quality

Sienna doesn't have the Corolla's quality especialy the body. I bought car because I have a fantastic experience of my Corolla. But Sienna has very bad body qulaity. It lists from front doors screw loose, gas cap leak (didn't pass the fist inspection)and sprare tire fixture failure (cost $250). The powertrain is great except gave me many Check Engine lites. Last week I brought back to dealear because of the Check Engine Porblem. They told me the car nedd ECM and CAT. It costs $2100! (I fixed it with cleaning mass flow sensor and reset ECM)

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 260  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

carreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com